Asperger Syndrome - What Teachers Need to Know by
As awareness and diagnosis of Asperger Syndrome (AS) increases across the globe, it is essential that every teacher in every classroom has a familiarity with the condition and understands how best to support AS students at their school. This fully revised and expanded second edition is the ideal resource to point teachers in the right direction.Concise and instantly accessible, this book gives a clear summary of up-to-date information on Asperger Syndrome, describing the common characteristics to look out for, and offering simple strategies for adapting to the educational needs of students with AS. Packed with useful tips and practical advice, this guide answers key questions such as'Am I qualified to teach this child?'and'How can I help the pupil with AS to learn?'New material includes information for teaching older children and adolescents with AS, tips on what to do when problems arise, as well as suggestions for a whole-school approach to helping students with AS.This book is the perfect go-to guide for teachers, teaching assistants and those in school management who want to know more about Asperger Syndrome in the mainstream inclusive classroom.
Autism and ICT by
This book offers a practical approach for staff and carers who want to develop the use of ICT for children on the autistic spectrum and for those with language and communication difficulties. It combines descriptions of current research and literature on the subject of autism and ICT with practical guidance on software and hardware. A practical approach encourages experimentation, values the skills and attributes that participants bring and minimizes the technical barrier to ICT use.It includes concise information on what autism is, and examples of a range of pupils and their typical learning behaviors. It offers advice on how ICT can relate to various aspects of autism, information on concept keyboards and touch-sensitive screens and switches, and help with buying a computer and using the internet.Teachers, carers and parents of children with autism or language and communication problems will find lots of useful suggestions and advice on how to use ICT to help access the curriculum.
Educating Students with Autism Spectrum Disorders by
Similar to a handbook in its comprehensive description of the theory and research supporting current practices in the treatment of autism spectrum disorders, this interdisciplinary text shows how the existing knowledge base can be used to explore promising new possibilities related to the fields many unanswered questions. Key features include the following: Comprehensive This is the first book to consider the history and current state of autism as a field in transition, to cover its varied approaches and philosophies, and to describe the interventions used throughout the developmental cycle. Cross Disciplinary Serving students with autism necessitates communication and collaboration among professionals from several disciplines as well as family members. The editors have, therefore, brought together divergent perspectives, theories and philosophies in order to demonstrate that scientific evidence, rather than educational orientation, must determine which practices should be selected for use in particular situations. Research Based Whereas many existing texts advocate a particular type of treatment, this one recognizes that interventions must be selected and evaluated based on the scientific evidence of their effectiveness. Integrated MethodologyChapter authors consider findings from studies that employed single-subject designs, experimental large-scale studies, and qualitative methodology. The inter-relatedness of therapies and disciplines will be highlighted throughout. Expertise The volume editors are all highly visible researchers in autism and developmental disabilities. Likewise, each chapter is directed by a senior, highly accomplished author who is nationally recognized for his/her work in the topic being addressed.This book is appropriate for practicing professionals in education and psychology and for speech/language therapists and other clinicians. It is also suitable as a graduate level text in these fields.
Effective Programs for Treating Autism Spectrum Disorder by
Effective Programs for Treating Autism Spectrum Disorder is written for teachers, parents, and the many service providers who work with individuals with autism spectrum disorder (ASD). Part one reviews the characteristics of ASD, summarizes major theories and research findings regarding cause(s) of ASD, and discusses the most popular treatment claims, examining each approach's scientific base and value. Part two provides an informative overview of applied behavior analysis, focusing on the principles of learning and basic procedures based upon those principles. These two parts provide a foundation for understanding the strategies implemented by the outstanding treatment programs described in Part three. The eight models described in Part three represent comprehensive, evidence-based programs for the treatment of persons with ASD, from infancy through adulthood. Programs reviewed include the Lovaas Institute, Koegel Center, Strategic Teaching and Reinforcement Systems (STARS), Project DATA, New England Children's Center, May Institute, Princeton Child Development Institute, and Judge Rotenberg Center. Strategies explained include intensive early behavioral intervention, Pivotal Response Training, verbal behavior, script fading, social stories, visual activity schedules, functional analysis, the Picture Exchange Communication System, and the Family-Teaching Model.
A Step-by-Step ABA Curriculum for Young Learners with Autism Spectrum Disorders (Age 3-10) by
This curriculum uses the proven principles of applied behavior analysis (ABA) as a way to monitor the progress of children on the autism spectrum and make sure they reach their full potential. It gives adults a clear outline on what to teach and how to teach it, in order to ensure children are reaching developmental goals at this crucial stage.The book's three sections, Assessment, Curriculum and Mastered, each include built-in data collection, which is reproduced on the accompanying online downloadable content so it can be printed off. All three sections cover ten pivotal areas of progress for this age group, including reading, writing, math, conversation and social skills. The Assessment section records the child's initial level of learning and then tracks their progress over time. The Curriculum section provides the lesson plans for the skills which need to be developed, and the Mastered section is a tool for checking that learnt skills are being retained over time. It is also possible to record whether the child has adapted to using the skills in a variety of settings.This curriculum provides everything that an adult working with a child with an autism spectrum disorder would need to ensure a thorough and appropriate ABA program for the young learner.
Music Education for Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder by
This publication assists teachers with the task of creating opportunities for students with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) by examining research findings on how such students responds to educational environments and proposing teaching interventions through music. . Chapter 1 examines the ways in which ASD influences students’ behaviors, and offers suggestions for creating educational environments that mediate these behaviors. Chapter 2 discusses issues related to planning musical experiences . Chapter 3 provides an overview of pitch perception and reproduction in individuals with ASD, and suggests practical interventions that teachers may use when engaging these students through songs and singing. Chapter 4 uses music listening to promote receptivity and joint attention among children with ASD and their caregivers. Chapter 5 begins with a review of research that profiles the challenges encountered by children with ASD in motor development, and then suggests instructional strategies that help students refine motor proficiencies through music. Chapter 6 presents an overview of the benefits of playing instruments, and describes educational interventions that facilitate the use of percussion instruments with these students. Chapter 7 combines activities described in the previous chapters with storytelling and drama to create holistic experiences called Musical Narratives. As a whole, these chapters form a comprehensive resource, guiding the development of educational programs that motivate students with ASD toward active engagement through music.
Seven Keys to Unlock Autism by
This groundbreaking book outlines seven integrated keys for educators and parents to make meaningful connections with children on the autism spectrum. The book is based on the unique approach used by Elaine Hall and Diane Isaacs of The Miracle Project, a musical theater program for children with autism and their peers and siblings. The Miracle Project integrates traditional and creative therapies in an interactive, social dynamic. The book shows how to apply these effective strategies at school and at home to nurture kids' self-expression and social skills.
Children and Youth with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) by
Autism spectrum disorder (ASD) is a relatively new diagnostic label which reflects the variability and differentiation of symptomatology among children and youth commonly described as having autistic disorder, high-functioning autism (HFA), and Asperger's syndrome. Current best practices have emerged from decades of evidence-based research, research-to-practice translation of empirically supported procedures, and consensus-driven recommendations from multiple disciplines. As a result, practitioners have many educational and intervention choices for children and youth with ASD--what is critical is that these options are informed by empirical outcomes that have been replicated in experimental trials (group and single-case) and disseminated to professionals and researchers alike. Children and Youth with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) is a state-of-the-art volume of 15 chapters across four thematic sections that reflect the current convention of viewing autism along a continuum of presenting symptoms. Skillfully edited by James K. Luiselli, sections cover diagnosis, assessment, and measurement; evidence-based practices; health and development; and additional topics such as mindful caregiving and support, CBT, and behavioral family intervention. Compiling the most up-to-date advances in approaches toward diagnosis, education, treatment, and program development, Children and Youth with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) will be a valuable resource for professionals and trainees in the ASD field including psychologists, educators, therapists, behavior analysts, and similar practitioners. It is also appropriate for academic researchers and courses devoted to clinical psychology, special education, developmental disabilities, and special topics.
How Parents Deal with the Education of Their Child on the Autism Spectrum by
Powerful moral, social justice and political arguments have convinced parents that it is their democratic right to place their children on the autism spectrum into mainstream educational environments so that their children may eventually take up their rightful place in a mainstream adult life. But what is really happening for some of these parents when they try to gain and maintain an appropriate education for their child in these mainstream contexts and beyond? What is the educational experience like for these families who are in the midst of this generational change from historical exclusion to inclusion? Current research indicates that while islands of excellent mainstream inclusive practice do exist the educational experience for many students on the autism spectrum can often be one of hostility, inconsistency and unreliability. Without appropriate understanding of best practice educational methods, these students can present an inordinate educational challenge to both parents and educators alike. How do parents deal with such complex educational profiles? How do they continue to maximize their children's development over time? What are the barriers that hinder their quest? What are the facilitators that help their quest? To answer these questions, this book provides an in-depth, recent examination of the real life journeys of families who attempted to gain an appropriate education for their children on the autism spectrum including the areas of diagnosis, early intervention, mainstream schooling, home education, segregated schooling and transition to work and further study.
Building Reasoning and Problem-Solving Skills While Reducing Emotional Dysregulation by
Summary: Teaching children with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) to develop the 'inner voice' needed to solve problems, this book's innovative approach will help children reach logical and appropriate solutions to everyday problems. This book shows students and professionals how to formally teach key skills for reasoning and problem-solving that aren't usually explicitly taught, such as planning, pausing and reflecting and increasing emotional regulation. Focusing on the 'inner voice' - the dialogue that goes on inside our heads during every day routines - the authors explain how to help children with ASD solve problems independently. The book also shows how children can learn to cope with feelings of stress when confronted with difficult situations, whether getting stuck on homework, making mistakes, choosing options, following procedures that are perceived to be arbitrary, or everyday social situations. Examples of implementing this new approach in different situations are given to show the many ways of teaching these cognitive skills to children with autism.
Practical Strategies for Supporting Emotional Regulation in Students with Autism by
Summary: The authors' years of experience working with students with autism has helped them develop nine effective cognitive and language strategies for enhancing their engagement and learning in the classroom. This book includes tips for using each strategy, plus reasons why they work, as well as sample goals for regulation and a 'cheat sheet' overview.
The Effective Teacher's Guide to Autism and Communication Difficulties by
In this welcome second edition of The Effective Teacher’s Guide to Autism and Communication Difficulties, best-selling author Michael Farrell addresses how teachers and others can develop provision for students with autism and students that have difficulties with speech, grammar, meaning, use of language and comprehension. Updated and expanded, this book allows the teacher to be self-critical in developing classroom approaches and offers up-to-date research combined with professional experience on how to best achieve good practice in the classroom.
Practical Strategies for Supporting Young Learners with Autism Spectrum Disorder by
The prevalence of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) is growing tremendously in early childhood classrooms. To support students with ASD, educators can draw on strategies that incorporate best practices as well as recognize individual strengths and needs. Practical Strategies for Supporting Young Learners with Autism Spectrum Disorder showcases the diverse capabilities of students with ASD and prepares early childhood educators to work effectively with students ages 3-5 with pervasive developmental disorders (PDD). Descriptive examples and interactive activities guide teachers to understand how these disorders affect student progress and how educators can tap into student potential. Each chapter offers several strategies to address specific academic, social, and behavioral needs common to many young children with ASD. The strategies are easy to follow and accompanied by teacher tips, sample resources, and relevant student goals.
Autism Spectrum Disorder in Children and Adolescents by
School professionals and clinicians share the challenge of identifying and providing interventions for the increasing number of children with autism spectrum disorder (ASD). This book is an authoritative resource that presents up-to-date research and evidence-based tools for accurate assessment and intervention. It includes procedures to help identify children using the new DSM-5 symptom criteria and offers essential guidance for assessing a variety of emotional, behavioral, and academic problems. The book provides practitioners with an evidence-based assessment battery, which includes tests of cognitive, academic, neuropsychological, and adaptive functioning. The pragmatic, social-communicative functions of language are considered together with assessments to identify language deficits. Readers will learn to identify co-occurring emotional and behavior problems of children with ASD and will also learn techniques and strategies to enhance home-school partnership and engage parents as active partners in the decision-making process. Each chapter is based on the principles of evidence-based practice. Many chapters also use case vignettes to illustrate best practice in the school setting. The volume concludes with a primer on ASD-related litigation issues and discusses relationships between special education law, provision of services, and placement decisions.
The ABCs of Autism in the Classroom: Setting the Stage for Success by
Summary: The ABCs of Autism in the Classroom: Setting the Stage for Success was written by a Board-Certified Behavior Analyst who was also a teacher for many years, as well as an autism mom. Here you will find evidence-based, research-supported behavioral tools presented in teacher-friendly language. You'll meet a virtual village of students with problem behaviors you might find in your own classroom. You'll also read stories shared by kids and adults on the autism spectrum, in their own words.
Adolescents with Autism Spectrum Disorder by
Summary: "Adolescence is a challenging stage for all individuals, especially for those with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD). Individuals with ASD face increased social isolation and engage in more challenging behaviors during adolescence. They also experience increased mental health challenges including anxiety and depression, and they are among the least likely of any disability group to attend college, be competitively employed, or live independently. At the same time, adolescents with ASD face a major shift in available services and support as they exit the K-12 educational system. The need to present what is known about this group in order to inform clinicians, researchers, and educators cannot be understated. Adolescents with Autism Spectrum Disorder synthesizes current science on adolescents and young adults with ASD in order to inform mental health practitioners and education professionals who work directly with these individuals. While early childhood interventions for ASD have been extensively developed and tested, research on adolescents and young adults with ASD has lagged behind until recently. This comprehensive handbook can be utilized to train students and professionals in applied mental health roles. The handbook includes three sections: Part I reviews diagnosis and treatment of adolescents with ASD; Part II details how to support their educational needs; and Part III discusses special populations including college students and young women. Chapters highlight recommendations for clinicians and include study questions and additional resources."-- Provided by publisher. Summary: "Adolescents with Autism Spectrum Disorder synthesizes current science on adolescents and young adults with ASD in order to inform mental health practitioners and education professionals who work directly with these individuals"-- Provided by publisher.
Autism: Meet Me Who I Am: A Contribution Toward an Educational, Sensory, and Nutritional Approach to Childhood Autism that Supports Families and Ignites the Child's Deeper Wish to Connect to People and the World by
Summary: A contribution toward an educational, sensory, and nutritional approach to childhood autism that supports families and ignites the child's deeper wish to connect to people and the world. -- Front cover.
Autism Spectrum Disorder by
Summary: "What is meant by "autistic spectrum disorder" (ASD)? What behaviours do people with ASD share regardless of age, ability and individual differences: What causes ASD? Is ASD increasingly common? And are males more often affected than females? How may people with ASD best be helped to live fulfilling lives a valued members of society? Can ASD be - should it be - 'cured'? The updated and extensively revised 2nd edition of this popular book explores answers to these questions based on the latest developments in research and practice. Individual chapters summarise what is known about the 'first causes ' of ASD, their effects on the brain, and on psychological functioning. Other chapters summarise methods of assessment, treatment, education and support. Illustrated with real-life accounts of people with ASD and examples of current 'best practice', this book provides essential information in an accessible and lively form."--Cover, page 4.
A Best Practice Guide to Assessment and Intervention for Autism Spectrum Disorder in Schools, Second Edition by
Summary: With a focus on best practice and the importance of early diagnosis, this book provides a practical and scientifically-based approach to the assessment and diagnosis of Asperger Syndrome and autism spectrum conditions. This book offers a balance of conceptual, practical and empirical information designed to bridge the research-to-practice gap in identifying, assessing, and treating school-aged children with autism-related conditions. Assessment tools and intervention strategies will support school-based professionals in: · identifying and assessing young people with high-functioning autism spectrum conditions · developing and implementing classroom-based intervention programs · initiating a dialogue between parents and teachers · accessing community resources · promoting special needs advocacy. With illustrative case studies, FAQs, quick reference boxes, and a glossary, this accessible guide will appeal to teachers, counsellors, psychologists, social work practitioners and students. -- Provided by publisher.
The Complexity of Autism Spectrum Disorders by
Summary: Since its first identification, autism spectrum disorder (ASD) has presented myriad challenges of diagnosis and classification. Our understanding has evolved from a cluster of diagnostic categories (Asperger's, autism, and pervasive development disorder) to the current continuum of autism spectrum disorder. Meanwhile, we have progressed from debating the validity of the diagnosis to considering it a modern epidemic. This evolution has drawn attention across a variety of fields, including the neurosciences, education, forensics, and behavioral health. While new research accumulates, there remains a lack of conceptual and practical clarity about what ASD is, how specific diagnoses might be delineated, and what we can do to understand and manage the complexity of individuals on the spectrum. In understanding ASD, one size does not fit all--families, schools, and clinicians all need a multi-faceted engagement with the specifics they encounter. This text opens a critical dialogue through which students, researchers, and clinicians can challenge their ideas about what it means to work with the unique presentations of individuals on the Spectrum. It provides education, clinical expertise, and personalization to the lives influenced by the ever-changing dynamics of autism spectrum disorder--back cover.
Early Childhood Music Therapy and Autism Spectrum Disorder, Second Edition by
This extended edition offers a comprehensive understanding of music therapy practice for young children with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) and their families. Drawing on recent research and rigorous scientific evidence, it spans topics such as effective interventions, diagnostic criteria, managing sensory processing issues, inclusion and advocacy.
Interventions for Individuals with Autism Spectrum Disorder and Complex Communication Needs by
Summary: "People who have both autism spectrum disorder and complex communication needs require specialized, multidisciplinary interventions and supports to boost their independence and quality of life. Find up-to-date, evidence-supported information and strategies in this book, the newest volume in the respected Augmentative and Alternative Communication Series. This essential resource brings together more than 30 internationally recognized researchers from three important disciplines: augmentative and alternative communication (AAC), special education, and applied behavior analysis (ABA). Practitioners and clinicians will discover how to combine key interventions from these disciplines to make positive differences in the lives of the people they work with."--Publisher's description.
Social Skills Success for Students with Asperger Syndrome and High-Functioning Autism by
Summary: "Provide students the social skills instruction they need to succeed in school and in life! This practical resource provides evidence-based strategies for enhancing social skills of children and adolescents who have Asperger Disorder and other forms of high-functioning autism. Case studies, vignettes, classroom materials, checklists, and templates will help you: Deliver interventions that model desirable behaviors and provide opportunities for students to practice. Support students in navigating social situations, forming relationships with peers and adults, and following rules and routines. Develop, implement, and evaluate social skills intervention and support programs"--Cover.
You're Going to Love This Kid! by
Summary: A practical guide to understanding students with autism and including them fully in the classroom.
Case Studies in Applied Behavior Analysis for Students and Adults with Disabilities by
This book responds to a critical need for highly qualified personnel who will become exemplary professionals because of their advanced knowledge, skills, and experiences in working with students and adults that have varying disabilities, including Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD). Since Board Certification for behavior analysts was introduced, there has been an expansion of training programs in Applied Behavior Analysis to meet the demands from school districts, health insurers, and families. In spite of these developments, a case studies book has not been available that uses the Behavior Analyst Certification Board Task List, Fourth Edition (BACB) guidelines for educating individuals receiving their BCBA, or for those in the field such as teachers, and service providers. The goal of this book is to fill that need. Twenty-one case studies are provided—case studies with complete analysis, case studies with partial analysis, and case studies without analysis. The first seven cases present a complete analysis, which allows the reader to analyze and develop a comprehensive Positive Behavior Support Plan containing detailed answers and supporting data systems. The second seven case studies include the areas from the BACB Task List, and the items are most relevant for analysis, but the analysis is not complete. This enables the reader to complete the analysis themselves which will promote skill building. The final seven case studies do not contain an analysis or guideline. This allows the reader to further develop their skills by creating their own guidelines for analysis, and implementing their plan. The use of this text will improve the comprehensive analysis and coverage of the developing supports for individuals with disabilities, provide direct applicability to applied settings, and the ability to use the case studies for assignments and/or exams. The format, readability, and detailed description of instructional methodology makes this text a valued resource for instructors and behavior analysts responsible for improving the skills of people with disabilities.
Handbook of Applied Behavior Analysis by
Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA) is a highly functional discipline that, instead of searching for abstract, internal causes for human behavior, looks to external factors that can be influenced. Once identified, these factors can be manipulated to make meaningful, positive improvements in the lives of real people through positive behavior change. Not surprisingly behavior analysis has been applied to a wide range of human activities, from helping troubled teens to organizing industry to maximizing sports performance. ABA interventions for these diverse problems are often creative -- and they tend to be effective. In this volume, some of the field's foremost practitioners offer their expert perspective on a range of topics within ABA. Each chapter is fully referenced and contains a set of reading objectives to facilitate deeper understanding and further discussion of its subject area. While these discussions will be of particular interest to academic behavior analysts and graduate students, clinicians and other practitioners will find the research review helpful and informative.
Understanding Applied Behavior Analysis by
This introductory guide to ABA demystifies the often complex terminology, the underlying principles, and commonly-used procedures of ABA using accessible, everyday language.This revised and updated edition reflects recent developments and introduces new key terms. Albert J. Kearney explains the kinds of learning and reinforcement processes that form the basis of ABA programs. Having covered these essential principles, he describes how the science of behavior analysis can be effectively applied to real life behavior problems. He looks at how behavior is assessed and various intervention techniques that are often employed with children who have autism and other special needs. Having laid these essential foundations, Kearney touches on more advanced topics: the applications of ABA in behavioral education, such as precision teaching and programmed instruction.