LibGuides: Literature: Books

Masland Online Catalog Search

Search the Masland Library Online Catalog:

Finding Book Reviews

A review is a critical evaluation of a text, event, object, or phenomenon. Reviews can consider books, articles, entire genres or fields of literature, architecture, art, fashion, restaurants, policies, exhibitions, performances, and many other forms.

Above all, a review makes an argument. The most important element of a review is that it is a commentary, not merely a summary. It allows you to enter into dialogue and discussion with the work's creator and with other audiences. It can offer agreement or disagreement and identify where you find the work exemplary or deficient in its knowledge, judgments, or organization.

"Book Reviews." The Writing Center. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, n.d. Web. 21 Apr 2011. <http://www.unc.edu/depts/wcweb/handouts/review.html>.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals, the database offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: biblical studies, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

Literary Reference Center
Literary Reference Center contains full text for more than 34,500 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticisms, more than 253,000 author biographies (including more than 22,000 in-depth bios), more than 450 literary journals, more than 693,000 book reviews, more than 77,100 classic and contemporary poems, more than 19,400 classic and contemporary short stories, more than 6,400 author interviews, more than 8,200 classic texts and much more.

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
Due to third party ownership of full text, EBSCO Information Services is dependent on publisher publication schedules (and in some cases embargo periods) in order to produce full text on its products.

Call Numbers

Selected Areas for Browsing:

PA	Greek and Latin languages and literatures
PC	Romance languages
PD	Germanic and Scandinavian languages
PE	English languages
PJ	Oriential and Semitic languages
PL	Eastern Asia, Africa, Oceania
PN	Literature (General)
PQ	French, Italian, Spanish, & Portuguese
PR	British literature
PS	American literature
PT	German, Dutch, and Scandinavian literature

Electronic Books

NetLibrary
A comprehensive collection of academic electronic books and resource materials. Using netLibrary, you can access a wide range of materials entirely online. You can search every word in the entire collection, as well as search within a particular eBook. See the EBook Quick Start Guide for more information on using netLibrary. Public domain titles are available to everyone.

Cambridge Companions Online: Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
The Cambridge Companions Online: Complete Collection is a fully searchable, full text collection of from the renowned Cambridge Companions series. The Complete collection includes: The Companions to Literature and Classics; The Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture; and, The Companions to Music.

Internet Archive
The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, and the general public.

Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
Project Gutenberg is a volunteer effort to digitize and archive cultural works, to "encourage the creation and distribution of eBooks". It was founded in 1971 by Michael S. Hart and is the oldest digital library.