Search Library Resources
General Resources
Below are some general reference materials, books, and eBooks on music history.
You can also search the library for more sources using the search terms below:
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
by
An indispensable resource and a classic reference. Covers more than 5,000 years of music history, instruments, composers, institutions, performers, genres, and more.
New Oxford History of Music
by
10 volume work covering the history of music from Ancient times to 1960.
Historical Dictionary of Choral Music
by
Examines choral music and practice in the Western world from the Medieval era to the 21st century, focusing mostly on familiar figures like Bach, Beethoven, Brahms, and Britten.
Music in Words: A Guide to Researching and Writing about Music
by
A compact guide to researching and writing about music, addressing all the issues that anyone who writes about music may confront. A writing guide and reference manual in one.
History of Music
by
Historical Dictionary of English Music, 1325-1958
by
Seeks to identify and briefly annotate a wide range of subjects relating to English musical culture, largely from the early 15th century through 1958. Covers it subject matter through a chronological table of important events, an introductory essay on the history of English music, an extensive bibliography, and over 600 cross-referenced dictionary entries on people, venues, repertory, genre, and sources. An excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about English music.
The History of Music
by
Aims to strike a balance between the abstruse and the elementary, the scientific and the educational. The first topic is the Gregorian chant followed by surveys of French, Italian, English, and Russian music.
Music in Words: A Guide to Researching and Writing about Music (electronic resource)
by
A compact guide to researching and writing about music, addressing all the issues that anyone who writes about music may confront. A writing guide and reference manual in one.
Sourcebook for Research in Music
by
The Sourcebook for Research in Music has become an invaluable resource in musical scholarship. The balance between depth of content and brevity of format makes it ideal for use as a textbook for students, a reference work for faculty and professional musicians, and as an aid for librarians.
Writing about Music: A Style Sheet
by
This essential volume covers some of the thorniest issues of musical discourse: how to go about describing musical works and procedures in prose, the rules for citations in notes and bibliography, and proper preparation of such materials as musical examples, tables, and illustrations.
|
Library of Congress |
|
|---|---|
| Music | M |
| Music Dictionaries & Encyclopedias | ML 100 - 109 |
| History and Criticism | ML 159 - 161 |
| General Works | ML 159 - 161 |
| By period | ML 162 - 197 |
| By region or country | ML 198 - 360.6 |
| Biography | ML 385 - 429 |
| Composition & performances | ML 430 - 458 |
| Instruments & Instrumental Music | ML 459 - 1380 |
| Vocal Music | ML 1400 - 3275 |
| Program Music | ML 3300 - 3351 |
| Dance Music | ML 3400 - 3465 |
| Popular Music | ML 3469 - 3541 |
| Folk, National & Ethnic Music | ML 3544 -3776 |
| Musical Research | ML 3797 - 3799.5 |
| Philosophical & societal aspects of music. Physics & acoustics of music. Physiological aspects of music |
ML 3300 - 3923 |
| General Works | ML 3800 |
| Social & political aspects of music | ML 3916 - 3918 |
| Moral influence on music. Therapeutic use of music. | ML 3919 - 3920 |
| Religious aspects of music | ML 3921 - 3921.8 |
