Commentary on Genesis by
Blind since early childhood, the Egyptian theologian and monk Didymus (ca. 313-398) wielded a masterful knowledge of Scripture, philosophy, and previous biblical interpretation, earning the esteem of his contemporaries Athanasius, Antony of Egypt, Jerome, Rufinus, and Palladius, as well as of the historians Socrates and Theodoret in the decades following his death. He was, however, anathematized by the Fifth Ecumenical Council in 553 because of his utilization and defense of the works of Origen, and this condemnation may be responsible for the loss of many of Didymus's writings. Jerome and Palladius mentioned that Didymus had written commentaries on Old Testament books; these commentaries were assumed to be no longer extant until the discovery in 1941 in Tura, Egypt, of papyri containing commentaries on Genesis, Zechariah, Job, Ecclesiastes, and some of the Psalms.
A Commentary on Genesis by
An accessible commentary on Genesis, strictly focused on the biblical text, and aimed at introductory college courses and Bible study groups.
Genesis by
The first English language commentary on the Greek Genesis, LXX Genesis: A Commentary includes an English translation of the text of Codex Alexandrinus and provides insight into the theological, philological, and sociological issues that abound in the book of Genesis.
Genesis 1-11 by
The first chapters of Genesis are the bedrock of the Jewish and Christian traditions. In these inaugural pages of the canon, the creation of the world, the fall of the human creature, the promise of redemption and the beginning of salvation history are found. Interwoven in the text are memorable stories of the ancient biblical patriarchs and matriarchs. Throughout the history of commentary, interpreters have lavished attention on the rich passages recounting the six days of creation, the tragic fall of God's creature--from the expulsion of the first parents to Cain's fratricide and the catastrophe of the Flood--as well as the allegorical sign of hope in the ark of Noah. Commentators in the Reformation continued this venerable tradition of detailed focus on these primordial stories, finding themselves and their era deeply connected to the tragedies and promises, the genealogies and marvels of God's providential election and governance. Above all, Reformation-era interpreters found anchor for their teaching, preaching and hope in the promise of Christ running through these first chapters, from creation to the calling of Abraham. While following the precedent of patristic and medieval commentators on Scripture, as well as Rabbinic midrash, the Reformers provide insightful and startling fresh readings of familiar passages, inviting readers to see the ancient text with new eyes. This volume collects the comments of not only the monumental thinkers like Luther, Calvin and Melancthon, but also many important figures of the time who are lesser-known today. Here we find rich fare from Johannes Brenz, Wolfgang Capito, Hans Denck, Wolfgang Musculus, Johannes Oecolampadius and Peter Martyr Vermigli. Readers will encounter comments from a wide array of perspectives, from the magisterial Reformers to radical Protestants like Balthasar Hubmaier, Menno Simons, Pilgram Marpeck and Dirk Philips, as well as some Catholic thinkers, such as Desiderius Erasmus and Cardinal Cajetan. Important contributions from female voices, like Katharina Schütz Zell and Anna Maria van Schurman are included also. The wealth of Reformation interpretation is brought together here for study and reflection, much appearing in English for the first time.
Genesis 12-50 by
Walter Moberly's study Guide to Genesis 12-50 provides an invaluable introduction to the second part of Genesis and is essential reading for anyone interested in the patriarchal narratives and the earliest history of the people of Israel.
The Universal Story by
The opening chapters of Genesis tell the story of how humans relate to the world—and to God.Genesis 1-11 is a parade of humanity's stories intertwined with the most intriguing subjects wrestled with today: the beginning of the cosmos, the nature of humanity, family, sex, deceit, death, murder, mass murder, ecology, agriculture, urbanization, and more.In The Universal Story, Dru Johnson shows how Genesis 1-11 is written in a way that informs the rest of biblical history—including the exodus, the kings of Israel, the exile, the Gospels, and early church. Genesis 1-11 presents a story of humanity that seeks to explain the background of every human endeavor. It is the universal story—the story of stories—because it is a story about how all of these things came to be the way the Hebrews understood them to be. These bizarre and ancient stories frame the story of God and His plan for earth and humanity.
An Exposition of Genesis by
The success of the Protestant Reformation depended vitally upon the industry, piety, and learning of the first generation of Reformers. Among them, none worked or prayed or studied harder than Iohannes Oecolampadius, the great Reformer of Basel, Switzerland. This volume presents his lectures on Genesis 1-3, translated for the first time into English. These lectures take us back to the heady early days of the Reformation, where we find Oecolampadius skillfully negotiating the dense thicket of perplexing questions that had long surrounded the story of Creation and Fall, boldly reforming the ancient traditions of Christian exegesis by the application of the Reformed conviction that sinners are justified before God by faith alone. He also did what only a learned humanist scholar like him could do, bringing to his aid the insights he had gained through his study of the Hebrew text of Scripture as interpreted in rabbinic Judaism and through his wide reading in the sermons and commentaries of the eastern Church Fathers.
Genesis by
This volume in the Belief series provides a new and interesting theological interpretation of Genesis through the themes of liberation and the concerns of the poor and marginalized. De La Torre wrestles with Genesis texts, remembering Jacob's wrestling at Peniel (Gen. 32:24-32), and finds that "there are consequences when we truly wrestle with the biblical text, struggling to see the face of God." This commentary provides theological and ethical insights that enables the book of Genesis to speak powerfully today.
Genesis by
In this Tyndale Commentary, Andrew Steinmann offers a thorough exegetical commentary on Genesis, including a reconstructed timeline of events from Abraham's life through to the death of Joseph. The Tyndale Commentaries are designed to help the reader of the Bible understand what the text says and what it means.
The Book of Genesis by
Written by leading experts in the field, The Book of Genesis: Composition, Reception, and Interpretation offers a wide-ranging treatment of the main aspects of Genesis study. Its twenty-nine essays fall under four main sections. The first section contains studies of a more general nature, including the history of Genesis in critical study, Genesis in literary and historical study, as well as the function of Genesis in the Pentateuch. In the second portion, scholars present commentary on or interpretation of specific passages (or sections) of Genesis, as well as essays on its formation, genres, and themes. The third part includes essays on the textual history and reception of Genesis in Judaism, Christianity, and Islam. The final section explores the theologies of the book of Genesis, including essays on Genesis and ecology and Genesis in the context of Jewish thought.
The Book of Genesis in Late Antiquity by
This volume examines the relationship between rabbinic and Christian exegetical writings on the book of Genesis in the Eastern Roman Empire and Mesopotamia, and illuminates the history of relations between Jews and Christians in Late Antiquity.
Genesis and the Moses Story by
Konrad Schmid is a Swiss biblical scholar who belongs to a larger group of Continental researchers proposing new directions in the study of the Pentateuch. In this volume, a translation of his Erzväter und Exodus, Schmid argues that the ancestor tradition in Genesis and the Moses story in Exodus were two competing traditions of Israel's origins and were not combined until the time of the Priestly Code—that is, the early Persian period. Schmid interacts with the long tradition of European scholarship on the Hebrew Bible but departs from some of the main tenets of the Documentary Hypothesis: he argues that the pre-Priestly material in both text blocks is literarily and theologically so divergent that their present linkage is more appropriately interpreted as the result of a secondary redaction than as thematic variation stemming from J's oral prehistory. He dates Genesis–2 Kings to the Persian period and considers it a redactional work that, in its present shape, is a historical introduction to the message of future hope presented in the prophetic corpus of Isaiah-Malachi. Scholars and students alike will be pleased that this translation makes Schmid's important work readily available in English, both for the contributions made by Schmid and the summary of continental interpretation that he presents. In this edition, some passages have been expanded or modified in order to clarify issues or to engage with more-recent scholarship. The notes and bibliography have also been updated.
Reading Genesis by
Reading Genesis presents a panoramic view of the most vital ways that Genesis is approached in modern scholarship. Essays by ten eminent scholars cover the perspectives of literature, gender, memory, sources, theology, and the reception of Genesis in Judaism and Christianity. Each contribution addresses the history and rationale of the method, insightfully explores particular texts of Genesis, and deepens the interpretive gain of the method in question. These ways of reading Genesis, which include its classic past readings, map out a pluralistic model for understanding Genesis in - and for - the modern age.
Reclaiming Genesis by
Some argue for a literal treatment of the first 12 chapters of Genesis; others accept some form of deistic evolution. But what is its real message? Melvin Tinker argues that we should focus on the intended meaning of the text. Genesis challenges the nations surrounding Israel to a different view of the world. For example, God has no genealogy, unlike gods of surrounding nations.'The two great lights'are so described because the words'sun'and'moon'referred to regional deities. When God rested on the seventh day, the day of contemplation of his good creation, this would have upset the Babylonians who considered seven an unlucky number. This is just the start. Genesis is pregnant with meaning and challenges to both the ancient world and the world today. Here are the foundational themes of the Christian faith: God's mercy; human dignity and purpose; God's mission to heal the nations.
The Theology of the Book of Genesis by
The book of Genesis contains foundational material for Jewish and Christian theology, both historic and contemporary, and is almost certainly the most appealed-to book in the Old Testament in contemporary culture. R. W. L. Moberly's The Theology of the Book of Genesis examines the actual use made of Genesis in current debates, not only in academic but also in popular contexts. Traditional issues such as creation and fall stand alongside more recent issues such as religious violence and Christian Zionism. Moberly's concern - elucidated through a combination of close readings and discussions of hermeneutical principle - is to uncover what constitutes good understanding and use of Genesis, through a consideration of its intrinsic meaning as an ancient text (in both Hebrew and Greek versions) in dialogue with its reception and appropriation both past and present. Moberly seeks to enable responsible theological awareness and use of the ancient text today, highlighting Genesis'enduring significance.
The Book of Genesis by
Joy Schroeder here provides substantial excerpts -- most previously unavailable in English -- from seven noteworthy medieval biblical interpreters who commented on Genesis between the ninth and the fifteenth centuries. Representing a chronological and geographical range of authors, these clear, readable translations illustrate the rich diversity of medieval approaches to biblical interpretation. This generous sampler of medieval writings is supplemented by an in-depth introduction that locates each of the medieval authors within his or her context. Covering the entire book of Genesis, this commentary offers modern readers a splendid opportunity to encounter the creative and reverent approaches to Scripture practiced by medieval biblical scholars.
The Book of Genesis by
During its 2,500-year-life, the book of Genesis has been the keystone to almost every important claim about reality, humanity, and God in Judaism and Christianity. It continues to play a central role in debates about science, politics, and human rights. With clarity and skill, acclaimed biblical scholar Ronald Hendel provides a panoramic history of this iconic book, exploring its impact on Western religion, philosophy, science, politics, literature, and more. Hendel traces how Genesis has shaped views of reality and how changing views of reality have shaped interpretations of Genesis.
Discovering Genesis by
Iain Provan here offers readers a compact, up-to-date, and student-friendly introduction to the book of Genesis, focusing on its structure, content, theological concerns, key interpretive debates, and historical reception.Drawing on a range of methodological approaches (author-, text-, and reader-centered) as complementary rather than mutually exclusive ways of understanding, Discovering Genesis encourages students to dig deeply into the theological and historical questions raised by the text. It provides a critical assessment of key interpreters and interpretive debates, focusing especially on the reception history of the biblical text, a subject of growing interest to students and scholars of the Bible.
From Creation to Babel: Studies in Genesis 1-11 by
The stories of Genesis 1-11 constitute one of the better known parts of the Old Testament, but their precise meaning and background still provide many debated questions for the modern interpreter. In this stimulating, learned and readable collection of essays, which paves the way for his forthcoming ICC commentary on these chapters, John Day attempts to provide definitive solutions to some ofthese questions. Amongst the topics included are the background and interpretation of the seven-day Priestly Creation narrative, problems in the interpretation of the Garden of Eden story, the relation of Cain and the Kenites, the strange stories of the sons of God and daughters of men and of Noah's drunkenness and the curse of Canaan, the precise ancient Near Eastern background of the Flood story and the preceding genealogies, and the meaning and background of the story of the tower and city of Babel. Throughout this volume John Day constantly seeks to determine the original meaning of these stories in the light of their ancient Near Eastern background, and to determine how far this original meaning has been obscured by later interpretations.
Genesis, A Royal Epic by
This new translation of Genesis is based on the presupposition that Genesis is the Royal Epic of the Davidic Monarchy.
Genesis : Creation and the Patriarchs by
Fired by the spiritual investigations of Steiner and his wide reading of the occult and mythological traditions, Emil Bock helps us to understand the great cosmic pictures of Genesis. He builds bridges between the biblical imagery of the creation and our everyday modern scientific understanding of evolution and history. His interpretations in no way diminish the majesty of his events: they deepen our appreciation of Genesis as an outstanding work of art.
Genesis and Christian Theology by
Genesis and Christian Theology contributes significantly to the renewed convergence of biblical studies and systematic theology -- two disciplines whose relational disconnect has adversely affected not only the academy but also the church as a whole. In this book twenty-one noted scholars consider the fascinating ancient book of Genesis in dialogue with historical and contemporary theological reflection. Their essays offer new vistas on familiar texts, reawakening past debates and challenging modern clichés.
The Genesis Creation Account and Its Reverberations in the Old Testament by
How does the rest of the Bible relate to Genesis 1 and 2? Do the various biblical authors portray creation theologies that align or diverge? In this volume, ten scholars each addressing a different section, genre, or topic from the Old Testament grapple seriously with this question. Collectively, they find that the weight of the textual data of the Old Testament clearly portrays an overarching understanding and theology of creation that permeates every biblical genre and book. These findings should inform the thinking of every honest Christian, whether layperson, theologian, or scientist. At its core, creation theology is all about Who God is, who we are, what our destiny is, and how God chooses to save a world that is in direct rebellion to its Creator.
Genesis Ideology by
Genesis Ideology explores the purposes the stories in the book of Genesis, which served as ethic building blocks within ancient Israelite culture. Aaron exposes the ideological agenda of the biblical authors as well as their literary sensibilities. In their hands, older literary works were adapted and imbued with modernized meanings to serve the social and religious needs of their audience. Working with contemporary biblical scholarship and literary theory, Aaron has written this volume for a general readership. He offers an introduction to the academic study of Hebrew Bible; discusses approaches to translation and genre, as well as theories of the Pentateuch's composition. He then leads the reader through close readings of select passages in Genesis, touching upon themes as varied as immortality and burial rites, struggles over ethics, identity, exile, and the value of kinship. The power of the book of Genesis, argues Aaron, lies in its authors' conviction that a literature can create the basis for solidarity even in the face of hostile historical circumstances. An appreciation for that literary power is at the core of each of this book's chapters.
The Genesis of Good and Evil by
"For centuries, the Garden of Eden story has been a cornerstone for the Christian doctrine of "the Fall" and "original sin." In recent years, many scholars have disputed this understanding of Genesis 3 because it has no words for sin, transgression, disobedience, or punishment. Instead, it is about how the human condition came about. Yet the picture is not so simple. The Genesis of Good and Evil examines how the idea of "the Fall" developed in Jewish tradition on the eve of Christianity. In the end, the Garden of Eden is a rich study of humans in relation to God that leaves open many questions. One such question is, Does Genesis 3, 4, and 6, taken together, support the Christian doctrine of original sin? Smith's well-informed, close reading of these chapters concludes that it does. In this book, he addresses the many mysterious matters of the Garden story and invites readers to explore questions of their own"-- Provided by publisher.
Reading Genesis Well by
What does it mean to be a good reader of Genesis 1-11? What does it mean to take these ancient stories seriously and how does that relate to taking them literally? Can we even take any of this material seriously? Reading Genesis Well answers these questions and more, promoting a responsible conversation about how science and biblical faith relate by developing a rigorous approach to interpreting the Bible, especially those texts that come into play in science and faith discussions. This unique approach connects the ancient writings of Genesis 1-11 with modern science in an honest and informed way. Old Testament scholar C. John Collins appropriates literary and linguistic insights from C.S. Lewis and builds on them using ideas from modern linguistics, such as lexical semantics, discourse analysis, and sociolinguistics. This study helps readers to evaluate to what extent it is proper to say that the Bible writers held a "primitive" picture of the world, and what function their portrayal of the world and its contents had in shaping the community. -- Publisher's description.
Abraham by
There are no instant saints. That's true for everyone. When he said yes to God's call, he set out on a lifelong path of growth and transformation. Abraham explores the events and circumstances that shaped Abraham's walk with God. It highlights the tests of faith that matured him into becoming God s partner in redeeming humanity. From the challenge to turn his back on his past and embrace an unfamiliar future to the astonishing request that he sacrifice his only son, Abraham became a model of enduring and deepening faith. Through his example, we learn How our responses in life contribute to our spiritual growth What it means to partner with God in his redemptive plan What it is like be called a friend of God Rich in devotional and theological insight, this book by H. Ray Dunning is an outstanding retelling of Abraham's story. It invites us to enter Abraham's world and learn from him the way to spiritual maturity. And most importantly it reminds us that through our faith in Christ we are all children of Abraham.
The Abraham Dilemma: A Divine Delusion by
"What is a religious or spiritual delusion? What does religious delusion reveal about the difference between good and bad spirituality? What is the connection between religious delusion and moral failure? Or between religious delusion and religious terrorism? Or religious delusion and despair? The Abraham Dilemma: A Divine Delusion is the first book written by a philosopher on the topic of religious delusion -- on the disorder's causes, contents, consequences, diagnosis and treatment. The book argues that we cannot understand a religious delusion without appreciating three facts. One is that religiosity or spirituality is a part of human nature, whether it takes theistic or non-theistic forms. Another is that religious delusion is something to which we are all vulnerable. The third is that the delusion is not best understood by reducing it to brain chemistry, or by insisting that it is empirically false. It is best understood by examining its harmful personal and moral consequences -- consequences that nearly unfolded when the biblical patriarch Abraham prepared to sacrifice his son Isaac in response to a command, he thought, from God. The book presents a fascinating and profound exploration of a phenomenon as old as mankind itself."
The Family of Abraham: Jewish, Christian, and Muslim Interpretations by
Abrahamic religions'has gained currency in scholarly and ecumenical circles as a way to refer to Judaism, Christianity, and Islam. Carol Bakhos steps back from the convention to ask: What is Abrahamic about these three faiths? She challenges references to Judaism and Islam as sibling religions and warns against uncritical adoption of the term.
Inheriting Abraham by
Jews, Christians, and Muslims supposedly share a common religious heritage in the patriarch Abraham, and the idea that he should serve only as a source of unity among the three traditions has become widespread in both scholarly and popular circles. But in Inheriting Abraham, Jon Levenson reveals how the increasingly conventional notion of the three equally'Abrahamic'religions derives from a dangerous misunderstanding of key biblical and Qur'anic texts, fails to do full justice to any of the traditions, and is often biased against Judaism in subtle and pernicious ways.
Remembering Abraham: Culture, Memory, and History in the Hebrew Bible by
The past in the Hebrew Bible is a represented past, not the past itself. This book argues that the biblical portrayal of the past consists of a complex interplay of historical memory, folklore, cultural self-definition, and literary brilliance. The chapters of this book attempt to survey and, to the degree possible, untangle these various layers, concentrating on the foundational narratives of the patriarchs, the Exodus, and the united monarchy. The biblical sense of the past combines traits that we separate into different genres — myth, epic, and history — but form a seamless synthesis in the biblical conception.
Abraham: A Journey to the Heart of Three Faiths by
In this timely, provocative, and uplifting journey, the bestselling author of "Walking the Bible" searches for the man at the heart of the world's three monotheistic religions--and today's deadliest conflicts. "Abraham" uncovers fascinating, little-known details of the man who defines faith for half of the world. Endpaper maps.
Abraham: The Story of a Life by
In this discursive commentary Joseph Blenkinsopp explores the story of Abraham -- iconic ancestor of Judaism, Christianity, and Islam -- as told in Genesis 11-25. Presented in continuous discussion rather than in verse-by-verse form, Blenkinsopp's commentary focuses on the literary and theological artistry of the narrative as a whole. Blenkinsopp discussses a range of issues raised in the Abraham saga, including confirmation of God's promises, Isaac's sacrifice and the death of Jesus, and Abraham's other beloved son, Ishmael. Each chapter has a section called "Filling in the Gaps," which probes some of the vast amount of Jewish, Christian, and Islamic commentary that the basic Genesis text has generated through the ages. In an epilogue Blenkinsopp looks at Abraham in early Christianity and expresses his own views, as a Christian, on Abraham.
Interpreting Abraham by
"Interpreting the Akedah-- across tradition and across time. The story of Abraham and Isaac is a story of near universal importance. Sitting near the core of three of the world's great religious traditions, this nineteen-verse story opens a world of interpretive possibilities, raising questions of family, loyalty, faith, and choices that are common to us all. This collection of essays ... takes up the question of how our interpretation of this pivotal text has changed over time, and how, even in unlikely places, the story influences our thought. It begins by exploring various readings of Abraham and the Akedah story throughout [sic] the traditional lenses of Judaism, Christianity, and Islam. From there it moves into modern and postmodern readings, including how such varied thinkers as Kant and Kierkegaard, Kafka and Derrida have engaged the text. Interpreting Abraham demonstrates the diversity of interpretations and the dramatic impact of the story on the Western intellectual tradition."--Back cover.
The Binding of Isaac
Traditional interpertations in both Judaism and Christianity argue that the Akedah presents not only an ethical question but also an ethical reply. But for the intervention of the angel, Abraham would have killed his son. Obedience to God take precedence over morality as humanly conceived. Yet, the angel of YHWH that appears to Abraham is a later addition to the text; thus, in the original narrative Abraham actually disobeys the divine command to slay his son, and sacrifices a ram instead. The first part of the book shows how the'original'version of the narrative did not contain the angelic figure. The second part of the book re-examines various religious interpretations of the text to show that exegetes such as Maimonides and his followers did point out Abraham's disobedience. According to these writers the esoteric layer of the story in fact declares that disobedience to God's command was Abraham's true affirmation of faith. In th ethird part of the book, Boehm re-opens the philosophical debate between Kant and Kierkegaard. Boehm concludes the book by contending that the monotheistic model of faith presented by Abraham was actually a model of disobedience.
Isaac on Jewish and Christian Altars by
Devorah SchoenfeldGs new work offers an in-depth examination of two of the most influential Christian and Jewish Bible commentaries of the High Middle Ages. The Glossa Ordinaria and RashiGs commentary were standard texts for Bible study in the High Middle Ages, and Rashi's influence continues to the present day. Although RashiGs commentary and the Glossa developed at the same time with no known contact between them, they shared a way of reading text that shaped their interpretations of the central religious narrative of the Binding of Isaac. SchoenfeldGs text examines each commentary unto itself and offers a detailed comparison, one that illustrates the similarities between Rashi and the Gloss that derive not merely from their shared late antique heritage but also from their common twelfth-century context, and the Jewish-Christian polemic in which they both, implicitly or explicitly, take part.
The Binding of Isaac, Religious Murders and Kabbalah by 
Faith in the Hidden God: Luther, Kierkegaard, and the Binding of Isaac by 
Holy Murder: Abraham, Isaac, and the Rhetoric of Sacrifice by 
Profiles of the Patriarchs by 
Jacob: Unexpected Patriarch by
A powerful hero of the Bible, Jacob is also one of its most complex figures. Bible stories recounting his life often expose his deception, lies, and greed—then, puzzlingly, attempt to justify them. In this book, eminent biblical scholar Yair Zakovitch presents a complete view of the patriarch, first examining Jacob and his life story as presented in the Bible, then also reconstructing the stories that the Bible writers suppressed—tales that were well-known, perhaps, but incompatible with the image of Jacob they wanted to promote. Through a work of extraordinary “literary archaeology,” Zakovitch explores the recesses of literary history, reaching back even to the stage of oral storytelling, to identify sources of Jacob's story that preceded the work of the Genesis writers.The biblical writers were skilled mosaic-makers, Zakovitch shows, and their achievement was to reshape diverse pre-biblical representations of Jacob in support of their emerging new religion and identity. As the author follows Jacob in his wanderings and revelations, his successes, disgraces, and disappointments, he also considers the religious and political environment in which the Bible was written, offering a powerful explication of early Judaism.
Jacob's Legacy by
Who are the Jews? Where did they come from? What is the connection between an ancient Jewish priest in Jerusalem and today’s Israeli sunbather on the beaches of Tel Aviv? These questions stand at the heart of this engaging book. Geneticist David Goldstein analyzes modern DNA studies of Jewish populations and examines the intersections of these scientific findings with the history (both biblical and modern) and oral tradition of the Jews. With a special gift for translating complex scientific concepts into language understandable to all, Goldstein delivers an accessible, personal, and fascinating book that tells the history of a group of people through the lens of genetics. In a series of detective-style stories, Goldstein explores the priestly lineage of Jewish males as manifested by Y chromosomes; the Jewish lineage claims of the Lemba, an obscure black South African tribe; the differences in maternal and paternal genetic heritage among Jewish populations; and much more. The author also grapples with the medical and ethical implications of our rapidly growing command of the human genomic landscape. The study of genetics has not only changed the study of Jewish history, Goldstein shows, it has altered notions of Jewish identity and even our understanding of what makes a people a people.
Jacob's Wealth by
To study the nature and role of material possessions in the Jacob-cycle will result in a deeper understanding of the Jacob-story itself within the wider context of Genesis and the Pentateuch.
Jacob and the Divine Trickster by
The book of Genesis portrays the character Jacob as a brazen trickster who deceives members of his own family: his father Isaac, brother Esau, and uncle Laban. At the same time, Genesis depicts Jacob as YHWH's chosen, from whom the entire people Israel derive and for whom they are named. These two notices produce a latent tension in the text: Jacob is concurrently an unabashed trickster and YHWH's preference. How is one to address this tension? Scholars have long focused on the implications for the character and characterization of Jacob. The very question, however, at its core raises an issue that is theological in nature. The Jacob cycle (Gen 25–36) is just as much, if not more, a text about God as it is about Jacob, a point startlingly absent in a great deal of Genesis scholarship. Anderson argues for the presence of what he has dubbed a theology of deception in the Jacob cycle: YHWH operates as a divine trickster who both uses and engages in deception for the perpetuation of the ancestral promise (Gen 12:1–3). Through a literary hermeneutic, emphasizing the symbiotic relationship between how the text means and what the text means, and a keen eye to the larger task of Old Testament theology as literally “a word about God,” Anderson examines the various manifestations of YHWH as trickster in the Jacob cycle. The phenomenon of divine deception at every turn is intimately tethered in diverse ways to YHWH's unique concern for the protection and advancement of the ancestral promise, which has cosmic implications. Attention is given to the ways that the multiple deceptions--some previously unnoticed--evoke, advance, and at times fulfill the ancestral promise. Anderson's careful and thoughtful interweaving of trickster texts and traditions in the interest of theology is a unique contribution of this important volume. Oftentimes, scholars who are interested in the trickster are unconcerned with the theological ramifications of the presence of material of this sort in the biblical text, while theologians have often neglected the vibrant and pervasive presence of the trickster in the biblical text. Equally vital is the necessity of viewing the Old Testament's image of God as also comprising dynamic, subversive, and unsettling elements. Attempts to whitewash or sanitize the biblical God fail to recognize and appreciate the complex and intricate ways that YHWH interacts with his chosen people. This witness to YHWH's engagement in deception stands alongside and paradoxically informs the biblical text's portrait of YHWH as trustworthy and a God who does not lie. Anderson's Jacob and the Divine Trickster stands as a stimulating and provocative investigation into the most interesting and challenging character in the Bible, God, and marks the first true comprehensive treatment of YHWH as divine trickster. Anderson has set the stage to continue the conversation and investigation into a theology of deception in the Hebrew Bible.
The Epic of the Patriarch by 
Living in the Grip of Relentless Grace by 
Profiles of the Patriarchs, Volume 2 by 
Thou Traveller Unknown: The Presence and Absence of God in the Jacob Narrative by 
Joseph: Portraits Through the Ages by
The complex and dramatic story of Joseph is the most sustained narrative in Genesis. Many call it a literary masterpiece and a story of great depth that can be read on many levels. In a lucid and engaging style, Alan T. Levenson brings the voices of Philo, Josephus, Midrash, and medieval commentators, as well as a wide range of modern scholars, into dialogue about this complex biblical figure. Levenson explores such questions as: Why did Joseph's brothers hate him so? What is achieved by Joseph's ups and downs on the path to extraordinary success? Why didn't Joseph tell his father he was alive and ruling Egypt? What was Joseph like as a husband and father? Was Joseph just or cruel in testing his brothers'characters? Levenson deftly shows how an unbroken chain of interpretive traditions, mainly literary but also artistic, have added to the depth of this fascinating and unique character.
Story of Joseph by
The Story of Joseph, the only surviving work by the founder of Bulgar-Tatar literature Kul Gali, is rendered into English for the first time in its entirety by Fred Beake and Ravil Bukharaev. Supporting the annotated translation are forty specially commissioned illustrations by one of Russia's leading contemporary artists Azat Minnekaev.
Joseph by
The life of Joseph detailed in the book of Genesis is a story of love, hate, slavery, power, and forgiveness. Although written thousands of years ago, it has a timeless quality that still probes the depths of the human experience. In this thoughtful and devotional book, scholar John Lennox emphasizes the major themes present in Joseph's story -- such as suffering, temptation, forgiveness, faith, and God's sovereignty -- and applies them to readers at a personal level. This detailed look at Joseph's life in its broader context will invite us into a deeper trust of God in the face of suffering and hardship. - Publisher.
Keep Your Dream Alive: Lessons from the Life of Joseph by
No story can speak about a life dream better than the biblical story of Joseph, a young man betrayed by his brothers, imprisoned and forgotten, but who still realized God's plan and experienced his dream to the fullest.
Creation, Sin and Reconciliation by
This volume considers aspects of the Book of Genesis; as the first book of the Torah, and hence of the Bible, its position is unique, especially in its provision of the foundational stories of Creation, the emergence of mankind, and the beginning of human society.Through close reading of chapters 1–11, 32–33 and 37–50 (the beginning, middle and end of Genesis), with consideration of the language, style and possible implications of the text, this approach explores the fundamental themes of Berishit and the enduring relevance of its powerful message for humanity and our place in the world. The method is both synchronic (a literary, exegetic analysis of the received text), and diachronic (a more historical consideration of other forms of interpretation, whether archaeological, theological, philosophical, generic or comparative). The mystery of creation and the origins of the world and humankind are enduringly important, and with the rise of interest in cosmology and ever-growing ecological concerns for the earth and its sustainability, nothing could be more topical. Where do we come from? What is our place in the world? What is our responsibility for it? Intimately related to Creation are the nature of human origins and the mystery of the beautiful yet disturbing imperfection of human nature and society. Why are we as we are? What does this mean for concepts of family, community and nation? The Patriarchal Narratives of the forebears of Ancient Israel (Abraham, Isaac, Jacob and Joseph) provide some of the most enduring stories of election, mission, endeavour and interaction in the annals of world literature. The power and unwavering truthfulness of these stories hold a mirror to human behaviour with seemingly fathomless implications. They provide a dynamic, a positive way forward in reflecting on the intractable hostility that perennially blights the history of humankind. The recurrence of universal themes and symbols generated in Genesis and found throughout the Bible (and in wider folk literature) emphasizes the conceptual unity of a Great Code of meaning, and is pertinent to a canonical reading of Scripture; for example, Joseph's story prefigures that of Jesus, and posits reconciliation as the very harbinger of salvation.
Creation Myths of the World by
The most comprehensive resource available on creation myths from around the world—their narratives, themes, motifs, similarities, and differences—and what they reveal about their cultures of origin.• Over 200 entries on the creation myths of various peoples, belief systems, and religions from around the world, in addition to entries on the common features of many creation myths, such as the seed, the primordial being, the creative fire, water, and stages of creation• 5 in-depth essays analyzing the nature and significance of the archetypal forms of creation myths• A series of first person retellings of creation myths from different cultures by contemporary individuals• Charts that categorize the myths according to type, theme, and geographical location• An extensive glossary of terms related to creation myths—both general and specific • An annotated bibliography of print and online resources for further exploration of all aspects of creation mythology
From Genesis to Genetics by
The clash between evolution and creationism is one of the most hotly contested topics in education today. This book, written by one of America's most distinguished science educators, provides essential background information on this difficult and important controversy. Giving a sweeping and balanced historical look at both schools of thought, John A. Moore shows that faith can exist alongside science, that both are essential to human happiness and fulfillment, but that we must support the teaching of science and the scientific method in our nation's schools. This highly informative book will be an invaluable aid for parents, teachers, and lawmakers, as well as for anyone who wants a better understanding of this debate. From Genesis to Genetics shows us why we must free both science and religion to do the good work for which each is uniquely qualified. Using accessible language, Moore describes in depth these two schools of thought. He begins with an analysis of the Genesis story, examines other ancient creation myths, and provides a nuanced discussion of the history of biblical interpretation. After looking at the tenets and historical context of creationism, he presents the history of evolutionary thought, explaining how it was developed, what it means, and why it is such a powerful theory. Moore goes on to discuss the relationship of nineteenth-century religion to Darwinism, examine the historic Scopes trial, and take us up to the current controversy over what to teach in schools. Most important, this book also explores options for avoiding confrontations over this issue in the future. Thoughtfully and powerfully advocating that the teaching of science be kept separate from the teaching of religion, Moore asks us to recognize that a vigorous and effective scientific community is essential to our nation's health, to our leadership role in the world, and to the preservation of a healthy environment.
Genesis 1 As Ancient Cosmology by
The ancient Near Eastern mode of thought is not at all intuitive to us moderns, but our understanding of ancient perspectives can only approach accuracy when we begin to penetrate ancient texts on their own terms rather than imposing our own world view. In this task, we are aided by the ever-growing corpus of literature that is being recovered and analyzed. After an introduction that presents some of the history of comparative studies and how it has been applied to the study of ancient texts in general and cosmology in particular, Walton focuses in the first half of this book on the ancient Near Eastern texts that inform our understanding about ancient ways of thinking about cosmology. Of primary interest are the texts that can help us discern the parameters of ancient perspectives on cosmic ontology—that is, how the writers perceived origins. Texts from across the ancient Near East are presented, including primarily Egyptian, Sumerian, and Akkadian texts, but occasionally also Ugaritic and Hittite, as appropriate. Walton's intention, first of all, is to understand the texts but also to demonstrate that a functional ontology pervaded the cognitive environment of the ancient Near East. This functional ontology involves more than just the idea that ordering the cosmos was the focus of the cosmological texts. He posits that, in the ancient world, bringing about order and functionality was the very essence of creative activity. He also pays close attention to the ancient ideology of temples to show the close connection between temples and the functioning cosmos. The second half of the book is devoted to a fresh analysis of Genesis 1:1–2:4. Walton offers studies of significant Hebrew terms and seeks to show that the Israelite texts evidence a functional ontology and a cosmology that is constructed with temple ideology in mind, as in the rest of the ancient Near East. He contends that Genesis 1 never was an account of material origins but that, as in the rest of the ancient world, the focus of “creation texts” was to order the cosmos by initiating functions for the components of the cosmos. He further contends that the cosmology of Genesis 1 is founded on the premise that the cosmos should be understood in temple terms. All of this is intended to demonstrate that, when we read Genesis 1 as the ancient document it is, rather than trying to read it in light of our own world view, the text comes to life in ways that help recover the energy it had in its original context. At the same time, it provides a new perspective on Genesis 1 in relation to what have long been controversial issues. Far from being a borrowed text, Genesis 1 offers a unique theology, even while it speaks from the platform of its contemporaneous cognitive environment.
Genesis: In the Beginning by
With the publication of Genesis: In the Beginning, one of today's most highly regarded Catholic Scripture scholars turns her attention to one of the most important, fascinating, and challenging books of the Bible. In this important new commentary, Bergant explores the biblical text but also points out some of the social biases of the original community, an awareness which is crucial for an adequate understanding of the text. She offers a wealth of insights into how the contemporary reader can best understand the biblical message.
The Lost World of Genesis One by
In this astute mix of cultural critique and biblical studies, John H. Walton presents and defends twenty propositions supporting a literary and theological understanding of Genesis 1 within the context of the ancient Near Eastern world and unpacks its implications for our modern scientific understanding of origins.
Myths of Creation by
An exploration of mythology, religious belief, and scientific theory on the origins of the universe. A classic study of mythology, this examination investigates stories from all continents and ages—with all their startling similarities and contrasts—to reveal the workings of the human mind and imagination. Philip Freund provides revealing insight into the universality of ideas and faith by examining a wide range of texts such as the Old Testament, the Upanishads, and Gilgamesh in his search for parallels between creation fables. The analysis estimates, for example, that more than 500 flood legends have been told by more than 250 tribes and peoples from around the world. Also featured are clear presentations of the theories of towering figures such as Freud, Jung, Frazer, Campbell, and Malinowski who have proposed variously that myths are primitive history based on literal fact, a means of expressing profound tribal wisdom and psychological and sexual truth, or that they represent a search for kinship with the animal and vegetable world. Fascinating and erudite, this revered book ranks among the select handful of core texts in any mythology collection.
Babylonian Creation Myths by 
Christian Understandings of Creation by 
Creation: A Guide for the Perplexed by
This addition to our popular Guides for the Perplexed series tackles a subject that is enjoying renewed debate: Christianity, along with Judaism and Islam, claims that the universe is not a brute fact. It is 'created'. But what do we mean by 'creation'? Do we mean that the universe is 'designed'? Is it the product of an evolutionary process? How are creatures related to God, and does God act within creation? Simon Oliver begins with the background to the Christian theology of creation in Greek philosophy and the Old Testament. This provides a route into understanding the claim that we are part of a created order that is also the theatre of God's providential action. He examines different understandings of creation, including creation out of nothing and the analogy of being, with close reference to the work of patristic and medieval theologians such as Augustine and Thomas Aquinas. This leads to an historical overview of the relationship between theological, philosophical and scientific approaches to creation in the modern period. Some of the ethical issues concerning humanity's place within, and treatment of, creation and our environment are also examined. A distinctive yet traditional theology of creation is proposed focused on the concepts of gift and participation as ways of understanding more fully the meaning and implications of the claim that the universe is created.
Creation: Biblical Theologies in the Context of the Ancient Near East by
"Othmar Keel has become well known as the author of masterly studies on the iconography and texts of the ANE and their relationship to the text of the Hebrew Bible. In this volume, he partners with Silvia Schroer to assemble ANE texts and art that bears on the idea of creation. The result is a convenient assemblage of texts and iconographical data that may be studied in concert, often leading to being able to see old texts in new ways. As with much of this Swiss scholar's work, this new volume will prove to be a resource for all who wish to study the biblical theology of creation against its wider background"-- Provided by publisher.
Creation Ex Nihilo: Origins, Development, Contemporary Challenges by 
Creation Out of Nothing: A Biblical, Philosophical, and Scientific Exploration by 
Engaging the Doctrine of Creation by 
Noah's Ark: Essays on Architecture by
From Noah's Ark to Diller + Scofidio's "Blur" Building, a distinguished art historian maps new ways to think about architecture's origin and development. Trained as an art historian but viewing architecture from the perspective of a "displaced philosopher," Hubert Damisch in these essays offers a meticulous parsing of language and structure to "think architecture in a different key," as Anthony Vidler puts it in his introduction. Drawn to architecture because it provides "an open series of structural models," Damisch examines the origin of architecture and then its structural development from the nineteenth through the twenty-first centuries. He leads the reader from Jean-François Blondel to Eugène Viollet-le-Duc to Mies van der Rohe to Diller + Scofidio, with stops along the way at the Temple of Jerusalem, Vitruvius's De Architectura, and the Louvre. In the title essay, Damisch moves easily from Diderot's Encylopédie to Noah's Ark (discussing the provisioning, access, floor plan) to the Pan American Building to Le Corbusier to Ground Zero. Noah's Ark marks the origin of construction, and thus of architecture itself. Diderot's Encylopédie entry on architecture followed his entry on Noah's Ark; architecture could only find its way after the Flood. In these thirteen essays, written over a span of forty years, Damisch takes on other histories and theories of architecture to trace a unique trajectory of architectural structure and thought. The essays are, as Vidler says, "a set of exercises" in thinking about architecture.
Noah's Flood: The Genesis Story in Western Thought by
The biblical tale of Noah and the Flood has been interpreted in many different ways through the ages, mirroring the many changes in Western beliefs and values. In this masterly and beautifully illustrated book, Norman Cohn, the author ofThe Pursuit of the MillenniumandCosmos, Chaos, and the World to Come, explores the origins, development, and varying interpretations of this ancient story and assesses its impact on the history of ideas.The roots of the Flood story, Cohn explains, lie in Mesopotamian mythology. But its meaning was totally transformed by the authors ofGenesisso that it became a message of hope for Jews and later a prefiguring of salvation for Christians. Cohn then shows how, under the impact of the scientific revolution of the seventeenth century, the story came to be understood in a new way. Between the seventeenth and the nineteenth centuries it was closely associated with the development of scientific geology, which it both helped and hindered. From the late eighteenth century until the present it has been involved also in the conflict between traditional religious beliefs and science and the attempts to harmonize the two. Cohn describes how, while geological and palaeontological discoveries were calling the historicity of the Flood into question, fundamentalists have continued to champion it, even to the extent of searching for the landing site of the ark. Finally, he considers how, in the course of the present century, the story has been interpreted as a solar myth, a lunar myth, a fertility myth, and even (psychoanalytically) as an expression of male resentment against women.Wide ranging and compellingly narrated, the book includes intriguing accounts of the scholars and theologians who endorsed or rejected the Flood story and the painters, sculptors, poets, dramatists, and composers who used it as a theme in their work.
Water and Fire by
Noah's Flood is one of the Bible's most popular stories, and flood myths survive in many cultures today. This book presents the first comprehensive examination of the incorporation of the Flood myth into the Anglo-Saxon imagination. Focusing on literary representations, it contributes to our understanding of how Christian Anglo-Saxons perceived their place in the cosmos. For them, history unfolded between the primeval Deluge and a future - perhaps imminent - flood of fire, which would destroy the world. This study reveals both an imaginative diversity and shared interpretations of the Flood myth. Anglo-Saxons saw the Flood as a climactic event in God's ongoing war with his more rebellious creatures, but they also perceived the mystery of redemption through baptism. Anlezark studies a range of texts against their historical background, and discusses shifting emphases in the way the Flood was interpreted for diverse audiences. The book concludes with a discussion of Beowulf, relating the epic poem's presentation of the Flood myth to that of other Anglo-Saxon texts.
When the Great Abyss Opened: Classic and Contemporary Readings of Noah's Flood by
What does the story of the Flood mean to us and why does it so stir the collective imagination? When the Great Abyss Opened examines the history of our attempts to understand the Flood, from medieval Jewish and Christian speculation about the physical details of the ark to contemporary efforts to link it to scientific findings. Unraveling the mythical dimensions of the parallel Mesopotamian flood stories and their deeper social and psychological significance, J. David Pleins also considers the story's positive uses in theology and moral instruction. Noah's tale, however, has also been invoked as a means of justifying exclusion, racism, and anti-homosexual views. Pro-slavery advocates, for example, used the story of Noah's Curse on Ham's son Canaan to rationalize the enslavement of Africans. Throughout this expansive and lively book, Pleins sheds new light on our continuing attempts to understand this ancient primal myth. Noah's Flood, he contends, offers a unique case study that illuminates the timeless and timely question of how fact and faith relate.
The Lost World of the Flood by
The flood continued forty days on the earth; and the waters increased, and bore up the ark, and it rose high above the earth . . . and the ark floated on the face of the waters" (Gen 6:17-18 NRSV). In our modern age the Genesis flood account has been probed and analyzed for answers to scientific, apologetic, and historical questions. It is a text that has called forth flood geology, fueled searches for remnants of the ark on Mount Ararat, and inspired a full-size replica of Noah's ark in a biblical theme park. Some claim that the very veracity of Scripture hinges on a particular reading of the flood narrative. But do we understand what we are reading? Longman and Walton urge us to hit the pause button and ask, what might the biblical author have been saying to his ancient audience? The answer to our quest to rediscover the biblical flood requires that we set aside our own cultural and interpretive assumptions and visit the distant world of the ancient Near East. Responsible interpretation calls for the patient examination of the text within its ancient context of language, literature, and thought structures. And as we return from that lost world to our own, we will need to ask whether geological science supports the notion of flood geology. The story of Noah and the flood will continue to invite questions and explorations. But to read Longman and Walton is put our feet on firmer interpretive ground. Without attempting to answer all of our questions, they lift the fog of modernity and allow the sunlight to reveal the true contours of the text. As with other books in the Lost World series, The Lost World of the Flood is an informative and enlightening journey toward a more responsible reading of a timeless biblical narrative.
Was Noah Good? Finding Favor in the Flood Narrative by 
