Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Baker Illustrated Bible Handbook by The Baker Illustrated Bible Handbook offers the most up-to-date evangelical biblical scholarship in a format that is readable and easy to understand. This book-by-book guide brings the Bible to life with more than 1,100 full-color pages packed with illustrations, maps, and photos, and 112 in-depth articles on a wide range of topics important to students of the Bible. Readers will discover how each part of the Bible fits into and informs every other part, giving them a cohesive understanding of God's Word.
Call Number: BS417 .B34 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Halley's Bible Handbook by Halley’s Bible Handbook makes the Bible’s wisdom and message accessible to everyone. Whether you’ve read the Bible many times or never before, you will find insights that give you a firm grasp of God’s Word and an appreciation for the cultural, religious, and geographic settings in which the story of the Bible unfolds. Written for both mind and heart, this 25th edition retains Dr. Halley's highly personal style.
Call Number: BS491.3 H355 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Handbook for Biblical Interpretation by This handbook provides a comprehensive guide to methods, terms, and concepts used by biblical interpreters. It offers students and non-specialists an accessible resource for understanding the complex vocabulary that accompanies serious biblical studies. Articles, arranged alphabetically, explain terminology associated with reading the Bible as literature, clarify the various methods Bible scholars use to study biblical texts, and illuminate how different interpretive approaches can contribute to our understanding. Article references and topical bibliographies point readers to resources for further study. This handbook, now updated and revised to be even more useful for students, was previously published as Interpreting the Bible: A Handbook of Terms and Methods. It is a suitable complement to any standard hermeneutics textbook.
Call Number: BS511.3 .T38 2012
Publication Date: 2012
The Preacher's Bible Handbook by When it comes to understanding a passage in the Bible, context is everything. What historical events surround a book’s composition? What larger literary unit is a given passage part of? What central themes explored by the book touch on the verses in question? If we don’t know the answer to questions like these, we are ill-prepared to speak to–and especially preach about–a passage’s meaning. The Preacher’s Bible Handbook aims to meet this need for extra help in preparing the sermon. Essays on each of the biblical books introduce the most relevant historical, literary, and theological facts about the book. Each is designed to aid the preacher in setting the stage for a sermon on any passage in the Bible.
Call Number: BS511.3 .P743 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Zondervan Handbook to the Bible by "Discover fascinating, thorough, and enriching insights into the Bible with the bestselling and internationally acclaimed Zondervan Handbook to the Bible. From the history and design of the temple to God's relationship to the universe, you'll find it here. The land and cultures, battles and feast days, heroes and villains of Scripture all come alive through entries of meticulous clarity and detail, and through breathtaking, full color images." -- Back cover
Call Number: BS417 .Z66 2017
Publication Date: 2017