Accounting 1 by
We've taken our popular Accounting 1 guide and made it even better Updated content and an additional panel of information not only make this an essential companion for students in introductory accounting courses, but also a refresher for those in higher level courses. In this edition you will find more coverage of the subject including expanded sections on financial statements and accounting in business, making this a study tool you won't want to be without.
Accounting Equations and Answers by
Whether you are a business or accounting student looking to ace the next test or a veteran of the business world who could use a refresher, the Accounting Equations & Answers QuickStudy(R) guide is here to help This three-panel guide outlines commonly used and difficult-to-remember accounting equations for tracking assets, liabilities, equity, income, and more, as well as handy hints, common pitfalls, and other points to make sure you don't let anything slip through the cracks. Examples are included for easy comprehension.
Accounting Terminology by
A bank for the “language of money” you need to know. Our author, expert and professor targeted the most important vocabulary for this critical subject in 6 laminated pages covering over 300 terms. Easy to access at a moment’s notice for reviewing core concepts before exams, as a professional resource, or for general knowledge of an area that affects business as well as personal lives every day. Suggested uses: • Students/Teachers – reference for any business and accounting student • Personal – great crib sheet for personal investments, money managing, financial markets and government • Professionals – whether an entrepreneur or a CPA, keep a reference to the language of money by your side • Businesses – purchase as a give-away that will help you educate your clients, making for more productive discussions and relationships
A Dictionary of Accounting by
This best-selling dictionary contains entries on all aspects of accounting, including financial accounting, financial reporting, management accounting, taxation, auditing, corporate finance, and accounting bodies and institutions. Its international coverage includes important terms from the UK, US, Australia, India, and Asia-Pacific.
Short Introduction to Accounting Dollar Edition by
"An introduction to the fundamentals of accounting and how it is used that will help students apply accounting as a usable, everyday business tool. It adopts an intuitive, informal approach to describe basic principles - what they are, why they exist and how they are used - to help students see the connections between different parts of accounting and the rest of the business world. Written by an award-winning teacher and former management accountant, it encourages students to engage with the material by using questions and worked examples to test knowledge and understanding as they read. It includes a glossary of financial terms that is a useful guide to the language of business. Part of the Cambridge Short Introductions series of concise, authoritative guides to core subjects in business and management"-- Provided by publisher.
Cost Accounting by
We've taken our best-selling Cost Accounting guide and enhanced it with fresh, up-to-date information that every company should know! Like the original, our 3-panel edition details the many aspects of accounting within businesses; key definitions and examples of accounting practices are listed for easy reference. New to this edition are helpful charts, diagrams, and tables that further illustrate the subject.
Accounting Best Practices by
Fully updated in a new edition, Accounting Best Practices, Seventh Edition draws from renowned accounting leader Steven Bragg's extensive experience in successfully developing, operating, and consulting various accounting departments. This invaluable resource has the at-your-fingertips information you need, whether you've been searching for ways to cut costs in your accounting department, or just want to offer more services without the added expense. The best practices featured in this excellent step-by-step manual constitute need-to-know information concerning the most advanced techniques and strategies for increasing productivity, reducing costs, and monitoring existing accounting systems. This new edition boasts over 400 best practices, with fifty new to this edition in the areas of taxation, finance, collections, general ledger, accounts payable, and billing. Now featuring a corresponding seven-minute podcast for each chapter found on the book's companion website, Accounting Best Practices is the perfect, do-it-yourself book for the manager who wants to significantly boost their accounting department.
Accounting for Derivatives by
"The derivative practitioner's expert guide to IFRS 9 applicationAccounting for Derivatives explains the likely accounting implications of a proposed transaction on derivatives strategy, in alignment with the IFRS 9 standards. Written by a Big Four advisor, this book shares the author's insights from working with companies to minimise the earnings volatility impact of hedging with derivatives. This second edition includes new chapters on hedging inflation risk and stock options, with new cases on special hedging situations including hedging components of commodity risk. This new edition also covers the accounting treatment of special derivatives situations, such as raising financing through commodity-linked loans, derivatives on own shares and convertible bonds. Cases are used extensively throughout the book, simulating a specific hedging strategy from its inception to maturity following a common pattern. Coverage includes instruments such as forwards, swaps, cross-currency swaps, and combinations of standard options, plus more complex derivatives like knock-in forwards, KIKO forwards, range accruals, and swaps in arrears.Under IFRS, derivatives that do not qualify for hedge accounting may significantly increase earnings volatility. Compliant application of hedge accounting requires expertise across both the standards and markets, with an appropriate balance between derivatives expertise and accounting knowledge. This book helps bridge the divide, providing comprehensive IFRS coverage from a practical perspective. Become familiar with the most common hedging instruments from an IFRS 9 perspective Examine FX risk and hedging of dividends, earnings, and net assets of foreign subsidies Learn new standards surrounding the hedge of commodities, equity, inflation, and foreign and domestic liabilities Challenge the qualification for hedge accounting as the ultimate objective IFRS 9 is set to replace IAS 39, and many practitioners will need to adjust their accounting policies and hedging strategies to conform to the new standard. Accounting for Derivatives is the only book to cover IFRS 9 specifically for the derivatives practitioner, with expert guidance and practical advice"-- Provided by publisher.
Accounting for Fun and Profit by 
Accounting for Investments by
While there are a number of outstanding texts on valuation of interest rate derivatives, there are hardly any that provide a comprehensive treatment of the relevant accounting principles. Venkata Subramani’s well-structured book does a great job in filling this void. For each instrument, the author first provides a clear description of the product and its associated cashflows.
Financial Accounting by
Financial Accounting: A Course for All Majors was written for general education classes that include students from all disciplines. Chapters are concise so that students will actually take the time to read them; the writing style is nontechnical and informal so that all majors can comprehend the material; the numerical examples stress the key concepts but avoid unnecessary complications that can be an impediment to learning. Many financial accounting textbooks are user-oriented. This book is student-oriented. It was designed for students who may only take one financial accounting course; if they do not complete the course, financial accounting will always be a mystery to them and they will remain financially illiterate. This book strives to make financial accounting accessible to all majors so that they can improve their financial literacy and make better, more informed, financial decisions in their personal and professional lives. This book can be used as the primary textbook in a survey course, or as a supplemental resource in any course that requires a solid foundation in financial accounting. It will also be a useful primer for any manager who needs to refresh their knowledge of financial accounting.
Inside Accounting by
Based on a study covering a one-year financial reporting cycle at a commercial subsidiary of a well-known scientific research organization, Inside Accounting examines how accountants and non-accounting managers construct their company's earnings. Addressing issues in both internal management accounting, such as budgeting, performance evaluation, and control, as well as external financial accounting, such as book keeping, monthly/year end accounts and auditing, David Leung focuses on how people classify transactions, make professional judgments and use computer software for accounting, and prepare for and facilitate the auditing process. He also looks at accountancy training and the impact of people's affiliations to the accounting profession or other professions on their accounting and on their perceptions of financial statements. Other contingent or contextual factors that influence the choice of accounting method, such as time pressure, reward structures, management authority and institutions are also considered. David Leung's research employs an innovative blend of theory and practice that redresses the imbalance between ethnographic studies of financial accounting, and management accounting and helps close the gap between the academic curriculum and the experiences of practitioners. His research leads the author to conclude that no act of accounting classification is ever indefeasibly correct; that the accounting community's institutions and authority are central to the accounting process and to the 'truth and fairness' of accounting numbers; that accounting training involves extensive use of learning by doing; and that both accountants and non-accounting managers have goals and interests that often result in no better than 'good enough' accounting. This book will appeal to accounting and finance professionals and academics in finance, as well as to sociologists and academic researchers interested in research methods and science studies.
The Routledge Companion to Accounting Communication by
One of the prime purposes of accounting is to communicate and yet, to date, this fundamental aspect of the discipline has received relatively little attention. The Routledge Companion to Accounting Communication represents the first collection of contributions to focus on the power of communication in accounting. The chapters have a shared aim of addressing the misconception that accounting is a purely technical, number-based discipline by highlighting the use of narrative, visual and technological methods to communicate accounting information. The contents comprise a mixture of reflective overview, stinging critique, technological exposition, clinical analysis and practical advice on topical areas of interest such as: The miscommunication that preceded the global financial crisis The failure of sustainability reporting The development of XBRL How to cut clutter With an international coterie of contributors, including a communication theorist, a Big Four practitioner and accounting academics, this volume provides an eclectic array of expert analysis and reflection. The contributors reveal how accounting communications represent, or misrepresent, the financial affairs of entities, thus presenting a state-of-the-art assessment on each of the main facets of this important topic. As such, this book will be of interest to a wide range of readers, including: postgraduate students in management and accounting; established researchers in the fields of both accounting and communications; and accounting practitioners.