The Baker Compact Bible Dictionary by
This concise and affordable Bible dictionary provides clear and accurate definitions of more than 1,000 biblical terms, people, and places.
A Dictionary of the Bible by
A Dictionary of the Bible is the most acclaimed, accessible, and up-to-date dictionary of its kind. Containing over 2,000 authoritative entries it provides clear and concise information about all of the important places, people, themes, and doctrines of the Bible. Terms range from earthquakes and mice to martyrs and art, and new to this edition are entries on Act of God, Old Testament and New Testament theology, Hanukkah, the Koran, mysticism, and many more.
This dictionary features a detailed bibliography, biographies of Bible scholars, a conversion table of measures, weights, and values, a chronology of important dates in Biblical history, and historical maps (showing Israel in Canaan; the near east in the time of the Assyrian Empire; Palestine under the Herods; the background of the New Testament; Rome and the East).
With lively and informative A-Z entries and an array of useful supplementary material, this dictionary is essential for students and teachers of theology and religious education, and it is an absorbing reference work for all readers of the Bible.
The Essential Bible Dictionary by
The Essential Bible Dictionary is a concise, full-color dictionary that provides helpful insights into the world of the Bible.
Holman Concise Bible Dictionary by
The Holman Concise Bible Dictionary is the right resource when you just want the basics about a certain subject in Scripture. It easily covers all the traditional Bible dictionary topics-summaries of books in the Bible, major characters, places, animals, plants, etc.-with clarity and convenience. Plus, the volume features more than 2,800 articles on a variety of contemporary topics, including abortion, assisted suicide, child abuse, birth control, credit cards, animal rights, career, and dinosaurs. In all, this book offers more than 4,000 entries.
The Macmillan Dictionary of the Bible by
A quick-reference guide to the Bible. Entries consist of the main people, places, customs, religious and cultural aspects, events, and institutions of the Bible.
The Oxford Companion to the Bible by
The Oxford Companion to the Bible provides an authoritative one-volume reference to the people, places, events, books, institutions, religious belief, and secular influence of the Bible. Written by more than 250 scholars from some 20 nations and embracing a wide variety of perspectives, the Companion offers over seven hundred entries, ranging from brief identifications--who is Dives? where is Pisgah?--to extensive interpretive essays on topics such as the influence of the Bible on music or law.
Ranging far beyond the scope of a traditional Bible dictionary, the Companion features, in addition to its many informative, factual entries, an abundance of interpretive essays. Here are extended entries on religious concepts from immortality, sin, and grace, to baptism, ethics, and the Holy Spirit. The contributors also explore biblical views of modern issues such as homosexuality, marriage, and anti-Semitism, and the impact of the Bible on the secular world (including a four-part article on the Bible's influence on literature).
The Oxford Guide to People and Places of the Bible by
This essential guide offers 325 articles that describe the people and places that appear in the New Testament and Old Testament of the Bible. From prophets, apostles, and groups (such as Hebrews and Angels) to kingdoms and countries, cities and mountains where Biblical events took place.
Written by an international team of noted biblical experts, it is a useful, reliable resource for scholars and students.
The Student Bible Dictionary--Expanded and Updated Edition by
Here's a concise, easy-to-use Bible reference book especially for students of all ages who seek to learn more about the Bible and its times. The Student Bible Dictionary features definitions and explanations of hundreds of Bible words, names, places, and concepts. Scores of full color charts, maps, photographs, and illustrations help to clarify the text, and add visual appeal. Special color coding, meanwhile, adds special emphasis to important topics-which feature additional information geared toward the student reader. From AARON (AIRn). Older brother of and early spokesman for Moses (Ex. 4:14-16). Became Israel's first high priest. The Aaronic priesthood (priests of the tribe of Levi) was named for him (ex. 28:1; 29; Lev. 8; Num. 18) to ZIPPORAH (zip POH ruh). Wife of Moses and daughter Jethro, also called Reuel, priest of Midian (ex. 2:16-21; 3:1)the Student Bible Dictionary is a whole library of accessible, useful information!
The Baker Compact Dictionary of Biblical Studies by
Summary: Clear, concise, and accurate definitions of more than 500 biblical terms and topics.--Publisher.
The Baker Illustrated Bible Dictionary by
Summary: The importance of the Bible for spiritual formation cannot be overstated. It is in the pages of Scripture that we come to know God through Jesus Christ. At times the world of the Bible can seem strange and distant, and the number of subjects mentioned is virtually countless. The Baker Illustrated Bible Dictionary helps you read the Bible with increased understanding and confidence, offering easy access to articles on people, places, things, and events in Scripture, even if they only appear in a single verse. It is comprehensive, with extensive cross-referencing to related articles; it includes authoritative articles on the books of the Bible; and it provides a ready reference to up-to-date scholarship from biblical studies, archaeology, geography, history, and theology with more than: 1,700 full-color pages; 400 color illustrations, maps, and photos; 5,000 articles by leading evangelical scholars. Entirely new, up-to-date, nontechnical, and easy-to-use, this comprehensive Bible dictionary will be an indispensable reference for your own personal study of God's Word or in preparation for teaching. - Publisher.
The Essential Bible Dictionary by
If you are looking for a Bible study tool that is compact, easy to understand, and does not require a Bible degree to use, then the Essential Bible Dictionary is for you. In addition to defining words, places, people, and the many themes of the Bible, this concise reference work is: -Visually stimulating, with full-color images and illustrations.-Ideal for use in devotions or personal Bible study-A storehouse of information, providing essential information regarding the world of the Bible. -Organized A - Z -Filled with charts, maps, and sidebars that bring the everyday world of the Bible to life.At a special value price, the Essential Bible Dictionary makes a wonderful gift for all ages that will provide insights into the world of the Bible for years to come. For use with any translation of the Bible, and presented in full-color, this is the most up-to-date, trusted resource for devotions, personal Bible study, and teaching.
HarperCollins Bible Dictionary - Revised and Updated by
More than four thousand entries present information on the Old Testament, Apocrypha, and New Testament.
Holman Illustrated Bible Dictionary by
For 25 years the Holman Illustrated Bible Dictionary has been the go-to Bible reference resource for lay Bible students, teachers, pastors, academic courses, and libraries. Those who have used it have praised its comprehensiveness, conciseness, and clarity. Over 6,500 articles from Aaron to Zuzite are written to equip the reader for greater competence in understanding and interpreting the Scriptures. Each article is structured to begin with a concise definition followed by a thorough development of the topic. Some 700 full-color photos, maps, reconstructions, and charts enrich the experience of those who use the Dictionary for personal study, academic work, and preparation for teaching and preaching the Bible.
Ultimate Bible Dictionary by
The Ultimate Bible Dictionary is the perfect tool for those who are beginning to study the Bible. Carefully researched and accessible definitions are designed to provide a quick understanding of a term right up front and then, in many cases, go into more detail for those who want this level of description. The definitions are further enhanced by the large number of colorful maps, photos, and reconstructions of biblical objects placed on the same page spread as the definition they accompany.
Zondervan Illustrated Bible Dictionary by
Summary: More than seven thousand entries present information on the Old and New Testaments, with maps, images, charts, and illustrations.