Below is a sampling of the commentaries available through the Masland Library,
Below is a sampling of the commentaries available through the Masland Library,
The Gospel According to Luke by 
Luke by
Brimming with lavish, full-color photos and graphics, the Zondervan Illustrated Bible Backgrounds Commentary walks you verse by verse through all the books of the New Testament. It’s like slipping on a set of glasses that lets you read the Bible through the eyes of a first-century reader! Discoveries await you that will snap the world of the New Testament into gripping immediacy. Things that seem mystifying, puzzling, or obscure will take on tremendous meaning when you view them in their ancient context. You’ll deepen your understanding of the teachings of Jesus. You’ll discover the close, sometimes startling interplay between God’s kingdom and the practical affairs of the church. Best of all, you’ll gain a deepened awareness of the Bible’s relevance for your life. Written in a clear, engaging style, this beautiful set provides a new and accessible approach that more technical expository and exegetical commentaries don’t offer.
Luke by
"This volume is a commentary on Luke in the Two Horizons New Testament Commentary series. The author uses an approach that bridges the gap between biblical studies and systematic theology, offering section-by-section exegesis of the New Testament texts in close conversation with theological concerns"-- Provided by publisher.
Luke by
The Exegetical Guide to the Greek New Testament (EGGNT) closes the gap between the Greek text and the available lexical and grammatical tools, providing all the necessary information for greater understanding of the text. The series makes interpreting any given New Testament book easier, especially for those who are hard pressed for time but want to preach or teach with accuracy and authority.
Luke by
"The Gospel of Luke narrates the life of Jesus from the nativity stories, to Jesus' baptism and temptation, ministry in Galilee, journey to and teaching in Jerusalem, and finally his death and resurrection. In his engaging guide to Luke's account, Richard Vinson accompanies readers on their own compelling journey-a journey through the life of Christ as seen through the lenses of critical scholarship and contemporary culture. As a result, we cannot turn away from Luke's primary messages: the good news of the Kingdom of God and Jesus' emphatic teachings on wealth and poverty, repentance and forgiveness, and the role of women in Jesus' ministry...the primary goal of the Smyth & Helwys Bible Commentary series is to make available serious, credible biblical scholarship in an accessible and less intimidating format. A visual generation of believers deserves a commentary series that contains not only the all-important textual commentary on Scripture, but images, photographs, maps, works of fine art, and drawings that bring the text to life. Each volume of the Smyth & Helwys Bible Commentary series features a CD-ROM, which expands the uses and capabilities of the Commentary even more" -- From publisher description.
Luke by
This new, authoritative commentary on the Gospel of Luke epitomizes the New Testament Library series. Combining scholarly rigor and theological insight, Carroll not only focuses on the Gospel text but also makes frequent reference to Luke's second volume, the Acts of the Apostles, to show how the two writings work together to present a full picture of the life of Christ and the work of the apostles. In addition, Carroll includes several illuminating notions about special topics in Luke's Gospel: a comparison of the birth announcements to Mary and Zechariah, an examination of the role of women, a discussion of wealth and poverty, and insights on the reign of God and the Roman Empire.
Luke's Gospel by
Luke's Gospel provides a comprehensive and schematic reading of Luke's Gospel, one of the most important books detailing the life and works of Christ, in six main parts. Knight introduces the Gospel and the narrative theory on which the Gospel rests. He offers a detailed, chapter-by-chapter exposition of the Gospel and also alternative perspectives, such as feminism and deconstruction. He considers the principal motifs of the Gospel, particularly the theme of the temple, which has been previously overlooked in Luke scholarship, arguing that Jesus pronounces the present temple forsaken by God to introduce himself as the cornerstone of the eschatological temple. Finally, he examines earlier readings of Luke's Gospel.Jonathan Knight presents an accessible and jargon-free introduction to the Gospel and makes a valuable addition to the New Testament Readings series.
Luke by
In Luke: Gospel to the Nameless and Faceless, Dr. W. Mark Tew offers the Christian reader a commentary like none other. Combining a detailed examination of the Greek text, a fresh translation of the Gospel, and a commitment to presenting the meaning of the Gospel in a fluid and contemporary fashion, Luke: Gospel to the Nameless and Faceless presents the advanced student and the casual reader alike with an inspirational look at the timeless beauty of Luke's Gospel. Committed to the literary integrity of Scripture, the author allowed the Greek text of the Gospel of Luke to determine the organizational structure of the book. Because of this, readers will find themselves immersed in the message of Jesus that Luke portrayed. Luke: Gospel to the Nameless and Faceless is destined to become an inspirational classic.
Methods for Luke by
In Methods for Luke, four leading scholars demonstrate how different interpretive methods provide insight into the Gospel of Luke. Introducing contemporary perspectives on historical criticism, feminist criticism, narrative criticism, and Latino interpretation, they illustrate these approaches to New Testament study by examining either the Parable of the Rich Man and Lazarus (Luke 16:19-31) or Jesus'warning regarding the scribes and the story of the women with two small coins (Luke 20:45-21:4). The use of two'set texts'enables readers to understand how method makes a difference in the reading of the same text.
Luke: The Gospel of Amazement by
Michael Card embarks on an imaginative journey through the Gospel of Luke. Picturing Luke as historian, Gentile, doctor and slave, Card approaches Luke?s written account with questions that engage the imagination. Join him in the work of opening heart and mind to the'Gospel of Amazement.'
The Word Order of the Gospel of Luke by
This work studies the word order of the Gospel of Luke and some of its prominent messages with consideration of systemic functional linguistic theories. The first part of the work focuses on the relative positions of four constituents (subject, predicate, complement and circumstantial adjunct) of different types of Lukan clauses (independent, dependent, infinitival, participial and embedded clause). The result gives some unmarked (typical or common) word order patterns and some marked word order patterns of all Lukan clauses. The second part traces the foregrounded messages of the Gospel based on their related marked word order patterns incorporated with functional linguistic phenomena. The result highlights the messages of Jesus'disciples and his parents'failure in understanding him, Pilate's crime of handing over Jesus and Jesus'predictions of his future sufferings and Peter's future failure.JSNTS and Studies in New Testament Greek series
New Light on Luke by
This radical new interpretation reveals many connections between Luke and Johannine traditions. Comparision of pericopae shared by Luke and John suggests that the usual assumptions of Lukan priority may be mistaken; instead his may be chronologically the fourth gospel. Luke nevertheless treats his sources in different ways, his response being both critical and creative. He aims to give security to Christians by including as much as possible and reconciling conflicting traditions, while firmly excluding heretical misinterpretation. Shellard also includes a consideration of Luke's use of possible sources, both canonical and extra-canonical, and places Luke-Acts in its literary context, noting among other things the presentation of Rome as a facilitator of evangelization and a promoter of co-existence.
The Paradigm of Conversion in Luke by
Conversion is a main theological theme in the Lukan corpus. Since much attention has been paid to the issue in Acts, the present work shows how the evangelist also conveys his theological emphasis on conversion in his gospel through material either unique to it or that Luke has edited to this purpose. Attention is paid to the different issues involved in Luke's emphasis on conversion and an attempt is made to place them within the larger spectrum of his theology. The grouping of all these elements provides the basis for constructing Luke's paradigm of conversion.
Luke the Priest by
This book focuses on the authority and status of the author of Luke-Acts. What authority did he have to write a Gospel, to interpret the Jewish Scriptures and traditions of Israel, to interpret the Jesus traditions, and to update the narrative with a second volume with its interpretation of Paul and the other apostles who appear in the Acts narrative? Rick Strelan constructs the author as a Jewish Priest, examining such issues as writing and orality, authority and tradition, and the status and role of priests. The analysis is set within the context of scholarly opinion about the author, the intended audience and other related issues.
Slaves of the Most High God by
Servant leadership has been broadly and enthusiastically embraced by Christians as a model of leadership marked by humility and modeled by Jesus. But behind that attractive veneer is an approach to leadership that is problematic theologically and anemic biblically with humanistic goals and assumptions that are derived more from secular theory than biblical research. Careful examination of the servant metaphor in Scripture reveals that a leader is not primarily called to be a servant after all, but rather a slave who is obedient and ultimately accountable to God as his or her Master. This provocative picture conveys a much richer and more demanding model of leadership than servanthood when understood within its cultural context. Slaves of the Most High God provides a rigorous exegetical, historical, and theological analysis of the slave metaphor in Luke-Acts. The pattern of Christ's slave leadership in Luke and the practice of slave leadership in the early church in Acts outline a paradigm of a leader who is in authority and under authority, redeemed by God to serve his people. The author proposes a countercultural model of slave leadership outlining seven practical principles drawn from the metaphor of slavery and shaped by personal pastoral experience.
Luke-Acts by
This book demonstrates that Luke-Acts provides its audience with a basic foundation for all of the various dimensions of Christian worship. With the arrival of Jesus, and especially his being raised from the dead by God, the preeminent locations, leadership, and times for worship move beyond the Jerusalem temple, Jewish synagogues, Sabbath, and the Jewish feasts of Passover and Pentecost to worship in and by the Christian community. As Son of God and Lord, Jesus becomes an object of true worship along with God the Father. Jesus serves as a subject for laudatory worship. Jesus teaches about prayer, engages in it, and serves as an object for supplicatory worship. Jesus not only took part in the ritual worship of being baptized by John, but as the risen and exalted Lord baptizes believers with the Holy Spirit in the sacrament of baptism. In addition, the many meal scenes throughout Luke-Acts provide numerous insights foundational for proper celebrations of the Eucharist.
Figuring Jesus by
Examining Luke's gospel through audience-oriented rhetorical criticism, this book investigates the speech of Jesus through his use of rhetorical figures. Jesus'speech in Luke's Gospel reveals Luke's message and his means of persuading his audience to accept it.
The Imitation of Christ in the Gospel of Luke by
Christians instinctively desire to be like Jesus. Yet evangelical and Reformed thinkers have done little to wed this desire to sound theology and responsible biblical interpretation. With careful attention to Luke’s gospel, this book demonstrates that we can—and must—follow Christ’s example precisely because we embrace him as Savior.
The Liberating Mission of Jesus by
The Liberating Mission of Jesus deals with the central message of the Gospel of Luke, provocatively arguing that the liberating mission of Jesus has two central themes: the universality of the love of God and the special love God has for the defenseless of society. Both of these pillars form the bedrock of Luke's theological vision, animate his Gospel throughout, and summarize the good news of the reign of God in subversive and radical form. This book shows how the liberating message announced by Jesus, as well as his liberating practice, is manifested throughout the Gospel and its implications for Christian life today. Through this thorough treatment, the full depth of Luke's vision of the liberating mission of Jesus is shown to be a paradigm for the personal and collective witness of believers, regardless of the social, political, cultural, or religious boundaries that try to inhibit them from giving witness to the God of life.
Luke by
This new volume in the popular handbook series provides students with a comprehensive guide through the Greek text of the Gospel of Luke. Together Culy, Parsons, and Stigall explain the text's critical, lexical, grammatical, and linguistic aspects while revealing its carefully crafted narrative style. In all, they show the author of Luke to be a master communicator, well at home within the Greek biographical tradition.
Luke by
Michael Card embarks on an imaginative journey through the Gospel of Luke. He introduces us to Luke the historian and imagines his life as a Gentile, a doctor and a slave. Card explores Luke'scompelling account of this dynamic rabbi who astounded his hearers with parables and paradoxes. --from publisher description.
The Upside down Way by
Jesus' life should turn our world upside-down. His first observers, according to Luke, were routinely seized with amazement, both at the bending of physics--making the blind see and lame walk--and at the ridiculous things he did and taught. A careful look at the Jesus of the Gospels sketches a man completely out of touch with conventional thinking; a man radically devoted to living a shocking life for the sake of the broken and forgotten. In popular depictions of Jesus today he seems to be more concerned with upholding a conventional way of life than with overturning our understanding of ourselves. Jesus' life story should lead more to humble servanthood than to syncopated light shows in church or the triumph of a political candidate or a well-ordered and respectable lifestyle. The Upside Down Way is a series of devotionals drawn from the text of Luke. Each devotional is an invitation to a fresh look at the outrageous words and actions of Jesus. Author and pastor Matthew Ingalls combines rigorous historical study with a voice that is unflinchingly bold, reflective, honest, and challenging, in order to elevate Luke's ridiculous Jesus to his rightful position as the fountain of Christian faith. ""If I had to pick a phrase to describe Matt Ingalls' new book, it might be something like 'devotional with an edge.' These brief meditations on passages from Luke's gospel will touch, enlighten, and move you in your life with Christ, but they will also challenge you to think and act differently; actually, a bit 'upside down' as he puts it. And these would be great discussion-starters for groups."" --Kent L. Yinger, (Retired) Professor of New Testament Studies, George Fox Evangelical Seminary ""If your life of faith has grown a bit stale as of late, this book is for you! It delivers a powerful and extremely engaging combination of the biblical (the Gospel of Luke burns with intensity and relevance), the scholarly (with footnotes you will want to read) and the personal (the application begins right now). Matt's invitation, via Luke, is to a life of faith that turns everything on its head, where the way up is to go down, where all that is asked of you is your everything."" --Stuart Erny, DMin, Adjunct Professor, School of Theology and Christian Ministry Anderson University ""As a University student and runner, Matt inspired us to knock on our neighbors' doors offering friendship, prayer, and service. In The Upside Down Way, Pastor Ingalls blends unobtrusive scholarship, the gospel of Luke, and the daily brew of life to draw us near to the Lord of the 'upside down' kingdom. Open it up and knock on Life's door all over again!"" --David Markle, DMin, Pastor, Park Place Church of God Matthew Ingalls is the pastor of River Street Church of God in Newberg, Oregon--a small congregation dedicated to living the way of Jesus for the sake of its neighborhood. He is a graduate of Portland Seminary where he studied both Biblical studies and the history of Christian theology.
