Gifted & Talented
Explore how gifted and talented students are identified and supported, including enrichment, acceleration, and social-emotional needs.
Below is a selection of resources to help you get started with this subject area; however, this is only a small selection of what is available through the library.
Start a search using some of the keywords above, or try a search of your own.
Search Library Resources
Essentials of Gifted Assessment
by
Summary: "A comprehensive guide to identifying and supporting uniquely bright and talented learners. Early identification and intervention greatly benefits gifted students who may otherwise never realize their full potential. Essentials of Gifted Assessment is an evidence-based overview of what makes students gifted, how giftedness is best identified, and strategies for promoting achievement in high-ability students"--Back cover.
Gifted and Talented Education from A-Z
by
This quick reference guide contains comprehensive listings and definitions of common terms in able, gifted and talented education, as well as other aspects that you might need to learn about, find or use – all in a teacher-friendly format. It includes: clear and concise definitions that translate jargon into plain English a'who's who'guide of gifted and talented education explaining the contribution of major experts and theorists alphabetical listings of organisations, resources, suppliers and websites full cross-referencing so you can find your answers quickly.
Gifted Education
by
This volume addresses the most current perspectives and issues related to giftedness and is written by leaders in the field. An excellent resource for special educators, administrators, mental health clinicians, school counselors, and psychologists, this volume addresses the different educational issues that impact this population. The area of giftedness is constantly advancing as a result of legislation, new trends, and current research investigations. In addition, this area is somewhat controversial as it is often not funded under special education. The volume will allow readers to follow giftedness in a very logical and thoughtful process from theories, legal issues, identification and assessment, and placement to different populations and the impact giftedness may have on them. Also included are the topics of inclusion, differentiated instruction, effective practices, and technology. The volume concludes with chapters that address post-secondary education and families.
The Identities and Practices of High Achieving Pupils
by
How do some students manage to excel in their studies and be popular while other high achievers are treated as social outcasts? This lively and accessible text looks at the relationships between gender, race and social class, and attainment and popularity, for high-achieving pupils. The internationally renowned authors present a lucid theoretical framework that reflects the complexity of these issues, placing them within the broader context of the policies that cause and constrain particular behaviours among teachers and pupils. The authors draw together empirical data, bringing the realities of young people to life and presenting the lessons that can be learnt to enhance the educational achievement of all students.
Perfectionism and Gifted Children
by
Parents and educators expect gifted children to be well-behaved, studious, and hard working. Why, then, do so many have trouble in school? According to Dr. Rosemary Callard-Szulgit, perfectionism—the number one social-emotional trait of gifted children—can actually immobilize some children and cause social adjustment problems for others. This explains why so many of today's gifted children do not, or cannot, complete school assignments or even follow through on personal responsibilities. During her forty-five year career, Callard-Szulgit has helped hundreds of students and their parents recover from the harmful effects of being perfectionists. In her second edition of Perfectionism and Gifted Children, Callard-Szulgit provides practical insight into perfectionism, discussing why so many gifted children are perfectionists while also providing common sense solutions to the problems this presents. This book will be helpful to families and educators of gifted students, as well as to gifted children themselves. The expanded question and answer section will better help parents and teachers ease children’s anxieties and behaviors that stem from the problems of perfectionism. Appendixes list current associations and advocacy groups, Internet resources, journals and magazines that address the special needs of the gifted and talented.
Serving the Gifted
by
Summary: "Designed specifically for school psychologists and school counselors, this volume is intended to serve as a practical and easy-to-use resource for working with gifted students, their teachers, and their parents and families. It provides timely, practical, evidence-based techniques and guidelines to help these practitioners better help an underserved group. The book is written in a user-friendly style that makes this a quick, simple, and easy reference. Topics covered include identification and assessment of gifted students; important information for understanding the needs of the gifted; counseling and psychotherapy strategies; career counseling for gifted and talented students; methods for working with the families of the gifted; and legally-correct and ethically-smart counseling techniques. An accompanying CD will contain valuable resources such as counseling forms, monitoring tools, and parent handouts"-- Provided by publisher. Summary: "Designed specifically for school psychologists and school counselors, this volume is intended to serve as a practical and easy-to-use resource for working with gifted students, their teachers, and their parents and families. It provides timely, practical, evidence-based techniques and guidelines to help these practitioners better help an underserved group"-- Provided by publisher.
APA Handbook of Giftedness and Talent
by
Summary: The APA Handbook of Giftedness and Talent incorporates the most recent thinking and cutting-edge research from a wide range of fields related to gifted education, including developmental and social psychology, the neurosciences, cognitive science, and education. It consists of six sections: 1. History and global perspectives on the gifted field and talent development; 2. Theories and conceptions of giftedness and talent development; 3. Gifted identification and assessment; 4. Gifted education; 5. Psychological considerations in understanding the gifted (e.g., the family, social and emotional considerations, friendships and peer relations); and 6. Special issues facing the gifted (e.g., policy and legal issues; the twice exceptional learner; underachievement and the gifted; ADHD and the gifted; suicide; perfectionism; bullying).
Counseling Gifted Students
by
Summary: Counseling Gifted and Talented Students in Schools is a complete handbook for understanding and meeting the needs of gifted students. Combining conceptual foundation, research, and relatable vignettes, Drs. Peterson and Wood teach us everything we need to know about creating gifted programs, identify gifted students, collaborating with educators, and equally if not more critical, understanding the unique developmental needs of gifted students. This book gets to the essence of the "whole" gifted student and how critical it is to not only foster intellectual and academic growth, but health identity developmental and mental well-being." -- Dan Peters, Ph. - D; Licensed Psychologist; Co-founder/Executive Director, SUMMIT CENTER Goes beyond academic considerations to address career development and social/emotional concerns - Created to fill a gap in both counselor education and gifted education, this is the only up-to-date text to provide a concise and practical overview of counseling services designed specifically for gifted and talented students. Grounded in the American School Counselor Association (ASCA) National Model for counseling programs, the book illuminates specific knowledge, awareness, and skills school counselors need to address concerns related not only to academics, but also to social and emotional development of this population. - The text delivers a theoretical and practical overview of gifted and talented education in the US and the responsibilities of school counselors as they pertain to this unique population. Going well beyond the common call to provide academic challenge, the book considers special characteristics of gifted and talented students as it examines the complexities of career development, college readiness, and concerns related to social/emotional development. It discusses how counselors can advocate for gifted students, lead efforts to match programming and needs, and collaborate with school staff and families. Vignettes depicting critical incidents and epitomizing needs are used to illuminate differentiated counseling approaches that support this student population. Each chapter highlights a key concept, and curriculum guidelines and resources for professional development support the text. - Key Features: Interweaves school counseling and gifted education research and practice - Considers characteristics and counseling concerns associated with giftedness Is based on the ASCA model for counseling programs - Examines the complexities of career development, college readiness, and social/emotional development in this population - Highlights key concepts and includes vignettes of critical incidents. -- Provided by publisher.
Giftedness 101
by
Summary: What is giftedness? Is it the potential for success or is it the experience of being an "outsider"? This book addresses the unique psychological needs of gifted children, which are often manifested as "feeling different," and examines special issues such as gifted children with learning disabilities, gender considerations, implications of socio-economic status, and more. Giftedness 101 dispels common myths about giftedness and challenges the view that eminence is the true signifier of giftedness. It offers specific guidelines to psychologists, parents, and teachers; describes comprehensive assessment of the gifted; provides support for the twice exceptional; and focuses on the complex inner world of the gifted. The book defines giftedness as a psychological reality with powerful ramifications throughout the lifespan. Giftedness 101 will be a valuable, eye-opening resource for psychologists, educators, and other professionals who work with the gifted, as well as gifted individuals and their families.
Helping Gifted Children Soar
by
Summary: "This user-friendly guidebook educates parents and teachers about important issues facing gifted children and the adults who guide them, such as selecting appropriate schools, expanding and differentiating the curriculum for gifted learners, and supporting children who experience stress, depression, perfectionism, friendship issues, and more. The information and useful advice contained in this book make it an ideal resource for those just starting to learn about gifted children as well as seasoned veterans."--P. [4] of cover.
Methods and Materials for Teaching the Gifted (4th Ed. )
by
The newly revised and updated fourth edition of Methods and Materials for Teaching the Gifted is an excellent introduction to gifted education and real-world learning. The chapters of this comprehensive textbook are written by respected leaders in the field of gifted education. The authors review the unique needs of gifted learners and give current information on instructional planning and evaluation, strategies for best practices, and ongoing enhancement and support of gifted programs. Chapters include topics such as differentiated curricular design, extending learning through research, writing challenging instructional units, and developing leadership skills and innovative thinkers. Instructional practices such as problem-based learning, technology literacy, independent study, simulation and gaming, and more are addressed. A special focus is given to using the Gifted Education Programming Standards and Common Core State Standards. The fourth edition provides updated information on funding sources and public relations strategies for gifted education programs. It also includes updated lists of books, teaching materials, websites, and other resources for teachers of the gifted.
