Business Law by
This comprehensive textbook provides a thorough and accessible introduction to business law for the non-law student. Packed with up-to-date and relevant examples, it demonstrates the real applicability of the law to the business world, making it an invaluable companion for all those tackling business law for the first time.Whether you're a would-be entrepreneur or looking to a career in management, this book gives you the solid base you need to make confident business decisions in the future. Designed for non-lawyers, Business Law is written in a clear and easy-to-follow style which avoids excessive legal terminology and presents the need-to-know facts and cases.Fully referenced throughout and with an accompanying Online Resource Centre, Business Law combines accurate legal detail with strong learning tools such as self-test questions, chapter summaries and key definitions, helping you successfully navigate your way through this often complex subject.
Business Law and Ethics by
The Business Reference Guide series is designed to provide a solid foundation for the research of various business topics. This volume offers an expansive overview of information systems and technology. The essay collection is broken up into several sections that discuss the underpinnings of technology, illustrate the importance of information systems in decision making, and detail information system development and auditing processes.
Business Law Basics by
When you start a business, legal issues can seem complex, even scary. Business Law Basics will help you ask smart questions and get the right advice. This simple guide will show you everything you need to know about:How to choose an attorney.Contract essentials, including patents and copyrights.What you need to protect (such as processes or intellectual property).How to reorganize or restructure your business.You'll also learn the basics of partnership and corporate structures, license and regulation essentials, employment issues, legal aspects of buying and selling, common pitfalls, international business issues—and more.Each of the books in the Crash Course for Entrepreneurs series offers a high-level overview of the critical things you need to know and do if you want to survive and thrive in our super-competitive world. Of course, there's much more to learn about each topic, but what you'll read here will give you the framework for learning the rest.
Legal Forms for Starting and Running a Small Business by
Most small business owners, can't afford to hire a lawyer to draft the legal documents they need in the course of day-to-day business. Now there's an affordable solution. Legal Forms for Starting & Running a Small Business provides over 60 legal forms and documents and all the step-by-step instructions needed to use them. This collection of essential legal and business documents helps you: create contracts to buy, sell, rent, or store goods hire employees and consultants protect your trade secrets create noncompete agreements prepare an LLC operating agreement borrow and lend money buy a business lease commercial space prepare corporate bylaws record minutes of meetings buy real estate, and and much more. This edition is updated with the latest legal documents, contracts, and other forms you need to run your business smoothly, along with up-to-date best practices for business owners and managers. Legal Forms for Starting & Running a Small Business includes all the information and instructions you need to complete and use your forms effectively.
The New and Complete Business of Licensing by
This is a comprehensive book on the practice of licensing from both the licensee's and licensor's perspectives. It covers the history as well as current industry specifics and statistics, both in the U.S. and in every international market. The book details marketing and advertising procedures, legal clearances, accounting, and ethics considerations. It contains an extensive appendix with sample forms that can be downloaded and customized by the purchaser of the book.
The SHRM Essential Guide to Employment Law by
Your One-Stop Legal Reference to Employment LawThe SHRM Essential Guide to Employment Law presents in simple, straightforward language everything HR professionals, employers, and small business owners need to know about their relationship with their employees to comply with the law and protect themselves and their business from legal action. Covering more than 200 workplace law topics, the Guide provides an overview of U.S. workplace laws, regulations, and court decisions that employers, large or small, are likely to face, as well as what pitfalls to anticipate and when to seek professional advice. Each chapter offers general principles, highlights key issues, and provides specific examples and suggestions to help make the employer-employee relationship run more smoothly.
Starting a Successful Business by
The first 18 months of your business is crucial. This is when the majority of new businesses fail and where a lack of proper preparation and forward planning can be your downfall. This eighth edition of Starting a Successful Business is your definitive guide to setting up a business that will thrive. Starting a Successful Business contains the crucial, practical information needed to turn your exciting new idea into a stable and profitable business. It covers each important step in the start-up process in a clear and accessible way. The major problems facing any new business are discussed, potential pitfalls are highlighted and practical advice is offered on key topics such as: ideas for new start-ups, business planning, marketing, franchising, selling and advertising, finances and financial control, taxation, business law and employing staff.Case studies from around the world provide inspiration and real-world guidance to support you as an entrepreneur. Brand new content on cloud computing, digital developments and making your business environmentally sustainable makes this Starting a Successful Business a cutting-edge and modern resource to show you how to make your business a success.
Understanding Government Contract Law by
This updated classic offers clear and concise explanations of the basic legal concepts of government contract law for professionals at any stage of their career. Written in straightforward language for contracting officers, contract administrators, contractors, subcontractors, and others in the procurement field, this new edition has been updated with new cases and regulations. The book breaks down the complex arena of government contract law into its three most basic parts: the contracting parties, the contract itself, and legal challenges. It begins by examining key aspects of the contracting officer's job and provides guidance for navigating its different and often conflicting demands. The government contractor's responsibilities and challenges are also outlined. Government contracts come in a lot more varieties than the typical commercial contract, and they also tend to be long and confusing. The second part of the book introduces the different types of legal agreements the government uses to buy the goods and services it needs—and addresses the challenges of writing a perfectly clear contract and guidelines for interpreting an ambiguous one. The book concludes with an overview of the government contract litigation process.This is an essential text for students preparing to do the work of government contracts, an indispensable guide for those new to the work, and a valuable reference for contracting personnel who seek solutions to specific issues they face in their day-to-day work.
Your Rights at Work by
Your Rights at Work is a comprehensive, jargon-free guide to the legal rights of the employee and the responsibilities of the UK employer. Accessible and reliable, it offers real solutions to the problems and issues that can face anyone at work. Using the law is always a last resort, but if you have to take that step, there is practical advice on that too. Topics covered include: starting a job; parental leave and maternity rights; flexible working; equality law; dismissal and redundancy; pay and holiday rights; grievance procedures and how to enforce your rights. Your Rights at Work is written by employment experts at the Trade Union Congress (TUC). As the people who campaigned for many of the rights set out in this book, there is no one better to explain how they should apply in your workplace and what to do if they don't.
Business for Beginners by
Where do you start? -- How do you find the right business? -- What is a financial statement? -- How do you research the market? -- Why do you need a lawyer? -- What start-up expenses will you incur? -- What is a business plan? -- Should you incorporate your business? -- What are you required to do by law? -- How do you market your business? -- How do you organize your accounting, time and paperwork? -- Your home office : heaven or hell? -- What will your story be?
The Business Guide to Legal Literacy by
The Business Guide to Legal Literacy bridges the gap between law and business by translating legalese into language that makes business sense and offers a new way to think about the law¾as a useful business tool. The book is filled with dozens of real-life examples that illustrate a step-by-step process for avoiding lawsuits and transforming potential business legal problems that threaten growth and profitability into opportunities
Business Structures by
Corporation, LLC, partnership, sole proprietorship…what's the difference, and which one is best for you? Experienced corporate attorney Michael Spadaccini answers those questions and provides all the tools you need to select, plan, organize, form, operate and maintain a business. Real-world scenarios help you analyze your business and evaluate the pros and cons of each business type. A complete reference section compares and contrasts the legal requirements, filing fees, taxation requirements and maintenance requirements for all 50 states. Spadaccini goes beyond choosing a structure to offer formation guidelines and maintenance requirements, ensuring your business' success.
Buying and Selling a Business by
The working relationship with the person opposite you at the negotiating table during a sale can determine your success or failure. Experienced attorney Ira Nottonson covers both sides of the table, presenting the buyer's and the seller's perspectives, as well as critical steps in the sale process, including presentation, negotiation and documentations. Learn how to gain the upper hand, minimize financial risk and come out a winner, no matter on which side of the table you're sitting.
The Entrepreneur's Guide to Business Law by
This standard-setting book is an essential resource for anyone looking to understand the legal challenges faced by entrepreneurs. From leaving your current job to taking your company public, THE ENTREPRENEUR'S GUIDE TO BUSINESS LAW has the information you need to avoid potentially costly missteps. This book contains 17 chapters that follow the progression of a start-up business and anticipate its legal concerns through each stage of growth, with essential coverage of e-commerce and international issues where appropriate.
Prosperity by
What is business for? Day one of a business course will tell you: it is to maximise shareholder profit. This single idea pervades all our thinking and teaching about business around the world but it is fundamentally wrong, Colin Mayer argues. It has had disastrous and damaging consequences for our economies, environment, politics, and societies. In this urgent call for reform, 'Prosperity' challenges the fundamentals of business thinking. It sets out a comprehensive new agenda for establishing the corporation as a unique and powerful force for promoting economic and social wellbeing in its fullest sense - for customers and communities, today and in the future. Mayer is a leading figure in the global discussion about the purpose and role of the corporation. He presents a radical and carefully considered prescription for corporations, their ownership, governance, finance, and regulation. Drawing together insights from business, law, economics, science, philosophy, and history, he shows how the corporation can realize its full potential to contribute to economic and social wellbeing of the many, not just the few. 'Prosperity' tells us not only how to run successful businesses but also how policy can get us there and fix our broken system.
The Small Business Legal Tool Kit by
When your business dreams go from idea to reality, you're suddenly faced with laws and regulations governing nearly every move you make. Learn how to stay in compliance and protect your business from legal action with professional legal advice from attorneys Theresa A. Pickner and Ira Nottonson. In this essential toolkit, you'll get a thorough understanding of the legal and tax requirements of your business as well as the information you need to make informed decisions.