For more ecommentaries go to the Ecommentaries page or click here.
1 and 2 Peter, 1, 2, and 3 John, Jude by 
Reading 1/2 Peter and Jude by
An essential textbook on 1–2 Peter and Jude for readers of all levels Scholars engage the best contemporary work on 1–2 Peter and Jude in this student-oriented book. The first four chapters in this collection—on authorship and pseudonymity, literary relationships among the three books, epistolary rhetoric, and apocalyptic elements—consider important, foundational issues related to all three epistles. These essays lay the groundwork for more focused chapters that examine theology and theory in 1 Peter as well a stylistic, theological, and thematic overlap in Jude and 2 Peter. Features: A range of theological, literary, and theoretical approaches Definitions for specialized terminology Historical and cultural background information Explanations of methodologies
1 and 2 Peter by
Summary: "The primary goal of the Smyth & Helwys Bible Commentary series is to make available serious, credible biblical scholarship in an accessible and less intimidating format. A visual generation of believers deserves a commentary series that contains not only the all-important textual commentary on Scripture, but images, photographs, maps, works of fine art, and drawings that bring the text to life. Each volume of the Smyth & Helwys Bible Commentary series features a CD-ROM, which expands the uses and capabilities of the Commentary even more" -- From publisher description.
1 and 2 Peter and Jude by
Theologian and church historian Catherine Gunsalus González studies three often overlooked books in the New Testament, 1 and 2 Peter and the Letter of Jude. These writings from the late first century or early second century helped guide the young church as it faced a variety of issues, both internal to the church's life, and external in the social and political culture in which it was growing. The letters help us focus on the character of the church and the importance of congregations in the church's ongoing life. They raise basic issues of authority, on how the church knows the directions to follow, how Christians should live, and how diverse views should be considered. González uses a variety of resources to illuminate these letters. She very helpfully centers on their theological importance for contemporary churches and for Christian living.
2 Peter and Jude by
This new installment of the popular handbook series gives teachers and students a comprehensive guide to the grammar and vocabulary of both 2 Peter and Jude. Within the text of these intertwined Catholic Epistles, Peter H. Davids finds rhetorical features and stylistic elements often overlooked. By using this handbook in combination with traditional commentaries, students will be guided toward a greater understanding of the Greek text in 2 Peter and Jude while gaining a deeper appreciation for textual and rhetorical intricacies not available in the English translations.
Exalting Jesus in 2 Peter, Jude by
Exalting Jesus in 2 Peter and Jude is part of the Christ-Centered Exposition Commentary series. Edited by David Platt, Daniel L. Akin, and Tony Merida, this new commentary series, projected to be 48 volumes, takes a Christ-centered approach to expositing each book of the Bible. Rather than a verse-by-verse approach, the authors have crafted chapters that explain and apply key passages in their assigned Bible books. Readers will learn to see Christ in all aspects of Scripture, and they will be encouraged by the devotional nature of each exposition presented as sermons and divided into chapters that conclude with a “Reflect & Discuss” section, making this series ideal for small group study, personal devotion, and even sermon preparation. It’s not academic but rather presents an easy reading, practical and friendly commentary. The authors of Exalting Jesus in 2 Peter and Jude are Danny Akin and Jim Shaddixx
First and Second Peter, Jude by
"The Catholic Commentary on Sacred Scripture (CCSS) responds to the desire of Catholics to study the Bible in depth and in a way that integrates Scripture with Catholic doctrine, worship, and daily life. The series will include seventeen volumes, offering readable, informative commentary on each book of the New Testament. The CCSS implements the theological principles taught by Vatican II for interpreting Scripture 'in accord with the same Spirit by which it was written'--that is, interpreting Scripture in its canonical context and in the light of Catholic tradition and the analogy of faith (Dei Verbum 12). The CCSS is packed with features designed to help readers use the Bible more effectively in teaching, preaching, evangelization, and other forms of ministry. Each volume provides exegesis as well as reflection and application sections. A set of cross-references links each passage to the Catechism, the Lectionary, and related biblical texts. Sidebars present information on the background of the text and on how the text has been interpreted by the Church. Abundant quotations from saints and Church Fathers enable readers to glimpse the continuity of Catholic tradition. Each volume includes a Glossary, a list of Suggested Resources, an Index of Pastoral Topics, and an Index of Sidebars. Further resources are posted at the series Web site, www.CatholicScriptureCommentary.com" -- Publisher description.
Hebrews, the General Epistles, and Revelation
Summary: "This volume from Fortress Commentary on the Bible: New Testament includes commentary on Hebrews through Revelation, a general introduction to these books, and general articles on reading the New Testament through the lenses of the contemporary world, the Jewish heritage of early Christianity, the ancient and modern contexts of diaspora, and the apocalyptic legacy of early Christianity."--Page 4 of cover.
I and II Peter and Jude by
The letters of 1 and 2 Peter and of Jude come from a time in Christian history about which we know little; thus they represent rare voices from a crucial time in Christianity's development. And the picture of early Christianity suggested by these letters is a fascinating one.
Interpreting the General Letters by
Summary: This handbook is designed as a step-by-step approach for analyzing and communicating eight letters of the New Testament: Hebrews, James, the Petrine Letters, the Johannine Letters, and Jude. Interpreting the General Letters provides important background material for these books' interpretation by exploring the types and component parts of letter writing, the importance of an amanuensis; the historical background of the Greco-Roman world, and implications of each of these factors for interpreting the general letters. --from publisher description.
James, 1 and 2 Peter, and Jude by
Summary: "Jim Samra provides insightful and pastoral commentary on these powerful books. James addresses faith and works, the role of mercy, and Scripture. First Peter takes up God's plan of salvation and the issue of Christian suffering. It's an encouragement to faithful discipleship as sojourners in a hostile world. Second Peter exhorts us to growth and faithfulness, specifically in the face of false teachers. The short book of Jude emphasizes contending for the apostolic faith in the face of ungodliness in the church and society."--Back Cover.
James, 1-2 Peter, Jude, Revelation by
"The Cornerstone Biblical Commentary series provides up-to-date, evangelical scholarship on the Old and New Testaments. Each volume is designed to equip pastors and Christian leaders with exegetical and theological knowledge to better understand and apply God's Word by presenting the message of each passage as well as an overview of other issues surrounding the text. The commentary series has been structured to help readers understand the meaning of Scripture, passage-by-passage, through the entire Bible. The New Living Translation is an authoritative Bible translation, rendered faithfully into today's English from the ancient texts by 90 leading Bible scholars. The NLT's scholarship and clarity breathe life into even the most difficult-to-understand Bible passages-but even more powerful are stories of how people's lives are changing as the words speak directly to their hearts. That's why we call it-The Truth Made Clear"--Publisher description.
James and Jude by
Summary: In this addition to the well-received Paideia series, two respected New Testament scholars offer a practical commentary on James and Jude that is conversant with contemporary scholarship, draws on ancient backgrounds, and attends to the theological nature of the texts. This commentary, like each in the projected eighteen-volume series, proceeds by sense units rather than word-by-word or verse-by-verse. Paideia commentaries explore how New Testament texts form Christian readers by: attending to the ancient narrative and rhetorical strategies the text employs; showing how the text shapes theological convictions and moral habits; commenting on the final, canonical form of each New Testament book; focusing on the cultural, literary, and theological settings of the text; making judicious use of maps, photos, and sidebars in a reader-friendly format. Students, pastors, and other readers will appreciate the historical, literary, and theological insight that John Painter and David deSilva offer in interpreting James and Jude. - Publisher.
The Letter of Jude and the Second Letter of Peter by
Summary: The Letter of Jude and the Second Letter of Peter investigates the historical location of the two writings, the literary context, the shape of their arguments, and the profile of the respective opponents that are the central concern of each epistle. The analysis also explores Jude and 2 Peter's use of biblical, Second Temple Jewish, and apocalyptic traditions, the long-recognized interrelation between the two letters, and the difficult text-critical issues that haunt both.
Reading 1/2 Peter and Jude by
An essential textbook on 1-2 Peter and Jude for readers of all levels: Scholars engage the best contemporary work on 1-2 Peter and Jude in this student-oriented book. The first four chapters in this collection on authorship and pseudonymity, literary relationships among the three books, epistolary rhetoric, and apocalyptic elements consider important, foundational issues related to all three epistles. These essays lay the groundwork for more focused chapters that examine theology and theory in 1 Peter as well a stylistic, theological, and thematic overlap in Jude and 2 Peter.
Reading the Epistles of James, Peter, John, and Jude As Scripture by
Through a detailed examination of the historical shaping and final canonical shape of seven oft-neglected New Testament letters, Reading the Epistles of James, Peter, John, and Jude as Scripture introduces readers to the historical, literary, and theological integrity of this indispensable apostolic witness. While most scholars today interpret biblical texts in terms of their individual historical points of composition, David Nienhuis and Robert Wall argue that a theological approach to this part of Scripture is better served by attending to these texts' historical point of canonization -- those key moments in the ancient church's life when apostolic writings were grouped together to maximize the Spirit's communication of the apostolic rule of faith to believers everywhere. Reading the Epistles of James, Peter, John, and Jude as Scripture is the only treatment of the Catholic Epistles that approaches these seven letters as an intentionally designed and theologically coherent canonical collection.
A Theology of James, Peter, and Jude by
In this volume, Peter Davids offers a comprehensive study of the General or Catholic Epistles of James, 1-2 Peter, and Jude, which are often insufficiently covered in more general New Testament introductions, theologies, and surveys. Before discussing a theology of each of the four letters, Davids first deals with their common aspects―their shared background in the Greco-Roman world and a similar Christology, view of the source of sin, and eschatology―thus justifying their being treated together. In the chapters that follow, Davids embarks upon a theological reading of each letter informed by its social-rhetorical understanding―what they meant in the context of their original cultural settings―including: a survey of recent scholarship, a discussion of relevant introductory issues, a thematic commentary, a treatment of important theological themes, and a discussion of the place of the letter in the biblical canon and its contribution to New Testament theology.
Reading Jude with New Eyes by
The letters of James, 1 and 2 Peter, and Jude are among the most neglected letters of the New Testament. Thus, methodological advances in New Testament study tend to arise among the Gospels or Pauline letters. But these letters are beginning to receive increased attention in the scholarly community. Reading Jude With New Eyes is the fourth of four volumes that incorporate research in this area. The essays collected here examine the impact of recent methodological developments in New Testament studies to Jude, including, for example, rhetorical, social-scientific, socio-rhetorical, ideological and hermeneutical methods, as they contribute to understanding this letter and its social context. Each essay will have a similar three-fold structure: a description of the methodological approach; the application of the methodological approach to the particular letter under consideration (the bulk of the essay); and a conclusion identifying how the methodological approach contributes to a fresh understanding the letter.
A Text-Critical Study of the Epistle of Jude by
The author writes in the tradition of C.H. Turner, G.D. Kilpatrick and J.K. Elliott, and attempts a reconstruction of the Greek text of Jude according to the rationale of thoroughgoing eclecticism. The aims of his study are to apply an eclectic approach to the resolution of textual problems in Jude, and to determine the extent to which the text of Jude published in the United Bible Societies'Greek New Testament (GNT4) is a product of the eclectic ideal. In this work, eclecticism is defined in detail, distinctions being made between eclectic generalism, rational criticism, and thoroughgoing eclecticism. Each of 95 variation units is analysed individually and the apparatus provided for each unit shows as much variation as possible in a compact form.
Scallywags, Scoffers, and Schisms by
This volume considers the theological richness (indicative) and practical relevance (imperative) of the New Testament General EpistlesJames, 1-2 Peter, 1-3 John, and Judewithin a redemptive-historical framework. Although not the most familiar portion of the New Testament, these letters have much to say about the call to discipleship in the twenty-first century. Part One (Scallywags) focuses on 1 Peter. Here we see that Christ has accomplished salvation and that his life provides the pattern for faithful living in the face of worldly opposition. In Part Two (Scoffers) the truth of 2 Peter and Jude is set in contrast to the destructive doctrines of scoffing false teachers. Part Three (Schisms) reflects on the challenges of the Johannine letters that address who belongs to Gods family. Finally, Part Four (Wisdom) looks at the practical teaching of James in light of the teaching of Jesus.
