Baroque Music by
Invites the reader to study with ear and eye some typical examples of the music of the Baroque period.
French Baroque Music by
The definitive study of French music from 1581 to 1733.
A History of Baroque Music by
An exhaustive study of the music of the Baroque period, with particular focus on the 17th century.
Musica Poetica: Musical-rhetorical figures in German Baroque Music by
Provides and unprecedented examination of the development of Baroque musical thought.
Music in the Baroque by
Traces the production and consumption of music in the seventeenth and early eighteenth century. Going beyond a history of style, the text explores patronage, education, religious and civic ritual, theater, and visual culture. Focuses not only on the nature of music in the Baroque period, but also on the very different ways in which men and women experienced music in their daily lives. Treats music as an expression of political and national identity, examining it in the context of the era's art and literature, political and religious conflicts, and contentious issues of class and gender.
Music in the Baroque Era by
An analysis of the Baroque style of music and its inventive forms of expression, such as the opera, from 1600 to 1750.
Music of the Baroque by
Offers a vivid introduction to European music from 1600 through 1750. Integrating historical and cultural context with composer biography, music analysis, and performance practice, the text surveys Baroque music while analyzing in depth more than forty works from the principal traditions of the period.
The New Grove Italian Baroque Masters by
Presents authoritative biographical essays and musical assessments of the six greatest composers of this period.
Renaissance and Baroque Music by The Sonata in the Baroque Era by
Explores the first appearance of the term "sonata" as an instrumental title in the sixteenth century to the virtual end of the thorough-bass practice, around 1750.
Studies in Renaissance and Baroque Music in Honor of Arthur Mendel by 
Historical Dictionary of Baroque Music by
Fills a significant space in the whole sub-series on music, since it tells us much more not only about the music but also the age that generated it.
Music and Culture in Italy from the Middle Ages to the Baroque by 
Timpani Tone and the Interpretation of Baroque and Classical Music by
Explores the nature, production, and evolution of timpani tone and provides insights into how to interpret the music of J. S. Bach, Handel, Haydn, and Mozart.
Towards Tonality by
This is a collection of essays based on lectures presented at the International Orpheus Academy for Music and Theory on'Historical Theory, Performance, and Meaning in Baroque Music'. The often complex connections and intersections between, e.g., modal and tonal idioms, contrapuntal and harmonic organisation, were considered from various perspectives as to the transition (towards tonality) from the Renaissance to the Baroque era.
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance by
"Conceived and produced in association with the Renaissance society of America, this work presents a panoramic view of the cultural movement and the period of history beginning in Italy from approximately 1350, broadening geographically to include the rest of Europe by the middle-to-late-15th century, and ending in the early 17th century. Each of the nearly 1,200 entries provides a learned and succinct account suitable for inquiring readers at several levels. These readable essays covering the arts and letters, in addition to everyday life, will be appreciated by general readers and high-school students. The thoughtful analyses will enlighten college students and delight scholars. A selective bibliography of primary and secondary sources for further study follows each article."--"Outstanding reference sources 2000", American Libraries, May 2000. Comp. by the Reference Sources Committee, RUSA, ALA.
Historical Dictionary of Baroque Music by
Fills a significant space in the whole sub-series on music, since it tells us much more not only about the music but also the age that generated it.
The Art of Musical Phrasing in the Eighteenth Century by
The Art of Musical Phrasing in the Eighteenth Century gathers and discusses, for the first time, an extensive collection of quotations and musical illustrations relevant to phrase articulation and written and unwritten rests.
Classical Style by
Focuses on the three most-beloved composers of the Vienna School and is considered basic to any study of the music from their era. Presents insights in language that is clear, persuasive, and nontechnical.
Language of the Spirit by
Traces the history of Western music, introduces readers to the most important composers and compositions, and explains the underlying structure and logic of their music. Essential reading for anyone who has ever wished to know more about this sublime art.
Classical Form by
Introduces a new theory of form for instrumental music in the classical style. The theory provides a broad set of principles and a comprehensive methodology for the analysis of classical form, from individual ideas, phrases, and themes to the large-scale organization of complete movements. It emphasizes the notion of formal function, that is, the specific role a given formal unit plays in the structural organization of a classical work.
Sounds and Sweet Airs by
Francesca Caccini. Barbara Strozzi. Élisabeth Jacquet de la Guerre. Marianna Martines. Fanny Hensel. Clara Schumann. Lili Boulanger. Elizabeth Maconchy.Great composers all, but their musical legacy is still rarely acknowledged.Since the birth of classical music, those women who dared to compose have been patronised, had their sex lives scrutinised and the veracity of their authorship questioned. They worked within a musical culture where beliefs about what women could and could not do determined their every move. Yet, time and again there emerged individuals who would evade, confront and ignore the rules that sought to exclude them from the world of composition.Taking the reader on a journey from seventeenth-century Medici Florence to London in the Blitz, and beyond, Anna Beer reveals the hidden histories of eight remarkable women, explores the special communities that enabled them to compose their music, and asks tough questions about why we still don't hear their masterpieces performed.A long-overdue celebration of neglected virtuosos, Sounds and Sweet Airs presents a complex and inspirational picture of artistic endeavour and achievement that deserves to be part of our cultural heritage.
All Music Guide to Classical Music by
This is the definitive source for composers, compositions, and genres. The book contains over 500 composer and 800 performer biographies. Each artist entry includes vital statistics and album recommendations. The book covers thousands of compositions, including operas, symphonies, concertos, and ballets, and it includes 23 essays devoted to classical music's major eras, forms, and genres. Choral works, songs, keyboard works, chamber music, and film scores receive dedicated sections. Includes 4,000 descriptions of composers' works and 12,000 recordings recommended by All Music Guide editors.
Classical Music by
This book charts four centuries of Western classical music, from the Baroque era through to the end of the 20th century. The Chronology presents information on all aspects of classical music from 1600 to the 2000s, including biographies of composers, patrons, publishers, impresarios, conductors, and performers. Births, deaths, compositions, performances, and many biographical highs and lows are included to give the reader a complete and varied look at what happened, when, with a particular emphasis on the stories surrounding a piece of music's first performance.
Complete Book of Classical Music by
This invaluable musical compendium contains biographies of over 100 composers, including many before the age of J.S. Bach, and an analysis of over a thousand of their compositions in all branches of music. To provide historical perspective, the composers are in chronological order, beginning with Guillaume de Machaut and ending with Richard Strauss. A critical evaluation and biography of each composer is followed by a list of his major works, presented in order of composition, with programme and analytical notes allowing the reader to trace the growth and evolution of each composer from apprenticeship to full maturity. Notes on early and lesser-known works are also included. Unusual and interesting features are the discussion of less familiar composers and the inclusion of detailed ballet and opera plots
The Essential Canon of Classical Music by
A single-source guide to classical music introduces 240 composers who form the core of essential music literacy presenting their lives and contributions in chronological order.
Historical Dictionary of Music of the Classical Period by
Includes entries on composers, conductors, performers, patrons, and publishers, as well as major centers of music-making, typically instruments, important technical terms, and emerging musical forms, including the symphony and opera.
From Madrigal to Opera: Monteverdi's Staging of the Self by
This pathbreaking study links two traditionally separate genres as their stars crossed to explore the emergence of multiple selves in early modern Italian culture and society. Mauro Calcagno focuses on the works of Claudio Monteverdi, a master of both genres, to investigate how they reflect changing ideas about performance and role-playing by singers. Calcagno traces the roots of dialogic subjectivity to Petrarch’s love poetry arguing that Petrarchism exerted a powerful influence not only on late Renaissance literature and art, but also on music. Covering more than a century of music and cultural history, the book demonstrates that the birth of opera relied on an important feature of the madrigalian tradition: the role of the composer as a narrative agent enabling performers to become characters and hold a specific point of view.
The Oxford Illustrated History of Opera by
In this beautifully illustrated, oversized volume--boasting over 250 pictures, 30 in full color--eleven leading authorities chronicle the full sweep of this stunning musical genre, ranging from the earliest known works to such recent experimental efforts as Robert Wilson and Philip Glass's Einstein on the Beach.
The Cambridge Companion to Eighteenth-Century Opera by
Reflecting a wide variety of approaches to eighteenth-century opera, this Companion brings together leading international experts in the field to provide a valuable reference source. Viewing opera as a complex and fascinating form of art and social ritual, rather than reducing it simply to music and text analysis, individual essays investigate aspects such as audiences, architecture of the theaters, marketing, acting style, and the politics and strategy of representing class and gender. Overall, the volume provides a synthesis of well established knowledge, reflects recent research on eighteenth-century opera, and stimulates further research
From Madrigal to Opera: Monteverdi's Staging of the Self by
This pathbreaking study links two traditionally separate genres as their stars crossed to explore the emergence of multiple selves in early modern Italian culture and society. Mauro Calcagno focuses on the works of Claudio Monteverdi, a master of both genres, to investigate how they reflect changing ideas about performance and role-playing by singers. Calcagno traces the roots of dialogic subjectivity to Petrarch’s love poetry arguing that Petrarchism exerted a powerful influence not only on late Renaissance literature and art, but also on music. Covering more than a century of music and cultural history, the book demonstrates that the birth of opera relied on an important feature of the madrigalian tradition: the role of the composer as a narrative agent enabling performers to become characters and hold a specific point of view.
Opera: The Great Artists, Composers and Their Masterworks by
Joyce Bourne takes us on a compelling tour de force of 400 years of the world's great operas providing biographies for every important composer and synopses for each of their key works. She also covers the singers whose performances have made music history, the festivals that showcase both standard repertory and groundbreaking new works, the stages, the scenery and even the buildings that make opera such a thrilling art form.
The Opera Manual by
The Opera Manual, based on the actual scores of the works discussed, is the only exhaustive, up-to-date opera companion—a “recipe book” that will enable its readers to explore those operas they know and discover new ones to sample and enjoy.
International Dictionary of Opera by
This beautifully illustrated guide contains 1,075 signed one-to-four-page critical articles on composers, librettists, performers, conductors, designers, directors, producers, and individual operas, including many recent and/or lesser-known works
Opera: A Research and Information Guide by
Opera is the only guide to the research writings on all aspects of opera. Presents 2,833 titles of books, parts of books, articles and dissertations with full bibliographic descriptions and critical annotations. Users will find the core literature on the operas of 320 individual composers and details of operatic life in 43 countries.