Dictionary of Advertising and Marketing Concepts by
"From AdBusters to viral marketing, this brief dictionary of ideas and concepts contains over 100 extended, illuminating entries to bring the novice up to speed on the advertising/marketing world and the ideas that underlie it. For the neophyte professional, it describes the various players and strategies of the industry. For the student, it summarizes the key ideas of the most important cultural theorists introduced in advertising and marketing courses. For everyone, it helps explain the cultural, economic, and psychological role that advertising concepts play in society. A handy introduction for students and a quick reference for young professionals"-- Provided by publisher.
A Dictionary of Marketing by
An accessible and wide-ranging A–Z, providing over 2,100 entries on topics spanning terms for traditional marketing techniques (from strategy, positioning, segmentation, and branding, to all aspects of marketing planning, research, and analysis), as well as leading marketing theories and concepts. Both classic and modern marketing techniques are covered. Entries reflect modern changes in marketing practice, including the use of digital and multimedia, the impact of the World Wide Web on advertising, and the increased influence of social media and search engines on advertising and the rise of global brand management. This new edition includes more global content, with the appendices incorporating a greater number of examples of iconic international brands, and more non-Western case studies. Overall it is an indispensable resource for students of marketing and related disciplines, as well as a practical guide for professional practitioners and people with a general interest in marketing.
A Dictionary of Marketing by
Provides over 2,600 entries on topics spanning terms for traditional marketing techniques (from strategy, positioning, segmentation, and branding, to all aspects of marketing planning, research, and analysis), as well as leading marketing theories and concepts. Covers both classic and modern marketing techniques. Reflects modern changes in marketing practice, including the use of digital media and multimedia, the impact of the world wide web on advertising, and the increased influence of social media, search engine optimization, and global marketing. Includes a time line of the development of marketing as a discipline and the key events that impacted the development. Looks at iconic brands of the 20th and 21st centuries, including advertising and brand case studies with a strong international focus.
The Essentials of Marketing Research by
Identifying and assessing the ways in which changes in the marketing mix affect consumer behavior is key to a successful marketing strategy. The Essentials of Marketing Research guides the student in designing, conducting and interpreting marketing research. This comprehensive textbook covers the full range of topics, including: Secondary research and data mining Internet marketing research Qualitative and exploratory research Statistical analysis Marketing research ethics With learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter, a host of cases and a comprehensive companion website, this book offers a range of tools to help students develop and test their research and analytical skills.
FAQs on Marketing: Answers and Advice by the Guru of Marketing by
FAQs on Marketing distills the essence of Philip Kotler's decades of experience into an eminently readable question-and-answer format. The author draws on the thousands of questions he has been asked over the years, such as: What are the biggest challenges marketers face today? What skills do marketing managers need to be successful? What metrics can companies use to judge marketing performance? How are globalization and new technology affecting the role of marketing? What will the marketing department of the future look like?This landmark bestseller takes the reader inside the mind of a.
The Financial Services Marketing Handbook by
"The financial industry is under intense pressure to improve profits, retain high-value clients, and maintain brand equity--without straining budgets. The Financial Services Marketing Handbook, Second Edition gives sales and marketing professionals the information they need to stretch more value from each marketing dollar.The Second Edition includes updated case studies and charts. This new edition looks at important topics in the industry such as: Real time monitoring of conversations (e.g., Twitter and Facebook) and the impact on branding and positioning; New info on landing pages, e-mail success factors; Behavioral economics to psychology of money and budgeting"-- Provided by publisher.
The Marketing Dictionary for the 21st Century by
Now Make Sure You're Fluent in the Language of Marketing in the 21st Century! >> Do you know the difference between cold traffic vs. hot traffic – and the best way to convert each? >> Are your content writers serving you warmed over “Google goulash?” >> Are you taking your response rates to the next level by using dominant resident emotion and the core buying complex? In the digital era, marketing is evolving with lightning speed, and the language of marketing is changing right along with it. Now, with the Marketing Dictionary for the 21st Century, you'll quickly bring your marketing vocabulary up to date, understand what colleagues and vendors are talking about, and show others that your marketing knowledge is on the cutting edge. You'll also learn important marketing concepts that can multiply your sales and profits as never before!
The Marketing Plan Handbook by
Deliver Big-Picture Marketing Plans for Pennies on the DollarSuccessful marketing expert and copywriter Robert W. Bly cuts through the clutter of short-lived marketing techniques and trendy gimmicks to reveal the critical steps you need to cross over from business owner to marketplace competitor.Dishing bite-sized lessons, supported by in-chapter exercises and end-of-chapter actions, Bly coaches you in creating an effective marketing plan that produces the results of an expensive marketing consultant without the hefty cost.Learn how to:Develop a clear business visionPosition your business and services strategicallyResearch your market and target your ideal clientIntegrate online and offline marketingPut measurements in place to assess marketing tacticsCreate an effective implementation scheduleReview and troubleshoot for future success and growth. Whether embarking on a new venture or reviving your current business plan, this practical handbook provides the next steps toward business success and survival.
Marketing Scales Handbook by
The Marketing Scales Handbook series is the longest-running set of books that provide reviews of multi-item measures used in scholarly studies of consumer behavior. This tenth volume picks up where the previous volume ended and has reviews of 402 new scales that were reported in top marketing journal articles published in 2016 and 2017. Each review has information about a scale's source, its psychometric quality, who has used it, and the questions/statements that compose the measure. The bulk of the scales in this book focus on topics well known in the fields of marketing and consumer science such as products, branding, advertising, retailing, and purchasing. Measures of many other topics are covered as well, including benevolence, co-production, corporate social responsibility, food, emotions, engagement, environmentalism, games, health, personality traits, satisfaction, social media, websites, and word-of-mouth. The book is a valuable resource for researchers in a variety of fields who want statistically reliable measures for use in their studies of consumers or similar groups such as viewers, clients, patients, or citizens. Instead of using simplistic measures of dubious quality or, at the other extreme, having to build, test, and refine measures from scratch, researchers can use the book's contents to borrow from the experts who have already crafted quality metrics. By using better measures, the precision of analyses is increased and should improve the decisions based upon the results.
The SAGE Handbook of Marketing Ethics by
The SAGE Handbook of Marketing Ethics draws together an exhaustive overview of research into marketing's many ethical conundrums, while also promoting more optimistic perspectives on the ways in which ethics underpins organizational practices. Marketing ethics has emerged in recent years as the key and collective concern within the ever-divergent fields of marketing and consumer research. This handbook brings together a rich and diverse body of scholarly research, with chapters on all major topics relevant to the field of marketing ethics, whilst also outlining future research directions. PART 1: Foundations of Marketing Ethics; PART 2: Theoretical and Research Approaches to Marketing Ethics; PART 3: Marketing Ethics and Social Issues; PART 4: Issues in Consumer Ethics; PART 5: Ethical Issues in Specific Sectors; PART 6: Ethical Issues in the Marketing Mix; and PART 7: Concluding Comments and Reflections.
The Small Business Online Marketing Handbook by
"The small business marketing experts at Demandforce help owners kick off their online strategy. Small business owners are exceptional at delivering on their product or service. Many, however, don't know where to start when it comes to online marketing. The Small Business Online Marketing Handbook will show you how to effectively leverage email, social, online, and network marketing to get new customers and keep existing customers coming back. Author Annie Tsai shows you how to refocus just a small percentage of an offline marketing budget and create exponential return for your business. Author Annie Tsai is a popular blogger and Chief Customer Officer for Demandforce, an automated Internet marketing and communication company specializing in small- to medium-sized businesses, recently acquired by Intuit Features spot interviews and "do this now" advice from resident experts at Demandforce, including the founders With the proliferation of social media and the consumer voice on the web, small business owners need to take a deliberate approach to leveraging this new marketing channel to effectively convert online conversations into offline sales. The Small Business Online Marketing Handbook shows you how"-- Provided by publisher.
Contemporary Issues in Social Marketing by
Having celebrated its 40th anniversary in 2011, social marketing is increasingly accepted today as an effective behavioural change tool that can be used to change social behaviours, such as encouraging people to recycle more, make healthier eating choices, increase the amount of sunscreen used, and to use condoms to prevent disease transmission, amongst many other desired social behaviours. The growing popularity of using social marketing to change behaviour is reflected in increasing research interest and a growth in people practising in the social marketing field. As social marketing matures into an academic discipline in its own right, we are beginning to see diversity in the way it is understood and implemented by governments, commercial organisations and third sector organisations in different parts of the world. Contemporary Issues in Social Marketing is an outcome of the discussions held between social marketing academics and practitioners at the 2012 International Social Marketing Conference (ISM 2012), which was held in June 2012 in Brisbane, Australia. ISM 2012 drew together 180 social marketing researchers and practitioners in the corporate and not for profit sector, along with representatives of all levels of government to delve into the challenges currently faced in social marketing. Contemporary Issues in Social Marketing is a scholarly resource bringing together current knowledge and contemporary debate in the field, in addition to exploring areas that are currently underdeveloped in the literature. This book covers arguments relating to numerous hot topics and controversial issues, such as ethics in social marketing; climate change; energy consumption; smoking; healthy eating habits; blood donation; social marketing theory; and the evaluation of social marketing interventions.
Engagement Marketing: How Small Business Wins in a Socially Connected World by
"A definitive guide to growing your small business through "Engagement Marketing"As a small business owner, you've always relied on word-of-mouth referrals to grow your business. Thanks to social media--and its nimble partner, mobile technology--it's now easier than ever to turn customers and clients into engaged fans who spread the word about your business across a variety of online platforms. And that's what Engagement Marketing is all about. Written for anyone who owns or manages a small business or non-profit, this book is filled with practical, hands-on advice based on the author's experience of working with thousands of small businesses for over a decade.You'll learn how to attract new prospects--as well as how to increase repeat sales--using your existing customers and social networks. Learn how to create customer experiences that increase positive customer reviews and endorsements Get practical advice on how to entice people to join your social networks and run engagement campaigns that increase visibility--and endorsements--for your business Understand why engagement is so important--and how you can use it to turn passionate fans in your social networks into tomorrow's new business Author Gail Goodman is CEO of Constant Contact, America's leading email and social media marketing company for small businesses Engagement Marketing will help you make a bigger name for your company, build your network, and reach your goals"-- Provided by publisher.
Entrepreneurial Marketing: Global Perspectives by
Marketing and Entrepreneurship have, until quite recently, remained two quite independent scholarly domains. In 2002, Morris et al. provided a definition of Entrepreneurial Marketing as, 'an integrative construct for conceptualizing marketing in an era of change, complexity, chaos, contradiction, and diminishing resources, and one that will manifest itself differently as companies age and grow. It fuses key aspects of recent developments in marketing thought and practice with those in the entrepreneurship area into one comprehensive construct'. Since then, research in this field has grown in significance across the globe. Hence, this book presents important theoretical developments with regard to research at the Entrepreneurship and Marketing interface. The editors have invited acknowledged authors working in this exciting discipline, from around the world, to divulge and present in a comprehensive format, a book which addresses critical issues for businesses, both small and large, from a global perspective. The research is drawn from empirical research and the study of the following in diverse country contexts: new venture creation; marketing in Small-to-Medium-Sized Enterprises (SMEs); renewal of existing businesses facing market challenges; internationalization; innovative cost-effective marketing strategies and practices, along with recent exploration of entrepreneurship theory and entrepreneurial behavior of individuals and, in organizations.
Hacking Marketing: Agile Practices to Make Marketing Smarter, Faster, and More Innovative by
"Apply software-inspired management concepts to accelerate modern marketing In many ways, modern marketing has more in common with the software profession than it does with classic marketing management. As surprising as that may sound, it's the natural result of the world going digital. Marketing must move faster, adapt more quickly to market feedback, and manage an increasingly complex set of customer experience touchpoints. All of these challenges are shaped by the dynamics of software--from the growing number of technologies in our own organizations to the global forces of the Internet at large. But you can turn that to your advantage. And you don't need to be technical to do it. Hacking Marketing will show you how to conquer those challenges by adapting successful management frameworks from the software industry to the practice of marketing for any business in a digital world. You'll learn about agile and lean management methodologies, innovation techniques used by high-growth technology companies that any organization can apply, pragmatic approaches for scaling up marketing in a fragmented and constantly shifting environment, and strategies to unleash the full potential of talent in a digital age. Marketing responsibilities and tactics have changed dramatically over the past decade. This book now updates marketing management to better serve this rapidly evolving discipline. Increase the tempo of marketing's responsiveness without chaos or burnout Design "continuous" marketing programs and campaigns that constantly evolve Drive growth with more marketing experiments while actually reducing risk Architect marketing capabilities in layers to better scale and adapt to change Balance strategic focus with the ability to harness emergent opportunities As a marketer and a manager, Hacking Marketing will expand your mental models for how to lead marketing in a digital world where everything--including marketing--flows with the speed and adaptability of software"-- Provided by publisher.
International Marketing: Theory and Practice from Developing Countries by
This volume offers an excellent understanding of international marketing theory and practice within a constantly-changing and increasingly-complex global environment, with greater emphasis on developing countries.
Managing Marketing: Guidelines for Practice Success by
Provides dental practices with guidelines on implenting a branding strategy, website development, print and digital marketing, referral generating techniques, and advertising.
Marketing by
Too often, businesses create a product or service and then focus their marketing efforts on trying to convince customers that they need it. But the key to successful marketing--and a successful business for that matter--is already knowing that what you are offering is what the public has been searching for! In Marketing, renowned business expert Brian Tracy has provided 21 powerful and proven ideas any business can use immediately to improve their strategic marketing results. You'll discover how to:* Build your customer base * Set yourself apart from the competition * Use market research and focus groups to fuel better decisions * Fulfill a basic emotional need for buyers * Determine the correct price point for your offerings * Make the most of your distribution channels * Give customers a reason to switch from your competitors * And much more!Complete with time-tested marketing strategies, as well as Tracy's trademark wisdom, this practical pocket guide shows you how to overcome the competition, increase sales and profitability, and dominate your market niche.
Marketing and Finance: Creating Shareholder Value by
The truest sign that an executive has reached, or is on a trajectory towards a senior position is when they start to look outside of their own functional silo and consider business issues that normally lie within the remit of other departments. Nowhere is this more true than at the marketing/finance interface. At this mission-critical boundary, senior marketers must understand the implications of their strategies not just for sales or profit, but on risk adjusted rate of return. Similarly, senior finance executive can no longer manage the numbers; they must make critical assessments of commercial goals and understand how alternative marketing strategies may create or destroy shareholder value. The Marketing and Finance Solution is the first book of its kind to address this interface, not from a marketing or finance angle, but from a combined perspective that incorporates leading knowledge in both disciplines. Written by three leading academics with decades of experience working across this functional boundary in major multinationals, The Marketing and Finance Solution is a unique and essential addition to the library of senior marketing and finance professionals. This updated, revised, 2nd edition of the critically acclaimed Marketing Due Diligence includes a re-written first chapter that compares effective and ineffective business plans to identify the fundamentals of commercially successful strategies. Filled with examples from both business-to-business as well as consumer markets from a wide range of sectors, this new edition includes a thorough update of those examples for the modern, post-financial crash world.
The Marketing Century: How Marketing Drives Business and Shapes Society by
Written to celebrate the Institute's centenary, The Marketing Century explains: how the key elements of marketing have developed; how the various aspects of marketing contribute to performance; what it is that great marketers do; and how the discipline of marketing may develop in the future. While The Marketing Century describes the years since 1911 it also describes the 21st Century: a time when the ability to understand and connect with customers is more rewarding, complex and valuable than ever. It explains: The three forces shaping the past, present and future of marketing: globalization, technology and ethics How people behave and connect - and how businesses can benefit from these insights The need to manage for the long-term as well as the short-term Marketing's impact on business strategy and leadership The last 100 years have seen a rapid rise in the impact of marketing. It is an activity which has grown in scope and significance, with more people than ever before now engaged in the exciting, fast-changing world of marketing. The development of the Chartered Institute of Marketing closely reflects the growth and progress of business in general and marketing in particular. Just as marketing has developed as an activity that is highly valued, varied and vital in its contribution to business success, so the Institute's work has expanded as an indispensable source of insight, guidance and practical support. The Marketing Century provides expert analysis of some of the most significant developments in marketing of the last 100 years - and the next 100. Each chapter looks at the past, present and future of a different area of marketing, with chapters covering: Strategic Marketing (Martha Rogers and Don Peppers) Customer Relationship Management (Merlin Stone) Segmentation (Malcolm McDonald) Innovation (John Saunders and Veronica Wong) Public Relations (Paul Mylrea) Branding (Graham Hales) Advertising (Jonathan Gabay) Digital Marketing (Philip Sheldrake) Sales and Business Development (Beth Rogers) Sustainability (John Grant) Internal Marketing (Keith Glanfield) Social Marketing (Paul White and Veronica Sharp) Each chapter explains: How the subject has developed What is currently 'best practice' How this aspect of marketing connects with other topics The influences and trends shaping the future
The Marketing Manifesto by
Marketing is key to the health and wealth of organizations and a vital component in business strategy. Despite the fact that it produces three times more value than any other facet of a business, and continual major improvements in its evolution as a profession, marketing and marketers are often undervalued as part of the business and under-exploited as a force for profit. It is time marketing - and the Marketer - became critical.The Marketing Manifesto tackles and exposes the problems that stand in the way of many marketers that realize marketing's prime objective and role - to improve and sustain revenue whilst improving the lives of the customer. Outlining unique steps to create and deliver a successful marketing strategy in any organization and to improve your own a personal impact as a marketer - The Marketing Manifesto is an innovative and highly practical title that crystallizes how professional marketers can create a goal-oriented personal and company strategy, and achieve the competitive advantage through correct marketing practice.
One Hour Marketing: The Entrepreneur's Guide to Simple, Effective Marketing by
“Communicates very complicated ideas in a very simple manner” (Jay Conrad Levinson, author of Guerrilla Marketing). Who says marketing has to takes weeks or months—or even hours—to plan and execute? All you need is sixty minutes, an open mind, and One Hour Marketing. If you’ve been running your business on empty because marketing seemed too confusing, too difficult, or too time-consuming, relax. One Hour Marketing tells you what you need to know to make your marketing work—fast! In a book you can read in one hour, Herman Pool shows you why marketing works, and how you can build a plan in an hour, then execute it without huge time commitments. Read this book and you will: * learn what steps to take to make your marketing work * discover how to identify your ideal target market to make sales easier * build an actionable marketing plan quickly * understand the essential methods and tools you need to succeed You’ll even learn the secrets to getting the work done—without having to do the work yourself.
Smart Marketing: How to Communicate Value and Grow Your Business by
"There is absolutely no excuse not to have acquired more of your ideal business right after you've read this book." -Alan Weiss, PhD, author of Million Dollar Consultingand 55 other books. This book is designed to help organizations looking for significant growth. Offering a great product or service does not guarantee success-to win these days, a business must also excel at marketing and selling. In most instances, a big marketing team and budget also isn't necessary. To achieve big goals, focus must be put on the most important marketing and sales activities that generate the biggest impact for the business. This book outlines what those activities are and how to implement them."
Sticky Marketing: Why Everything in Marketing Has Changed and What to do About It by
We live in a world were people have become empowered. Consumers can contact companies directly and they can talk to each other with a powerful voice they never had before. Sticky Marketing takes into account these fundamental changes and provides a new set of rules for effective communications in a world transformed by new technology. It introduces a new model of customer engagement and asks 'not what your marketing can do for you, but what your marketing can do for your customer'. Companies have to move away from the old marketing system of shouting messages at people to attracting them by providing value around their product or service - in other words by becoming 'sticky' or attractive. Grant Leboff argues that it is not 'return on investment' that matters but 'return on engagement', not your unique sales point (or USP), but your customer engagement point (your CEP), that will make the difference in today's cluttered marketplace. Sticky Marketing proves that marketing should now be about value creation if you want to truly engage with your customers. It is only by providing value that you can win the battle for customer attention - stop shouting and start a conversation.
Drucker on Marketing: Lessons from the World's Most Influential Business Thinker by
Summary: Considered the single most important thought leader in the world of management, Peter Drucker had an equally significant influence on the discipline of marketing. Drucker on Marketing is the first comprehensive look at the marketing wisdom of one of modern history's most influential business thinkers.
Experiential Marketing by
"The immersive brand experience is revolutionizing brand engagement. Experiential Marketing, second edition, cuts through the jargon with clear practical guidelines on how to magnify marketingstrategies to a powerful new level. This book emphasizes that experiential marketing is not just about creating a live event. A unique, immersive experience allows businesses to generate a surge of brand engagement, which is amplified immediately by a niche target of consumers through live content sharing and social media streams. This comprehensive second edition of Experiential Marketing pinpoints exactly where this innovative strategy fits in with the current marketing and events climate, including a step-by-step outline to plan, integrate and evaluate its game-changing results. The completely fresh content analyzes the latest industry advances and case studies, including four new chapters on the digital experience and merged realities, plus the experience economy and creative explosion of the 'Pop-Up' phenomenon. Accompanied with a digital toolkit of downloadable resources, this book is ... for marketing, business, media and events professionals alike, providing strategic decision makers with a unique competitive advantage in a vibrant new era of marketing strategy."--Provided by publisher.
How Brands Grow by
"This book provides evidence-based answers to the key questions asked by marketers every day. Tackling issues such as how brands grow, how advertising really works, what price promotions really do and how loyalty programs really affect loyalty, How Brands Grow presents decades of research in a style that is written for marketing professionals to grow their brands. It is the first book to present these laws in context and to explore their meaning and application. The most distinctive element to this book is that the laws presented are tried and tested; they have been found to hold over varied conditions, time and countries. This is contrary to most marketing texts and indeed, much information provides evidence that much modern marketing theory is far from soundly based."--Product Description.
Marketing to Millennials by
With more than 80 million in their ranks, the Millennials (aka Generation Y)--born between 1977 and 1995--are the largest generation in American history, outnumbering Generation X by far, and even the Baby Boomers by 1 million. Their direct buying power is estimated at $200 billion, and their indirect buying influence at least double that--and now their oldest members are entering their peak earning and spending years. It's time for anyone seeking to make inroads into this huge market to move beyond setting up a Twitter profile and start understanding how they think. Millennials demand authenticity and transparency. They aren't shy about sharing their opinions. They're quick to spot a faker and believe in "cause marketing." They are highly influential, have an expansive network of contacts, and they expect to actively participate in the creation and development of new products. Based on groundbreaking proprietary research and one-on-one interviews with top brand executives and Millennials, Marketing to Millennials identifies specific behaviors and attitudes common to this revolutionary group of consumers. It will show you how to: Build a listening and participation strategy that will help you connect with your brand advocates; Engage these early adopters of new technologies and social tools; Incorporate a sense of adventure and fun into your brand experience; Help make them look good among their peers; and Retain their loyalty by giving them no reason to cheat on you. From start-ups to Goliaths, this book takes a serious and fascinating look at the companies and brands that are getting it right when it comes to engaging the Millennial consumer. Featuring examples and case studies of organizations including Ford, Sephora, Android, Victoria's Secret, PepsiCo/Frito Lay, Facebook, DoSomething.org, TOMS Shoes, and more, the book reveals "The New Rules" of marketing to Gen Y. You'll discover the differences between younger and older Millennials, those between Millennial men and women, and six distinct segments of this important demographic, from the cautious, charitable, and information-hungry Hip-ennials to the more conservative Anti-Millennials...and everything in between." -- Book jacket.
On Strategic Marketing by
If you read nothing else on marketing that delivers competitive advantage, read these 10 articles. We’ve combed through hundreds of articles in the Harvard Business Review archive and selected the most important ones to help you reinvent your marketing by putting it―and your customers―at the center of your business.
Shift Ahead by
"In a world that's changing faster and more furiously than ever, the ability to shift focus is critical. Why is it that some organizations can continually evolve to meet the times and the marketplace, and others can't? How do some businesses recognize the right moment to shift, and others, ruefully, only after it's too late? Packed with insightful interviews, Shift Ahead offers a smart, calculated approach to knowing when to change course and how to pull it off."--Publisher's description.
Understanding Marketing by
Businesses soar when everyone in the organization adopts a marketing mind-set?an awareness of who the company's customers are, what they want, and how the organization can serve them profitably. But marketing's a big subject. How might you demystify it for yourself and your group if you don't have a marketing background?
How to Write a Marketing Plan by
How to Write a Marketing Plan provides a step-by-step guide to creating a successful marketing plan: from carrying out a marketing audit, setting objectives and devising budgets to writing, presenting and implementing the plan. With brand new content on producing mini-plans and seizing new opportunities quickly, it also contains the most current information on email marketing, web usage, mobile commerce and social media. Including helpful chapter summaries and a detailed sample marketing plan, How to Write a Marketing Plan is essential reading for anyone who wants to boost their product or business. The creating success series of books...With over one million copies sold, the hugely popular Creating Success series covers a wide variety of topics and is written by an expert team of internationally best-selling authors and business experts. This indispensable business skills collection is packed with new features, practical content and inspiring guidance for readers across all stages of their careers.
The Marketing Plan: How to Prepare and Implement It by
The rules for creating a knock-out marketing plan have completely changed. With the advent of digital business strategies, it may seem like you need to start from scratch. In his trusted classic, now completely updated to reflect the latest changes in digital marketing, Bill Luther shows readers how to navigate this perilous landscape while staying true to your current marketing strategy and the tools that work best for your business. With answers to important marketing questions in each chapter, readers will identify their marketing objectives and deploy specific strategies for every stage of the marketing cycle--from competitive and market analysis to planning, budgeting, brand development, and management. The up-to-the-minute fourth edition of The Marketing Plan pairs case studies and examples from major brand successes of the last ten years with access to online software that aids in decision-making, pricing, budget calculations, and sales projections--providing everything you need to produce an impressive and professional marketing plan.
Marketing Plan Templates for Enhancing Profits by
This workbook coaches business leaders to magnify the profits of a business. They learn a unique scientific system for predicting and achieving results. Their systematic decisions will spark the profits of any business. This system comprises all strategic decisions in the marketing plan for a business. The first part uses the SWOT Analysis to assess its strengths and weaknesses and identify possible opportunities and threats. The SWOT Analysis clarifies the mission, target market, specialty, and suppliers of the business. The questions at the end of these four chapters guide business leaders to focus on quality, describe key customers, compete on strength, and delegate weaknesses. The next part positions the business relative to its competitors with marketing mix decisions. Business leaders specify its products and services, and how to distribute, promote, and price them. These four chapters close with questions that lead the business to offer treasures, deliver delight, trumpet empathy, and price as valued. The final part motivates them to implement their decisions. The closAing questions motivate business leaders to target key prospects, reward the best, concentrate resources, and jump into action. These twelve decisions transform a marketing plan and build the business. Her unique scientific system coaches business leaders to use the 80/20 rule to magnify their profits."
The One Week Marketing Plan: The Set it & Forget it Approach for Quickly Growing Your Business by
We're told marketing is hard. That it requires months of analysis, weeks of brainstorming, and years of consistent implementation. To succeed in marketing, you need the fortitude of General Patton, the genius of Don Draper, and the cash reserves of Warren Buffet. WRONG.One week. That's all it takes for most small and medium-sized businesses to dramatically improve their marketing. And let's face it, most business owners do very little marketing, and what they do is not particularly effective.Business owners often don't know how to best market their company, or are too busy working to make time to promote it. What they don't realize is that effective marketing doesn't have to be complicated or time-consuming.Mark Satterfield's The One-Week Marketing Plan lays out a step-by-step system entrepreneurs can put in place in just five business days. This set it and forget it” strategy works all day, every day to bring in new business. Tailored to each company's niche market, this innovative plan can generate a consistent stream of customers for an out-of-pocket expense of as little as $300.Satterfield, founder and CEO of Gentle Rain Marketing, Inc., has more than two decades of experience helping clients in more than 75 niche industries grow their businesses without cold calling or hard selling. Now, in The One-Week Marketing Plan, his strategies and wisdom are accessible and realistic for entrepreneurs, self-employed professionals, and business owners looking to move in a new direction.One week. That's all it takes. So let's get started.
The 20 Ps of Marketing: A Complete Guide to Marketing Strategy by
Marketing has changed dramatically since the four classic Ps of the marketing mix (price, product, promotion and place) were proposed. The new marketing landscape is characterized by the demand for constant innovation, rising pressure on budgets, the growth of social media and the impact of issues of sustainability and ethics. As the business landscape has transformed so have the fundamental areas marketers need to master to succeed.The 20 Ps of Marketing provides a thorough guide to marketers at all levels of the new elements of the marketing mix they need to contend with for business success including: planning; persuasion; publicity; positioning; productivity; partnerships; passion and more. Combining practical advice with case studies it covers brands that have changed the game through mastery of the 20 Ps such as Häagen-Dazs and Sony, and others, such as Kodak, who got left behind.This essential guide to the current face of marketing strategy provides marketers with a thorough and valuable grounding to the new fundamentals of marketing.
Do It! Marketing: 7 Instant-Action Ideas to Boost Sales, Maximize Profits, and Crush Your Competition by
As a business owner, everything you've worked so hard to achieve thus far depends on getting the word out to the right people. Marketing your product or service is detrimental to your survival! With that said, it is not an exaggeration to say that the most important hat a business owner wears is that of marketer. But as entire business degrees and companies have been built around the marketing industry, how could you ever wear that hat for your company? Where does an entrepreneur such as yourself even begin to learn how to market your business successfully?With so many new ways to reach customers and clients and only so much time in the day, it's hard to know where to start. Social media? Email? Blogs? Video? SEO? Do It! Marketing breaks down marketing into a series of simple decisions (and the action steps to implement those decisions) that will help you regain the clarity, confidence, and control you need to succeed. Packed with do-this-now ideas intended to attract, engage, and win more customers and clients, this no-nonsense book reveals how to: * Avoid blah, blah, blah marketing * Use magnetic marketing strategies that pull--not--push-qualified decision-makers into your world * Position yourself as an expert * Become the obvious choice in your market * Do social media right * Learn to speak your customers' language * Get a steady stream of referrals * Identify and focus on high-payoff activities * And more!Energetic, inspiring, and filled with concrete strategies, tactics, templates, and tools, Do It! Marketing shows you how to stop marketing like an amateur and start outsmarting, out-positioning, and out-executing the competition.
Experiental Marketing: Secrets, Strategies, and Success Stories from the World's Greatest Brands by
The most researched, documented, and comprehensive manifesto on experiential marketing. As customers take control over what, when, why, and how they buy products and services, brands face the complete breakdown and utter failure of passive marketing strategies designed more than a half-century ago. To connect with a new generation of customers, companies must embrace and deploy a new marketing mix, powered by a more effective discipline: experiences. Experiential marketing, the use of live, face-to-face engagements to connect with audiences, create relationships and drive brand affinity, has become the fastest-growing form of marketing in the world as the very companies that built their brands on the old Madison Avenue approach--including Coca-Cola, Nike, Microsoft, American Express and others--open the next chapter of marketing. . . as experiential brands. Using hundreds of case studies, exclusive research, and interviews with more than 150 global brands spanning a decade, global experiential marketing experts Kerry Smith and Dan Hanover present the most in-depth book ever written on how companies are using experiences as the anchor of reinvented marketing mixes. You'll learn: The history and fundamental principles of experiential marketing How top brands have reset marketing mixes as experience-driven portfolios The anatomy of a brand experience The psychology of engagement and experience design The 10 habits of highly experiential brands How to measure the impact of experiential marketing How to combine digital and social media in an experiential strategy The experiential marketing vocabulary How to begin converting to experiential marketing Marketers still torn between outdated marketing models and the need to reinvent how they market in today's customer-controlled economy will find the clarity they need to refine their marketing strategies, get a roadmap for putting their brands on a winning path, and walk away inspired to transition into experiential brands.
The Marketing Pathfinder: Key Concepts and Cases for Marketing Strategy and Decision Making by
"This book features a unique blend of core concepts and brief, international case studies in marketing. Each chapter presents a set of core concepts, frameworks, and tools, followed by five or more short, lively international case studies illustrating how the concepts and tools can be applied in the real world. The case studies are specifically designed to encourage readers to pursue additional independent research and to encourage them to articulate and defend their decisions. Throughout, the emphasis is on the reader as a marketing professional in the thick of it and responsible for the decisions they make"-- Provided by publisher.
Marketing Semiotics: Signs, Strategies, and Brand Value by
Proposes that consumers shop for brand meanings, not just goods and services. Brands offer consumers intagible benefits such as symbolic relationship, a vicarious experience, and even a sense of identity. This semiotic dimension of brands, has more that academic interest for firms, since the breadth and depth of the meanings consumers associate with the brand name and logo have measurable impact on the firm's financial performance.
Mobilized Marketing: Driving Sales, Engagement and Loyalty Through Mobile Marketing by
"Integrate your mobile marketing program and take your brand to the next levelMobile marketing is finally entering the forefront of the marketing realm as megabrands roll out million-dollar budgets and small businesses have turned to the channel for its affordability, measurability, and repeatable successes in producing sales and driving engagement and loyalty. Through insights from bold industry visionaries and fellow mobile pioneers, Mobilized Marketing takes readers through campaigns worth repeating and others that are not. Learn the many roads that marketers can take and the proven strategies and tactics that move products and build loyalty through the consumer's most personal device.With examples from the more than 130,000 campaigns developed by mobile marketing leader Hipcricket, Mobilized Marketing breaks down how brands of all sizes have performed in their mobile efforts--why some have failed and how others bravely turned to mobile. Demonstrates how to integrate mobile into marketing programs and how to effectively measure it Explains how to make your existing marketing spends work harder Delivers step-by-step instructions on how to optimize campaigns in real-time Shows how to determine which mobile tactics are keepers and which are not It's time to mobilize your marketing programs and drive your profits to new heights"-- Provided by publisher.
Successful Marketing Strategies for Nonprofit Organizations by
"From a leading expert on nonprofit marketing, the only marketing handbook a nonprofit manager will ever need--now fully revised and updated. In Successful Marketing Strategies for Nonprofit Organizations, Second Edition, nonprofit marketing guru Barry J. McLeish shares everything he's learned during more than two decades managing and consulting nonprofits of every shape and size. Skipping all the arcane theory and the business school jargon, he gives you clear, step-by-step advice and guidance and all the tools you need to develop and implement a sophisticated marketing program tailored to your organization's needs and goals. New sections on the new media available to nonprofit marketers. Techniques for analyzing your market and developing a comprehensive marketing plan. Marketing strategies that will support fund-raising, promote new services, and enhance your organization's reputation and visibility. Methods for developing a marketing program that reaches both the consumers of your service and the donors who support your organization. Do you need to breathe new life into your existing marketing department? Successful Marketing Strategies for Nonprofit Organizations, Second Edition gives you the tools, the know-how, and the confidence you need to succeed."-- Provided by publisher.
Value-Based Marketing Strategy: Pricing and Costs for Relationship Marketing by
This book offers novel methods for developing Value-based marketing strategies aimed at increasing revenue and profits. The Value concept relates all the benefits offered by a product with its price and the effort required to obtain it. Global competition requires managing Value rather than individual products or brands. This fosters customer loyalty, and provides a solid basis for relationship marketing. The book takes a practical, step-by-step approach to explain:• How the forces of supply and demand interact with customer Value;• The relationships between benefits, quantities, prices and costs;• How to develop effective competitive strategies;• How to manage inventory and product mix efficiently;• How to apply the Value model to increase profitability, and solve major marketing problems.The book sets forth several new approaches for marketing and pricing decision-making:• The concept of Value integrates marketing, finance, economics and accounting, in order to link Value-based pricing with relationship marketing.• The law of supply and demand is restated with quantity as a function of Value instead of price; this makes it a more realistic and practical tool for understanding today´s highly competitive business environment.• The confrontation and complementation concepts provide useful tools for guiding marketers into new segments, and pricing products accordingly. They play a key role for devising win-win strategies, not only with customers, but also with competitors.• The Value Matrix is a practical tool for understanding the product´s positioning, analyzing its competition, setting prices and developing strategy. It aims at achieving an optimal balance between customer loyalty and product mix profitability.• The Value Life Cycle illustrates how Value acts as a force that constantly changes revenue, providing insight for developing strategies in each phase of the product´s life cycle.• Analogies with physics illustrate how policy constraints create resistance to sales velocity, thereby determining the rate at which a firm advances towards its financial and marketing goals.• The strategy for pricing business services applies Value to balance supply with demand; this leads to increased revenue.• The marketing approach set forth unifies product portfolio and inventory management with Value-based pricing for maximizing income. Clear explanations and accessible language make this book ideal for marketing professionals and non-specialists. Advanced readers may refer to the appendices, where the subjects are analyzed further and the mathematical foundations are laid out; numerous solved problems of pricing and costs are included.
Visual Marketing: 99 Proven Ways for Small Businesses to Market with Images and Design by
"Effective creative strategies for business owners or marketers Whether it's on the web, in a book, or live in-person, the most effective solutions are those that unexpectedly grab our attention. David Langton and Anita Campbell identify eye-catching and thought-provoking marketing and PR tips, ideas, and stunts. In this compendium of winning ideas will inspire small business leaders, creative professionals, and students. Award-winning visual communication designer David Langton has worked for a range of businesses from Fortune 500 leaders to mom and pops. Anita Campbell, an internationally known small business expert, reaches over 1 million small business owners and stakeholders annually.Through case studies, photos, and illustrations, Visual Marketing displays creative marketing campaigns that brought attention to small businesses in unique, compelling, and unexpected ways. Online visual marketing solutions may include apps, interactive games tools and modules; infographics; HTML emails / e-newsletters; widgets; YouTube videos; flash animation; social networking campaigns; websites, weblets, mini-sites; blogs; podcasts / MP3s; projected signage; PowerPoint / keynote presentations In print solutions may include brochures, flyers; annual reports; books; direct mail, post cards; newsletters; invitations; letters; press releases; infographics On-site, giveaways, exhibit, and tradeshow solutions may include live events and performances; signs; billboards; exhibits; banners; tent cards; posters; plasmas screens; kiosks; giveaways: tchotchkes, t-shirts, tote bags, etc.; floor graphics/vinyl graphic wraps With Visual Marketing, you'll discover 99 powerful strategies for capturing the attention of your potential customers"-- Provided by publisher.
Behavioral Marketing: Delivering Personalized Experiences at Scale by
"This book focuses on fixing marketers' highly inefficient processes and spotty results and describes how to be more "revenue predictable". The book explains the key principles of behavioral marketing, which include: customer journey mapping, channel-level planning, data capture and hygiene, campaign creation, delivery best practices, and measurement/optimization. It will include up to 10 case studies across multiple industries highlighting the revenue growth and process efficiencies resulting from great behavioral-driven marketing. "-- Provided by publisher.
Fashion Marketing: Influencing Consumer Choice and Loyalty with Fashion Products by
Fashion is everywhere! It transcends domains and applies to almost any kind of product (e.g., apparel, cars, digital devices, food, literature, travel, music, house decoration and personal wellness). Fashion greatly influences public interest, media coverage, and product success. The global fashion industry is among the most important in terms of investments, trade, and employment, despite its dependence on unpredictable demand. This book focuses on the fashion apparel and accessories industry in an attempt to help managers answer the following questions: Why and how do fashion products appeal to consumers, despite their constantly varying attributes? What specific elements and benefits of fashion influence consumers, and how can companies exploit them and gain from these? Which marketing strategies and tactics should companies use to increase fashion products’ success while communicating and managing customers’ image? How can companies maintain customer loyalty and generate higher profits with fashion products? By undertaking deep analyses of manufacturers and retailers’ best practices, interviewing customers and companies, and reviewing recent academic research on fashion marketing, this book answers such questions and thus helps managers leverage the value that fashion adds to products while creating loyal customers in truly competitive fashion markets.
Local Business Marketing by
New reality – customers find you online and you can grow your business using evolving technologies and marketing tools that are often FREE. This 6-page laminated guide is loaded with statistics so you know what drives customers to local businesses, and more importantly, how you can do it using the right tools. Suggested uses: o Business Owner/Manager – optimize your use of marketing tools and tactics provided in the guide by testing their effectiveness then using what works from this toolbox o Entrepreneurs – start your business with a bang not a whimper, learn what you need to build a presence before you even open your doors o Students of Business – familiarize yourself with real-world marketing solutions for small and large businesses
Marketing Fashion: Strategy, Branding and Promotion by
Marketing Fashion, Second Edition is a practical guide to the fundamental principles of marketing and branding, from creating a customer profile to developing a brand identity. The book explains key theoretical concepts and illustrates how they are applied within the global fashion and retail industry, from haute couture to the mass market. All tools in the modern marketer's kit are discussed, from attending fashion fairs to viral marketing and online strategies. Using examples and case studies drawn from a broad range of fashion, textile and retail businesses, students are led through the marketing process from initial consumer and market research to the creation of exciting marketing and branding campaigns. The book is designed to appeal to students at degree or foundation level as well as those contemplating a career within the fashion industry.
Marketing to Millennials: Reach the Largest and Most Influential Generation of Consumers Ever by
The jokes at the Millennials' expense are aplenty, but not nearly as much as the $200 billion in buying power they now wield as they enter their peak earning and spending years. Love it or loathe it, you are doing business in their domain now, and your future depends on your ability to successfully connect with them--which goes far beyond having a Twitter account and a flashy advertising campaign.Marketing to Millennials is both an enlightening look at this generation of spend-happy consumers and a practical plan for earning their trust and loyalty. Based on original market research, the insightful guide reveals the eight attitudes shared by most Millennials, including how they: * Value social networking and aren't shy about sharing opinions* Refuse to remain passive consumers but expect to participate in product development and marketing * Demand authenticity and transparency * Are highly influential, swaying parents and peers * Are not all alike; therefore, understanding key segments is invaluableComplete with expert interviews of those doing Millennial marketing right, as well as the new rules for engaging this increasingly vital generation successfully, this eye-opening book is the key to persuading the customers who will determine the bottom line for decades to come.
Marketing to Moviegoers: A Handbook of Strategies and Tactics by
While Hollywood executives spend millions of dollars making movies, even more money is poured into selling those films to the public. In the third edition of his comprehensive guidebook, Marketing to Moviegoers: A Handbook of Strategies and Tactics, veteran film and TV journalist Robert Marich plumbs the depths of the methods used by studios to market their films to consumers. Updates to the third edition include a chapter on marketing movies using digital media; an insightful discussion of the use of music in film trailers; new and expanded materials on marketing targeted toward affinity groups and awards; fresh analysis of booking contracts between theaters and distributors; a brief history of indie film marketing; and explorations of the overlooked potential of the drive-in theater and the revival of third-party-financed movie campaigns. While many books have been written on the business-to-business aspect of film promotion, Marich's volume is one of the few that focuses on the techniques used to sell motion pictures to those in a position to truly make or break a film--the public. A highly navigable handbook that breaks down a complicated process into manageable strategies in an easy-to-read style, Marketing to Moviegoers is a must for all professionals and students in today's rapidly evolving film industry.
Shopper Marketing: How to Increase Purchase Decisions at the Point of Sale by
Shopper Marketing details how marketers can influence the buying decision in-store. The 35 contributors from top companies around the world have packed the book with practical advice on shopper needs and trends, retail environments, effective packaging and much more to equip product and brand managers, packaging experts, merchandising specialists and more with the tools they need to be successful in this field of sales promotion.The second edition of Shopper Marketing has been fully updated to include a new forward by marketing guru Philip Kotler and 12 new articles that reflect the current changes in the fast growing area, focusing specifically on the international scope, the online presence and the future of shopper marketing. New case studies from India, China, Brazil and Japan also add to the depth and breadth of the first edition.
Tourism Marketing: On Both Sides of the Counter by
Tourism Marketing: On Both Sides of the Counter is the fourth successful publication by the team that runs the bi-annual Advances in Tourism Marketing Conference, following its foundation by Prof. Metin Kozak.The current volume contains a selection of the best papers presented at the conference in Maribor, Slovenia, in September 2011. As that year’s conference title indicates, it comprises research important for tourism management, by focusing on tourist behaviour with relevance to managerial strategies and operational practices, as well as on business operations, vision and goals, and their impact on tourist experiences.Contributions are clearly arranged into five parts covering topical consumption issues: image, satisfaction, and social and environmental research results. The last two sections cover timely and managerially relevant contributions on tourism ITC, innovation and competitiveness research. The contributions reflect the vibrancy of ATMC and the high calibre of researchers the conference attracts. The book offers itself as a reader for researchers and students of tourism as well as a compelling update on topical research issues in tourism marketing.
Marketing Analytics: Data-driven Techniques with Microsoft Excel by
Helping tech-savvy marketers and data analysts solve real-world business problems with Excel Using data-driven business analytics to understand customers and improve results is a great idea in theory, but in today's busy offices, marketers and analysts need simple, low-cost ways to process and make the most of all that data. This expert book offers the perfect solution. Written by data analysis expert Wayne L. Winston, this practical resource shows you how to tap a simple and cost-effective tool, Microsoft Excel, to solve specific business problems using powerful analytic techniques--and achieve optimum results. Practical exercises in each chapter help you apply and reinforce techniques as you learn. Shows you how to perform sophisticated business analyses using the cost-effective and widely available Microsoft Excel instead of expensive, proprietary analytical tools Reveals how to target and retain profitable customers and avoid high-risk customers Helps you forecast sales and improve response rates for marketing campaigns Explores how to optimize price points for products and services, optimize store layouts, and improve online advertising Covers social media, viral marketing, and how to exploit both effectively Improve your marketing results with Microsoft Excel and the invaluable techniques and ideas in Marketing Analytics: Data-Driven Techniques with Microsoft Excel.
Marketing Performance: How Marketers Drive Profitable Growth by
Drive marketing ROI with an investor's mindset and a proven toolkit Top marketers today don't shy away from financial accountability. In fact, they actively seek to account for the return on their companies' investments in marketing - because they want their budget to make a difference for their brands and for their business: more relevant messages, more effective campaigns, more satisfied customers, more profitable promotions, higher returns to shareholders. If this is how you think about marketing, this book is for you. It is a book for CMOs who adopt an investor's mindset, and it deals with the most pressing marketing performance questions. This isn't a work of theory. This is a hands-on guide to better marketing for top managers, neatly packaged into ten concise chapters that are just right for a short-haul flight. Learn how to: Increase sales with smarter fund allocation Reduce marketing costs without sacrificing effectiveness Strengthen the role of marketing with quantified ROI Build capabilities for sustainable performance improvements Marketing Performance delivers expert insight, a wealth of proven success factors, and real-life case studies that will help you drive marketing performance and grow your business.
Measuring Marketing: The 100+ Essential Metrics Every Marketer Needs by
Marketing has long been considered more art than science, but the demands of a more dynamic, globalized business world has led to the development of sophisticated methods for quantifying marketing success.Organized into eleven focused sections, this reliable resource offers an effective approach to making a complex topic understandable. Written for both marketing managers accountable for growth-driven activities that must yield measurable results as well as senior executives who need a firm understanding of marketing's impact on a business or product line, this informative guide puts more than 110 key metrics in perspective.Along the way, you'll be introduced to a variety of important analytical tools, from brand, customer, and sales metrics to advertising, price, and distributions metrics. And with the addition of new examples and metrics--including significant updates to the online/digital/social area-- Measuring Marketing, Third Edition will put you in a better position to excel at this difficult endeavor.
Predictive Marketing: Easy Ways Every Marketer Can Use Customer Analytics and Big Data by
"Make personalized marketing a reality with this practical guide to predictive analytics Predictive Marketing is a predictive analytics primer for organizations large and small, offering practical tips and actionable strategies for implementing more personalized marketing immediately. The marketing paradigm is changing, and this book provides a blueprint for navigating the transition from creative- to data-driven marketing, from one-size-fits-all to one-on-one, and from marketing campaigns to real-time customer experiences. You'll learn how to use machine-learning technologies to improve customer acquisition and customer growth, and how to identify and re-engage at-risk or lapsed customers by implementing an easy, automated approach to predictive analytics. Much more than just theory and testament to the power of personalized marketing, this book focuses on action, helping you understand and actually begin using this revolutionary approach to the customer experience. Predictive analytics can finally make personalized marketing a reality. For the first time, predictive marketing is accessible to all marketers, not just those at large corporations -- in fact, many smaller organizations are leapfrogging their larger counterparts with innovative programs. This book shows you how to bring predictive analytics to your organization, with actionable guidance that get you started today. Implement predictive marketing at any size organization Deliver a more personalized marketing experience Automate predictive analytics with machine learning technology Base marketing decisions on concrete data rather than unproven ideas Marketers have long been talking about delivering personalized experiences across channels. All marketers want to deliver happiness, but most still employ a one-size-fits-all approach. Predictive Marketing provides the information and insight you need to lift your organization out of the campaign rut and into the rarefied atmosphere of a truly personalized customer experience"-- Provided by publisher.