Collaborative Dubliners: Joyce in Dialogue by 
Dubliners by
This collection of fifteen short stories by Irish author James Joyce examines how one's surroundings can shape and influence a person. Although initially considered too edgy for publication, Dubliners later became a classic as readers began to appreciate Joyce's realistic fiction. In each story, Joyce documents the daily lives and hardships of fictional Dublin citizens. Joyce's collection progresses from the struggles of childhood to the struggles of adulthood. This collection includes one of Joyce's most famous short stories,'The Dead,'which depicts the ways memories of the past can intrude upon the present. Joyce provides a glimpse into twentieth-century Irish culture and history in this unabridged short story collection, first published in 1914.
Literary Contexts in Short Stories: James Joyce's 'The Dead'.Twentieth century interpretations of Dubliners : a collection of critical essays by 
Bloom's How to Write about James Joyce by 
The Cambridge Introduction to James Joyce by
James Joyce has a reputation for being one of modern literature's most difficult writers. This introduction gives students the necessary tools they will need to get the most out of reading him. It provides the essential biographical information and situates his life and works in broader cultural, historical, and literary contexts. Students will also find detailed examinations of the major works including Ulysses and Finnegans Wake. In addition, Bulson lets students see how Joyce evolved as a writer. This introduction also provides a brief history of the critical reception of Joyce's life and works and explains what a variety of critical approaches can teach us. A guide to further reading has been included for those interested in consulting some of the more influential secondary works. This accessible and lively introduction gives students everything they will need to get started reading, understanding, and appreciating Joyce.
James Joyce by
Outstanding, in-depth scholarship by renowned literary critics; great starting point for students seeking an introduction to James Joyce and the critical discussions surrounding his works.
James Joyce: A Critical Guide by
James Joyce: A Critical Guide presents a full and comprehensive account of the major writing of the great modernist novelist James Joyce. Ranging right across Joyce's literary corpus from his earliest artistic beginnings to his mature prose masterpieces Ulysses and Finnegans Wake, the book provides detailed textual analysis of each of his major works. It also provides an extended discussion of the biographical, historical, political and social contexts that inform Joyce's writing and a wide-ranging discussion of the multiple strands of Joyce criticism that have established themselves over the last eighty years. The book's combination of sustained close reading of individual texts and critical breadth makes it an ideal companion for both undergraduate students and the wider community of Joyce's readers. Key Features:•An extended discussion of Joyce's life, times and historical milieu•Detailed close readings of each of Joyce's major literary works•A thorough critical introduction to the style, plot and characterisation of Finnegans Wake•A comprehensive guide to the critical reception of Joyce's work
James Joyce in Context by
This collection of original, cohesive and concise essays charts the vital contextual backgrounds to Joyce's life and writing. The volume begins with a chronology of Joyce's publishing history, an analysis of his various biographies and a study of his many published and unpublished letters. It goes on to examine how his works were received in the main twentieth-century critical and theoretical schools. Most importantly, it places Joyce within multiple Irish, British and European contexts, providing a lively sense of the varied and changing world in which he lived, which formed him, and from which he wrote. The essays collectively show how Joyce was rooted in his times, how he is both a product and a critic of his multiple contexts, and how important he remains to the world of literature, criticism and culture.
The Cambridge Companion to James Joyce by 
James Joyce: A Literary Companion by
"This literary companion guides readers through James Joyce's four major works--Dubliners, A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Ulysses and Finnegans Wake--with chapter-by-chapter discussions. An A to Z format covers the works, people, history and context that influenced his writing. Appendices summarize notable Joycean literary criticism and biography, and significant films"-- Provided by publisher.
A Reader's Guide to James Joyce by 
