LibGuides: Faculty Information: Current Events

Keeping Up with Current Events

The following resources are available through the Masland Library to help you and your students keep up with current events.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
From local (Philadelphia Inquirer and Bucks County Courier Times) to major national and international papers, Access World News provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues.
Chronicle of Higher Education Online This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle Online features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; an archive of previously published content; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more.
Financial Times (30 day embargo/delay) This link opens in a new window
Unfortunately, the cost of a Financial Times (FT) subscription for a small pool of users + above industry average yearly increases FT has chosen to charge has resulted in the Cairn University Library needing to cancel this beloved resource. Please revisit this listing by early September for suggested resources to use instead of FT. The current link to FT is for articles from 1982 to 30 days ago.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
General OneFile is a comprehensive general-interest resource providing periodical and news information. In addition, General OneFile also features more than 500 travel guides; a full collection of National Public Radio programs from 1990 to the present, including searchable transcripts; links to over 5,000 video files including shows like the Today Show, NBC Nightly News, NRO TV and Meet the Press; more than 3,000 full-text titles recommended by Bowker’s “Magazines for Libraries”.
InfoTrac Newsstand This link opens in a new window
InfoTrac Newsstand (formerly National Newspaper Index) provides access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
Due to third party ownership of full text, EBSCO Information Services is dependent on publisher publication schedules (and in some cases embargo periods) in order to produce full text on its products.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Cairn University provides a yearly pass to all current students, faculty, and staff. The first time you login, sign up for the NYTimes with your cairn email address. Renew your account once a year at this link. Access NYT directly from nytimes.com or download the app (your email must be your @cairn.edu email account). The New York Times, published in New York City since 1851, is an important source of reporting, information, and opinion, covering politics, finance, health, science, culture, the arts, sports, and fashion in the U.S. and abroad. The online version of The Times is the most comprehensive existing aggregation of information and content created and published by The New York Times. The site includes all articles, features, interviews, obituaries, columns, and still image, audio, video, and data, text and multimedia published on the http://www.nytimes.com site since the site's launch in 1996.
Philadelphia Inquirer via NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Access the latest issues of the Philadelphia, text or image, through Cairn's subscription to Newsbank's Access World News.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Off-campus access: must have an account using your cairn.edu email account. Sign-up for an account at: https://www.washingtonpost.com/subscribe/signup
Washington Post Signup This link opens in a new window
Use this link to create an account using your cairn.edu email. Download the mobile app to access WaPo anywhere/anytime on your device.
Complete instructions at: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1uEkSfy6MmeY6d-eiMXtdDlgwjvhJ5qx8/view?usp=sharing