LibGuides: EdD : Find Articles

Scholarly Journal

A scholarly journal (also referred to as academic journals, scientific journals, or peer-reviewed journals) is a periodical that contains original research articles written by experts in a particular field of study. The articles are intended for reading by other experts or students in the field.

Scholarly journal articles

Cover very specific topics or narrow fields of research, allowing for a deep understanding of a subject area.

Find Journal Articles

Tips for searching the Library Collection

When searching for articles in the Masland Library catalog, here are a few strategies to start with:

If you are not sure of where to start, do a Keyword search for relevant terms
If you find a useful title, click on the Subject(s): to get a list of other books on the same topic
If you already have a relevant book or article in hand, use its bibliography to find other sources on the same topic
Use quotation marks if you want to search a phrase ("Search Terms")
Use * to truncate a word, e.g., america* will retrieve american and americans

Locating Articles

Below is a small selection of the databases to help you get started.

For a full list of education-related databases, check here: A-Z Databases: Education

Education Source
Provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education — from early childhood to higher education — as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

● Full text for more than 2,000 journals
● Indexing and abstracts for nearly 3,600 journals
● Full text for more than 530 books and monographs
● Full text for more than 2,300 education-related conference papers
● Citations for nearly 4 million articles, including book reviews
Coverage dating back to 1880
ERIC
Contains annotated references to educational materials issued in the monthly Resources in Education (RIE) and to journal articles issued in the monthly Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Includes FullText articles.
Educator's Reference Complete
Educator's Reference Complete provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing. The majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database.
Sage Premier
Sage Premier provides access to more than 1,200 online journals published by Sage. Find top research on a wide variety of subjects including Biblical/theological studies, business, counseling & psychology, criminal justice, education, social work, and many others. Now available: Cairn has access to the complete run of 769 Sage titles.
Emerald eJournal Premier Collection
eJournals Premier is the flagship collection from Emerald Publishing, encompassing over 300 high-quality, unique peer-reviewed journals across 13 subject collections. This ever-growing collection ensures researchers have access to cutting-edge global research across disciplines such as Business, Management, Education, Health and Social Care, Engineering, Tourism and Hospitality, and more.