International Business Research: Strategies and Resources by
In the 21st century, most businesses participate in globalization, whether by entering new markets worldwide or dealing with competitors from around the world. In addition, the Internet and the accelerated evolution of related tools such as social media provide businesses, as well as individuals, the means to participate globally at an increasing pace. In order to identify profitable business opportunities and to recognize potential obstacles, one must have a complete picture of the global business environment. The Web and other Internet tools also give both new and traditional producers of information additional ways to deliver content to the end user, including interactive, web-based databases, digital files, or twitter updates—to name a few.Taking these trends into consideration, International Business Research: Strategies and Resources provides the basic tools that are useful for doing international business research. Following an introduction that outlines the foundation for international business activity— money, the international monetary system, and financial markets—subsequent chapters address: essential information such as sources, organizations, and websites that list resources for specific regions and countries; how to find international company information and financial data; the major classification schemes used to find relevant industry data, including import/export statistics; and international market and industry research. Each chapter of International Business Research includes research recommendations based upon the authors'practical experiences and discusses the sources available to meet research needs, making this a valuable tool for anyone involved in the business world, particularly business school librarians, business students, and business professionals.
The Oxford Handbook of International Business Strategy by
The present volume discusses the progress made in progress made in the theory and practice of international business (IB) strategy in the last few decades. The book captures the differences in motivations and decision-making processes between smaller and larger firms, private, family and state-owned, emerging or developed market multinational enterprises (MNEs). The book highlights how the increasingly uncertain conditions in the IB environment demand superior firm-level capabilities for MNEs to achieve and maintain long-run competitive advantages. We elaborate on the links between international strategy and the social responsibilities of the firm in its, often differing, host market contexts, including the deployment of effective and ethical human resource practices in international markets. Most importantly perhaps, this handbook lays out how the classic principles of international competitive strategy are transformed in today’s markets, in great part due to digitalization, and provides suggestions about how MNEs can develop IB strategies to respond to these transformations. The implications of such discussions for IB strategy and practice are becoming ever more profound and will likely influence the next generation of IB scholars and practitioners
The World's Business Cultures by
The latest edition of World Business Cultures – A Handbook shows readers how to create connections and win deals in global business, rather than committing clumsy and costly faux pas. It shows the reader how to assess and understand the business customs and thinking of other countries and customs, and how to mould your approach to achieve rapport and trust.
The Concepts of International Business by
The Business Reference Guide series is designed to provide a solid foundation for the research of various business topics. This volume offers an introduction to the financial, legal, and practical factors that influence international business. The essays start off by providing an overview of international business organization and management, and they then turn to the general review of multinational financing and marketing strategies.
Foundations of Global Business by
In the past three decades a number of important changes have made international business more complex and exciting. The rapid and continuous changes in information and communications technology (ITC), reduced trade barriers among countries, and regionalization have increased the links and dependency among firms from various countries. This has created opportunities for increasing expansion to new markets and increasing global integration while simultaneously posing many challenges. This book views international business as a complex and integrated system and takes a systems approach to study and analyze the changes thus enabling readers to assess global business opportunities and risk in a comprehensive and integral manner. The topics presented in this book allow practitioners, scholars, and students of international business to have a broad understanding of the most relevant issues in a changing international environment.
Global Business by
In the wake of the Brexit vote and the election of Donald Trump, globalization has found itself increasingly under the microscope. An active international discussion is underway, and the ideological viewpoint that the reversal of globalization and a return to protectionism and isolation will cure the world's ills is touted by many. In the midst of the growing prominence of international interconnectivity and contradicting attention attained by skewed misinformation about global impact, Global Business is a straightforward commentary on mega trends in globalization. With insights and observations from academics, practitioners, and practical thinkers from around the world, Global Business demystifies the economic, social, and cultural impacts of globalism and globalization, and presents a balanced explanation of what is happening and how it affects everyone. It highlights that technology and change are not new, and explores the path taken to reach our current interconnected global state. It encourages a realistic examination of where we are and invites a dialogue on where we can go together. -- From dust jacket.
Globalization East and West by
Do we confuse globalization for Americanization? What are the distinctive elements in the interplay of the local and the global?This much needed book is the first full length text to examine globalization from the perspective of both the West and the East. It considers globalization as a general social and economic process, and the challenges it presents for Western social science. The meaning of a global perspective is explored through various concrete examples: religion, migration, medicine, terrorism, global disasters, citizenship, multiculturalism, media and popular culture. Introduced with a forward from Roland Robertson the book is brimming with novel interpretations and fresh insights that will contribute to illuminating the practical realities of globalization.
The Growth of Global Business (RLE International Business) by
In this book leading contributors look at the development of the evolutionary approach to international business, the internationalization of service industries and the implications of the changing face of Europe for international business in the 1990s. Providing an excellent blend of theory, analysis and case-study material, this volume is a vital resource for students of international business and related fields.
International and Cross-Cultural Business Research by
Successfully combining cross-cultural management and business research methods, this team of international authors provide much-needed coverage of the implications that should be considered when undertaking research across different cultures. Through the implementation of methodological pluralism, International and Cross-Cultural Business Research investigates the various cultural influences that affect business theories and practices across the world, particularly the specific management styles, behavioral standards, and consumer attitudes that exist in developing nations. Examples and theoretical understanding as well as vignettes, diagrams and figures are used to illustrate these key considerations, including: • Language and the role of the dominant culture • Design and implementation • Methodological issues • Strategies for improving its relevance within international business. Ideal for students, researchers, and practitioners looking to do business research in an international or cross-cultural context.
International Business by
The new and updated edition of this widely used text is equally useful for undergraduate and graduate students of international business. Its student-friendly format, detailed coverage of classic and timely topics, and extensive use of case studies make it widely adaptable for different level courses, as well as for educators who prefer either a case study or lecture approach. This edition features new coverage of the Asian financial crisis and the European Union. Its treatment of such topics as foreign exchange, international trade policy, and economic development introduces students to techniques for analysing national economies that are not covered in many competing texts. Ethical and environmental issues are also covered in detail, and all case studies, tables, and figures have been thoroughly revised and updated.Each chapter includes a short case study, while longer, more complex case studies conclude the text. Each chapter also features learning objectives, discussion questions, and references. An online instructor's guide that includes PowerPoints with end-of-chapter answers and maps is available to instructors who adopt the text.
International Business by
In our global economy and marketplace, it is more critical than ever to understand the dynamics of international business, and our 3-panel (6-page) guide is jam-packed with valuable information for both students and businesspeople. Theories and their proponents, principles and concepts all are explained and complemented by eye-catching graphics.
International Business Basics by
Importing, exporting, buying or selling parts and services businesses of all kinds, including start-ups and small businesses, are becoming more active outside their home countries--often by necessity.If you want to take your business global, you must do your homework, get advice, make connections, and be aware--and wary--of the risks you face. Every element in your original business plan will need to be reconsidered as you target international markets."International Business Basics," the sixth title in the best-selling Crash Course for Entrepreneurs series, gives you the vital information and insights you need to:Learn about cultural issuesSuccessfully enter new marketsEnsure you get paid and are protectedMake the most of support from trade and governmental agenciesSecure fundingDeal with real estate and logisticsCapitalize on immigration trendsManage at a distanceOpen your mind to being flexible, creative, and resourceful in the face of sometimes puzzling and ever-changing challengesLearn from the successes and mistakes of these serial entrepreneurs who have real-world experience in many diverse countries and business sectors. "International Business Basics" will reduce your learning curve and help you succeed, even in your first stages"
International Business in the Information and Digital Age by
This volume is dedicated to Lorraine Eden for her lifetime contributions to IB scholarship. Her research, spanning several decades, has addressed many interdisciplinary and societal themes at the heart of the IB field. The story of her intellectual journey -- strongly influenced by the coming of age of the fourth industrial revolution -- is shared in the opening chapter of this volume. This thirteenth volume in the PIBR series covers an increasingly important area of research for International Business (IB) scholars: the role of multinational enterprises (MNEs) in the digital and information age. A limited number of MNEs now dominate the landscape of the digital age, but almost all internationally operating firms are being affected by prevailing trends. How to take stock of these trends? How to develop resilient international business models? How to regulate? The digital age presents new opportunities but also major challenges for established and emerging MNEs alike. This volume brings together papers from leading IB scholars and from academics in adjacent disciplines such as economic geography, international relations and political science, strategic management, and technology studies. Four dimensions of the information and digital age are analyzed using an IB angle: Trends and theories in the information age Entrepreneurial strategies in the information age Functional strategies in the information age Industry 4.0
International Entrepreneurship by
International Entrepreneurship makes the readers about the concept of international entrepreneurship and makes them about the various business studies on international businesses and their evolution and the approaches adopted in them. This book also discusses about strategic entrepreneurship and its contribution to international businesses, development of a global plan, business opportunities in the international market and the indicators of the foreign market, global monetary system and capacity development and growth in the international entrepreneurship firms. It provides the readers with the basics of the information they need to initiate an international entrepreneurship plan and informs them about the various aspects related to international entrepreneurship.
Issues in Global Business by
Issues in Global Business is a single-volume reference that offers relevant perspectives and explains impacts of current events such as COVID-19, Brexit, and immigration across industries and regions. Topics covered include the on-demand economy, global manufacturing, Bitcoin, data security, and more. Coupled with a comprehensive overview of the business landscape around the world by Dr. Mamoun Benmamoun, an assistant professor at the Boeing Institute of International Business at Saint Louis University, this book provides students with the essential information they need to assess business practices through an international lens.
Paradoxes of Culture and Globalization by
What is a paradox? Why are cross-cultural paradoxes essential for understanding the changes that are occurring because of globalization? Encompassing a wide variety of areas including leadership, cross-cultural negotiations, immigration, religion, economic development, and business strategy, Paradoxes of Culture and Globalization develops cross-cultural paradoxes essential for understanding globalization.
The SAGE Handbook of Contemporary Cross-Cultural Management by
This Handbook presents a comprehensive and contemporary compendium of the field of cross-cultural management (CCM). In recognition of current trends regarding migration, political ethnocentrisms and increasing nationalism, the chapters in this volume not only cover the traditional domains of CCM such as expatriation, global (virtual) teamwork and leadership, but also examine emerging topics such as bi/multi-culturalism, migration, religion and more, all considered from a global perspective. The result is a Handbook that acknowledges and builds on a variety of research traditions (from mainstream to critical), updates existing knowledge in relation to current challenges, and sets the direction for future research and developments, making this an invaluable resource for researchers in the field, and across related areas of international business, management, and intercultural relations. Part 1: Multiple Research Paradigms for the Study of Culture; Part 2: Research Methods in Cross-Cultural Management; Part 3: Cross-Cultural Management and Intersecting Fields of Study; Part 4: Individuals and Teams in Cross-Cultural Management; Part 5: Global mobility and Cross-Cultural Management; Part 6: Developing Intercultural Competence.
Small World, Big Market by
Small World, Big Market: Global Business provides an overview of the development of international business with special emphasis on oil production, an essential part of economic development. The book focuses on major trade patterns, including the Silk Road that connected China with Europe beginning at the turn of the millennium; the Chinese Tribute Trade that connected China to Southeast Asia, Africa, and the Mideast beginning in the thirteenth century; the spice trade between Southeast Asia and India by the early fifteenth century; and European-dominated world trade. This volume examines gold and silver trade from the Americas to Europe in the sixteenth century, and also covers the development of the Americas, together with existing African slave trade throughout Eurasia, giving rise to the expansion of African slave. Budd Hebert also discusses common principles and personal character tools for bringing together diverse cultures to facilitate international business. Small World, Big Market culminates by highlighting selected trends that impact international business.
Globalization by
Globalization is designed to facilitate a better appreciation of the forces operating in the international business/economic environment as well as the critical economic and institutional variables in many of the most important national players in the environment. The book provides the crucial insights into the extensive literature on the politics of the global economic system without being boring, non-stimulating or unnecessarily cumbersome. The arguments are carefully rendered to assist corporate and international economic and business players alike in deepening their appreciation of the critical and perhaps inevitable process of the roll-back of the sovereign State and its substitution with a new global order driven by market mechanism — seemingly contrary currents and trends from the global response to extant financial crises notwithstanding. More importantly, Globalization facilitates a better understanding of where all the critical situational forces in the international business environment are headed in the years to come, thus making it an appropriate companion for both policy and business practitioners alike.
Uberpreneurs by
Exploring the lives and achievements of 36 extraordinary individuals from across 18 nations and every continent, this books champions innovators: the disruptive individuals whose heroic visions and indomitable spirits are redefining the economic and social structure of our world.
Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands: The bestselling guide to doing business in more than 60 countries by 
Africa's World Trade by
Are Africa's world markets really contributing to development across the continent for individuals, nations and regions? This is the key question posed by Margaret Lee in this provocative book, in which she argues that all too often the voices of African traders are obscured amid a blizzard of statistical analysis. However, it is these very voices - from those operating on the ground as formal or informal traders - that must be listened to in order to form a true understanding of the impact trade regimes have on these individuals and their communities. Featuring a wealth of oral histories from across sub-Saharan Africa and beyond, including Africans in China, Africa's World Trade offers a unique insight into how the complexity of international trade agreements can shape the everyday lives of ordinary Africans.
Chinese Way in Business by
This book is a comprehensive, expert guide to doing business in ChinaWestern technology, management expertise and capital have fueled an incredible expansion of China's economy. Trade with China is at an all-time high, and so are the numbers of Westerners traveling to China for business. Business from China has also picked up as Chinese firms look to expand abroad. Understanding the ins and outs of the confusing and often contradictory Chinese business culture can lend an enormous advantage. The Chinese Way in Business is an invaluable tool that teaches Westerners the basic Chinese philosophy of doing business and how to cultivate strong personal relationships with Chinese business people and Chinese nationals.The author, Boye Lafayette De Mente worked in Asia for over thirty years as a journalist and business consultant and has long been considered an authority on East Asian business. In this book, he reveals the historical factors, collective traits and individual qualities that determine how the Chinese do business today, and the direction their economy will take in the future. His is a true insider's view—whether the topic is the legal framework for business development, or the importance of social relationships to successful business dealings in China.
Doing Business in Russia by
Russia is a major economy and important power in the global political-economic landscape. Following the dissolution of the USSR, Russia has become a premier global marketplace despite remaining enigmatic and challenging. The book serves as a concise guide in understanding Russia from an international business perspective. It explores strategic issues, drivers, constraints, costs, and risks of international expansion and includes analytical tools, practical applications, sources of information, and assistance in international business research. These are supplemented by analysis of Russia's macro-economic profile, drivers, strategic strengths and weaknesses in the comparative context, including its international market attractiveness and opportunities for U.S. companies. The book examines Russia's main industries, their profiles, trends and business attractiveness, trends, and marketing strategies. The discussion of Russia's regions covers regional subdivisions and economic profiles with the focus on Moscow, the leading economic region. The book also covers the drivers and trends of the Russian small business sector and entrepreneurial business venturing. Despite the onslaught of capitalism, Russia retains its relationship-driven culture. The book provides insights by evaluating the determinants of Russian culture, its national profile in major global cross-cultural studies, and practical cultural applications in business, negotiations, and communications. The book's pedagogy includes skill development exercises and cases on doing business in Russia.
Ethnic Chinese Business in Asia by
"Provides a broad introduction to the ethnic Chinese business in Asia, with focus on the ethnic Chinese in East and Southeast Asia. The growing interest in ethnic Chinese business reflects its importance in these two regional economies, and its relations with China's economy--the world's new economic powerhouse. It examines the nature and characteristics of the ethnic Chinese business, such as business networks, family business and conglomerates, concepts of xinyong and guanxi, and entrepreneurship and management. It also examines the input of history and culture in the formation and operation of ethnic Chinese business. The second half of the book is devoted to detailed regional studies, covering the Chinese in Thailand, Malaysia and Singapore, Indonesia, the Philippines, Hong Kong and Taiwan"-- Provided by publisher.
Trouble in the Middle by
This book will help readers better understand the ethical and cultural assumptions that both American and Chinese business cultures bring to business relationships in China. It analyzes the relationships developed between the two cultures, areas where they conflict, and how these conflicts are (or are not) resolved. These relationships are investigated in three stages. The author: describes and interprets American business experience in China describes and interprets Chinese business experience in China, including interaction with Americans compares these two business cultures as they are experienced in China to investigate the relationships between them, centering the cultural analysis on ethical issues. Feldman's thorough research gets to the crux of how American and Chinese executives perceive the ethical and cultural aspects of doing business. The result is a book that will prove helpful to all those looking to expertly navigate Chinese-American business relationships.
China's Disruptors by
"Over the past two decades, an unprecedented burst of entrepreneurialism has transformed China's economy from a closed, impoverished, state-run system into a major power in global business. As products in China become more and more sophisticated, and as its companies embrace domestically developed technology, we will increasingly see Chinese goods setting global standards. Meanwhile, companies in the rest of the world wonder how they can access the fast-rising incomes of China's 1.3 billion consumers. Now Edward Tse, a leading global strategy consultant, reveals how China got to this point, and what the country's rise means for the United States and the rest of the world"-- provided by publisher.
Chinese Rules by
In the twenty-first century, the world has tilted eastwards in its orbit; China grows confident while the West seems mired in doubt. Having lived and worked in China for more than two decades, Tim Clissold explains the secrets that Westerners can use to navigate through its cultural and political maze. Picking up where he left off in the international bestseller Mr. China, Chinese Rules chronicles his most recent exploits, with assorted Chinese bureaucrats, factory owners, and local characters building a climate change business in China. Of course, all does not go as planned as he finds himself caught between the world's largest carbon emitter and the world's richest man. Clissold offers entertaining and enlightening anecdotes of the absurdities, gaffes, and mysteries he encountered along the way. Sprinkled amid surreal scenes of cultural confusion and near misses, are smart myth-busting insights and practical lessons Westerns can use to succeed in China. Exploring key episodes in that nation's long political, military, and cultural history, Clissold outlines five Chinese Rules, which anyone can deploy in on-the-ground situations with modern Chinese counterparts. These Chinese rules will enable foreigners not only to cooperate with China but also to compete with it on its own terms.
Guide to Country Risk by
"A systematic approach to identifying, managing and mitigating country risks, backed up by case studies."--Page 4 of cover.
A Short Course in International Business Culture by
A Short Course in International Business Culture describes how to develop international cultural awareness and avoid cultural faux pas
A Short Course in International Business Ethics by
A Short Course in International Business EthicsMaking money and maintaining business ethics in international trade can be a challenge. Especially in countries where corrupt officials, bribes, payoffs, baksheesh and the mordida are commonplace. Cultural questions intensify the challenge. Am I being asked for a bribe or facilitation payment?'This book identifies the key ethical issues and gives the reader practical tools to use in everyday situations.
A Short Course in International Economics by
Understanding the Dynamics of the Global Marketplace As barriers to trade have fallen, world commerce has soared, and along with it an interest in understanding the principles of international economics. This book provides readers with the key concepts, including: balance of trade, foreign exchange, currency valuation, free trade, protectionism, foreign investment, barriers to trade, and different economic systems.
Short Course In International Marketing Blunders by
A Short Course in International Marketing Blunders is a series of short case studies describing marketing mistakes made by companies who should have known better. As a counterpoint to exclusively studying'the correct way'or only following the patterns of successful companies, this book gives the reader the opportunity to learn and profit from the mistakes of others.
A Short Course in International Negotiating by 
A Short Course in International Trade Documentation by
A Short Course in International Trade DocumentationDocuments, like payments, are at the very heart of all international transactions. This book describes the documentation requirements and procedures for exporting, importing, shipping, and banking. It also includes a glossary, sample documents, document checklists and an index of document requirements for the 50 trading nations of the world.