Health and Fitness: Health Professions and Disciplines

Medical specialty dealing with anesthesia and related matters, including resuscitation and pain.

From the Reader's Guide to the History of Science

Cardiology is now held to be the study of the heart and its diseases, although the field is at times taken also to encompass the study of blood vessels and their diseases.

From the Columbia Encyclopedia

Branch of medicine concerned with diagnosis and treatment of diseases and disorders of the skin. Dermatologists also study the structure and function of the skin, and the relationship between skin pathologies and malfunctions of other organs of the body

From the Britannica Concise Encyclopedia

Medical discipline dealing with regulation of body functions by hormones and other biochemicals and treatment of endocrine system imbalances.

The branch of medicine concerned with the care of the elderly, and with the diagnosis and treatment of diseases and disorders associated with aging.

From the Encyclopedia of 20th Century Technology

Study of the morphology, physiology, and pathology of the human nervous system. Since the brain, spine, and eye are integral part of the nervous system, the domain of neurology overlaps that of psychiatry, orthopedics and ophthalmology.

From the Columbia Encyclopedia

Branch of medicine concerned with the treatment of women during pregnancy, labor, childbirth (see birth), and the time after childbirth. Obstetrics is often combined with gynecology as a medical specialty.

Branch of medicine specializing in the anatomy, function and diseases of the eye. Ophthalmologists specialize in the medical and surgical treatment of eye disorders, vision measurements for glasses (refraction), eye muscle exercises (orthoptics), and the prevention of blindness and care of the blind.

Medical specialty concerned with the correction of disease or damage in bones and joints.

From the Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development

Medical specialty dealing with the development, health, and diseases of children.

Branch of medicine that concerns the diagnosis and treatment of mental, emotional, and behavioral disorders, including major depression, schizophrenia, and anxiety.

Science of providing continuous care for sick or infirm people. MORE

The science and art of treating and preventing disease. MORE

The treatment and prevention of diseases of the mouth and teeth; with medicine and nursing, one of the major health professions.

State of dependence caused by frequent and regular use of drugs, alcohol, or other substances. MORE

Branch of biology concerned with the study of body structure of various organisms, including humans. MORE

The application of genetic engineering techniques to alter or replace a defective gene or genes. The procedures are still at the experimental stage, but it is hoped that they could lead to the prevention of hereditary diseases such as haemophilia. MORE

Well-being and soundness of mind, not only in terms of intellectual abilities, but also in terms of the capability to deal with everyday problems, and the capacity to get on well with other people and to form and sustain relationships. MORE

Study of the materials that nourish an organism and of the manner in which the separate components are used for maintenance, repair, growth, and reproduction. MORE

A branch of medical science which studies the actions, uses, and undesirable side-effects of drugs.

From Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions

A (female) person who assists women in childbirth. Practice may also include well-child care, family planning, and some aspects of gynecology, is often an important source of health counseling in the community.

From Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions

A registered nurse who has advanced education in nursing (a master’s of science in nursing) and clinical experience in a specialized area of nursing practice. They collaborate with other health care providers to deliver primary care to patients.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia

Health-care professional who provides patient services ranging from taking medical histories and doing physical examinations to performing minor surgical procedures

Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions

A nurse who has graduated from an accredited school of nursing and has been registered and licensed to practice by a state authority.