Body Knowledge and Control by
Today's society is obsessed with the body, its size, shape and healthiness. Governments, business and the popular media, spend and earn fortunes encouraging populations to get healthy, eat properly, exercise daily and get thin. But how are current social trends and attitudes towards the body reflected in the curriculum of schools, in the teaching of Physical Education and Health? How do teachers and health professionals influence young people's experiences of their own and others'bodies? Is health education liberating or merely another form of regulation and social control? Drawing together some of the latest research on the body and schooling, Body Knowledge and Control offers a sharp and challenging critique of (post) modern-day attitudes toward obesity, health, childhood and the mainstream science and business interests that promote narrow body-centered ways of thinking.
Encyclopedia of Lifestyle Medicine and Health by
The Encyclopedia of Lifestyle Medicine and Health offers thorough coverage of relevant topics and issues in historical and contemporary context, with information on lifestyle habits and practices and their impact on health. These volumes sort out the science behind nightly news reports and magazine cover stories, helping the reader to discern sound, evidence-based advice from that which is merely fad. The volumes convey the latest research on lifestyle medicine, incorporating content from such areas as health psychology, communication, public policy and health promotion, and disease prevention, among others. Readers are empowered to lead and promote healthier lifestyles after perusing the hundreds of signed, authoritative entries written by leading experts in their respective fields. Accompanying bibliographies and suggested readings provide guidance toward more in-depth resources. This comprehensive reference resource is written accessibly, making it useful for a broad audience, including students and academics in the fields of health, physical education, biology, medicine, nursing and allied health, physical therapy, nutrition, public health, and health communication, as well as for lay readers interested in learning how to lead a healthier lifestyle.
Encyclopedia of Sports and Athletics by
This new book presents and discusses current research in the study of sports and athletics. Topics discussed include the anti-inflammatory effects of exercise; the role of physical exercise in Parkinson's disease; the health benefits of aerobic activity and physical fitness in young people; physiological evaluation of athletic performance in cyclic sports; social and environmental influences on athlete motivation in sports; self-talk in sports; mental toughness; the role of physical activity in the treatment and prevention of anxiety and depression in children and being superstitious in sports.
Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine by
With an ever-growing variety of sports and exercise opportunities open to people of all ages, classes, and races, participation in casual sports has blossomed in recent decades, while interest in collegiate and professional sports has continued to soar. The field of sports medicine is thriving in response to the demand for health care professionals to care for people involved in vigorous exercise. Now more than ever, it is imperative that doctors, physical therapists, surgeons, nurses, and alternative medicine practitioners understand and are able to treat effectively the types of conditions stemming from all types of physical activity, ranging from pleasure walking to professional football. Presenting state-of-the-art research and evidence-based applications, this four-volume resource provides the most comprehensive and accessible information available on sports medicine. The Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine describes all aspects of the field with perspectives, concepts, and methods from the medical, behavioral, and social sciences and physical education.Key Features· Includes contributions from preeminent healthcare professionals who are renowned experts · Presents a broad spectrum of entries covering a variety of key topics, a glossary, and two appendices· Contains more than 550 tables and images, including anatomical drawings, X-rays, and MRI scans· Illustrates selected diagnostic and treatment techniques step-by-step with more than 200 photographs·
First Aid: Aches and Pains by
Instead of scouring the Internet for ways in which to treat nagging aches and pains, let our comprehensive, three-panel guide be your one-stop resource. Several types of pains are discussed, based on location in the body, along with helpful methods to treat and prevent each one, including instances when you should seek the care of a physician. Our handy format allows you to access treatment information quickly, when you need it most, and also includes tables featuring symptoms and medication comparisons for easy reference.
Issues in Physical Education by
Issues in Physical Education stimulates student-teachers, NQTs and practising physical education teachers to reflect on issues important to improving teaching in physical education. It encourages reflection and debate as an important part of professional development. Issues discussed include: aims as an issue in physical education breadth, balance and assessment in the physical education curriculum equality and the inclusion of pupils with special needs in physical education progression and continuity in physical education between primary and secondary schools community initiatives in physical education physical education, health and life-long participation in physical activity.
Sociocultural Issues in Physical Education by
Sociocultural Issues in Physical Education: Case Studies for Teachers is useful to a wide range of individuals interested in increasing their sociocultural awareness and knowledge in order to consider how students'experiences are shaped in and through physical education classes. This book may be especially useful to teacher candidates and as a professional development tool.What happens in physical activity learning spaces is of great significance to the learners that occupy those spaces. Broadly speaking, one cannot deny that education is rife with error, nor can one ignore the presence of global-level issues in physical education. Using a case study approach, this book addresses social and cultural issues that can and do arise in physical education.This book offers a tool for studying and better understanding how social and cultural issues impact student learning in physical education. Chapter authors point toward possibilities for better understanding sociocultural issues in physical education settings.
Adolescence and Body Image by
Summary: "Body image is a significant issue for the majority of adolescents. Anxieties relating to body image can be crippling across both genders, their debilitating effects sometimes leading to mental health problems. This important book is the first of its kind to focus specifically on adolescents, providing a comprehensive overview of the biological, psychological and socio-cultural factors relating to the development of body image. It also provides a detailed review of the measures which can be taken to address body dissatisfaction. Discussing the role of culture, family, peers, schools, sport and media in stimulating a negative body image, the book also examines the different challenges faced by girls and boys as they grow. Eating disorders and body change strategies are also addressed, as well as the challenges faced by youngsters affected by conditions causing visible differences, such as hair loss in cancer patients.The book also presents original research, including the results from a large Australian study of the body image and associated health behaviours of adolescent boys, and the results of a study of current teaching practices relating to body image. Adolescence and Body Image will be ideal reading for students and researchers from a variety of fields, including developmental, health, and social psychology, sociology, and cultural and health studies. Professionals working with young people, whether in education, health promotion or any other allied discipline will also find this book an invaluable resource." -- Publisher's description.
Education, Disordered Eating and Obesity Discourse by
Eating less, exercising more and losing weight seem the obvious solution for the oncoming 'obesity epidemic'. Rarely, however, is thought given to how these messages are interpreted and whether they are in fact inherently healthy. Education, Disordered Eating and Obesity Discourse investigates how 'body centred talk' about weight, fat, food and exercise is recycled in schools, enters educational processes, and impacts on the identities and health of young people. Drawing on the experiences of young women who have developed eating disorders and research on international school curricula and the media, the authors challenge the veracity, substance and merits of contemporary 'obesity discourse'. By concentrating on previously unexplored aspects of the debate around weight and health, it is revealed how well-meaning advice can propel some children toward behaviour that seriously damages their health. This book is not only about 'eating disorders' and the people affected, but the effects of obesity discourse on everyone’s health as it enters public policy, educational practice and the cultural fabric of our lives. It will interest students, teachers, doctors, health professionals and researchers concerned with obesity and weight issues.
