The Cambridge Companion to the Gospels by
The four gospels are a central part of the Christian canon of scripture. In the faith of Christians, this canon constitutes a life-giving witness to who God is and what it means to be truly human. This volume treats the gospels not just as historical sources, but also as crucial testimony to the life of God made known in Jesus Christ. This approach helps to overcome the sometimes damaging split between critical gospel study and questions of theology, ethics and the life of faith. The essays are by acknowledged experts in a range of theological disciplines. The first section considers what are appropriate ways of reading the gospels given the kinds of texts they are. The second, central section covers the contents of the gospels. The third section looks at the impact of the gospels in church and society across history and up to the present day.
Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels by
1993 ECPA Gold Medallion (Reference Text) 1993 Christianity Today Critics'Choice Award The 2014 ECPA Christian Book Award Winner (Bible Reference) 2014 Readers'Choice Award Winner Preaching's Preacher's Guide to the Best Bible Reference for 2014 (Gospels and Jesus) The second edition of the Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels is a thoroughly reconstructed and revised version of the critically acclaimed 1992 first edition. Since that groundbreaking volume was published, a wave of Jesus and Gospel scholarship has crested and broken on the shores of a new century. Jesus has been proposed as sage, shaman, revolutionary, marginal Jew, Mediterranean peasant or a prophet of Israel's restoration. The non-canonical Gospels have been touted, examined and reassessed. There are revised understandings of historiography, orality, form criticism, empire and more. The second edition of the DJG amply weighs and assess the gains and shortcomings of this new scholarship. Here is a self-contained reference library of information and perspective essential to exploring Jesus and the Gospels. This volume bridges the gap between scholars and those pastors, teachers, students and interested readers who want thorough treatments of key topics in an accessible and summary format. Articles cover each Gospel, major themes in the Gospels, key episodes in the life of Jesus, significant background topics, as well as issues and methods of interpretation. Among other benefits, it allows multiple opportunities for each of the Gospels to be weighed and heard in its own voice. Bibliographies are full and up to date, putting readers in touch with the best work in the field. All of this allows the articles to serve as launching pads for further research. When the first edition of the Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels was published, it was immediately recognized as an innovative reference work. By taking a particular corpus of biblical books and exploring it with in-depth articles written by specialists in the field, it refashioned a staple reference genre. This dictionary model has now been applied to each segment of the biblical canon in successive volumes. Those who have enjoyed and benefitted from the wealth in the first edition will find the second edition an equally indispensable companion to study and research. Over ninety percent of the articles have been completely rewritten, and the rest thoroughly revised and updated. Here is the doorway into a reliable and comprehensive summary and appraisal of the last twenty years of Jesus scholarship. A new generation of scholars has opened the way to make this a Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels for the twenty-first century.
Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels by
Articles cover each Gospel, major themes in the Gospels, key episodes in the life of Jesus, significant background topics, as well as issues and methods of interpretation. Among other benefits, it allows multiple opportunities for each of the Gospels to be weighed and heard in its own voice.-- Provided by publisher.
Discovering the New Testament: An Introduction to Its Background, Theology, and Themes by
Discovering the New Testament is a new and comprehensive introduction to the New Testament in three volumes, reflecting current research and scholarship in New Testament studies. Each volume provides a thorough discussion of background issues as well as treating theological themes and practical application.The first volume on the Gospels and Acts covers Jewish and Greco--Roman backgrounds, critical methodologies, the synoptic problem, and surveys each of the four gospels and Acts. It concludes with three chapters that explore the key theme of the kingdom of God, including its Old Testament background, the place of miracles, and an examination of Jesus'parables. Ideal for college or seminary students, the volumes provide numerous maps and charts, as well as discussion questions for each chapter and a focus on real--life relevance and application. Forthcoming volumes will focus on Paul (Vol. 2) and the general epistles and Revelation (Vol. 3).
Gospels by
An international collection of ecumenical, gender-sensitive interpretations In this volume of the Bible and Women Series, contributors examine how biblical studies intersects with feminist interpretive methods with regard to the Gospels. Authors examine the lives of women in Roman Palestine, named and unnamed women in the Gospels, and the role of gender in the reception of the Hebrew scriptures in the New Testament. Features: Essays by scholars from scholars from around the world An introduction and twenty essays focused on women and gender relations Coverage of power relations and ideologies within the texts and in current interpretations
The Gospels by
The Oxford Bible Commentary is a Bible study and reference work for 21st century students and readers that can be read with any modern translation of the Bible. It offers verse-by-verse explanation of every book of the Bible by the world's leading biblical scholars. From its inception, OBC has been designed as a completely non-denominational commentary, carefully written and edited to provide the best scholarship in a readable style for readers from all differentfaith backgrounds. It uses the traditional historical-critical method to search for the original meaning of the texts, but also brings in new perspectives and insights - literary, sociological, and cultural - to bring out the expanding meanings of these ancient writings and stimulate new discussion andfurther enquiry.Newly issued in a series of part volumes, the OBC is now available in an affordable and portable format for the commentaries to the four canonical Gospels, Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John. Includes a general introduction to using the Commentary, in addition to an introduction to study of the New Testament, and a detailed comparison of the four gospels in synopsis.
The Gospels According to St. Francis by
Francis of Assisi fell so in love with God and God's Word that he wanted nothing more than to live the Gospel. His understanding of Scripture shaped the way he strove to imitate Jesus in every aspect of his life. A Franciscan priest, Scripture scholar, and teacher, Fr. Hilarion Kistner explores how Francis heard, lived, and proclaimed the Gospel. He considers Francis's profound love for the Gospel, the movement of the Holy Spirit through the written word, the heart of the Gospels, and how Francis lived in the Gospel light.
Literary Criticism and the Gospels: The Theoretical Challenge by
In the first comprehensive survey of the new literary criticism of the Gospels, Stephen D. Moore traces its emergence and development and provides a much-needed critical introduction to the field. Discussing the works of secular literary critics and theoreticians such as Fish and Derrida and biblical scholars such as Tannehill and Kelber, Moore not only offers a wide-ranging commentary on the books and articles embodying the new material but also assesses the advantages and problematic limitations of biblical literary criticism.
The Origin and Formation of the Gospel by
This book shows readers the nature of Christian faith by exploring how the gospel was originated, formed, and developed. As author Yoseop Ra demonstrates, the Christian faith began to develop during the conflict between Paul and the Jerusalem apostles, while the redemptive death of Jesus Christ on the cross, the core of the gospel, was made through theological interpretation and spiritual confession. The Origin and Formation of the Gospel offers new interpretations based on a profound analysis of sources. First, author Yoseop Ra shows Q to have been redacted four times. Second, he identifies the original form of the first Christian gospel and separates Paul's seven genuine epistles into sixteen letters. Finally, Ra offers an analysis of four Gospels and other writings to argue that the redemptive role of the cross was introduced as a breakthrough on the part of Paul to overcome the Jerusalem apostles, identifying the kingdom of God as the garden of Eden.
Reading the Synoptic Gospels (Revised and Expanded) by
This revised and expanded introductory text introduces students of the Bible to the layers of meaning that can be uncovered by serious study of the synoptic gospel texts. Included are two new chapters introducing ideological exegetical approaches to the gospels and a concluding chapter that helps the student synthesize the exegetical discoveries they have made using the methods taught in the book.
Synoptic Gospels by
This volume collects the best articles on the Synoptic gospels from the first fifty issues of the Journal for the Study of the New Testament. The range of the volume reflects the breadth of the journal itself. Here the reader will find ground-breaking studies that introduce new critical questions and move into fresh areas of enquiry, surveys of the state of play in this particular topic of New Testament studies, and articles that engage with each other in specific debates. For undergraduates this book offers an invaluable critical introduction to Synoptic Gospel studies. More advanced students and scholars can use it to find background material or to gain an overview of the research in this area of scholarship. This builds on the reputation of JSNT as a conduit for first-class research and a major influence within the scholarly community.
Theologies of the Gospel in Context by
Many preachers and teachers of preaching talk about the gospel; few name it. Theologies of the Gospel in Context assembles a gifted group of homileticians who think that preachers need to be able to articulate the gospel not'in general,'but in a certain time and place, in context. They consider what gospel sounds like for people under oppression, in capitalist economies, in neocolonial contexts, for survivors of trauma, and for disestablished mainline churches marred by racism. Preachers will appreciate these preacher/scholars'desire to articulate the gospel with clarity, especially since the term is so often left unexplained. Homileticians will see a new genre of doing their work as teachers and researchers in preaching: a vision that helps preaching see itself not just as an adjunct to exegesis or communication, but a place of doing theology. In these pages homiletics is more than technique, it is a truly theological discipline.
The Fourfold Gospel by
This groundbreaking approach to the study of the fourfold gospel offers a challenging alternative to prevailing assumptions about the creation of the gospels and their portraits of Jesus. How and why does it matter that we have these four gospels? Why were they placed alongside one another as four parallel yet diverse retellings of the same story? Francis Watson, widely regarded as one of the foremost New Testament scholars of our time, explains that the four gospels were chosen to give a portrait of Jesus. He explores thesignificance of the fourfold gospel's plural form for those who constructed it and for later Christian communities, showing that in its plurality it bears definitive witness to what God has done in Jesus Christ. Watson focuses on reading the gospels as a group rather than in isolation and explains that the fourfold gospel is greater than, and other than, the sum of its individual parts. Interweaving historical, exegetical, and theological perspectives, this book is accessibly written for students and pastors but is also of interest to professors and scholars.
From Good News to Gospels by
The good news about Jesus spread like wildfire through the Roman Empire in the decades between his death and the writing of the first gospels -- but how? What exactly did the first Christians say about Jesus? In From Good News to Gospels David Wenham delves into the Gospels, Acts, and thewritings of Paul to uncover evidence of a strong and substantial oral tradition in the early church. With implications for the historicity of the New Testament, the Synoptic problem, the composition of the gospels, and other topics of vital concern, From Good News to Gospels will inform, engage, and challenge readers, inspiring them to better understand and appreciate the earliest gospel message.
Gospels by
In this volume of the Bible and Women Series, contributors examine how biblical studies intersects with feminist interpretive methods with regard to the Gospels. Authors examine the lives of women in Roman Palestine, named and unnamed women in the Gospels, and the role of gender in the reception of the Hebrew scriptures in the New Testament.
Gospel Writing by
That there are four canonical versions of the one gospel story is often seen as a problem for Christian faith: where gospels multiply, so too do apparent contradictions that may seem to undermine their truth claims. In Gospel Writing Francis Watson argues that differences and tensions between canonical gospels represent opportunities for theological reflection, not problems for apologetics. Watson presents the formation of the fourfold gospel as the defining moment in the reception of early gospel literature -- and also of Jesus himself as the subject matter of that literature. As the canonical division sets four gospel texts alongside one another, the canon also creates a new, complex, textual entity more than the sum of its parts. A canonical gospel can no longer be regarded as a definitive, self-sufficient account of its subject matter. It must play its part within an intricate fourfold polyphony, and its meaning and significance are thereby transformed.
Reading the Gospels with Karl Barth by
Over the course of his multivolume Church Dogmatics, Karl Barth not only cites thousands of Scripture texts but also offers extensive exegetical discussion of numerous passages. In this book twelve leading theologians and biblical scholars examine Barth's exegesis of particular passages in the Gospels. How does Barth's practice of theological exegesis play out in his reading of the Gospels? What are the fundamental features of Barth's interpretation of Gospel texts, and to what extent do they enliven theology, biblical studies, and ethics today? Reading the Gospels with Karl Barth explores answers to such questions and offers fresh stimulus for further study and discussion.
Understanding the Gospels by
Understanding the Gospels first introduces the Gospels generally and then prepares readers to communicate their message to a modern audience. Each of the fourteen contributors is a seminary professor and expert on the topic covered. This book focuses on preaching and application, and answers pointed questions to help students and pastors understand the major theological themes of each gospel and avoid common interpretive mistakes. Anyone serving in a teaching or preaching capacity will find this book helpful for accurate proclamation and powerful application of the Gospels. - publisher.
What Are the Gospels? by
The publication of Richard Burridge's What Are the Gospels? in 1992 inaugurated a transformation in Gospel studies by overturning the previous consensus about Gospel uniqueness. Burridge argued convincingly for an understanding of the Gospels as biographies, a ubiquitous genre in the Graeco-Roman world. To establish this claim, Burridge compared each of the four canonical Gospels to the many extant Graeco-Roman biographies. Drawing on insights from literary theory, he demonstrated that the previously widespread view of the Gospels as unique compositions was false. Burridge went on to discuss what a properly "biographical" perspective might mean for Gospel interpretation, which was amply demonstrated in the revised second edition reflecting on how his view had become the new consensus. This third, twenty-fifth anniversary edition not only celebrates the continuing influence of What Are the Gospels?, but also features a major new contribution in which Burridge analyzes recent debates and scholarship about the Gospels. Burridge both answers his critics and reflects upon the new directions now being taken by those who accept the biographical approach. This new edition also features as an appendix a significant article in which he tackles the related problem of the genre of Acts. A proven book with lasting staying power, What Are the Gospels? is not only still as relevant and instructive as it was when first published, but will also doubtlessly inspire new research and scholarship in the years ahead."-- Provided by publisher.
6 Leadership Principles from the Gospels: Getting Things Done in Your Organization by
How can someone be perfectly imperfect? Isn't that a contradiction? The Bible is filled with stories of people with all kinds of flaws and imperfections. The astounding thing is what happens when God changes their lives. Perfectly Imperfect is about people whose true-to-life stories are found in the New Testament. They are like us in many ways—confused, tempted, and often afraid, but then they meet Jesus, and their lives are wonderfully transformed. Through the character sketches in this book, we learn how God works with us. We discover something about the way God transforms us from what we are into what we can be. In these sometimes tragic and broken lives, we get a glimpse of how God renews us and remakes us into people who are perfectly imperfect.
Humor in the Gospels: A Sourcebook for the Study of Humor in the New Testament by
Humor in the Gospels is the most comprehensive resource on Gospel humor to date. Terri Bednarz reviews and critiques a 150 years of biblical scholarship on the subject from little known journal articles and out-of-print books to the most well respected classical works of today. She covers a range of scholarly discussions on the various forms and functions of Gospel humor from frivolity to witty allusions to satirical barbs. She examines the barriers of associating humor with the Gospel depictions of Jesus, the difficulties of identifying humor in ancient biblical texts, and the advances of literary, contextual, and rhetorical approaches to recognizing Gospel humor. This important work includes an extensive bibliography for further study of Gospel humor in particular, and Biblical humor in general.
Jesus and Gospel by
Gospel'initially referred to oral proclamation concerning Jesus Christ, but was later used to refer to four written accounts of the life of Jesus. How did this happen? Here, distinguished scholar Graham Stanton uses new evidence and fresh perspectives to tackle this controversial question. He insists that in the early post-Easter period, the Gospel of Jesus Christ was heard against the backdrop of a rival set of'gospels'concerning the Roman emperors. In later chapters Stanton examines the earliest criticisms of Jesus and of claims concerning his resurrection. Finally, he discusses the early Christian addiction to the codex (book) format as opposed to the ubiquitous roll, and undermines the view that early copies of the Gospels were viewed as downmarket handbooks of an inward looking sect. With half the material previously unpublished and the rest carefully gathered from sources difficult to access, this is a timely study with broad appeal.
Prayer in the Gospels: A Theological Exegesis of the Ideal Pray-er by
In Prayer in the Gospels Mathias Nygaard offers a text-centred reading of the prayer materials of the Gospels. His approach provides for exegesis and theology in a single discussion.
Who Chose the Gospels?: Probing the Great Gospel Conspiracy by
The Bible contains four Gospels which tell the story of Jesus of Nazareth. And yet, many more Gospels once existed. Who, then, determined which Gospels would, for the next two thousand years, serve as the main gateways to Jesus and his teaching?Recent books and films have traced the decision to a series of fourth-century councils and powerful bishops. After achieving victory over their rivals for the Christian name, these key players, we are now told, conspired to 'rewrite history' to make it look like their version of Christianity was the original one preached by Jesus and his apostles: the Gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John became the prime tools for their re-sculpting of the Christian story, leading to the destruction ofpreviously treasured writings like the Gospels of Judas, Mary, and Thomas. Are the four canonical Gospels, then, in the Bible as the result of a great, ecclesiastical conspiracy? Or does this explanation itself represent another 'rewriting of history', this time by a group of modern academics?Who Chose the Gospels? takes us to the scholarship behind the headlines, examining the great (and ongoing) controversy about how to look at ancient books about Jesus. How the four Biblical Gospels emerged into prominence among their competitors is a crucial question for everyone interested in understanding the historical Jesus and the development of the Christian church.
Can We Trust the Gospels? by
Is there evidence to believe the Gospels? The Gospels -- Matthew, Mark, Luke, John -- are four accounts of Jesus's life and teachings while on earth. But should we accept them as historically accurate? What evidence is there that the recorded events actually happened? Presenting a case for the historical reliability of the Gospels, New Testament scholar Peter Williams examines evidence from non-Christian sources, assesses how accurately the four biblical accounts reflect the cultural context of their day, compares different accounts of the same events, and looks at how these texts were handed down throughout the centuries. Everyone from the skeptic to the scholar will find powerful arguments in favor of trusting the Gospels as trustworthy accounts of Jesus's earthly life. - Publisher.
The Gospel and Abortion by
Abortion has been a divisive issue in American culture since the sexual revolution. Yet the Bible is an unapologetic defender of human dignity. Moreover, Christians have always cared for the unborn, the orphan, and the least among us. The time is now for this generation to reaffirm what believers have always believed: everybody is created in the image of God.
The Gospel and Adoption by
The evangelical adoption movement is but one strand in a long cord of Christian care for orphans. While adoption trends have fluctuated over time in different contexts, the Bible has not changed its position. The gospel is decidedly pro-adoption and on the side of the orphan. Yet many obstacles stand in the way of the Christian’s mission to provide care to the least of these.
The Gospel and Marriage by
While the culture has never been more confused about the definition of what marriage is, those who are married have never been more hopeless about how marriage should be lived. The times have never been more crucial for digging deeper, past the definition of marriage to the structure of marriage, the blessings of marriage, and the opportunity for living out the image of the gospel that’s embodied within marriage.
The Gospel and Pornography by
The problem isn't sex. God designed sex; and sex is good. Sex is a powerful union that brings men and women together. But when sex is distorted by sin, the misuse of our sexuality can alienate us from one another, causing immense harm and pain. Enter pornography—the most prevalent distortion of sexual sin in America. Pornography is not only a problem in terms of personal morality, but a social epidemic that is making the possibility of sexually-fulfilled marriages harder to achieve. It is rewiring our brains to think about sexuality in destructive ways. We have a very serious problem, and it's not isolated to any one segment of culture.
The Gospel and Racial Reconciliation by
Racism has long been a dividing force among peoples around the world. It causes contempt, hatred, discrimination, and war. Yet the gospel speaks to this division and instead offers reconciliation in the kingdom of God.
The Gospel and Work by
You are not what you do. So often, in America, we define who we are by what we do. We introduce ourselves by our job titles. We ask, "What do you do?" to be polite in small talk. We define others by their occupation. But there are good reasons to connect what you do with your time—whether that is 9-to-5 work, or managing a household full of children. God created us to work, not as judgment, but in cooperation with a mandate given to humanity long before the fall. Your work isn't who you are, but it is central to why you are here. When we get that confused, our work can be the most frustrating aspect of our lives.
Jesus and the Gospels by
After two millennia, Jesus remains as fascinating and compelling a figure as ever, not only for Christian communities but also for countless others in diverse contemporary cultures. In this fresh introduction to Jesus and the Gospels, prominent scholar John T. Carroll offers a thoughtful reading of thefour Gospels, paying close attention to narrative structure and key themes, with an appreciation of thecontexts that shaped and continue to shape their interpretation. Informed by the best recent scholarship, this engaging volume will introduce Jesus and the Gospels to a whole new generation of readers in the culturally and religiously plural world of today. - from publisher.
