Accounting Fraud, Second Edition by
This book brings to light the importance of incenAtive structures of key players, consideration of economic and psychological perspectives on behavior, and the need for increasingly efAfective regulation, which become more obvious by considering decades of abuse. Executive compensaAtion, pensions, market values, special purpose entities, and derivaAtives continue to be problematic accounting issues as they have for decades. Inside, you'll get exposure to financial disclosure issues and other accounting risks, plus additional knowledge of accounting fraud and risk areas.
The ASQ Auditing Handbook by
This handbook supports the quality auditor Body of Knowledge (BoK), developed for the ASQ Certified Quality Auditor (CQA) program. This fourth edition addresses new and expanded BoK topics, common auditing (quality, environmental, safety, and so on) methods, and process auditing. It is designed to provide practical guidance for system and process auditors. Practitioners in the field provided content, example audit situations, stories, and review comments as the handbook evolved.New to the fourth edition are the topics of common and special causes, outliers, and risk management tools. Besides the new topics, many current topics have been expanded to reflect changes in auditing practices since 2004 and ISO 19011 guidance, and they have been rewritten to promote the common elements of all types of system and process audits.The handbook can be used by new auditors to gain an understanding of auditing. Experienced auditors will find it to be a useful reference. Audit managers and quality managers can use the handbook as a guide for leading their auditing programs. The handbook may also be used by trainers and educators as source material for teaching the fundamentals of auditing.
Auditing: A Quick Study Refernce Tool by
If you're in business or a business major, audits will happen. Business and accounting students or professionals involved in finances and accounting often have a range of reactions to an audit, fear and loathing being high on the list. Our experienced author, professor and consultant Michael Griffin, MBA, CMA, CFM, ChFC details the auditing process in a streamlined bullet pointed 6 page reference Eguide that provides a road map from start to finish with all stops in-between. Designed for quick reference, you will find sections and specific details fast. With a process that often happens annually it is nice to have this handy refresher regardless of your experience level. 6-page Eguide includes:- What is an Audit? Overall Objective of an AuditorAssertionsAssurance ServicesMajor Steps of an AuditFinancial Statement AuditGenerally Accepted Auditing StandardsAuditor's ReportSample Auditor's ReportCompilationReview- Engagement AcceptanceUnderstanding the Client/Entity & Its EnvironmentReview of Litigation, Claims &AssessmentsContingent LiabilitiesRelated Party TransactionsInternal ControlReceipt of Cash from CustomersPerforming Audit Procedures & Evaluating EvidenceAudit SamplingAnalytical ProceduresRatio AnalysisInternal AuditUse of Specialists in an AuditAuditing the Revenue (Sales)CycleAuditing the Purchases & Cash Disbursements CycleOther Processes Subject to AuditSarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 (SOX 2002)
Auditing Beyond Compliance by
This publication introduces a portable audit model to facilitate a simple, flexible, and effective audit of single or multiple quality system standards and achieve both compliance and initiation of improvement initiatives. This model is similar to a universal adaptor plug, allowing easy connection and interchangeability of the multiple standards even under rapid system changes typical of modern day operations. This universal plug will allow focus on compliance verification and improvement at a high level of consistency with minimum process disruption and cost.Emphasis is not only on compliance but also on improvement partnership with operations through the use of strategy models. These strategy models will help accentuate the internal audit role as a dynamic element and catalyst for improvement. Real life-based challenges (masked identity) are used in case studies to demonstrate the application of typical internal audit methodologies combined with an implementation engine such as Lean auditing strategies. This will clarify theories that are commonly viewed as abstract by the novice and, in some cases, misunderstood by experienced professionals.This is the breakthrough from a dormant internal audit program into a proactive tool for added-value improvement. Lean methodology is integrated through simple models that don't require one to be a Lean or Black Belt guru. The focus is using logical sense to understand and apply the concept.
Auditing Beyond Compliance by
This publication introduces a portable audit model to facilitate a simple, flexible, and effective audit of single or multiple quality system standards and achieve both compliance and initiation of improvement initiatives. This model is similar to a universal adaptor plug, allowing easy connection and interchangeability of the multiple standards even under rapid system changes typical of modern day operations. This universal plug will allow focus on compliance verification and improvement at a high level of consistency with minimum process disruption and cost.Emphasis is not only on compliance but also on improvement partnership with operations through the use of strategy models. These strategy models will help accentuate the internal audit role as a dynamic element and catalyst for improvement. Real life-based challenges (masked identity) are used in case studies to demonstrate the application of typical internal audit methodologies combined with an implementation engine such as Lean auditing strategies. This will clarify theories that are commonly viewed as abstract by the novice and, in some cases, misunderstood by experienced professionals.This is the breakthrough from a dormant internal audit program into a proactive tool for added-value improvement. Lean methodology is integrated through simple models that don't require one to be a Lean or Black Belt guru. The focus is using logical sense to understand and apply the concept.
Audit Risk Alert by
Updated annually, this useful resource contains a description of all recent auditing, accounting and regulatory developments to ensure that the accountant has a robust understanding of the business, economic, and regulatory environments in which they and their clients operate. In addition, this alert ensures that the accountant has a full understanding of emerging practice issues, with targeted analysis of new developments and how they may affect your engagements, including: * Recent Economic Trends * Recent Legislative and PCAOB Developments * Developments in Peer Review * Recent Ethics Interpretations It also contains new accounting and auditing guidance related to derivatives and hedging, service concession agreements, discontinued operations, stock compensation, and more
Case Studies in Not-For-Profit Accounting and Auditing by
Gain hands-on experience with case studies designed to simulate real-world scenarios and common problems in today's not-for-profit environment. This book goes beyond the theory and will show you how to navigate the key issues that arise in not-for-profit accounting and auditing.
Core Auditing Standards for Practitioners by
"The only book on the market specifically designed to help audit staff stay ahead of inspectorsThis comprehensive, practical, and theoretical guide covers the key ISAs that underpin audit methodologies and the recently revised ISAs that cause practitioners the most concern. It is designed to enhance auditors' understanding of critical ISAs, reducing their dependence on methodologies to mediate and explain ISA requirements. Using plenty of examples, the book helps audit staff learn to tailor audit methodologies and remove redundancies, as well as form high-quality judgments with a thorough grounding in ISA to serve in discussions with file reviewers and audit inspectors. Features practical examples that appeal to auditors with technical responsibilities Covers key topics such as smaller audits, management override of controls, documenting judgments, and dealing with accounting estimates and written presentations Ideal for practitioners in companies and accounting firms, as well as auditing students Includes access to a companion website with constantly updating ISAs and case studies Mixing theory with practical examples, Core Auditing Standards for Practitioners provides experienced audit staff with key ISA-related information they need to succeed"-- Provided by publisher.
Eauditing Fundamentals by
The purpose of this book is to provide hands-on guidelines for using electronic communication tools as part of the auditing process.The pros and cons of conducting e-audits and their consequences will be reviewed. There are situations when e-auditing techniques are more efficient, and other times they may be less efficient and even lead to questionable audit report conclusions. In this book we provide proven techniques for conducting remote audits (eAudits) and explore eAuditing practices to help organizations make informed decisions regarding their use. A ten point eAudit program implementation checklist is included with the book. Combined, the two authors have over 20 years'experience conducting remote audits and using virtual communication technologies.
Executive Roadmap to Fraud Prevention and Internal Control by
"How-to, authoritative guidance for creating a best-in-class fraud prevention and compliance program in any organizationNow in a Second Edition, this practical book helps corporate executives and managers understand the full ramifications of good corporate governance and compliance. It covers best practices for establishing a unit to protect the financial integrity of a business; theories and models on how and why fraud occurs in an organization; importance of strong internal controls; major compliance and corporate governance initiatives and milestones since 1985; and more. Complete coverage includes implementation guidance for a robust fraud prevention and compliance program, including sample policies, best practice examples, and a 14-point management antifraud program. Covers fraud risk assessment and prevention guidance Looks at global risk issues, including the Foreign Corrupt Practices Act (FCPA) and UK Bribery Act Examines amendments to the Federal Sentencing Guidelines for Organizational Crime Discusses Dodd-Frank Whistleblower Provisions Explores enterprise risk management key program elements Offers coverage of how fraud and compliance failures contributed to the financial crisis Includes enhanced principles for fraud data mining Presents new cases, checklists and real-world examples, expanded international coverage, and the latest technological tools Shows executives and managers what their responsibilities are regarding fraud prevention, internal controls, and compliance Provides an instructor's website, including a test bank Other titles by Biegelman: Building a World-Class Compliance Program and Foreign Corrupt Practices Act Compliance Guidebook Completely revised and updated, Executive Roadmap to Fraud Prevention and Internal Control, Second Edition is every manager's best resource for understanding all the complex issues and responsibilities associated with fraud and compliance"-- Provided by publisher.
Inside Accounting by
Based on a study covering a one-year financial reporting cycle at a commercial subsidiary of a well-known scientific research organization, Inside Accounting examines how accountants and non-accounting managers construct their company's earnings. Addressing issues in both internal management accounting, such as budgeting, performance evaluation, and control, as well as external financial accounting, such as book keeping, monthly/year end accounts and auditing, David Leung focuses on how people classify transactions, make professional judgments and use computer software for accounting, and prepare for and facilitate the auditing process. He also looks at accountancy training and the impact of people's affiliations to the accounting profession or other professions on their accounting and on their perceptions of financial statements. Other contingent or contextual factors that influence the choice of accounting method, such as time pressure, reward structures, management authority and institutions are also considered. David Leung's research employs an innovative blend of theory and practice that redresses the imbalance between ethnographic studies of financial accounting, and management accounting and helps close the gap between the academic curriculum and the experiences of practitioners. His research leads the author to conclude that no act of accounting classification is ever indefeasibly correct; that the accounting community's institutions and authority are central to the accounting process and to the 'truth and fairness' of accounting numbers; that accounting training involves extensive use of learning by doing; and that both accountants and non-accounting managers have goals and interests that often result in no better than 'good enough' accounting. This book will appeal to accounting and finance professionals and academics in finance, as well as to sociologists and academic researchers interested in research methods and science studies.
Internal Control Audit and Compliance by
"Ease the transition to the new COSO framework with practical strategyInternal Control Audit and Compliance provides complete guidance toward the latest framework established by the Committee of Sponsoring Organizations (COSO). With clear explanations and expert advice on implementation, this helpful guide shows auditors and accounting managers how to document and test internal controls over financial reporting with detailed sections covering each element of the framework. Each section highlights the latest changes and new points of emphasis, with explicit definitions of internal controls and how they should be assessed and tested. Coverage includes easing the transition from older guidelines, with step-by-step instructions for implementing the new changes. The new framework identifies seventeen new principles, each of which are explained in detail to help readers understand the new and emerging best practices for efficiency and effectiveness.The revised COSO framework includes financial and non-financial reporting, as well as both internal and external reporting objectives. It is essential for auditors and controllers to understand the new framework and how to document and test under the new guidance. This book clarifies complex codification and provides an effective strategy for a more rapid transition. Understand the new COSO internal controls framework Document and test internal controls to strengthen business processes Learn how requirements differ for public and non-public companies Incorporate improved risk management into the new framework The new framework is COSO's first complete revision since the release of the initial framework in 1992. Companies have become accustomed to the old guidelines, and the necessary procedures have become routine - making the transition to align with the new framework akin to steering an ocean liner. Internal Control Audit and Compliance helps ease that transition, with clear explanation and practical implementation guidance"-- Provided by publisher.
International Auditing Standards in the United States by
International Standards on Auditing (ISA) are standards or guidelines that auditors follow when conducting a financial audit of a companys financial statements in those jurisdictions that have adopted ISAs or some version of ISAs. These standards are issued by the International Federation of Accountants (IFAC) through the International Auditing and Assurance Standards Board (IAASB). ISA covers a wide variety of ground. It designates specific responsibilities of an auditor including how to plan an audit; how to evaluate and conclude on the adequacies of internal controls; how to evaluate audit evidence and draw conclusions from it and how to write an audit report. These are just some of the designated responsibilities among a wide range of auditing requirements. The USA, on the other hand, has its own auditing standards: the so-called Generally Accepted Auditing Standards (GAAS) set forth by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants for use in private company audits; and the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (PCAOB), standards which apply to the audits of publicly-owned corporations. The problem for both practitioners and students is that the auditing principles of the ISA and the AICPA are not identical, even though they are moving towards convergence, or at least attempting to do so. That said, the standards of the ISA and AICPA still differ; and this problem is compounded because of the significant differences between the standards of ISA and PCAOB. In fact a study commissioned by the European Community found at least five areas where there are substantial differences. The areas of substantive differences relate to: * Assessing and reporting on internal control * Reference to the work of another auditor in a group audit * Documentation requirements * Risk assessment and responses to assessed risks. This is probably one of the most significant differences. * Going concern reporting. Under the PCAOB the foreseeable future is limited to 12 months but under the ISA the look forward feature has a different definition. Books have been written on both the PCAOB and ISAs standards. In this proposed book we plan to focus on the differences between the PCAOB and ISA standards. We will cover in a clear and concise way the important differences and similarities between them and provide check lists of dos and donts. This should be of importance to upper level undergraduate students of auditing and auditors in the US and internationally.
Quality Control Procedure for Statutory Financial Audit by
Quality Control Procedure for Statutory Financial Audit: An Empirical Study takes a comprehensive look at the quality control framework for statutory financial audit. The authors, Saha and Roy, begin with a conceptual discussion on the quality of statutory audit of financial statements, focusing on identifying the different factors governing quality of audit, and establishing a comprehensive framework for quality control. They delve into the quality control framework in three specific countries: USA, UK and India, based on select parameters, and a comparative study is made among them. Lastly, the authors examine the effectiveness of the existing standards and other legal and regulatory requirements in enforcing quality control policies and procedures and suggesting modifications in those regulations which have been made based on a few respondents'perceptions. Their recommendations can improve the future audit environment in safeguarding stakeholders'interest.
The ASQ Auditing Handbook by
Auditing is a management tool used to verify that systems and processes are compliant/conformant, effective, and continually improved. The process audit determines if process requirements (methods, procedures) are being met, while a system audit determines if system requirements (manual, policy, standards, regulations) are being met. This best-selling handbook is now revised and fully updated, organized to correspond exactly with the ASQ Certified Quality Auditor (CQA) Body of Knowledge (BoK). It provides comprehensive coverage for nearly every aspect of the audit function. Though a valuable resource for studying for the CQA examination, it is also meant to be the single source for quality, environmental, safety and health auditors, audit managers, audit teams, and other professionals in the field. The auditing handbook is designed to provide practical guidance for system and process auditors. Practitioners in the field have provided content, example audit situations, stories, and review comments as the handbook evolved. New to this third edition are topics such as auditor competency, business applications, and improvement tools. Additionally, existing topics have been expanded to encompass process methods, process based management systems, and ISO 19011 guidance. The handbook has been refocused to promote the common elements of all types of system and process audits (quality, environmental, safety, and health), and covers the latest auditing terminology and communication technology. The appendixes include example forms and an example guide for when technical specialists (subject matter experts) are needed on the audit team.
Auditing Organizational Communication by
Auditing Organizational Communication is a thoroughly revised and updated new edition of the successful Handbook of Communication Audits for Organizations, which has established itself as a core text in the field of organizational communication. Research studies consistently show the importance of effective communication for business success. They also underscore the necessity for organizations to put in place validated techniques to enable them to systematically measure and monitor their communications. This Handbook equips readers with the vital analytic tools required to conduct such assessments.
Auditing Your Human Resources Department by
For human resources departments struggling to highlight their worth amidst company cuts and streamlining, author John McConnell offers a rigorous yet simple solution that is far less costly and intimidating than an outside audit. In this invaluable resource he provides readers with a proven, painless process for gauging how well their HR departments are performing. Auditing Your Human Resources Department does this by scrutinizing the eleven key functions of human resources, including recruitment and selection, compensation, benefits, education, training and development, diversity, and EOE. Using these functions as a framework, you’ll be able to gather key information, score your self-assessment, analyze relevant data, and fix any problem spots to strengthen and maximize the effectiveness of your HR efforts.The completely revised second edition includes new information on strategic planning and HR, the impact and benefits of important technology developments, and new federal workplace laws. With hundreds of pages of questionnaires, checklists, and forms, this book supplies the tools to pinpoint department strengths, improve weaknesses--and turn HR into an essential business asset.
Internal Controls Policies and Procedures by
Drawing on her many years as a consultant to numerous companies big and small, author Rose Hightower infuses Internal Controls Policies and Procedures with her wealth of experience and knowledge. Instead of reinventing the wheel, your company can use this useful how-to manual to quickly and effectively put a successful program of internal controls in place. Complete with flowcharts and checklists, this essential desktop reference is a best practices model for establishing and enhancing your organization's control framework.
The Management System Auditor's Handbook by
Meant for both new and experienced auditors, The Management System Auditor's Handbook provides a detailed and structured examination of the audit process. It seeks to address the whys of auditing, as well as the whats and the how tos. Extensive focus is provided on auditing for effectiveness, in addition to conformance. Author Joe Kausek explains how to use your audit program to drive continual improvement and alignment throughout the organization through the identification of best practices and waste. A special chapter is devoted to the use of the internal audit program to verify deployment of the company’s strategic plan or Balanced Scorecard. Unlike other audit books on the market, this handbook seeks to give the auditor sufficient understanding of the intent, techniques, and specific strategies for auditing, allowing for the development of an audit program that is uniquely fitted to the auditor’s industry, processes, and company culture. While many of the fundamental concepts of auditing apply to any management system audit, separate chapters have been devoted to the unique aspects of quality, environmental and health and safety management system audits. Standards addressed include ISO 9001:2000, ISO/TS 16949:2002, ISO 14001, and OHSAS 18001, as well as insight on performing combined audits of these standards. Included on the accompanying CD-ROM are comprehensive electronic checklists that can be used to plan and guide the auditor in the evaluation of both the conformance and effectiveness of the management system to the corresponding standard’s requirements. These checklists, unique in both style and format, provide not only the questions to ask, but also the strategies and techniques for evaluating the auditee’s response. The checklists are an invaluable tool for both new and experienced auditors alike, and can be easily customized for the reader’ organization and industry.