Accessing Outside Sources
Along with the resources available through the Masland library, Many museums, universities, and archives have access to primary source documents to explore. Feel free to explore the rich resources available through the web.
Harvard has compiled a collection of sites, available here: Online Primary Source Collections for the History of Science. Please note that the Masland Library is not responsible for the content on these sites and may not be able to assist with access.
Below are a few select sites relevant to classes at Cairn University
No search for primary-source materials is complete without a visit to the Library of Congress's Digital Collections. This vast collection can be searched by keyword or browsed by topic, time period, or media type, which includes manuscripts, maps, motion pictures, photographs, video recordings, and more.
Explore a map and timeline of the Library of Congress's Chronicling America Newspapers collection.
NARA offers one of the richest repositories for U.S. history, but only a relatively small portion of the collection is available online.
The Archival Facility for NARA's Mid-Atlantic Region is located in Center City, Philadelphia.
"The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science."
The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts, presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout), for educational use. Offers a broad view of the sources that should be available to students, as well as documents long associated with a "western civilization" approach to history, and provides much information on Byzantine, Islamic, Jewish, Indian, East Asian, and African history.