LibGuides: Literature: Early American Literature

Books

The Chronology of American Literature by Daniel S. Burt (Editor)
ISBN: 0618168214
Publication Date: 2004-02-10
An authoritative reference and an ideal browser's guide, this book outlines the indispensable information in America's rich literary past - from major publications to lesser-known gems - while also identifying larger trends along the literary timeline.
Critical Terms for Literary Study by Frank Lentricchia (Editor); Thomas McLaughlin (Editor)
ISBN: 0226472035
Publication Date: 1995-06-15
Since its publication in 1990, Critical Terms for Literary Study has become a landmark introduction to the work of literary theory - giving tens of thousands of students an unparalleled encounter with what it means to do theory and criticism. Significantly expanded, this new edition features six new chapters that confront, in different ways, the growing understanding of literary works as cultural practices.
Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature by Steven R. Serafin
Composed of signed biographical-critical entries, this Encyclopedia serves as both guide and companion to the study and appreciation of American literature.
The Cambridge History of American Literature, 1590-1820 by Sacvan Bercovitch (Editor, Contribution by); Cyrus R. Patell (Editor)
Call Number: PS92 .C34 1994 ONLINE
ISBN: 9780521301053
Publication Date: 1994-02-25
Addressing those characteristics that render the texts distinctively American while placing the literature in an international perspective, the contributors offer a compelling new evaluation of both the literary importance of early American history and the historical value of early American literature.

Good Websites

Brief Timeline of American Literature and Events: Pre-1620 to 1920
This timeline provides a short chronology of events in American history and literature. It is linked to course pages and bibliographies as well as to a set of more general linked resources: pages on American authors, literary movements, and American literature sites.
Web Resources for Early American Literature: A Beginning
List from Edward J. Gallagher of Leigh University.
American Literary History Chart
From Oxford Reference, eISBN 9780191736872.
Literary Critism sites- Library of Congress list
Literatures in English: Literary Criticism

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals, the database offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: biblical studies, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
American National Biography This link opens in a new window
The ANB offers portraits of more than 18,700 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation.
Artstor Digital Library This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is now part of JSTOR. Combine searching for all JSTOR eContent, including millions of images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. The community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
Cambridge Companions Online: Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
The Cambridge Companions Online: Complete Collection is a fully searchable, full text collection of from the renowned Cambridge Companions series. The Complete collection includes: The Companions to Literature and Classics; The Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture; and, The Companions to Music.
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Biography In Context is built on a foundation of more than 650,000 biographical entries covering more than 400,000 international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Providing coverage of the most-searched and studied people, Biography In Context includes more than 4,500 portal pages on the world’s most remarkable contemporary and historical names.
Some titles included in Biography in Context: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Black Biography, Contemporary Musicians, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Newsmakers, and Writer’s Directory
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online This link opens in a new window
An essential resource for literature students and scholars, Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides authoritative information while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history.

ebrary Academic Complete
ebrary contains more than 40,000 electronic books covering subjects such as Education, Fine Arts, History, Language and Literature, Music, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Political Science, Social Sciences, and others

JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-XV This link opens in a new window
JSTOR's archival journal collections include more than two thousand journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It ontains the entire runs, from the first volume up to the volumes published only a few years ago. Currently published titles have a "moving wall" of 3-5 years after which the current issues are added to JSTOR.

Literary Reference Center
Literary Reference Center contains full text for more than 34,500 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticisms, more than 253,000 author biographies (including more than 22,000 in-depth bios), more than 450 literary journals, more than 693,000 book reviews, more than 77,100 classic and contemporary poems, more than 19,400 classic and contemporary short stories, more than 6,400 author interviews, more than 8,200 classic texts and much more.
NetLibrary
A comprehensive collection of academic electronic books and resource materials. Using netLibrary, you can access a wide range of materials entirely online. You can search every word in the entire collection, as well as search within a particular eBook. See the EBook Quick Start Guide for more information on using netLibrary. Public domain titles are available to everyone.
Oxford English Dictionary
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
Project Muse
Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Offers records of any type of material (including print and electronic) cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century. Use WorldCat Discovery to submit InterLibrary Loan requests.

Authors (born prior to 1860)

Henry Adams (1838–1918)
Yda Addis (1857–1902)
Eliza Frances Andrews (1840–1931)
Timothy Shay Arthur (1809–1885)
Louisa May Alcott (1832–1888
Horatio Alger, Jr. (1832–1899)
Amelia Edith Huddleston Barr (1831–1919)
L. Frank Baum (1856–1919)
Edward Bellamy (1850–1898)
Robert Montgomery Bird (1803–1854)
Hugh Henry Brackenridge (1748–1816)
Alice Brown (1857–1948)
Charles Brockden Brown (1771–1810)
Frances Hodgson Burnett (1849–1924)
George Washington Cable (1844–1925)
George Washington Cable (1844–1925)
Lydia Maria Child (1802–1880)
Kate Chopin (1851–1904)
Jeremiah Clemens (1814–1865)
John Esten Cooke (1830–1886)
James Fenimore Cooper (1789–1851)
Francis Marion Crawford (1854–1909)
Maria Susanna Cummins (1827–1866)
John William De Forest (1826–1926)
Mary Mapes Dodge (1831–1905)
Edward S. Ellis (1840–1916)
Augusta Jane Evans (1835–1909)
Martha Farquharson Finley (1828–1909)
Mary Hallock Foote (1847–1938)
Hannah Webster Foster (1758–1840)
Harold Frederic (1856–1898)
Henry Blake Fuller (1857–1929)
Robert Grant (1852–1940)
Anna Katharine Green (1846–1935)
Arthur Sherburne Hardy (1847–1930)
Mariam Cole Harris (1834-1925)
Nathaniel Hawthorne (1804–1864)
Josiah Gilbert Holland (1819–1881)
Mary Jane Holmes (1825–1907)
Oliver Wendell Holmes (1809–1894)
Blanche Willis Howard (1847–1898)
E. W. Howe (1853–1937)
William Dean Howells (1837–1920)
Prentiss Ingraham (1843-1904)
Joseph Holt Ingraham (1809–1860)
Helen Hunt Jackson (1830–1885)
Henry James (1843–1916)
Sarah Orne Jewett (1849–1909)
Sylvester Judd (1813–1853)
James Otis Kaler (1848–1912)
Grace King (1852–1932)
George Lippard (1822–1854)
Charles Major (1856–1913)
S. Weir Mitchell (1829–1914)
Mary Noailles Murfree (1850–1922)
John Neal (1793–1876)
Thomas Nelson Page (1853–1952)
James Kirke Paulding (1778–1860)
Mary Hayden Green Pike (1824–1898)
Edgar Allan Poe (1809–1849)
Edward Payson Roe (1838–1888)
Susanna Rowson (1762–1824)
Rebecca Rush (1779–1850)
Edgar Saltus (1855–1921)
William Gilmore Simms (1806–1870)
Elizabeth Oakes Smith (1806–1893)
Francis Hopkinson Smith (1838–1915)
E. D. E. N. Southworth (1819–1899)
Harriet Elizabeth Prescott Spofford (1835–1921)
Ann Sophia Stephens (1810–1886)
Frederic Jesup Stimson (1855–1943)
Frank R. Stockton (1834–1902)
Harriet Beecher Stowe (1811–1896)
Bayard Taylor (1825-1878)
Tabitha Gilman Tenney (1762-1837)
Mary Virginia Terhune (1830–1922)
Daniel Pierce Thompson (1795–1868)
Maurice Thompson (1844–1901)
Albion W. Tourgée (1838–1905)
George Tucker (1775–1861)
Mark Twain (1835–1910)
Royall Tyler (1757–1826)
Lew Wallace (1827–1905)
Elizabeth Stuart Phelps Ward (1844–1911)
William Ware (1797–1852)
Catherine Anne Warfield (1816–1877)
Charles Dudley Warner (1829–1900)
Susan Warner (1819–1895)
Kate Douglas Wiggin (1856–1923)
Harriet E. Wilson (1825–1900)
Theodore Winthrop (1828–1861)
Samuel Woodworth (1784–1842)
Constance Fenimore Woolson (1840–1894)
Mary Tappan Wright (1851–1917)
Anne Dudley Bradstreet (1612-1672)
Born British, but emigrated 1630.