LibGuides: Citing Sources: MLA

MLA

MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities.

The MLA 8th edition was designed to simplify the process, and help writers accurately and intuitively cite their sources more easily. Each source type follows the same format. Books, websites, periodicals, videos, photographs, etc., now use the same standard format.

Each citation is made up of "core elements" from the source which are place in a standard order.

The "Core Elements" and their corresponding punctuation marks, include the following in this order:

1. Authors.
2. Title of the source.
3. Title of container,
4. Other contributors,
5. Version,
6. Numbers,
7. Publisher,
8. Publication date,
9. Location.

Resources

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language; The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: LB 2369 .M52 2021
ISBN: 9781603295628
Publication Date: 2021
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published in a dizzying range of formats. For example, a book may be read in print, online, or as an e-book, or perhaps listened to in an audio-version. On the web modes of publication are regularly invented, combined and modified. In previous editions of the MLA Handbook provided separate instructions for every format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this new edition, MLA recommends one universal set of guidelines that writers can apply to any type of source. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.

MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
MLA Handbook Plus includes the full text of the ninth edition of the handbook, the second edition of the MLA Guide to Digital Literacy, and the MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature, as well as a video course that teaches the principles of MLA documentation style through a series of short videos paired with quizzes, plus a final assessment.

EasyBib - MLA Guide
This guide serves as a one-stop shop for everything you need to know about creating an authentic MLA works cited page.
Bibme - MLA Guide
Your ultimate MLA format guide and generator.
The MLA Style Center
Writing resources from the Modern Language Association
MLA OWL at Purdue
One of the most helpful citations websites available.

Video: MLA 8th Edition Citation Style
This video to provides an overview of the MLA 8th edition citation style, including an explanation of the “container” concept and an overview of using the citation style for popular source types such as books, websites, and journal articles.
Tutorial: MLA 8th Edition Citation Style
This tutorial to provides an overview of the MLA 8th Edition citation style, including both in-text citation format and works cited format. Tutorial provides an explanation and examples of different sources using the container concept introduced in MLA 8, and also includes several “check your understanding” questions with drag and drop exercises where you can format citations of different source types properly.
Quiz: MLA 8th Edition Citations This quiz corresponds with the MLA video and tutorial.
Video: MLA 9th Edition Citation Style
This video will introduce you to the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style. For in-depth guidance and practice, see the related tutorial, MLA 9th Edition Citation Style.
Tutorial: MLA 9th Edition Citation Style
In this tutorial, we will explore how to cite sources using the 9th edition of the Modern Language Association (MLA) style. MLA style commonly is used in the liberal arts and humanities.
Quiz: MLA 9th Edition Citations