Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Visiting Special Collections
For those scholars who are serious in their pursuit of primary source data, special collections are one of the best resources the scholar can access. Some are found attached to libraries, while others have their own buildings. The scholar can generally find basic information about the special collections from their websites, but here is a brief list of items you should have with you when you visit.
- school idenification/state I.D.
- pens and pencils
- digital camera (you can study the text via your computer later)
- money for copies
- gloves/tissue (sometime supplied on location)
Students should always check out the collections website prior to the visit to check on specific policies, what time the collections is open to the public, whether cameras are allowed, and eating/drinking rules before proceeding. If you are really diligent you can check to see what resources might be in closed or open stacks.
The preeminent Internet publisher of literature, reference and verse providing students, researchers and the intellectually curious with unlimited access to books and information on the web, free of charge.
Internet Text Archive
Download free books and texts. The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.
We currently have over 3000 full books and over 4000 short stories and poems by over 250 authors. Our quotations database has over 8500 quotes.
MIT Open Courseware
Free and open online Literature course materials from MIT. Lecture notes, exams, audio video lectures, textbooks by MIT professors.
One Web page for every book.
Site includes poetry, indexes, articles, audio and video about Poetry and its criticism.
Project Gutenberg is a volunteer effort to digitize and archive cultural works, to "encourage the creation and distribution of eBooks". It was founded in 1971 by Michael S. Hart and is the oldest digital library.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.