For more ecommentaries go to the Ecommentaries page or click here.
1 and 2 Peter, 1, 2, and 3 John, Jude by 
1 and 2 Peter by
Summary: "The primary goal of the Smyth & Helwys Bible Commentary series is to make available serious, credible biblical scholarship in an accessible and less intimidating format. A visual generation of believers deserves a commentary series that contains not only the all-important textual commentary on Scripture, but images, photographs, maps, works of fine art, and drawings that bring the text to life. Each volume of the Smyth & Helwys Bible Commentary series features a CD-ROM, which expands the uses and capabilities of the Commentary even more" -- From publisher description.
1 and 2 Peter and Jude by
Theologian and church historian Catherine Gunsalus González studies three often overlooked books in the New Testament, 1 and 2 Peter and the Letter of Jude. These writings from the late first century or early second century helped guide the young church as it faced a variety of issues, both internal to the church's life, and external in the social and political culture in which it was growing. The letters help us focus on the character of the church and the importance of congregations in the church's ongoing life. They raise basic issues of authority, on how the church knows the directions to follow, how Christians should live, and how diverse views should be considered. González uses a variety of resources to illuminate these letters. She very helpfully centers on their theological importance for contemporary churches and for Christian living.
1 Peter by
Summary: Many Christians around the world today face severe persecution, while others daily feel the weight of cultural pressure against them. The apostle Peter speaks to this as he reminds us that Christians are aliens and exiles in an often hostile empire. Yet we are simultaneously the chosen of God, equipped by Jesus work for us and in us to live faithfully in our dual identity. In this exposition of 1 Peter, Daniel Doriani explains how the work of Christ enables Christians to live with hope, joy, and faithfulness in a pagan world. He also explores Peters emphasis on the kind of life that pleases God - a life that includes respect for authorities, just or unjust; godly behavior as a wife, husband, or elder; and, by God's grace, good deeds, courage, and a firm stand in the face of trials. As are all the books in the Reformed Expository Commentary series, this exposition of 1 Peter is accessible to both pastors and lay readers. Each volume in the series provides exposition that gives careful attention to the biblical text, is doctrinally Reformed, focuses on Christ through the lens of redemptive history, and applies the Bible to our contemporary setting.--Publisher.
1 Peter by
A new commentary for today’s world, The Story of God Bible Commentary explains and illuminates each passage of Scripture in light of the Bible’s grand story. The first commentary series to do so, SGBC offers a clear and compelling exposition of biblical texts, guiding readers in how to creatively and faithfully live out the Bible in their own contexts. Its story-centric approach is ideal for pastors, students, Sunday school teachers, and all who want to understand the Bible in today’s world.
1 Peter by
The Exegetical Guide to the Greek New Testament (EGGNT) closes the gap between the Greek text and the available lexical and grammatical tools, providing all the necessary information for greater understanding of the text. The series makes interpreting any given New Testament book easier, especially for those who are hard pressed for time but want to preach or teach with accuracy and authority. Each volume begins with a brief introduction to the particular New Testament book, a basic outline, and a list of recommended commentaries. The body is devoted to paragraph-by-paragraph exegesis of the Greek text and includes homiletical helps and suggestions for further study. A comprehensive exegetical outline of the New Testament book completes each EGGNT volume.
Exalting Jesus in 2 Peter, Jude by
Exalting Jesus in 2 Peter and Jude is part of the Christ-Centered Exposition Commentary series. Edited by David Platt, Daniel L. Akin, and Tony Merida, this new commentary series, projected to be 48 volumes, takes a Christ-centered approach to expositing each book of the Bible. Rather than a verse-by-verse approach, the authors have crafted chapters that explain and apply key passages in their assigned Bible books. Readers will learn to see Christ in all aspects of Scripture, and they will be encouraged by the devotional nature of each exposition presented as sermons and divided into chapters that conclude with a “Reflect & Discuss” section, making this series ideal for small group study, personal devotion, and even sermon preparation. It’s not academic but rather presents an easy reading, practical and friendly commentary. The authors of Exalting Jesus in 2 Peter and Jude are Danny Akin and Jim Shaddixx
First and Second Peter by
Summary: In this addition to the well-received Paideia series, New Testament scholars Duane Watson and Terrance Callan examine cultural context and theological meaning in First and Second Peter. This commentary, like each in the projected eighteen-volume series, proceeds by sense units rather than word-by-word or verse-by-verse. Students, pastors, and other readers will appreciate the historical, literary, and theological insight Watson and Callan offer in interpreting First and Second Peter. - Publisher.
I and II Peter and Jude by
The letters of 1 and 2 Peter and of Jude come from a time in Christian history about which we know little; thus they represent rare voices from a crucial time in Christianity's development. And the picture of early Christianity suggested by these letters is a fascinating one.
James, 1-2 Peter, Jude, Revelation by
"The Cornerstone Biblical Commentary series provides up-to-date, evangelical scholarship on the Old and New Testaments. Each volume is designed to equip pastors and Christian leaders with exegetical and theological knowledge to better understand and apply God's Word by presenting the message of each passage as well as an overview of other issues surrounding the text. The commentary series has been structured to help readers understand the meaning of Scripture, passage-by-passage, through the entire Bible. The New Living Translation is an authoritative Bible translation, rendered faithfully into today's English from the ancient texts by 90 leading Bible scholars. The NLT's scholarship and clarity breathe life into even the most difficult-to-understand Bible passages-but even more powerful are stories of how people's lives are changing as the words speak directly to their hearts. That's why we call it-The Truth Made Clear"--Publisher description.
The Letter of Jude and the Second Letter of Peter by
Summary: The Letter of Jude and the Second Letter of Peter investigates the historical location of the two writings, the literary context, the shape of their arguments, and the profile of the respective opponents that are the central concern of each epistle. The analysis also explores Jude and 2 Peter's use of biblical, Second Temple Jewish, and apocalyptic traditions, the long-recognized interrelation between the two letters, and the difficult text-critical issues that haunt both.
The Doctrine of Salvation in the First Letter of Peter by
"The prevalence of salvation language in the first letter of Peter has often been acknowledged though rarely investigated in depth. Martin Williams presents a new account exploring the concept of salvation in this theologically rich letter. He brings together the disciplines of hermeneutics, New Testament studies, and systematic and historical theology in order to explore the language of salvation which resonates within the text. The book also elaborates on a methodological level the segregation which has arisen between Biblical studies and theological studies. In doing this, Williams identifies a basis for how there can be interaction between these two different viewpoints. This book will be a valuable resource for students and scholars interested in the exegesis and theology of 1 Peter, the doctrine of salvation and Biblical interpretation"-- Provided by publisher.
The Eschatology of 1 Peter by
The author of 1 Peter regards Christian suffering as a necessary feature of faithful allegiance to Jesus, which precedes the full restoration and vindication of God's people. Much previous research has explored only the cause and nature of suffering; Kelly D. Liebengood now addresses the need for an explanation for the source that has generated this particular understanding. If Jesus truly is God's redemptive agent, come to restore His people, how can Christian suffering be a necessary part of discipleship after his coming, death and resurrection, and what led the author of 1 Peter to such a startling conclusion? Liebengood analyzes the appropriation of shepherds, exodus, and fiery trials imagery and argues that the author of 1 Peter is dependent upon the eschatological programme of Zechariah 9-14 for his theology of Christian suffering. This book will interest those studying the New Testament, Petrine theology and early Christianity.
Foreknowledge and Social Identity in 1 Peter by
What is the meaning and significance of foreknowledge in the book of 1 Peter, and how does the concept relate to the circumstances of its first recipients? Himes attempts to answer these questions by examining the concepts of both foreknowledge and social identity within the first century and how they fit into the theology of 1 Peter. In the process of elaborating the concepts of foreknowledge and social identity, this study provides one of the first thorough examinations of the words prognosis and proginosko in the literature of the time period when 1 Peter was composed and circulated. Himes argues that these words are linguistically relevant to how early hearers and readers would have understood the message of 1 Peter. In addition, this volume provides a thorough analysis of social-scientific criticism in 1 Peter, paying special attention to the various views about the social circumstances of the epistle's recipients. Finally, this book concerns itself with the biblical theology of 1 Peter, and with how the concept of foreknowledge functions as a word of comfort and hope to the beleaguered audience of this epistle.
Persecution in 1 Peter by
In Persecution in 1 Peter, Travis B. Williams offers a comprehensive and detailed socio-historical investigation into the nature of persecution in 1 Peter, situating the epistle against the backdrop of conflict management in first-century CE Asia Minor.
Peter: The Myth, the Man, and the Writings by
This book critically examines all the early and important Petrine pseudepigrapha to identify a distinctive Petrine theology which, it is believed, was later swamped by the tide of western orthodoxy. Despite the diversity of the books and tractates, ranging from Jewish-Christian writings to avowedly Gnostic works, a remarkably consistent Petrine tradition does emerge; and Peter is shown essentially to be neither the impetuous, undiscerning, and even vacillating figure portrayed in the Gospels and Acts, nor the magisterial and pontifical figure of later Church tradition, but a visionary who was concerned above all to hold together both the moral and cognitive aspects of the Faith.
Reading 1/2 Peter and Jude by
An essential textbook on 1–2 Peter and Jude for readers of all levels Scholars engage the best contemporary work on 1–2 Peter and Jude in this student-oriented book. The first four chapters in this collection—on authorship and pseudonymity, literary relationships among the three books, epistolary rhetoric, and apocalyptic elements—consider important, foundational issues related to all three epistles. These essays lay the groundwork for more focused chapters that examine theology and theory in 1 Peter as well a stylistic, theological, and thematic overlap in Jude and 2 Peter. Features: A range of theological, literary, and theoretical approaches Definitions for specialized terminology Historical and cultural background information Explanations of methodologies
Reading Second Peter with New Eyes by
The letters of James, 1 and 2 Peter, and Jude are among the most neglected letters of the NT. Thus, methodological advances in NT study tend to arise among the Gospels or Pauline letters. But these letters are beginning to receive increased attention in the scholarly community. Reading Second Peter With New Eyes is the third of four volumes that incorporate research in this area. The essays collected here examine the impact of recent methodological developments in New Testament studies to Second Peter, including, for example, rhetorical, social-scientific, socio-rhetorical, ideological and hermeneutical methods, as they contribute to understanding this letter and its social context.
Simon, Who Is Called Peter by
When we read the Bible as a parable, as a series of object lessons told merely to prove a point, we miss something. When we treat the people within the Bible as mere'characters'in a story, we lose something incredibly important. Object lessons are clean and simple. People, on the other hand, are messy and complicated. When we look at the life of Simon Peter, we see one of the messiest people in the entire New Testament. Peter walked on water and sank into the waves. He proclaimed who Jesus was and completely missed the point. He pledged his undying devotion to Christ, and even drew a sword in defense of his Lord, and then he abandoned Jesus and denied him three times. Peter is also the rock on which Christ would build his church--the same church of which Paul says we are a part. So come. Walk with Peter. Fish with him. Follow a strange rabbi, though it might cost you everything. Walk on water, though you might sink. Go to Jerusalem, though death awaits you. Stand with Peter as God uses him to build his church, and watch that church grow.
Strangers in the Light by
The volume contains five studies that have been written over the last decade; some of them are previously published as articles. The studies focus on the role of Silvanus in the making of the letter, the Christians as paroikoi kai parepidemoi, the issue of being a common priesthood, the psychological and ethical issues contained in 1 Pet 2:11, and the range of acculturation and assimilation argued in the letter.
Temple, Exile and Identity in 1 Peter by
Temple, Exile and Identity in 1 Peter will generate a fresh and perhaps even a new understanding of the main themes of 1 Peter, which include questions of identity, suffering, hope, holiness, and judgment. Mbuvi explores the temple imagery in the epistle of 1 Peter and focuses on the use of cultic language in constituting the new identity of the Petrine community. He contends that temple imagery in 1 Peter undergirds the entire epistle. 1 Peter directly connects the community's identity with the temple by describing it in terms reminiscent of the temple structure. He calls the members of the community'living stones', formulating an image that has been categorized as a'Temple-Community.'This concern with the temple characterizes the restoration eschatology in the Second Temple period with its focus on the establishment of the eschatological temple. Restoration of Israel was also to be characterized by hope for the re-gathering of the scattered of Israel, the conversion or destruction of the Gentiles, and the establishment of God's universal reign, all of which are reflected in the discourse of the epistle.
1 Peter by
This edition of the Discovery Series digs into 1 Peter and takes a look at the stories of real women--past and present--to teach today’s woman how to stand faithful to God regardless of her trials, however severe. Part of the discovery series, this updated edition has been reorganized to facilitate either individual or group use and supplemented with inspirational sidebars and short, 3-5 minute teaching videos. Scan the video QR code with a smart phone or visit the series Web site to watch Sue provide historical and cultural background, teach important truths found in each week's lesson, or ask thoughtful questions to encourage deeper discussion.
1 Peter: an Introduction and Study Guide by
The New Testament writing known as First Peter was probably written at the end of the 1st century CE; it is addressed to 'resident aliens' who live as colonial subjects in the Roman Province of Asia Minor. They are portrayed as a marginalized group who experience harassment and suffering. This letter is ascribed to the apostle Peter but was probably not written by him. It is a rhetorical communication sent from Christians in the imperial centre in Rome (camouflaged as Babylon), an authoritative letter of advice and admonition to good conduct and subordination in the sphere of colonial provincial life. 1 Peter is a religious document written a long time ago and in a culture and world that is quite different from our own. However, as a biblical book it is a part of Christianity's sacred Scriptures. This guide to the letter keeps both of these areas, the cultural-social and the ethical-religious, in mind. It offers help for understanding the letter as both a document of the 1st century and as sacred Scripture that speaks about the religious forces that have shaped Christianity and Western culture. In short, this guide seeks to enable readers to read 'against the grain'.
2 Peter and Jude by
This new installment of the popular handbook series gives teachers and students a comprehensive guide to the grammar and vocabulary of both 2 Peter and Jude. Within the text of these intertwined Catholic Epistles, Peter H. Davids finds rhetorical features and stylistic elements often overlooked. By using this handbook in combination with traditional commentaries, students will be guided toward a greater understanding of the Greek text in 2 Peter and Jude while gaining a deeper appreciation for textual and rhetorical intricacies not available in the English translations.
A Narratological Reading of 1 Peter by
Summary: Employing a narratological approach Abson Joseph links the structure of 1 Peter with God's actions on behalf of Israel. Using a three-layered distinction of narrative - fabula ('raw material'), story, and text - Joseph studies the text of 1 Peter and shows the presence of a fabula that comprises four main elements: election, suffering, steadfastness, and vindication. Joseph asserts that this fabula is common to the experiences of Israel, Jesus, and the epistle's audience and thus shapes the narrative substructure of the epistle and constitutes the lens through which the author urges his audience to make sense of its situation. Joseph argues the author of 1 Peter urges the audience to view suffering only as a temporary experience that befalls the elect. Suffering is to be met with faithful response for God vindicates the righteous sufferer. The narrative substructure provides evidence of God's vindication of righteous sufferers, serves as basis for the author's exhortations to the audience, and substantiates his claims about God's ability to vindicate those who remain steadfast in the face of suffering.
Perspectives on First Peter by
Inside this issue: 1. The Rehabilitation of an Exegetical Step-Child: 1 Peter in Recent Research, by John H. Elliott 2. The Critical Exploration of 1 Peter, by Dennis Sylva 3. Parenesis and Kerygma in 1 Peter, by Eduard Lohse, translated by John Steely 4. 1 Peter, Its Situation and Strategy: A Discussion with David Balch, by John H. Elliott 5. Hellenization / Acculturation in 1 Peter, by David Balch 6. The Literary and Theological Function of 1 Peter 1:3-12, by David W. Kendall 7. The Functional Christology of First Peter, by Earl Richard 8. Once Again: The Plan of 1 Peter, by Charles H. Talbert
Peter in Early Christianity by
Summary: Long overshadowed by the apostle Paul, Peter has received increased scholarly attention of late. Building on that resurgence of interest, nineteen internationally prominent scholars of early Christian history examine and reassess the historical Peter and his significance in Christian texts from the first three centuries. Giving due attention to archaeological data and recent scholarship, the contributors offer a comprehensive view of Peter through analysis of both New Testament texts and later, noncanonical literature. Markus Bockmuehl concludes the volume by considering present-day questions about the role of Peter, popes, and church leadership.
Reading 1/2 Peter and Jude by
An essential textbook on 1-2 Peter and Jude for readers of all levels: Scholars engage the best contemporary work on 1-2 Peter and Jude in this student-oriented book. The first four chapters in this collection on authorship and pseudonymity, literary relationships among the three books, epistolary rhetoric, and apocalyptic elements consider important, foundational issues related to all three epistles. These essays lay the groundwork for more focused chapters that examine theology and theory in 1 Peter as well a stylistic, theological, and thematic overlap in Jude and 2 Peter.
Reading Second Peter with New Eyes by
The letters of James, 1 and 2 Peter, and Jude are among the most neglected letters of the NT. Thus, methodological advances in NT study tend to arise among the Gospels or Pauline letters. But these letters are beginning to receive increased attention in the scholarly community. Reading Second Peter With New Eyes is the third of four volumes that incorporate research in this area. The essays collected here examine the impact of recent methodological developments in New Testament studies to Second Peter, including, for example, rhetorical, social-scientific, socio-rhetorical, ideological and hermeneutical methods, as they contribute to understanding this letter and its social context.
A Theology of James, Peter, and Jude by
In this volume, Peter Davids offers a comprehensive study of the General or Catholic Epistles of James, 1-2 Peter, and Jude, which are often insufficiently covered in more general New Testament introductions, theologies, and surveys. Before discussing a theology of each of the four letters, Davids first deals with their common aspects―their shared background in the Greco-Roman world and a similar Christology, view of the source of sin, and eschatology―thus justifying their being treated together. In the chapters that follow, Davids embarks upon a theological reading of each letter informed by its social-rhetorical understanding―what they meant in the context of their original cultural settings―including: a survey of recent scholarship, a discussion of relevant introductory issues, a thematic commentary, a treatment of important theological themes, and a discussion of the place of the letter in the biblical canon and its contribution to New Testament theology.
