The Oxford Handbook of Plato by
This volume consists of 28 specially commissioned essays. It begins with a synoptic introduction. There are then 3 chapters setting the scene (one on Plato in his place and time, one on the Platonic corpus, and one on Plato and his ways of writing). There are then 11 chapters that are devoted to individual dialogues, ranging from his earliest through his latest. The dialogues discussed include Apology, Crito, and Euthyphro: Protagoras and Gorgias; Meno; Phaedo; Republic; Parmenides; Theaetetus; Timaeus; Sophist; Philebus; and Laws. The next 11 chapters focus on topics across a range of dialogues. These chapters include discussion of Socrates’s epistemology and metaphysics, and of his ethics and moral psychology; of Plato’s epistemology, metaphysics, and philosophy of language; and of Plato on the soul, on ethics, on love, on politics, on education and art, and on theology. The volume closes with a chapter on Aristotle’s criticism of Plato, and one on Plato and Platonism
Plato by
Plato (c.428-347 BCE) stands at the beginning of many debates that have continued throughout the history of philosophy. His literary career spanned fifty years and the influence of his ideas and those of his followers pervaded philosophy throughout antiquity. Andrew Mason's lucid and engaging introduction, draws on recent scholarship to offer a fresh general survey of Plato's philosophy. Aware of the methodological challenges that confront any writer on Plato, Mason handles the issue of Plato's intellectual development and relationship with Socrates with an assured grasp. Thematically structured, the book begins with Plato's principal contribution to metaphysics, the 'Theory of Forms', which forms a necessary background to his thought in many areas. His theory of knowledge, which is intimately linked with the Forms is explored in detail along with Plato's views of the soul, an important theme in itself and an entry point to discussion of his ethics, one of Plato's major concerns. Finally, the book deals with two areas of Plato's thought which have had an especially important historical impact, not confined to academic philosophy: his theory of God and nature, and his aesthetics. Throughout, Mason highlights the continuing themes in Plato's work and how they develop from one dialogue to another.
Plato's Philebus by
The Philebus is an extraordinarily creative and profound examination of what makes for a good human life, containing some of Plato's most sophisticated discussions of moral psychology, knowledge, metaphysics, and philosophical methodology. The Philebushad a far greater influence on Aristotle's ethics than the frequently studied Republic - yet historians of philosophical ethics have relatively neglected it and existing commentaries tend to emphasize certain aspects at the expense of others. This edited volume, the first of its kind, brings together leading scholars of ancient philosophy to take a fresh and comprehensive look at this important work. Each essay focuses on a relatively brief section of the Philebus and discusses the passages methodically, covering topics such as pleasure, knowledge, philosophical method, and the human good in detail. The result is not and is not intended to be a commentary, nor does it aim to present a unified interpretation. It is instead a series of close, original philosophical examinations, often in conversation with each other, which together provide continuous coverage of the Philebus. This reference work, a useful resource for teaching and studying, is valuable reading for researchers, scholars, graduate students, and advanced undergraduates interested in Plato, ancient Greek ethics, and in the history of ethics.
Plato's Republic by
Plato's Republic has proven to be of astounding influence and importance. Justly celebrated as Plato's central text, it brings together all of his prior works, unifying them into a comprehensive vision that is at once theological, philosophical, political and moral. The essays in this volume provide a picture of the most interesting aspects of the Republic, and address questions that continue to puzzle and provoke, such as: Does Plato succeed in his argument that the life of justice is the most attractive one? Is his tripartite analysis of the soul coherent and plausible? Why does Plato seem to have to force his philosopher-guardians to rule when they know this is something that they ought to do? What is the point of the strange and complicated closing Myth of Er? This volume will be essential to those looking for thoughtful and detailed excursions into the problems posed by Plato's text and ideas.
Plato Dictionary by
Annotation In this companion volume to the well-known Aristotle Dictionary, Morris Stockhammer offers a comprehensive and alphabetically organized glossary of the basic writings of Plato. For many years, the editor scanned through the dialogues of Plato in an effort to find and collect those pithy thoughts that represent the essence of Platonism. The perfect dictionary for philosophers and students of ancient philosophy, the Plato Dictionary includes explanations, definitions, and explications of Plato's vocabulary often using his own words to complete the description. Each entry also includes a citation from Plato's indispensible oeuvre. Morris Stockhammer was a lexicographer and historian known for his subject dictionaries on famous philosophers including Immanuel Kant, Plato, Karl Marx, and Thomas Aquinas. He also published on European economics and history.
A Plato Primer by
"A Plato Primer" introduces beginning students and the general reader to the main theses, concepts and arguments in Plato's philosophy. Subtle, versatile and multi-faceted though Plato's thought undoubtedly is, it has a core that needs to be explored and savoured. Evans presents this core, as it appears over a large range of his works, spread out over many decades of composition and many philosophical topics. Through all this diversity Plato's original philosophical personality shines through. Evans approaches the material thematically, in terms of modern philosophical categories, in seven main chapters. Within each of these individual treatments Evans follows the lines of argument in the main works of Plato that explore them. Indications about how to pursue given topics in the secondary literature are given in the helpful guide to further reading.
Plato's Laws by
"Readers of Plato have often neglected the Laws because of its length and density. In this set of interpretive essays, notable scholars of the Laws from the fields of classics, history, philosophy, and political science offer a collective close reading of the dialogue "book by book" and reflect on the work as a whole. In their introduction, editors Gregory Recco and Eric Sanday explore the connections among the essays and the dramatic and productive exchanges between the contributors. This volume fills a major gap in studies on Plato's dialogues by addressing the cultural and historical context of the Laws and highlighting their importance to contemporary scholarship."
Plato's Political Philosophy by
Focusing on three of Plato's dialogues -- The Laws, The Republic, and The Statesman -- Mark Blitz lays out the philosopher's principal interests in government and the strength and limit of the law, the connection between law and piety, the importance of founding, and the status and limits of political knowledge. He examines all of Plato's discussions of politics and virtues, comments on specific dialogues, and discusses the philosopher's explorations of beauty, pleasure, good, and the relations between politics and reason. Throughout, Blitz reinforces Plato's emphasis on clear and rigorous reasoning in ethics and political life and explains in straightforward language the valuable lessons one can draw from examining Plato's writings.
A Plato Primer by
Plato was more than a philosopher; he was a master of literary composition who frequently wrote in a colorful style. At the heart of his work there is material as definitively philosophical as anything in the most technical works in the twenty-four centuries that have followed his pioneering labors."
Republic, Volume I by
Plato of Athens, who laid the foundations of the Western philosophical tradition and in range and depth ranks among its greatest practitioners, was born to a prosperous and politically active family ca. 427 bce. In early life an admirer of Socrates, Plato later founded the first institution of higher learning in the West, the Academy, among whose many notable alumni was Aristotle. Traditionally ascribed to Plato are thirty-six dialogues developing Socrates’ dialectic method and composed with great stylistic virtuosity, together with thirteen letters.
