LibGuides: History: Journals

browse eJournals by subject

Images- ARTstor

ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and class activities. Explore the details of photos and art work with the built-in software tools, improve your projects with art and images specific to the content described.

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals, the database offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: biblical studies, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
American National Biography This link opens in a new window
The ANB offers portraits of more than 18,700 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation.
Artstor Digital Library This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of nearly two million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. The community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of all Cambridge history volumes (250+) published to date. Subject matter ranges widely across the humanities with a concentration on political and cultural history. Each volume includes authoritative narrative accounts by specialists and extensive bibliographies. The subject categories containing the most volumes are regional history, general history (with its chronological series) and literary studies, but there are also several series on the history of religion, philosophy and economic history. Content is displayed as page images and can be searched via metadata and full text.
Civil War: Antebellum Period to Reconstruction This link opens in a new window
The Civil War features more than 180 newspapers as well as approximately 50,000 government documents and 3,500 broadsides and pieces of ephemera. Newspapers include the Baltimore Sun, Charleston Mercury, Dallas Weekly Herald, Milwaukee Sentinel, National Intelligencer, New Orleans Times Picayune, New York Herald, New York Tribune, Philadelphia Inquirer and San Francisco Bulletin.

ebrary Academic Complete
ebrary contains more than 40,000 electronic books covering subjects such as Education, Fine Arts, History, Language and Literature, Music, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Political Science, Social Sciences, and others

U.S. History In Context This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-XV This link opens in a new window
JSTOR's archival journal collections include more than two thousand journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It ontains the entire runs, from the first volume up to the volumes published only a few years ago. Currently published titles have a "moving wall" of 3-5 years after which the current issues are added to JSTOR.

Project Muse
Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Sociology Source Ultimate (includes SocINDEX with FT) This link opens in a new window
A step up from SocINDEX with FT, Sociology Source Ultimate provides the must-have materials for students studying social behavior and interaction.
WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Offers records of any type of material (including print and electronic) cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century. Use WorldCat Discovery to submit InterLibrary Loan requests.