The IVP Bible Background Commentary by
This unique commentary provides historical, social and cultural background for each passage of the Old Testament. From Genesis through Malachi, this single volume gathers and condenses an abundance of specialized knowledge, and includes a glossary, maps and charts, and expanded explanations of significant background issues.
The Old Testament: a Very Short Introduction by
Eminent biblical scholar Michael D. Coogan offers here a wide-ranging and stimulating exploration of the Old Testament, illuminating its importance as history, literature, and sacred text. Coogan explains the differences between the Bible of Jewish tradition (the "Hebrew Bible") and the Old Testament of Christianity, and also examines the different contents of the Bibles used by Roman Catholics, Eastern Orthodox Christians, and Protestants. He looks at the rise of modern biblical scholarship as well as the recovery of ancient Near Eastern literatures and their significance for biblical interpretation. Coogan explores the use of invented dialogue and historical fiction in the Old Testament, the presence of mythic elements in apparently historical accounts, and the relationship of ancient Israelite myths to those of their neighbors. The book considers the Old Testament's idea of divine justice, especially in Ecclesiastes and Job, and looks at notions of the afterlife in the ancient Near East and in ancient Israel. Coogan highlights the significance of the history and literature of the Old Testament and describes how non-biblical evidence, such as archaeological data and texts, has placed the Old Testament in a larger and more illuminating context. The book also discusses law and ritual in the Bible as well as the biblical understandings of prophecy. Here then is a marvelous overview of one of the great pillars of Western religion and culture, a book whose significance has endured for thousands of years and which remains vitally important today for Jews, Christians, and Muslims worldwide.
Who's Who in the Old Testament by
Who's Who in the Old Testamentbrings vividly to life the thousands of characters in the Old Testament, and provides:
* nearly 3000 extensive entries covering every character
* detailed biographical information on each character, including exactly where to find them in the Bible
* the complete historical, geographical and archaeological context of each entry
* comprehensive chronology of the times
* a section on the Apocrypha - the collection of works that bridges the gap between the Old and New Testaments.
The Baker Illustrated Bible Handbook by
One of the keys to enjoying an in-depth and rewarding experience of reading the Bible is recapturing the ancient world--its cultures, customs, and histories. With this innovative guide, readers can enrich their study with fascinating insights into the Bible and the world in which it was written. The Baker Illustrated Bible Handbook offers the most up-to-date evangelical biblical scholarship in a format that is readable and easy to understand. This book-by-book guide brings the Bible to life with more than 1,100 full-color pages packed with illustrations, maps, and photos, and 112 in-depth articles on a wide range of topics important to students of the Bible. Readers will discover how each part of the Bible fits into and informs every other part, giving them a cohesive understanding of God's Word. No reference collection will be complete without this incredible new handbook to the Bible.
Biblia Americana by
Summary: Cotton Mather, one of the leading intellectuals of colonial America, has often been overshadowed by his younger Puritan contemporary, Jonathan Edwards. Now, however, the publication of this first edition of Mather's magnum opus in the area of biblical knowledge focuses fresh attention on early New England's second most prodigious intellect. Mather's commentary takes the form of questions and answers on the whole biblical canon --Publisher's description.
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Prophets by
Summary: includes 115 articles covering all aspects of Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel, the twelve "minor prophets" and Daniel. Each book's historical, cultural, religious and literary background is thoroughly covered, alongside articles on interpretation history and critical method. --from publisher description.
Fortress Commentary on the Bible by
The Fortress Commentary on the Bible: The Old Testament and Apocrypha presents a balanced synthesis of current scholarship, enabling readers to interpret Scripture for a complex and pluralistic world. The contributors bring a rich diversity of perspectives to the task of connecting solid historical critical analysis of the Scripture with sensitivity to theological, cultural, and interpretive issues arising in our encounter with the text. The contributors represent a broad array of theological commitmentProtestants, Catholics, Jews, and others. The introductory articles and section introductions in the volume discuss the dramatic challenges that have shaped contemporary interpretation of the Old Testament and Apocrypha. Individual book articles provide an introduction and commentary on key sense units that are explored through the lenses of three critical questions: The Text in Its Ancient Context--What did the text probably mean in its original historical and cultural context? The Text in the Interpretive Tradition--How have centuries of reading and interpreting shaped our understanding of the text? The Text in Contemporary Discussion--What are the unique challenges and interpretive questions the text addresses for readers and hearers today? The result is a commentary that is comprehensive and useful for preaching, teaching, and research.
A Handbook to Old Testament Exegesis by
Summary: Designed for both Hebrew and non-Hebrew students, A Handbook to Old Testament Exegesis offers a fresh, hands-on introduction to exegesis of the Old Testament. William P. Brown begins not with the biblical text itself but with the reader, helping students to identify their own interpretive lenses before engaging the biblical text. Brown guides the student through a wide variety of interpretive approaches, including modern methodologies?feminist, womanist, Latino/a, queer, postcolonial, disability, and ecological approaches?alongside more traditional methods. This allows students to critically reflect on themselves as bona fide interpreters. While covering a wide range of biblical passages, Brown also highlights two common biblical texts throughout the work to help show how each interpretive approach highlights different dimensions of the same texts. Students will appreciate the value of an empathetic inquiry of Scripture that is both inclusive of others and textually in-depth. - from publisher.
HarperCollins Bible Dictionary - Revised and Updated by
Summary: More than four thousand entries present information on the Old Testament, Apocrypha, and New Testament.
The New Interpreter's Bible by
Pastors and students who want a one-volume commentary to complement the New Interpreter's Study Bible will be pleased to find in this resource the quality of scholarship that is a hallmark of other New Interpreter's Bible resources. The portability, accessibility, and affordability of the one-volume commentary will appeal to professors and students as well as lay persons and pastors. This commentary contains articles on all the books of the Bible, including the Apocrypha, as well as numerous general articles on biblical interpretation, geographical and historical setting, religion, text, canon, translation, Bible and preaching/teaching, with bibliographies for each article. Extra value includes: chronology/timeline, table of measures and money, and a subject index. A dust jacket is included.
Zondervan Handbook of Biblical Archaeology by
Summary: The Zondervan Handbook of Biblical Archaeology is a reference resource for anyone interested in archaeology and its relevance to biblical, theological, and apologetic studies. Illustrated with full-color photos, charts, and maps, this handbook provides readers with a wealth of information that complements and supplements the historical context of the Bible. The Zondervan Handbook of Biblical Archaeology includes an introduction to the field of archaeology for readers who might not be familiar with the methods, practices, and importance of this area of study. Included in this section is an annotated bibliography of important biblical archaeological reports, books, and journal articles for further study. The rest of the handbook is devoted to a book-by-book (Genesis through Revelation) presentation of the most significant archaeological discoveries that enhance our understanding of the biblical text, including a section on the intertestamental period. A rich array of visual images including photos of excavations sites, coins, maps, artifacts, and historic structures allows readers to immerse themselves in the world of the Bible. This monumental work gives readers the opportunity to visit ancient sites and historical places while remaining in the comfort of their own home. - Publisher.
Zondervan Handbook to the Bible by
Summary: "Discover fascinating, thorough, and enriching insights into the Bible with the bestselling and internationally acclaimed Zondervan Handbook to the Bible. From the history and design of the temple to God's relationship to the universe, you'll find it here. The land and cultures, battles and feast days, heroes and villains of Scripture all come alive through entries of meticulous clarity and detail, and through breathtaking, full color images." -- Back cover.
Zondervan Illustrated Bible Dictionary by
Summary: More than seven thousand entries present information on the Old and New Testaments, with maps, images, charts, and illustrations.
Exploring the Old Testament
This volume traces the literature and history of the Hebrew nation in an easy-to-follow outline form. Includes recommended readings and exercises for further study or discussion. It is recommended for all interested students of God's Word.
A History of Israel by
This volume provides a comprehensive introduction to the history of ancient Israel—from the creation account to setting the stage for the New Testament era. This edition has been thoroughly revised, but maintains its focus on Old Testament texts as well as ancient Near Eastern literary and archeological sources to highlight the important modern controversies surrounding this part of Scripture. The work provides an up-to-date, conservative, evangelical position on matters relating to ancient Israel's history and is illustrated with over 600 figures, charts, and maps.
Old Testament Introduction by
The purpose of this book is to provide a comprehensive introduction to the complexities of the Old Testament; it also provides the basic knowledge required for students of O.T. theology. This widely used textbook appears here in its second English edition and is based on the fifth German edition (1995). This new edition has been expanded especially in regard to Pentateuch research and the anthropology of the O.T.
Old Testament Theology by
There are several excellent Old Testament theologies available today, but they tend to be large and daunting for beginning students and others who are hard-pressed for time. Robin Routledge's Old Testament Theology is gauged to meet the needs of readers who want to dine on the meat of Old Testament theology but do not have time to linger over hors d'oeuvres and dessert. And his thematic approach makes it easy for selective readers to find what they need.Routledge provides a substantial overview of the central issues and themes in Old Testament theology. In a style that is clear, concise and nuanced, Routledge examines the theological significance of the various texts within their wider canonical context, noting unity and coherence while showing awareness of diversity. Readers looking for a substantial overview of the central issues and themes in Old Testament theology will find that in the main body of the text, and those with more specific interests will find more detailed discussion and references to further reading in the numerous and expansive footnotes.
Reading the Old Testament by
A readable, entertaining, and highly respectful overview of the life, work, and mission of a uniquely powerful, humble, and beloved leader
Behind the Scenes of the Old Testament by
Summary: "A team of world-class scholars covers the full range of Old Testament backgrounds studies in a concise, authoritative, and comprehensive manner"-- Provided by publisher. Summary: This authoritative volume brings together a team of world-class scholars to cover the full range of Old Testament backgrounds studies in a concise, up-to-date, and comprehensive manner. With expertise in various subdisciplines of Old Testament backgrounds, the authors illuminate the cultural, social, and historical contexts of the world behind the Old Testament. They introduce readers to a wide range of background materials, covering history, geography, archaeology, and ancient Near Eastern textual and iconographic studies. Meant to be used alongside traditional literature-based canonical surveys, this one-stop introduction to Old Testament backgrounds fills a gap in typical introduction to the Bible courses. It contains over 100 illustrations, including photographs, line drawings, maps, charts, and tables, which will facilitate its use in the classroom. -- {u2021}c From publisher's description.
Encountering the Old Testament by
This new edition of a bestselling evangelical survey of the Old Testament (over 180,000 copies sold) has been thoroughly updated and features a beautiful new interior design. It is lavishly illustrated with four-color images, maps, and charts and retains the pedagogical features that have made the book so popular: · chapter outlines, objectives, and summaries · study questions · sidebars featuring primary source material, ethical and theological issues, and contemporary applications · lists of key terms, people, and places · further reading recommendations · endnotes and indexes. The book is supplemented by web-based resources through Baker Academic's Textbook eSources, offering course help for professors and study aids for students.
Hearing the Old Testament by
Summary: Scholars discuss how contemporary Christians can better hear and appropriate God's address in the Old Testament. --from publisher description.
Interpreting the Old Testament Theologically by
Summary: How should Christians read the Old Testament today? Answers to this question gravitate between two poles. On the one hand, some pay little attention to the gap between the Old Testament and today, reading the Old Testament like a devotional allegory that points the Christian directly to Jesus. On the other hand, there are folks who prioritize an Old Testament passage's original context to such an extent that it is by no means clear if and how a given Old Testament text might bear witness to Christ and address the church. This volume is a tribute to Willem A. VanGemeren, an ecclesial scholar who operated amidst the tension between understanding texts in their original context and their theological witness to Christ and the church. The contributors in this volume share a conviction that Christians must read the Old Testament with a theological concern for how it bears witness to Christ and nourishes the church, while not undermining the basic principles of exegesis. Two questions drive these essays as they address the topic of reading the Old Testament theologically. Christology. If the Old Testament bears witness to Christ, how do we move from an Old Testament text, theme, or book to Christ? Ecclesiology. If the Old Testament is meant to nourish the church, how do scriptures originally given to Israel address the church today? The volume unfolds by first considering exegetical habits that are essential for interpreting the Old Testament theologically. Then several essays wrestle with how topics from select Old Testament books can be read theologically. Finally, it concludes by addressing several communal matters that arise when reading the Old Testament theologically. -- Publisher's description.
The Old Testament by
Summary: A trusted scholar of the Old Testament and the ancient Near East offers a substantial introduction to the Old Testament that is accessibly written and informed by the latest biblical scholarship. Richard Hess summarizes the contents of the Old Testament, introduces the academic study of the discipline, and helps readers understand the complex world of critical and interpretive issues, addressing major concerns in the critical interpretation of each Old Testament book and key texts. This volume provides a fulsome treatment for students preparing for ministry and assumes no prior knowledge of the Old Testament. Readers will learn how each book of the Old Testament was understood by its first readers, how it advances the larger message of the whole Bible, and what its message contributes to Christian belief and the Christian community. Twenty maps, ninety photos, sidebars, and recommendations for further study add to the book's usefulness for students. The Old Testament also includes an eight-page color insert. - from publisher.
The Old Testament: Text and Context by
Summary: Provides an introduction to the literature, history, and social context of the Old Testament. Written by two seasoned Old Testament professors, the book pays attention to methodology, archaeology, history, and literary genre and includes illustrations, sidebars, maps, and study questions. --from publisher description.
The Old Testament in Archaeology and History by
One hundred and fifty years of sustained archaeological investigation has yielded a more complete picture of the ancient Near East. The Old Testament in Archaeology and History combines the most significant of these archaeological findings with those of modern historical and literary analysis of the Bible to recount the history of ancient Israel and its neighboring nations and empires. Eighteen international authorities contribute chapters to this introductory volume. After exploring the history of modern archaeological research in the Near East and the evolution of "biblical archaeology" as a discipline, this textbook follows the Old Testament’s general chronological order, covering such key aspects as the exodus from Egypt, Israel’s settlement in Canaan, the rise of the monarchy under David and Solomon, the period of the two kingdoms and their encounters with Assyrian power, the kingdoms’ ultimate demise, the exile of Judahites to Babylonia, and the Judahites’ return to Jerusalem under the Persians along with the advent of "Jewish" identity. Each chapter is tailored for an audience new to the history of ancient Israel in its biblical and ancient Near Eastern setting. The end result is an introduction to ancient Israel combined with and illuminated by more than a century of archaeological research. The volume brings together the strongest results of modern research into the biblical text and narrative with archaeological and historical analysis to create an understanding of ancient Israel as a political and religious entity based on the broadest foundation of evidence. This combination of literary and archaeological data provides new insights into the complex reality experienced by the peoples reflected in the biblical narratives.
The Old Testament in Seven Sentences by
Summary: "It's easy to see the Old Testament as confusing, out of date, or irrelevant. Using seven key sentences drawn straight from the Old Testament, Christopher J. H. Wright fits the pieces together, shows us the coherent whole, and points us toward Jesus. This short survey shows God's faithfulness and love for his people and illuminates how the Old Testament scriptures prepared for the identity and mission of Jesus"-- Provided by publisher.
Old Testament Theology by
Old Testament Theology provides a foundational tool for a theological reading of the Old Testament. In the book's central chapters, John Kessler delineates six differing representations of the divine-human relationship, with special emphasis on the kind of response each one evokes from the people of God. He traces these representations through the Old Testament, into the New Testament, and reflects on their significance for the values and character formation of the people of God today. Old Testament Theology combines elements of Old Testament history, exegesis, hermeneutics, and theology, and situates them within the social, cultural, and intellectual world of ancient Israel and Israelite religious institutions. The result is a comprehensive and readable introduction to Old Testament theology for students in seminaries and colleges.
Old Testament Today by
This proven Old Testament text with a wealth of full-color images helps readers connect the world of the Old Testament with today's world. Old Testament Today, 2nd Edition, newly revised, includes a book-by-book survey, new maps and graphics, and other updates throughout. Unique among Old Testament surveys, Old Testament Today, 2nd Edition not only provides an orientation to the world of the Old Testament, but also builds a bridge between the original audience and modern readers, demonstrating why the ancient message is important for faith and life today. It goes beyond basic content to help students understand what the Scriptures mean and how to apply them personally. Taking readers progressively through the Old Testament, this text: (1) presents the details of the content, focusing on the story line, historical background, and literary information that address the original setting and audience; (2) focuses on theology perspectives and on issues of the author's purpose and the universal message of the text, building a bridge between the original audience and today's audience; and (3) develops an understanding of the relevance of the Old Testament writings to today's Christian, showing how they can be applied in personal faith and practice.
Archaeology and the Old Testament by
Archaeology is a science in which progress can be measured by the advances made backward into the past. The last one hundred years of archaeology have added a score of centuries to the story of the growth of our cultural and religious heritage, as the ancient world has been recovered from the sands and caves of the modern Near East-Egypt, Jordan, Israel, Syria, Lebanon, Turkey, and Iraq. Measured by the number of centuries which have been annexed to man's history in a relatively few years, progress has been truly phenomenal. This book deals with the recent advance and with those pioneers to the past who made it possible. Interest in biblical history has played an important part in this recovery. Names such as Babylon, Nineveh, Jericho, Jerusalem, and others prominent on the pages of the Bible, have gripped the popular imagination and worked like magic to gain support for excavations. This book is written from the widely shared conviction that the discovery of the ancient Near East has shed significant light on the Bible. Indeed, the newly-discovered ancient world has effected a revolution in the understanding of the Bible, its people, and their history. My purpose is to assess, in non-technical language which the layman can understand, the kind of change in viewing the biblical past which archaeology has brought about in the last century. Since the text of the Bible has remained constant over this period, it is obvious that any new light on its meaning must provide a better perspective for seeing the events which it describes. In short, I am concerned with the question, How has history as written in the Bible been changed, enlarged, or substantiated by the past century of the archaeological work?--from the Preface
Faith and History in the Old Testament by
This absorbing and readable account of the religion of ancient Israel is presented against the background of other cultures of the time. Father MacKenzie traces the development of Israel’s belief and draws upon modern knowledge of the cultures of the anci
Good Girls, Bad Girls by
The few popular Bible stories about women are often presented in black and white—the women were good or bad, Ruth or Jezebel. But most of us fall somewhere in between these two extremes. Good Girls, Bad Girls invites readers to take a more nuanced look at 12 women in the Old Testament, to explore their lives more deeply in historical context, and to grasp what these stories might mean to women today. T. J. Wray, a biblical scholar, asks readers to consider whether Jezebel was really as bad as generally believed, and includes women ranging from the infamous Delilah to the mysterious Witch of Endor. Impeccably researched and beautifully written, Good Girls, Bad Girls will appeal to both individual readers and groups interested in learning what the Bible really has to say about these twelve important women.
History and Ideology in the Old Testament by
The end of the millennium sees biblical study in a state of transition. The traditional position of historical approaches is widely questioned and `historical criticism' is regarded as passé. There is a search for approaches - literary or sociological - that are less tied to history. On the other hand there is a more radical approach to the history of Israel, that sees true history as distinct from the biblical narrative and dependent on sources other than theBible. Biblical narratives thus express not the actual events but the ideological and religious aspirations of writers in much later times. `Ideology' has become one of the key words, but is used in very divergent ways. All this is linked with the intellectual movement known as post-modernism. Someconnections between post-modernism and theology are suggested by Professor Barr in the final chapter. This book is important because it tries to bring together various threads of these different movements and to state a position from which we may advance into the new millennium.
New Perspectives on Old Testament Prophecy and History by
New Perspectives on Old Testament Prophecy and History presents innovative and thought provoking essays on biblical prophecy and Old Testament history by colleagues, students, and friends of Professor Hans M. Barstad, in honour of his esteemed career in biblical studies.
Old Testament Essentials by
2014 Readers'Choice Award Winner'Christians love the Bible, but they often do not know what to do with the Old Testament,'writes Westmont College professor Tremper Longman. Further, he points out that it includes many types of writing—history, prophecy, poetry, wisdom and apocalyptic. In this helpful volume he offers different strategies for understanding each of these important types of writing. Jesus made a point to tell his disciples that the whole Old Testament anticipated his coming (see especially Luke 24:25-27, 44-45). And so each session includes a special feature called'Anticipating the New Testament.'Through this you will begin to discover the links between the two testaments and gain a fuller sense of our unfolding salvation history. Following the format of the other volumes of the Essenitals series, originally designed by Greg Ogden, author of Discipleship Essentials, each session includes the following elements: a memory versea Bible studya reading'Anticipating the New Testament'a life application section Designed to work well on your own, with a partner or triad, or in a small group, Old Testament Essentials offers a comprehensive overview that will enrich your knowledge and deepen your faith.'Tremper Longman is for me—and countless others—a treasured'go-to'resource to uncover the treasures of Old Testament wisdom. This survey will be of huge value to anyone who wants the big picture of the Great Story.'—John Ortberg, senior pastor of Menlo Park Presbyterian Church and author of Who Is This Man?
Old Testament Parallels by
A readable, portable anthology of ancient Near Eastern laws and stories that share parallel themes and issues with biblical stories, now in a fourth edition, revised and expanded.
Transcendency and Symbols in the Old Testament by
The series Beihefte zur Zeitschrift für die alttestamentliche Wissenschaft (BZAW) covers all areas of research into the Old Testament, focusing on the Hebrew Bible, its early and later forms in Ancient Judaism, as well as its branching into many neighboring cultures of the Ancient Near East and the Greco-Roman world.
Mission in the Old Testament by
Walter Kaiser questions the notion that the New Testament represents a deviation from God's supposed intention to save only the Israelites. He argues that--contrary to popular opinion--the older Testament does not reinforce an exclusive redemptive plan. Instead, it emphasizes a common human condition and God's original and continuing concern for all humanity. Kaiser shows that the Israelites' mission was always to actively spread to gentiles the Good News of the promised Messiah. This new edition adds two new chapters, freshens material throughout, expands the bibliography, and includes study questions.
Old Testament Essentials by
"Christians love the Bible, but they often do not know what to do with the Old Testament," writes Westmont College professor Tremper Longman. Further, he points out that it includes many types of writing―history, prophecy, poetry, wisdom and apocalyptic. In this helpful volume he offers different strategies for understanding each of these important types of writing. Jesus made a point to tell his disciples that the whole Old Testament anticipated his coming (see especially Luke 24:25-27, 44-45). And so each session includes a special feature called "Anticipating the New Testament." Through this you will begin to discover the links between the two testaments and gain a fuller sense of our unfolding salvation history. Following the format of the other volumes of the Essentials series, originally designed by Greg Ogden, author of Discipleship Essentials, each session includes the following elements: a memory verse, a Bible study, a reading, "Anticipating the New Testament," and a life application section. Designed to work well on your own, with a partner or triad, or in a small group, Old Testament Essentials offers a comprehensive overview that will enrich your knowledge and deepen your faith. "Tremper Longman is for me―and countless others―a treasured 'go-to' resource to uncover the treasures of Old Testament wisdom. This survey will be of huge value to anyone who wants the big picture of the Great Story." ―John Ortberg, senior pastor of Menlo Park Presbyterian Church and author of Who Is This Man?
Old Testament Ethics by
Summary: What is ethics? Ethics is not merely about tricky situations or hot topics. Instead, ethics asks questions about what sort of people we are, how we think, what sort of things we do and don't do, and how we ought to live our everyday lives. How might we learn ethics from the Old Testament? Instead of searching for support for our positions or pointing out problems with certain passages, trusted guide John Goldingay urges us to let the Old Testament itself set the agenda. In this volume, readers will encounter what the Old Testament teaches about relationships, work, Sabbath, character, and more. Featuring Goldingay's own translation and discussion questions for group use, Old Testament Ethics: A Guided Tour is a resource for ethics like no other. Topically organized with short, stand-alone chapters, this book is one to keep close at hand.
The Old Testament Is Dying by
Summary: "Addresses the loss of the Old Testament as a resource for faith and life and shows how it can be recovered by the church,"--NoveList.
Old Testament Theology by
Summary: "Moberly offers an in-depth study of key Old Testament passages, highlighting enduring issues in Hebrew Bible interpretation and discussing Jewish readings alongside Christian readings. The volume is representative of the content of Israel's scriptures rather than comprehensive, yet it discusses most of the major topics of Old Testament theology. Moberly is attentive to varying ways of reading Israel's scriptures throughout history and to contemporary challenges in appropriating the content of the Old Testament. He demonstrates a Christian approach to reading the Old Testament that holds together the priorities of both scholarship and faith." -- Dust jacket.
Preaching from the Old Testament by
Summary: In this new volume, prolific scholar Walter Brueggemann seeks to show Christian preachers how to consider the faith witnessed in several Old Testament traditions and to help them discover rich and suggestive connections to our contemporary faith challenges. The author also assumes that a wholesale sustained engagement with the Old Testament is worth the effort for the preacher. He recognizes what he calls the "sorry state" of Old Testament texts in the Revised Common Lectionary, which he claims often constitute a major disservice for the church and its preachers. The lectionary gerrymanders the Old Testament to make it serve other claims, most of the time not allowing it to have its own evangelical say. Brueggemann hopes that his exposition in this volume will evoke and energize fresh homiletical attention to the Old Testament, precisely because he believes the urgent work of the gospel in our society requires attentive listening to these ancient voices of bold insistent faith.
Preaching the Women of the Old Testament by
Summary: Women played an important role in the Old Testament. However, their stories are often untold in both the classroom and from the pulpit-- until now. Inside Preaching the Women of the Old Testament author Lynn Japinga explores the stories of over forty fierce, faithful, and strong women featured in the Old Testament, including Eve, Rebekah, Dinah, Tamar, Miriam, Deborah, Jael, Abigail, Bathsheba, and Vashti. Along with providing an interpretation of their stories, Japinga demonstrates how each woman's story has been read in Christian tradition and offers sermon ideas that connect each story to various contemporary issues. This unique resource is ideal for pastors who want to know more about the many women in the Old Testament and how to better incorporate them into their sermons. - back of the book.
Prophetic Drama in the Old Testament by
Most books on the prophets contain a page or two on what is usually called “prophetic symbolism,” but full-scale treatments are remarkably few, and in English entirely lacking. Dr. Stacey examines all the evidence in detail, considers the various explanations of the phenomenon that have been offered, gives particular attention to the apparent link with magic, and provides a model whereby these dramatic actions can be properly understood. This book is significant for the study of Hebrew religion; it also paves the way for further investigation of similar actions in the New Testament.
Warfare in the Old Testament by
Warfare in the Old Testament helps bridge the gap between the modern reader and the world of the Old Testament by using textual and physical evidence to describe ancient military practices. Seevers paints realistic picture of how Israel and the surrounding nations did battle, adding depth and impact to the relevant biblical accounts. Full of illustrations, this full-color volume explores the archaeological evidence and early writings that shed light on biblical warfare between Israel and its neighbors: Egypt, Philistia, Assyria, Babylon, and Persia. Of special interest are his treatments of the role that religion played in these ancient warfare practices.
Wrestling with the Old Testament by
Summary: "Respected OT scholar addresses the four most controversial issues in the Old Testament--creation and evolution, violence, historicity, and sexuality--offering a valuable resource for evaluating difficult topics in depth and responding as Christians"-- Provided by publisher. Summary: For many people, skeptics and believers alike, the Old Testament is rife with controversial passages and events that make both belief and sharing our beliefs with others difficult. Often our solutions have tended toward the extremes--ignore problem passages and pretend they don't matter or obsess over them and treat them as though they are the only thing that matters. Now with clarity of purpose and fidelity to the message and spirit of Scripture as a whole, Tremper Longman confronts pressing questions of concern to modern audiences, particularly young people in the church: the creation/evolution debate, God-ordained violence, the historicity of people, places, and events, and human sexuality. Pastors, leaders in the church, and thoughtful and troubled Christians in the pews will find here a well-reasoned and faithful approach to dealing with the Old Testament passages so many find challenging or disconcerting. -- !c From publisher's description.