Provides access to peer reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects as well as full-text coverage of the New York Times going back to 1995. Millions of articles are available in PDF and HTML full-text format.
A multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals, the database offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: biblical studies, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
The Cambridge Companions Online: Complete Collection is a fully searchable, full text collection of from the renowned Cambridge Companions series. The Complete collection includes: The Companions to Literature and Classics; The Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture; and, The Companions to Music.
Full text of all Cambridge history volumes (250+) published to date. Subject matter ranges widely across the humanities with a concentration on political and cultural history. Each volume includes authoritative narrative accounts by specialists and extensive bibliographies. The subject categories containing the most volumes are regional history, general history (with its chronological series) and literary studies, but there are also several series on the history of religion, philosophy and economic history. Content is displayed as page images and can be searched via metadata and full text.
EBook Central from ProQuest offers authoritative ebooks in a wide range of subject areas, along with powerful tools to help you find, use, and manage the information you need.
This growing subscription package (over 130,000 titles to date) contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection.
JSTOR's archival journal collections include more than two thousand journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It ontains the entire runs, from the first volume up to the volumes published only a few years ago. Currently published titles have a "moving wall" of 3-5 years after which the current issues are added to JSTOR.
Spanning 25 different subject areas, Oxford Reference brings together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.
Project MUSE offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
OpenAccess eBooks in the humanities and social sciences from university presses and scholarly societies. As an OpenAccess collection, the Cairn library does not manage access.
Thousands of carefully selected titles by world-class authors on hot topics across the social sciences including academic and supplementary titles, foundational books in core areas of research and debate.
Through AM Explorer, search millions of pages of primary sources spanning the 15th – 21st centuries. Includes resources spanning the social sciences and humanities, developed in collaboration with leading libraries and archives.
Biography In Context is built on a foundation of more than 650,000 biographical entries covering more than 400,000 international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Providing coverage of the most-searched and studied people, Biography In Context includes more than 4,500 portal pages on the world’s most remarkable contemporary and historical names.
Some titles included in Biography in Context: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Black Biography, Contemporary Musicians, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Newsmakers, and Writer’s Directory
An essential resource for literature students and scholars, Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides authoritative information while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) is the definitive online collection of early printed works in English, and works printed in England, making digital copies of over 125,000 titles from before 1700 discoverable through an interface tailored for early modern scholars.
A wide range of literary criticism and analysis from a variety of Gale Company databases, including Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism Online, Twayne's Authors Series, and more.
Literary Reference Center, a comprehensive, full-text database, provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes—to give students, professors, and researchers a foundation of literary reference works to meet their research needs.
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
LitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.
Current Collections include: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; Europe and Africe: Christianity, Civilization and Conquest; Photography: The World Through the Lens; Science, Technology and Medicine, 1780-1925; and, Women: Transnational Networks.
The Oxford University Press Literature list has enormous range, from Medieval (Blamires, Cooper, Gaunt, O'Donoghue) to Twentieth Century and all-but Contemporary (Corcoran, Gillis, Eaglestone, Robinson), with a powerful grouping in the Renaissance/Early Modern (Hughes, Lockwood, Pollard, Rhodes, Rosenblatt, Stevenson, Walker).
This full-text database provides a historical collection of hundreds of thousands of classic and contemporary poems, as well as short stories, biographies, and authoritative essays on such topics as poetic forms, movements, and techniques—including contemporary content.
