Knickerbocker's History of New York by
Today, author Washington Irving is best remembered for the iconic tales'The Legend of Sleepy Hollow'and'Rip Van Winkle.'However, Irving also produced a number of well-regarded works of history and biography. This brilliant volume combines fact and fiction, offering a satirical -- and often imagined -- history of New York from the perspective of make-believe Dutch historian Diedrich Knickerbocker.
The Sketch Book of Geoffrey Crayon by
The Sketch Book of Geoffrey Crayon is the compilation of 34 short stories and essays by Washington Irving. It includes some of his most famous stories, such as The Legend of Sleepy Hollow and Rip Van Winkle, and was one of the first works of American fiction to become popular in Britain and Europe. The tone of the stories varies widely, and they are held together by the powerful charm of their narrator, Geoffrey Crayon.
Washington Irving: Storyteller for a New Nation by
A biography of one of America's earliest great literary figures who also served as a diplomat in Spain.
The Sketch Book of Geoffrey Crayon by
A collection of miscellaneous sketches, short stories, and essays, many of them humorous; includes such favorites as Rip Van Winkle, The Spectre bridegroom, and The legend of Sleepy Hollow.
The Best Read Naturalist by
Ralph Waldo Emerson is one of the most important figures in American nature writing, yet until now readers have had no book devoted to this central theme in his work.'The Best Read Naturalist'fills this lacuna, placing several of Emerson's lesser-known pieces of nature writing in conversation with his canonical essays. Organized chronologically, the thirteen selections—made up of sermons, lectures, addresses, and essays—reveal an engagement with natural history that spanned Emerson's career. As we watch him grapple with what he called the'book of nature,'a more environmentally connected thinker emerges—a'green'Emerson deeply concerned with the physical world and fascinated with the ability of science to reveal a correspondence between the order of nature and that of the mind.'The Best Read Naturalist'illuminates the vital influence that the study of natural history had on the development of Emerson's mature philosophy.
The Cambridge Companion to Ralph Waldo Emerson by 
Emerson: Political Writings by
Ralph Waldo Emerson is the central figure in American political thought. Until recently, his vast influence was most often measured by its impact on literature, philosophy and aesthetics. In particular, Emerson is largely responsible for introducing idealism into America in the form of living one's life self-reliantly. But in the past few decades, critics have increasingly come to realize that Emerson played a key role in abolitionism and other social movements around the time of the American Civil War. This selection for Cambridge Texts in the History of Political Thought highlights not only Emerson's practical political involvement, but also examines the philosophical basis of his political writings. All of the usual series features are included, with a concise introduction, notes for further reading, chronology and apparatus designed to assist undergraduate and graduate readers studying this greatest of American thinkers for the first time.
A Historical Guide to Ralph Waldo Emerson by 
Ralph Waldo Emerson: The Major Poetry by 
Ralph Waldo Emerson: The Najor Prose by 
Uneasy Solitude: Individual and Society in the Work of Ralph Waldo Emerson by
This subtle intellectual biography juxtaposes Ralph Waldo Emerson's revolutionary spiritual thinking with his elitist ideas of race and property--a contrast so sharp as to make his personality seem almost incoherent." Writing in (he great modern tradition of French anglicisles, Maurice Gonnaud compares Emerson's taste for solitude and the lyric ardor it awakened in him to his efforts to confront the social pressures of his times.Originally published in 1987.The Princeton Legacy Library uses the latest print-on-demand technology to again make available previously out-of-print books from the distinguished backlist of Princeton University Press. These paperback editions preserve the original texts of these important books while presenting them in durable paperback editions. The goal of the Princeton Legacy Library is to vastly increase access to the rich scholarly heritage found in the thousands of books published by Princeton University Press since its founding in 1905.
Complete Essays and Other Writings of Ralph Waldo Emerson by The Works of Ralph Waldo Emerson in One Volume, Including the Poems, Philosophic and Inspirational Essays, and Biographical Studies by The complete poetical works of Henry Wadsworth Longfellow by 
Henry Wadsworth Longfellow: America's Beloved Poet by 
Henry Wadsworth Longfellow in Portland by The Complete Poetical Works of Henry Wadsworth Longfellow by Poems of Henry Wadsworth Longfellow by 
The Works of Henry Wadsworth Longfellow by 
The Cambridge Companion to Nathaniel Hawthorne by
The specially commissioned essays collected in this volume establish new parameters for both scholarly and classroom discussion of Hawthorne. This Companion provides fresh perspectives on Hawthorne's classic works, and on topics such as Hawthorne's relationship to history, women, politics, and early America. It brings together a team of leading international scholars to offer the most comprehensive introduction available to Hawthorne's work and life.
The Cambridge Introduction to Nathaniel Hawthorne by 
Nathaniel Hawthorne: American Storyteller by
Profiles the nineteenth-century American author of such works as "The Scarlet Letter" and "The House of Seven Gables."
The Cambridge Companion to Nathaniel Hawthorne by 
The Entanglements of Nathaniel Hawthorne by The Selected Letters of Nathaniel Hawthorne by 
Edgar Allan Poe by
Most frequently regarded as a writer of the supernatural, Poe was actually among the most versatile of American authors, writing social satire, comic hoaxes, mystery stories, science fiction, prose poems, literary criticism and theory, and even a play. As a journalist and editor, Poe was closely in touch with the social, political, and cultural trends of nineteenth-century America. Recent scholarship has linked Poe's imaginative writings to the historical realities of nineteenth-century America, including to science and technology, wars and politics, the cult of death and bereavement, and, most controversially, to slavery and stereotyped attitudes toward women. Edgar Allan Poe: Beyond Gothicism presents a systematic approach to topical criticism of Poe, revealing a new portrait of Poe as an author who blended topics of intellectual and social importance and returned repeatedly to these ideas in different works and using different aesthetic strategies during his brief but highly productive career. Twelve essays point readers toward new ways of considering Poe's themes, techniques, and aesthetic preoccupations by looking at Poe in the context of landscapes, domestic interiors, slavery, prosody, Eastern cultures, optical sciences, Gothicism, and literary competitions, clubs, and reviewing.
Edgar Allan Poe by
By attempting to suspend moral, ideological, or psychological assumptions, a phenomenological interpretation of literature hopes to reach "the things themselves," the essential phenomena of being, space, and time, as they are constituted, by consciousness, in words. Although there has been a tradition of phenomenological criticism in Europe for the last twenty years, David Halliburton is the first to write a general study of an American author from this particular point of view.The book begins with a methodological chapter that sets out the assumptions and procedures of the approach. This is followed by analyses of Poe's major works, exploring such special problems as Poe's treatment of the material world, including technology; the interrelation of body and consciousness; poetic voice; attitudes toward women; and the will to affirmation, plenitude, and unity. The center of interest is neither Poe's biography nor environment but always the meaning of Poe's words. Because these works are shaped by a single imagination and because they are experienced in time, as a process, each work has its own "way of going." The aim of the interpretation is to find this way and go along with it; to live each work dynamically, as it "happens," while tracing its interaction with other works.Originally published in 1973.The Princeton Legacy Library uses the latest print-on-demand technology to again make available previously out-of-print books from the distinguished backlist of Princeton University Press. These paperback editions preserve the original texts of these important books while presenting them in durable paperback editions. The goal of the Princeton Legacy Library is to vastly increase access to the rich scholarly heritage found in the thousands of books published by Princeton University Press since its founding in 1905.
Edgar Allan Poe: Rhetoric and Style by
Zimmerman breaks new ground in Poe studies by providing a catalogue of three hundred figures of speech and thought in the author's oeuvre, including his tales, personal correspondence, literary criticism, book reviews, and marginalia. This incisive catalogue of literary and rhetorical terms, presented in alphabetical order and amply illustrated with examples - in addition to close examinations of some of Poe's most important tales - overwhelmingly demonstrates Poe's rhetorical and linguistic dexterity, putting a nearly two-hundred-year-old critical debate to rest by showing Poe to be a conscientious craftsman of the highest order.
Edgar Allan Poe across Disciplines, Genres and Languages by
This collection of essays, which rediscovers Edgar Allan Poe's not forgotten lore, comprises a two-headed scholarly body, drawing from communication and linguistics and literature, although it also includes many other academic offshoots which explore Poe's labyrinthine and variegated imagination.The papers are classified according to two main domains, namely: (I) Edgar Allan Poe in Language, Literature and Translation Studies, and (II) Edgar Allan Poe in Communication and the Arts.In short, this book combines rigour and modernity and pays homage, with a fresh outlook, to Poe's extra-ordinary originality and brilliant weirdness which prompted renowned authors like James Russell Lowell and Howard P. Lovecraft to claim, respectively, that “Mr. Poe has that indescribable something which men have agreed to call genius” and that “Poe's tales possess an almost absolute perfection of artistic form which makes them veritable beacon lights in the province of the short story. Poe's weird tales are alive in a manner that few others can ever hope to be.”
Edgar Allan Poe in Context by
Edgar Allan Poe mastered a variety of literary forms over the course of his brief and turbulent career. As a storyteller, Poe defied convention by creating Gothic tales of mystery, horror and suspense that remain widely popular today. This collection demonstrates how Poe's experience of early nineteenth-century American life fueled his iconoclasm and shaped his literary legacy. Rather than provide critical explications of his writings, each essay explores one aspect of Poe's immediate environment, using pertinent writings - verse, fiction, reviews and essays - to suit. Examining his geographical, social and literary contexts, as well as those created by the publishing industry and advances in science and technology, the essays paint an unprecedented portrait of Poe's life and times. Written for a wide audience, the collection will offer scholars and students of American literature, historians and general readers new insight into Poe's rich and complex work.
The Raven by
During a dark night in December, a man sits in his room sadly thinking about his lost love, Lenore. Suddenly, he hears a tapping on the door, but no one is there. The noise moves to the window and the man opens it, only to see an ominous raven. The raven only has one thing to say and, as the night goes on, his haunting call of'Nevermore'begins to make the man more and more paranoid. This unabridged version of Edgar Allan Poe's eerie poem, first published in 1884, is accompanied by Gustave Doré's stunning woodcut illustrations.
The Complete Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe by Israfel: The Life and Times of Edgar Allan Poe by 
