LibGuides: History & Historical Research: Find Primary Sources

Multiple Primary Sources Databases

The databases listed below provide access to numerous primary source collections. However, primary sources can be found in many places; feel free to explore A-Z Databases: Historical/Primary Sources.

AM Explorer
Through AM Explorer, search millions of pages of primary sources spanning the 15th – 21st centuries. Includes resources spanning the social sciences and humanities, developed in collaboration with leading libraries and archives.
ATLA Historical Monographs, Series 1 (1300s to 1893)
Series 1 contains over five million pages of content, and consists of titles from the 13th century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions with the majority of titles from the 19th century. Since religion was such an integral part of the social, political and economic fabric of life during the time period of this collection, historians researching a wide range of areas, not just religion, will find invaluable material relevant to their work.
ATLA Historical Monographs, Series 2 (1894-1923)
Series 2 consists of titles published from 1894 through 1923. This collection offers material on the significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans and the growing interest and experimentation with non-Western religions. It presents a comprehensive picture of American life at the time.
British History Online
British History Online is a not-for-profit digital library based at the Institute of Historical Research. It brings together material for British history from the collections of libraries, archives, museums and academics. These primary and secondary sources, which range from medieval to twentieth century, are easily searchable and browsable online.
Gale Primary Sources
This cross-search interface brings together the power of Gale's topic finder with millions of pages of content spanning many centuries and geographic regions. Explore a wide range of content including monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, maps, and more through Cairn's perpetual access to the following individual collections: American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, and Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-XV
JSTOR's archival journal collections include more than two thousand journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It ontains the entire runs, from the first volume up to the volumes published only a few years ago. Currently published titles have a "moving wall" of 3-5 years after which the current issues are added to JSTOR.

Need help...

Thinking through your topic?
Finding background research?
Accessing material?
Building your information literacy skills?

Schedule a Research Appointment

Request an in-person or virtual consultation with a librarian for an in-depth research appointment.

Writing Lab

The Writing Lab offers one-on-one help with academic writing and assignments.
The Writing Lab tutoring service is open to all undergraduate, graduate, and degree-completion students.

Lab Hours
Mon-Fri: 10 am-5 pm
Online appointments are available by appointment only.

CLICK HERE TO SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT

Find more information about the ARC here: https://cairn.edu/arc/

Primary sources

Primary sources provide first-hand information about an event or phenomenon. In contrast, secondary sources offer second-hand information and analysis, drawing from primary sources.

What is a Primary Source?

A historical document or artifact created during a particular period of time... primary sources provide researchers with information directly from the time period being studied (Crelin, 2024).

Primary sources are characterized by their content, regardless of the format available. (Handwritten notes could be published; the published book might be digitized or put on microfilm, but those notes are still primary sources in any format.).

Some types of primary sources:

Original documents (excerpts or translations acceptable): Diaries, speeches, manuscripts, letters, interviews, news film footage, contemporary* newspaper articles, autobiographies, official records, pamphlets, meeting notes, photographs, contemporary sketches
Creative works: Poetry, drama, novels, music, art
Relics or artifacts: Furniture, clothing, buildings

*In this context, Contemporary is referring to the time and place of the event.

Find Print and Online Primary Sources in the Library

Many primary-source documents have been reproduced in books commonly held in research libraries. You can use Library Search to find this material.

Enter your search terms and then select the Books & Media box.
Try adding keywords such as:
- Correspondence,
- Diaries,
- Interviews,
- Personal Narratives,
- Source Book
You can also filter for "Primary Source Documents" under Format
When you find a title of interest, such as personal narratives from the First World War, select the hyperlinked subjects in the item record to find additional titles.
- For example, the heading: World War, 1914-1918--Personal Narratives.

References:

Crelin, J. (2024). Primary source. Salem Press Encyclopedia.

Some Information in this guide is adapted from:

https://guides.library.harvard.edu/HistSciInfo/primary#s-lg-box-wrapper-7437024

https://guides.temple.edu/history