LibGuides: Music History: Databases

Multidiscipline

Below is a sample of the many multi-discipline databases available through the Masland Library for a complete list of all of our database click here

Multi-disicipline databases coverage a wide range of subjects, disciplines, and topics and are great place to start your research.

Academic OneFile
Provides access to peer reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects as well as full-text coverage of the New York Times going back to 1995. Millions of articles are available in PDF and HTML full-text format.
Academic Search Ultimate
A multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals, the database offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: biblical studies, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Alexander Street Press Academic Video Online: Premium
Alexander Street’s most comprehensive video subscription, an ever-growing resource that comprises content from 39 full video collections and 8 bonus discipline clusters. Academic Video Online: Premium currently contains more than 40,000 full video titles (not just clips) and well over 20,000 hours of content.
Collections include: American History in Video; Art and Architecture in Video;
Asian Film Online: Volumes I & II; Black Studies in Video; Business Education in Video; Classical Music in Video; Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volumes I, II, & III; Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video; Current Affairs in Video; Dance in Video: Volumes I & II; Education in Video: Volumes I & II; Engineering Case Studies Online; Environmental Studies in Video;
Ethnographic Video Online: Volumes I & II;
Fashion Studies Online; Filmakers Library Online: Volumes I, II, & III; Health and Society in Video; Human Resource Management Online; International Business Online; LGBT Studies in Video;
The March of Time; Meet the Press;
New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present; Opera in Video;
The PBS Video Collection; Psychological Experiments Online; Silent Film Online; Theatre in Video; The Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy; VAST: Academic Video Online; World History in Video; and,
World Newsreels Online.
Archival Films & Newsreels Video Collection
A rare view of what rush hour in London looked like in 1897. The dramatic and suspenseful newsreel announcing the crash of the Hindenburg zeppelin. President Ronald Reagan’s challenging speech at the Brandenburg Gate. Throughout modern history, cameras have recorded public events, wars, cultural phenomena, and government programs. The Archival Films and Newsreels Video Collection is a treasure trove of archival and historical films from multiple sources.
Cambridge Companions Online: Complete Collection
The Cambridge Companions Online: Complete Collection is a fully searchable, full text collection of from the renowned Cambridge Companions series. The Complete collection includes: The Companions to Literature and Classics; The Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture; and, The Companions to Music.
Cambridge Histories Online
Full text of all Cambridge history volumes (250+) published to date. Subject matter ranges widely across the humanities with a concentration on political and cultural history. Each volume includes authoritative narrative accounts by specialists and extensive bibliographies. The subject categories containing the most volumes are regional history, general history (with its chronological series) and literary studies, but there are also several series on the history of religion, philosophy and economic history. Content is displayed as page images and can be searched via metadata and full text.
Films on Demand: Master Academic Package
Films On Demand is a Web-based digital streaming video delivery service providing access to over 22,000 high-quality educational programs in dozens of subjects areas. Areas of study include: humanities & social sciences; business & economics; science & mathematics; and, health & medicine. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection through a robust administrative reporting system. management systems.
ALL of the videos in Films On Demand now have captioning and interactive transcripts available. The interface allows you to search for specific video segments, organize videos into folders, and create personal playlists for others to view. You can also integrate videos directly into elearning.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-XV
JSTOR's archival journal collections include more than two thousand journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It ontains the entire runs, from the first volume up to the volumes published only a few years ago. Currently published titles have a "moving wall" of 3-5 years after which the current issues are added to JSTOR.
Nineteenth Century Collection Online (NCCO)
Current Collections include: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; Europe and Africe: Christianity, Civilization and Conquest; Photography: The World Through the Lens; Science, Technology and Medicine, 1780-1925; and, Women: Transnational Networks.

Subject Specific

Below is a sampling of the databases that are available related to Music. For a complete list of all Music databases click here

Alexander Street Press Music & Dance
Music Online is the broadest and most comprehensive online music resource that cross-searches all 13 music databases from Alexander Street Press. Individual products can be accessed via the go to menu at the top of the page. Included: Classical Music Library; Smithsonian Global Sound; American Song; Contemporary World Music Online; Jazz Music Library; African American Music Reference; Classical Music Reference Library; Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online; Classical Scores Library: Volumes I & II; Classical Music in Video, Opera in Video; and, Dance in Video.
Fine Arts and Music Collection
Fine Arts and Music Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and film-making. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.
Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Along with classical music, jazz, world, and pop/rock are also represented.
Currently, NML offers streaming access to more than 124,770 CDs with more than 1,909,900 tracks of both standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month.
Masland Library's subscription allows for five (5) simultaneous users. Please logout when you are finished using NML.
Oxford History of Western Music
The Oxford History of Western Music online offers an unmatched account of the evolution of Western classical music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin. Since its original publication in print Taruskin’s landmark study has received universal acclaim and numerous awards.
Oxford Music Online (Formerly Grove Music Online)
Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location. With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains the Oxford Companion to Music (revised 2011), the Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006), and Colin Larkin's landmark Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 4th edition (2006).
Articles that have been updated since their appearance in print are date-stamped in the upper right corner of the screen.
Oxford Scholarship Online Music
The music list in Oxford Scholarship Online represents outstanding work across this diversity of music scholarship, covering significant titles in musicology and music history, ethnomusicology, and music theory. Contributions of bright young academics and eminent scholars, classic works and major recent titles, award-winners and fundamental texts, all stand together in this essential collection.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text
Full Text is now available in RILM! Produced by Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, this comprehensive music bibliography now includes approximately one million pages of full-text content from more than 200 periodicals (many of which are not available anywhere else online) from 50 countries in 40 languages, published from the early 20th century to the present. It continues to feature citations, abstracts and subject indexing. It provides broad yet detailed coverage, and facilitates both focused research and browsing for readers of all levels. From hip hop to Händel, from ethnomusicology to music therapy, from elementary music education to advanced music theory, RILM is the first stop for the researcher who wants clear, verified bibliographic information that is fully cited, abstracted, and indexed.