Accounting Fraud by
Scandals relating to manipulation and fraud have dominated much of the history of business and the accounting profession in America since the founding. Crooks, corruption, scandals and panics have been regular features of the business landscape ever since, with regulations and the expansion of financial disclosure, auditing, and regulatory agencies following major debacles. The importance of this topic is demonstrated by the major accounting and finance scandals of the 21st century, some of the most destructive in our history, including Enron and the multi-trillion dollar real estate crises. This pair of scandals has an extensive number of companions (if less severe and not as well known). The types of violations, causes, and results are equally valid and continue to be of concern today. This short book reveals the signs that suggest financial corruption in organizations and proposes remedies to contain it and prevent its recurrence. It can be used as a supplementary source in introductory financial accounting courses (elementary and intermediate), accounting- and finance-related MBA courses, and business history; or it can be used as part of forensic accounting and fraud detection for continuing education. In addition, it can be useful for accounting and finance professionals wanting exposure to financial disclosure issues and other accounting risks, along with executives looking to expand their knowledge of accounting fraud and risk areas.
Benford's Law by
"A powerful new tool for all forensic accountants, or anyone who analyzes data that may have been altered. Benford's Law gives the expected patterns of the digits in the numbers in tabulated data such as town and city populations or Madoff's fictitious portfolio returns. Those digits, in unaltered data, will not occur in equal proportions; there is a large bias towards the lower digits, so much so that nearly one-half of all numbers are expected to start with the digits 1 or 2. These patterns were originally discovered by physicist Frank Benford in the early 1930s, and have since been found to apply to all tabulated data. Mark J. Nigrini has been a pioneer in applying Benford's Law to auditing and forensic accounting, even before his groundbreaking 1999 Journal of Accountancy article introducing this useful tool to the accounting world. In Benford's Law, Nigrini shows the widespread applicability of Benford's Law and its practical uses to detect fraud, errors, and other anomalies. Explores primary, associated, and advanced tests, all described with data sets that include corporate payments data and election data Includes ten fraud detection studies, including vendor fraud, payroll fraud, due diligence when purchasing a business, and tax evasion Covers financial statement fraud, with data from Enron, AIG, and companies that were the target of hedge fund short sales Looks at how to detect Ponzi schemes, including data on Madoff, Waxenberg, and more Examines many other applications, from the Clinton tax returns and the charitable gifts of Lehman Brothers to tax evasion and number invention Benford's Law has 250 figures and uses 50 interesting authentic and fraudulent real-world data sets to explain both theory and practice, and concludes with an agenda and directions for future research. The companion website adds additional information and resources"-- Provided by publisher.
Criminal Financial Investigations by
Understanding the financial motivations behind white collar crime is often the key to the apprehension and successful prosecution of these individuals. Now in its second edition, Criminal Financial Investigations: The Use of Forensic Accounting Techniques and Indirect Methods of Proof provides direct instruction on the "how to" aspects of criminal
Financial Forensics Body of Knowledge by
"The definitive, must-have guide for the forensic accounting professionalA comprehensive and practical overview of civil and criminal forensic accounting methodology, Forensic Accounting Body of Knowledge defines the profession of forensic accounting, capturing and codifying methods that define the body of knowledge. Filled with practical forensic accounting tips, tools and techniques, the book contains contributions from US and global professionals spanning all aspects of the financial community, including the law enforcement, investment, investigative, and regulatory arenas. Provides immediately useful tools Includes more than 200 tips and techniques Globally relevant content, with cutting-edge counterterrorism forensic accounting methodology Supported by a continually updated Internet-based software application Offers contributions from twenty financial experts in law enforcement, investigative, and regulatory fields Accompanied by a frequently updated Internet-based software application, Forensic Accounting Body of Knowledge will refine financial information users' approaches, techniques, and methods with useful tools and tips that reflect the continually growing body of forensic accounting knowledge"--Provided by publisher.
Financial Investigation and Forensic Accounting by
As economic crimes continue to increase, accountants and law enforcement personnel must be vigilant in expanding their knowledge of ways to detect these clandestine operations. Written by a retired IRS agent with more than twenty years of experience,
Forensic Accounting and Finance by
A complete guide to Forensic Accounting and Finance, this book is ideal for advanced-level students and new or mid-level forensic accounting professionals looking to boost their specialist knowledge as part of their CPD, for accountants who wish to build more knowledge in this skills area or advanced undergraduates who feel ready to stretch themselves. Demand for expertise in this field is growing, and Forensic Accounting and Finance offers a complete, accessible and affordable guide, combining coverage of principle theory with the real and practical needs of the professional. Written by a strong academic and practitioner author team and in association with the Network for Independent Forensic Accountants, this book covers all forensic accounting topics from forensics as an extension of auditing and the basic principles of forensic accounting, to financial analysis and modelling, financial reporting, financial crime, and IT systems. Forensic Accounting and Finance shares current examples and case studies, highlighting cultural differences for key topics with updated regional legislation information available online for those looking for a truly global approach which is always up to date. Online supporting resources include PowerPoint lecture slides and links to regional updates.
Forensic Accounting and Fraud Investigation for Non-Experts by
Fully revised, the proven primer on forensic accounting with all-new cases A must-have reference for every business professional, Forensic Accounting and Fraud Investigation for Non-Experts, Third Edition is a necessary tool for those interested in understanding how financial fraud occurs and what to do when you find or suspect it within your organization. With comprehensive coverage, it provides insightful advice on where an organization is most susceptible to fraud. Updated with new cases and new material on technology tools in forensic accounting Covers the core accounting, investigative, and legal aspects of forensic accounting for professionals new to the field Covers investigative and legal issues along with accounting schemes Written by a team of recognized experts in the field of forensic accounting, Forensic Accounting and Fraud Investigation for Non-Experts, Third Edition is essential reading for accountants and investigators requiring the most up-to-date methods in dealing with financial fraud within their organizations.
Fraud Data Analytics Methodology by
Uncover hidden fraud and red flags using efficient data analytics Fraud Data Analytics Methodology addresses the need for clear, reliable fraud detection with a solid framework for a robust data analytic plan. By combining fraud risk assessment and fraud data analytics, you'll be able to better identify and respond to the risk of fraud in your audits. Proven techniques help you identify signs of fraud hidden deep within company databases, and strategic guidance demonstrates how to build data interrogation search routines into your fraud risk assessment to locate red flags and fraudulent transactions. These methodologies require no advanced software skills, and are easily implemented and integrated into any existing audit program. Professional standards now require all audits to include data analytics, and this informative guide shows you how to leverage this critical tool for recognizing fraud in today's core business systems. Fraud cannot be detected through audit unless the sample contains a fraudulent transaction. This book explores methodologies that allow you to locate transactions that should undergo audit testing. Locate hidden signs of fraud Build a holistic fraud data analytic plan Identify red flags that lead to fraudulent transactions Build efficient data interrogation into your audit plan Incorporating data analytics into your audit program is not about reinventing the wheel. A good auditor must make use of every tool available, and recent advances in analytics have made it accessible to everyone, at any level of IT proficiency. When the old methods are no longer sufficient, new tools are often the boost that brings exceptional results. Fraud Data Analytics Methodology gets you up to speed, with a brand new tool box for fraud detection.
A Guide to Forensic Accounting Investigation by
"Recent catastrophic business failures have caused some to rethink the value of the audit, with many demanding that auditors take more responsibility for fraud detection. This book provides forensic accounting specialists--experts in uncovering fraud--with new coverage on the latest PCAOB Auditing Standards, the Foreign Corrupt Practices Act, and on options fraud, as well as on fraud in China and its implications. Auditors are equipped with the necessary practical aids, case examples, and skills for identifying situations that call for extended fraud detection procedures"-- Provided by publisher.
The Successful Frauditor's Casebook by
Learn what works well and avoid the pitfalls in the real world of fraud detection and fraud investigation This casebook reveals how frauds and fraudsters were discovered--and delves into the investigations that followed. Each chapter covers a particular case, analyzing the factors that allowed fraud to develop and assessing the effectiveness of the detection process and the resulting fraud investigation. Importantly, the casebook examines the steps taken by organizations to recover from the cost of fraud and the damage that fraud has caused. High-profile author, Peter Tickner, is well known in auditing and investigative circles Cases of fraud, drawn from the author's direct experience as well as world-wide, are supplemented with checklists and practical guidance on fraud detection
Essentials of Forensic Accounting by
The highly experienced authors of the Essentials of Forensic Accounting define and explain the disciplined approaches to forensic accounting that lead to a thorough knowledge of the varied specialties within forensic accounting. Through illustrative examples and explanations, this book makes abstract concepts come to life for both seasoned professionals and students and it will help them understand and navigate successfully in this multifaceted area.