Analyzing Economics and Finance by
The Business Reference Guide series is designed to provide a solid foundation for the research of various business topics. This volume presents an informative overview of the investigative methods used when evaluating a business's financial and economic status. The essays examine the influence of mathematics on economic analysis, the methods for measuring organizational financial health, and the processes involved in conducting financial and technical analyses.
Behavioural Corporate Finance by
Orthodox financial theory often ignores the role played by managers'personal characteristics in their decision-making processes. However, as anyone with experience in the business world knows, managers'personalities are crucial in the choices they make. Indeed, it should be noted that firms do not make decisions, rather it is the managers who decide – either as a group or individually.This book explores the impact of managers'psychological profiles and life experiences on their financial decisions, taking the following key questions as starting points: Why do they commit mistakes? Why do they contract debt and issue shares? How do they choose the right amount of dividends to distribute? Why do they acquire other firms? Why do they sometimes choose to manipulate information and to commit fraud?As the book highlights, having insights into managers'psychology is essential to understanding their choices and predicting decisions made by competing firms.
Business and Finance by
This book presents and discusses information in the study of business and finance. Topics discussed include partner selection, market orientation and performances of international joint ventures in Taiwan; project management; Asian stock markets; consolidation and determinants of bank efficiency; the changing face of international HRM and business; empire-building; the link between microfinance and well-being and the Microcluster Value Chain Analysis.
Comprehensive Monograph of Corporate Finance by
This publication attempts to provide a thorough analysis of the fundamental principles in the large, complex field of corporate finance, the results of the analysis being afterwards discussed using actual examples and case studies in practice. This book is comprised of four main parts and eight chapters, detailing every major aspect of this vast field and offering important information about every element and phenomenon relevant for a thorough understanding of the mechanics of today's financial environment. On the whole, this can be seen as a comprehensive study of most of the important aspects of modern economy and management, useful to both entrepreneurs and managers as well as for economists, analysts or students. Its approach is to use comprehensible language without sacrificing clarity from a professional viewpoint, so that it can be read and understood without a lot of economic training.
Concepts in Finance by
The Business Reference Guide series is designed to provide a solid foundation for the research of various business topics. This volume offers an expansive overview of general concepts in finance, including budgeting, managerial finance, and financial theory.
Corporate Finance and Strategy by
The Business Reference Guide series is designed to provide a solid foundation for the research of various business topics. This volume presents a wide-ranging overview of corporate finance and strategy. The collection is broken into several sections that describe the basic corporate financial strategies, the elements of corporate financial policy, and common corporate practices.
Financial and Organizational Behavior by
The Business Reference Guide series is designed to provide a solid foundation for the research of various business topics. This volume offers an intriguing overview of financial and organizational behavior as they relate to the study of business. The essay collection is separated into two sections that examine overarching themes in organizational behavior and analyze common trends in behavioral economics.
Handbook of Business and Finance: Multinational Companies, Venture Capital and Non-profit Organizations by
This new book gathers the latest research from around the globe on business developments in multinational corporations, venture capital firms and non-profit organizations. The challenges of multinational companies (MNCs) in the particular areas of attraction and retention, training and career development of the local skilled labour workforce are analyzed using the data of 529 MNCs in six Asian countries. Also examined is the argument that the global coordination of MNC activities and possible local impacts on the subsidiary or host country level are connected. Furthermore, this book introduces the notion of alliance portfolio internationalization (API), which refers to the degree of foreignness of partners in a firm's collection of immediate alliance relationships. It is suggested that as a firm's API increases, financial performance is expected to initially decline, then improve, and finally decline again. Additionally, this book explores staged financing - a device very popular in reality, especially in venture capital financing. Over 90% of venture capital is invested through staged financing. Other chapters in this book examine the syndication of investment and its implications on the allocation of income rights and control rights, the current economics of nonprofit organizations, the impact of mergers and acquisitions (M&A) on the relationship between business definition and corporate growth, and an analysis of securitizations of corporate receivables, credit card debt, auto loans and leases, home equity loans, and non-agency guaranteed mortgages.
Research in Finance by
The theme of Research in Finance vol. 29 is'Dealing with Crisis and Regulation.'The first chapter looks for solutions to the European financial crisis, and the second provides a study of audit qualifications for accounting firms in Spain using advanced empirical methods. The next chapters are more international in focus, with topics including: business strategies for competition in Mexico; anomalies in the real return on corporate equity compared to real assets; the stabilizing influence of commodity futures trading in oil and gold. The following chapters explore the unintended consequences and burdens of regulations, for example the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002, and other more deeply underlying factors in the financial markets. The regulatory examination then shifts to the electric power grid, and some unintended consequences of the new regulations requiring retail utilities to buy all the power produced by wind and solar generators linked to their grid.
Encyclopedia of White-Collar and Corporate Crime by
Since the first edition of the Encyclopedia of White Collar and Corporate Crime was produced in 2004, the number and severity of these crimes have risen to the level of calamity, so much so that many experts attribute the near-Depression of 2008 to white-collar malfeasance, namely crimes of greed and excess by bankers and financial institutions. Whether the perpetrators were prosecuted or not, white-collar and corporate crime came near to collapsing the U.S. economy. In the 7 years since the first edition was produced we have also seen the largest Ponzi scheme in history (Maddoff), an ecological disaster caused by British Petroleum and its subcontractors (Gulf Oil Spill), and U.S. Defense Department contractors operating like vigilantes in Iraq (Blackwater).
White-collar criminals have been busy, and the Second Edition of this encyclopedia captures what has been going on in the news and behind the scenes with new articles and updates to past articles.
Common Sense Finance by
This book addresses, from a conversational and hands-on perspective, the implications of finance, financial literacy, and the importance of understanding finance for both individuals and entrepreneurs. Finance and understanding financial matters are the ones that drive the decision-making process for businesses, large and small; but it is especially important for small business owners as they attempt to build, expand, and develop their businesses. As a CPA, member of the AICPA Financial Literacy Commission, and a weekly columnist for Inc, personal finance and financial literacy is something that drives decisions and plans for both individuals and organizations. Better informed people make better decisions. This book addresses the multitude of financial issues faced by individuals, entrepreneurs, and small business owners. Incorporating technology trends into this text, resources, links, and additional information is integrated throughout this text.
Enterprise Risk and Opportunity Management by
Enterprise Risk and Opportunity Management provides much-needed guidance tailored specifically to the technological sector. While most enterprise risk management guides are written for traditional businesses and finance firms, this book translates effective enterprise risk and opportunity management (EROM) principles into strategies and practices that work for government, nonprofit, and for-profit organizations in the technological space. Originally designed for noncommercial pioneering enterprises like NASA, an entire chapter is now devoted toward applying the methods to profit-making technological enterprises.
The Essential CFO by
Summary: "Discover the power of the CFO's role in delivering shareholder value. During the past decade, the CFO role has expanded dramatically in its breadth, complexity, and criticality. Filled with proven strategies, best practices, and keen insights, The Essential CFO describes how today's CFOs are responding to their expanded roles within both public and private companies. With straightforward and pragmatic guidance, author Bruce Nolop shows how CFOs are partnering with CEOs to deliver shareholder value by articulating a strategic plan, determining capital allocations, managing the capital structure, driving financial performance, and implementing strategic transactions. Covers how CFOs are establishing robust accounting and risk management processes and effectively communicating with both external and internal constituencies Looks at the role of the CFO in transforming financial organizations to drive effectiveness and efficiencies Examines how CFOs can develop talent with the experience, expertise, and leadership skills to meet the challenges of the future Written from a balanced, top-down perspective of the modern CFO, The Essential CFO provides you with practical prescriptions for executing impactful corporate finance strategies"-- Provided by publisher.
Finance Fundamentals for Nonprofits, with Website by
Summary: "A complete guide to the financial requirements a nonprofit organization must follow to indefinitely maintain the volume and quality of their services an organization may have plenty of capacity in the long run, but in the short run, donor restrictions and limited financing options are constraining. Here-and-now liquid assets are the only resources available. Finance Fundamentals for Nonprofits: Building Capacity and Sustainability shows how to measure a nonprofit organization's financial capacity in different time frames and how to measure its ability to sustain capacity in each case. Explains how nonprofits differ from businesses and how they promote values-centered management Reveals how to improve financial capacity and sustainability Written by a nonprofit scholar Filled with real-world case studies and actionable advice relating financial health to financial capacity and sustainability, this book is essential reading for every nonprofit professional"
HBR Guide to Finance Basics for Managers by
Can you prepare a breakeven analysis? Do you know the difference between an income statement and a balance sheet? Or understand why a business that’s profitable can still go belly-up? Has your grasp of your company’s numbers helped―or hurt―your career?Whether you’re new to finance or you just need a refresher, this go-to guide will give you the tools and confidence you need to master the fundamentals, as all good managers must.