LibGuides: Philosophy: Databases

Multi-Discipline Databases

Multi-Discipline Databases

Multi-discipline databases provide access to scholarly articles, research papers, and other resources across a wide range of academic fields. These databases are useful when exploring topics spanning multiple disciplines or starting broad research before narrowing your focus. Below is a short list of starting points.

For the full list of databases, click here: A-Z Databases.

Academic OneFile
Provides access to peer reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects as well as full-text coverage of the New York Times going back to 1995. Millions of articles are available in PDF and HTML full-text format.
Academic Search Ultimate
A multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals, the database offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: biblical studies, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Credo Reference
Provides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-XV
JSTOR's archival journal collections include more than two thousand journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It ontains the entire runs, from the first volume up to the volumes published only a few years ago. Currently published titles have a "moving wall" of 3-5 years after which the current issues are added to JSTOR.
Oxford Reference Library
Spanning 25 different subject areas, Oxford Reference brings together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.

Subject-Specific

Starting Points

Below are some databases to start with. Feel free to explore:

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus
Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) , coverage in this database begins in 1908, with indexing for some journal titles extending back into the nineteenth century. Full text is provided for articles and reviews from more than 500 journals selected by leading religion scholars. Includes research in Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library (CCEL)
Christian Classics Ethereal Library is a digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education.
Loeb Classical Library
In keeping with James Loeb's vision of making Greek and Latin literature accessible to the broadest range of readers, Harvard University Press presents an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture — in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.
Oxford Scholarship Online Philosophy
The philosophy collection in Oxford Scholarship includes original work across all areas of contemporary philosophy and the history of philosophy. A known leader in the publishing industry for philosophy, this list of famous philosophy books stretches back through the twentieth century and beyond.
Oxford Scholarship Online Religion
Oxford University Press publishes original scholarship in all areas of religion and theology. Outstanding contributions by young academics are included alongside books by eminent scholars from all over the world.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Religion and Philosophy Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines of interest to both researchers and general users. The database offers balanced content that covers topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions.
Religion Database
Provides a wide range of articles from international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought.