Masterplots: History of Plymouth Plantation by
A brief synopsis and critical analysis of William Bradford’s History of Plymouth Plantation.
New World, Known World by
Examines the works of four writers from the early period of English colonization: John Smith's Generall Historie of Virginia, William Bradford's Of Plymouth Plantation, Thomas Morton's New English Canaan, and Roger Williams's A Key into the Language of America (in conjunction with The Bloudy Tenent of Persecution)'--Provided by publisher.
Of Plymouth Plantation by
"An unabridged republication of Bradford's history of the Plymouth Settlement, 1608-1650, rendered into modern English by Harold Paget, which was originally published by E.P. Dutton and Company, New York, in 1920."--T.p. verso.
A Narrative of the Captivity and Restoration of Mrs. Mary Rowlandson by
Captured by hostile natives, a Puritan woman in colonial New England must rely on her faith to surviveWhen Mary Rowlandson awoke on February 10, 1675, the village of Lancaster, Massachusetts, was already on fire. For two hours, Rowlandson's family fought to protect their home from marauding Narragansett Indians. Finally, their little house was set ablaze, and the Rowlandsons fled into the open, where Mary and her three children were taken captive.So begins one of the most harrowing and unforgettable captivity narratives in the history of American literature. For eleven weeks, Mary and her surviving children traveled the wilderness with their captors, an arduous ordeal that tested the limits of her faith, and taught her the true meaning of empathy.A thrilling story packed with fascinating details about Native American customs and culture, Mary Rowlandson's account was an immediate bestseller when first published in 1682 and is a must-read for students of American history.This ebook has been professionally proofread to ensure accuracy and readability on all devices.
As a City on a Hill by
"'For we must consider that we shall be as a city upon a hill,' John Winthrop warned his fellow Puritans at New England's founding in 1630. More than three centuries later, Ronald Reagan remade that passage into a timeless celebration of American promise. How were Winthrop's long-forgotten words reinvented as a central statement of American identity and exceptionalism? In As a City on a Hill, leading American intellectual historian Daniel Rodgers tells the surprising story of one of the most celebrated documents in the canon of the American idea. In doing so, he brings to life the ideas Winthrop's text carried in its own time and the sharply different yearnings that have been attributed to it since. As a City on a Hill shows how much more malleable, more saturated with vulnerability, and less distinctly American Winthrop's 'Model of Christian Charity' was than the document that twentieth-century Americans invented. Across almost four centuries, Rodgers traces striking shifts in the meaning of Winthrop's words--from Winthrop's own anxious reckoning with the scrutiny of the world, through Abraham Lincoln's haunting reference to this "almost chosen people," to the 'city on a hill' that African Americans hoped to construct in Liberia, to the era of Donald Trump. As a City on a Hill reveals the circuitous, unexpected ways Winthrop's words came to lodge in American consciousness. At the same time, the book offers a probing reflection on how nationalism encourages the invention of "timeless" texts to straighten out the crooked realities of the past."--Book jacket flap.
John Winthrop by
John Winthrop (1588-1649) was the first governor of the Massachusetts Bay Colony and is generally considered the principal architect of early New England society. He led the colonists through the initial struggles to survive in a new world, shaped the political organizations that gave the colonists the right to govern themselves through elected governors and representatives, worked to mediate between those who advanced radical religious and political ideas on the one hand and those who sought a very narrowly defined orthodoxy, and contributed to the development of a system of education which insured the preservation of the founders'heritage. The details of this brief biography is drawn from the author's larger, prize-winning study, John Winthrop: America's Forgotten Founding Father (Oxford University Press, 2003), though modified in minor ways by his ongoing research. To render it more accessible to an undergraduate audience, Bremer avoids in-depth discussion of theology and other specialized topics and focus instead on trying to provide students with an appreciation of how Winthrop's world differed from theirs, but how at the same time he dealt with issues that continue to resonate in our own society. In placing his life in the context of the times, Bremer discusses Winthrop's family life and the challenges of life faced by men, women, and children in the seventeenth century. The key themes that are integrated into the biographical narrative are how Winthrop's religion was shaped by the times and in turn how it influenced his family life and the moral outlook that he brought to his political career; his understanding of society as a community in which individuals had to subordinate their individual goals to the advancement of the common good; and his struggle to define where the line needed to be drawn between new or different ideas that enriched religious and political growth, and those that threatened the stability of a society.
The Journal of John Winthrop, 1630-1649 by
This abridged edition of Winthrop's journal, which incorporates about 40 percent of the governor's text, with his spelling and punctuation modernized, includes a lively Introduction and complete annotation. It also includes Winthrop's famous lay sermon, "A Model of Christian Charity," written in 1630. As in the fuller journal, this abridged edition contains the drama of Winthrop's life - his defeat at the hands of the freemen for governor, the banishment and flight of Roger Williams to Rhode Island, the Pequot War that exterminated his Indian opponents, and the Antinomian controversy. Here is the earliest American document on the perpetual contest between the forces of good and evil in the wilderness - Winthrop's recounting of how God's Chosen People escaped from captivity into the promised land. While he recorded all the sexual scandal - rape, fornication, adultery, sodomy, and buggery - it was only to show that even in Godly New England the Devil was continually at work, and man must be forever militant.
The Journal of John Winthrop, 1630-1649 by
This abridged edition of Winthrop's journal, which incorporates about 40 percent of the governor's text, with his spelling and punctuation modernized, includes a lively Introduction and complete annotation. It also includes Winthrop's famous lay sermon, "A Model of Christian Charity," written in 1630. As in the fuller journal, this abridged edition contains the drama of Winthrop's life - his defeat at the hands of the freemen for governor, the banishment and flight of Roger Williams to Rhode Island, the Pequot War that exterminated his Indian opponents, and the Antinomian controversy. Here is the earliest American document on the perpetual contest between the forces of good and evil in the wilderness - Winthrop's recounting of how God's Chosen People escaped from captivity into the promised land. While he recorded all the sexual scandal - rape, fornication, adultery, sodomy, and buggery - it was only to show that even in Godly New England the Devil was continually at work, and man must be forever militant.
The Poetical Works of Edward Taylor by
From a 250 year-old manuscript come these selections from the work of America's first important poet, Edward Taylor of Massachusetts. He was regarded by Mark Van Doren as the writer of'the most interesting American verse before the 19th century.'Originally published in 1966.The Princeton Legacy Library uses the latest print-on-demand technology to again make available previously out-of-print books from the distinguished backlist of Princeton University Press. These editions preserve the original texts of these important books while presenting them in durable paperback and hardcover editions. The goal of the Princeton Legacy Library is to vastly increase access to the rich scholarly heritage found in the thousands of books published by Princeton University Press since its founding in 1905.
The Poems of Edward Taylor by
Now considered America's foremost colonial poet, Edward Taylor was virtually unknown until some of his poems were discovered in the Yale library and published in 1937. The intellectual brilliance and the emotional intensity of his poetical meditations have led critics to compare him to John Donne and George Herbert. These poems are now recognized as one of the great achievements in American devotional literature.
The Poems of Edward Taylor by
Edward Taylor (1642-1729) was one of the most influential ministers in Puritan New England. He was also a prolific but unpublished poet. With the discovery of his poetry in 1936 and the publication of a nearly complete volume in 1960, his reputation as the premiere early American poet has grown immensely. His widely anthologized work is taught in most introductory American literature courses and nearly all courses on early American literature. This reference is a convenient guide to his poetry, including a summarization of the current state of scholarship on his work. Beginning with an overview of his life and times, this reference analyzes Taylor's Preparatory Meditations and Gods Determinations, along with his other poems, in light of Puritan doctrine and his thoughts about poetry. The book traces the genesis of his works, their editorial and publication history, and the complex cultural and historical background of his writings. Later chapters discuss his themes, his poetic art, and the reception of his works. A brief bibliographical essay completes the volume.
The Poems of Edward Taylor by
Now considered America's foremost colonial poet, Edward Taylor was virtually unknown until some of his poems were discovered in the Yale library and published in 1937. The intellectual brilliance and the emotional intensity of his poetical meditations have led critics to compare him to John Donne and George Herbert. These poems are now recognized as one of the great achievements in American devotional literature.
The Poetical Works of Edward Taylor by The Correspondence of Roger Williams by Cotton Mather by
Reprint of the 1891 ed. published by Dodd, Mead, New York, in series: Makers of America, with subtitle: the Puritan priest.
Includes bibliographical references (p. [309]-310) and index.
Gift of Dr. Howard F. Vos.
Anne Bradstreet and Her Time by Anne Bradstreet, the Tenth Muse by
Anne Bradstreet was the first resident poet of English-speaking North America and the first significant woman poet of England.
Anne Bradstreet and Her Time by 
The Works of Anne Bradstreet by 
The Works of Anne Bradstreet in Prose and Verse by
"The 'Poems' are printed from the second edition, which was published in Boston, in 1678 ... Fac-similes of the title-pages of the first and second [and third] editions are given."--p. [78]
The Cambridge Companion to Jonathan Edwards by 
Jonathan Edwards and Transatlantic Print Culture by 
The Oxford Handbook of Jonathan Edwards by
The Oxford Handbook of Jonathan Edwards offers a state-of-the-art summary of scholarship on Edwards by a diverse, international, and interdisciplinary group of Edwards scholars, many of whom serve as global leaders in the burgeoning world of research and writing on 'America's theologian'. As an early modern clerical polymath, Edwards is of interest to historians, theologians, and literary scholars. He is also an interlocutor for contemporary clergy and philosophical theologians. All such readers-and many more-will find here an authoritative overview of Edwards' life, ministry, and writings, as well as a representative sampling of cutting-edge scholarship on Edwards from across several disciplines.
The Princeton Companion to Jonathan Edwards by The Cambridge Companion to Jonathan Edwards by 
Jonathan Edwards: Writings from the Great Awakening (LOA #245) by Jonathan Edwards and Transatlantic Print Culture by 
A Jonathan Edwards Encyclopedia by
Jonathon Edwards (1703-1758) is widely acknowledged as one of the most brilliant religious thinkers and multifaceted figures in American history. A fountainhead of modern evangelicalism, Edwards wore many hats during his lifetime--theologian, philosopher, pastor and town leader, preacher, missionary, college president, family man, among others. With nearly four hundred entries, this encyclopedia provides a wide-ranging perspective on Edwards, offering succinct synopses of topics large and small from his life, thought, and work. Summaries of Edwards's ideas as well as descriptions of the people and events of his times are all easy to find, and suggestions for further reading point to ways to explore topics in greater depth. Comprehensive and reliable, with contrinbutions by 169 premier Edwards scholars from throughout the world, The Jonathan Edwards Encyclopedia will long stand as the standard reference work on this significant, extraordinary person. Provided by publisher.
The Princeton Companion to Jonathan Edwards by 
A Reader's Guide to the Major Writings of Jonathan Edwards by 
The Sermons of Jonathan Edwards by The Writings of Jonathan Edwards by 
