British and Irish Dramatists Since 1960 by
Essays on British and Irish novelists discusses the combination of desperation and avant-gardism, bestsellers, masterpieces, competing technologies, hyper fiction, the future of the novel, recent changes in British publishing, and the increase in writings by celebrity authors.
British and Irish Dramatists Since World War II by
Embraces the work of writers working in theatrical traditions ranging from the classic well-made play to the most radical avant-garde pieces. This variety is indicative of the fact that this period is one of the most important in British drama, comparable to the late-Elizabethan/Jacobean and post-Restoration eras in terms of the quantity and quality of new work and surpassing both of them in the sheer variety of theatrical offerings.
British and Irish Dramatists since WWII by
Embraces the work of writers working in theatrical traditions ranging from the classic well-made play to the most radical avant-garde pieces. This variety is indicative of the fact that this period is one of the most important in British drama, comparable to the late-Elizabethan/Jacobean and post-Restoration eras in terms of the quantity and quality of new work and surpassing both of them in the sheer variety of theatrical offerings.
British and Irish Short-Fiction Writers, 1945-2000 by
Essays on British and Irish authors of short stories written between 1945 and 2000 that are traditional in subject matter and technique, and cover social, political and economic changes that occurred during this time. The Irish contribution to short fiction in English is second to none. Short fiction in languages other than English also plays a significant role in the postwar British and Irish literary world, including the use of the working-class Scottish dialect.
British Dramatists since World War II by
Contains biographical sketches of the most significant, and potentially most significant, playwrights of postwar Britain (including Ireland).
British Fantasy and Science-Fiction Writers, 1918-1960 by
Essays on British writers of fantasy and science fiction, including dark fantasy and supernatural horror. Includes lesser-known authors who made their own small but significant contributions to this field. Discusses the impact of pulp magazines and other new magazines that focused on subgenres such as romance fiction, adventure fiction, Western fiction, and eventually fantasy and science fiction, and utopian literature, a predecessor and close cousin of science fiction.
British Mystery and Thriller Writers since 1940 by
Essays on British writers of detective novels, thrillers, suspense and crime novels, including psychological thrillers and spy stories. Discusses the backlash against the previously restrictive format that liberated the genre to develop along diverse lines. Influenced by an England caught between traditional and progressive modes of behavior.
British Mystery and Thriller Writers since 1960 by
Spans much of the modern history of the mystery genre and, along with it, many of the political and social changes from the classical detective story, the World War II spy story, and the Cold War thriller to postmodern detective and spy adventures and the politics of terrorism and confrontation of the twenty-first century.
British Mystery Writers, 1920-1939 by
Essays on the major writers of British mysteries in the form of novels and short stories during the so-called Golden Age of the mystery in England. Includes discussion of crime/detective fiction, psychological thrillers and suspense novels.
British Novelists, 1930-1959 by
Contains biographical sketches of important British novelists who flourished during the 1930s, 1940s, and 1950s whose work represent: world economic depression, World War II, and for the British the rapid decline of both economic and political power associated with the dissolution of the empire.
British Novelists Between the Wars by
Essays on British novelists whose works challenged accepted views of literary history of the period. These novelists range from those who started to write as World War I ended in 1918 to those whose literary careers began just prior to World War II in 1939. Includes discussion of industrial and regional novels, rural novels, animal novels as well as documentary realistic writing.
British Novelists since 1960 by British Novelists Since 1960 by
Contains biographical sketches of representative British novelists whose work began to appear roughly around 1960
British Novelists since 1960 by
Contains biographical sketches of representative British novelists whose work began to appear roughly around 1960.
British Novelists since 1960 by
Contains biographical sketches of representative British novelists whose work began to appear roughly around 1960.
British Poets, 1914-1945 by
Examines the heterogeneous and eclectic work of British poets between the world wars.
British Rhetorician and Logicians by
Embraces the work of writers working in theatrical traditions ranging from the classic well-made play to the most radical avant-garde pieces. This variety is indicative of the fact that this period is one of the most important in British drama, comparable to the late-Elizabethan/Jacobean and post-Restoration eras in terms of the quantity and quality of new work and surpassing both of them in the sheer variety of theatrical offerings.
British Short-Fiction Writers, 1915-1945 by
Surveys and evaluates the achievements of British short-story writers since World War II, the way their works have probed the British mind and character, illuminating the dark places of the psyche, questioning values, prying behind appearances, and revealing surprises.
British Short Fiction Writers, 1915-1945 by
Essays on authors of the short story that had its origins in the mid-nineteenth century and reached its maturity in England in the twentieth century. The modern British short story grew slowly following by nearly fifty years the origins of this form in the United States, France and Russia. Discusses why several features of nineteenth-century English life may have delayed the development of this literary form.
British Travel Writers, 1840-1999 by
Essays on British travel writers explores the political and social changes that occurred after World War II. Technology such as color television, home video, the Internet and CD-ROM's brought people pictures from around the world broadened their interest in travel. Includes discussion of the various types of travel literature, including political, scientific, historical, and adventurous as well as the role of women travel writers.
British Travel Writers, 1910-1939 by
Essays on British travel writers during a period when travel and travel writing were transformed by education, technology and politics. Air transportation and the automobile impacted travel during this period as did the advent of color film and movie cameras. Travel guides, rather than entertaining and informative travel books for the armchair traveler, were written. This period produced globe-trotters and expatriates who wrote significant bodies of travel literature.
The Cambridge Companion to British Literature of The 1930s by
"On first glance, British literature of the 1930s offers a natural subject for a dedicated Cambridge Companion. As critics have often remarked, few other decades seem to claim such a compelling status as a self-contained literary-historical era, with a series of political events, aesthetic debates, and emerging literary networks providing an identity that goes beyond the normal convenience of decade-based periodisation. With just a slight nudging of the boundaries, the 1930s is often characterised as running from 1929 until 1939, bracketed on one side by the stock market crash of 1929 and on the other side by the outbreak of the Second World War, with September 1939 marking an end to the epoch as the world entered a cataclysmic new phase. Between these acute flashpoints came a climate of social and ideological tensions. Capitalism and the old order were, for many, at the point of collapse, making sections of the intelligentsia restless for alternatives. Events such as the rise of Nazism and fascism, the outbreak of the Spanish Civil War, and the instigation of the Popular Front of anti-fascist activism added urgency to these debates"-- Provided by publisher.
The Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature by 
The Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature by 
The Routledge Concise History of Twentieth-Century British Literature by 
The Edinburgh Companion to the Short Story in English by
This collection explores the history and development of the anglophone short story since the beginning of the nineteenth century.
The Cambridge Companion to English Novelists by 
The Contemporary British Novel Since 2000 by 
Understanding Contemporary Irish Fiction and Drama by
In Understanding Contemporary Irish Fiction and Drama, Margaret Hallissy examines the work of a cross-section of important Irish writers of the late twentieth and early twenty-first centuries who are representative of essential issues and themes in the canon of contemporary Irish literature. Included are early figures John Millington Synge and James Joyce; dramatists Brian Friel, Conor McPherson, and Tom Murphy; and prize-winning contemporary fiction writers such as Edna O'Brien, Joseph O'Connor, William Trevor, Roddy Doyle, and Colum McCann. Each chapter focuses on one significant representative piece of contemporary Irish fiction or drama by filling in its cultural, historical, and literary background. Hallissy identifies a key theme or key event in the Irish past essential to understanding the work. She then analyzes earlier literary compositions with the same theme and through a close reading of the contemporary work provides context for that background. The chapters are organized chronologically by relevant historical events, with thematic discussions interspersed. Background pieces were chosen for their places in Irish literature and the additional insight they provide into the featured works.
'To Hell with Culture': anarchism and twentieth-century British literature by 
British Literature and Culture in Second World Wartime by
What happens to the concept of wartime in the 1940s? For the Duration excavates British late modernism’s relationship to war in terms of chronophobia: a joint fear of the past and future. Coloured by the trauma of past violence and dread of those to come, the Second World War and its defining military strategy, civilian aerial bombardment, upended straightforward understandings of past, present, and future. Identifying a constellation of temporalities and affects under three tropes—time capsules, time zones, and ruins—the book contends that Second World Wartime is a pivotal moment when wartime surpassed the boundaries of a specific state of emergency, becoming first routine and then open-ended. It scrutinizes a variety of cultural artefacts, from life-writings to short stories, from novels to film and painting, that formally registered the distinctiveness of this wartime through a complex feedback between anticipation and retrospection. While offering a strong foundation for new readers of the mid-century, the book and its overall theoretical focus on chronophobia will be an important intervention for those already working in the field.
Culture in Camouflage: War, Empire, and Modern British Literature by 
English Literature from the 19th Century Through Today by
As the British empire expanded ever outward, English writers of the 19th and early 20th centuries such as Charles Dickens, T.S. Eliot, and Virginia Woolf turned their gaze inward to matters of ethical and moral import. Modern writers continue to examine British identity by reformulating and reinventing literary movements and devices introduced by their predecessors. Readers of this volume are invited to observe the progression of English literature and enjoy the stories behind some of the most seminal works in the world.
Ethics and Trauma in Contemporary British Fiction by 
A Grain of Faith: Religion in Mid-Century British Literature by
During and after the Second World War, there was a concerted thinking about religion in Britain. Not only were leading international thinkers of the day theologians-Ronald Niebuhr, Paul Tillich, Jacques Maritain-but leading writers contributed to discussions about religion. Graham Greene, Muriel Spark, and Barbara Pym incorporated miracles, evil, and church-going into their novels, while Louis MacNeice, T.S. Eliot, and C.S. Lewis gave radio broadcasts about the role of Christianity in contemporary society. Certainly the war revived interest in aspects of Christian life. Salvation and redemption were on many people's minds. The Ministry of Information used images of bombed churches to stoke patriotic fervour, and King George VI led a series of Days of National Prayer that coincided with crucial events in the Allied campaign. After the war and throughout the 1950s, approximately 1.4 million Britons converted to Roman Catholicism as a way of expressing their spiritual ambitions and solidarity with humanity on a world-wide scale. Religion provided one way for writers to answer the question, 'what is man?' It also afforded ways to think about social obligation and ethical engagement. Moreover, the mid-century turn to religion offered ways to articulate statehood, not from the perspective of nationhood and politics, but from the perspective of moral action and social improvement. Instead of being a retreat into seclusion and solitude, the mid-century turn to religion is a call to responsibility. -- Provided by publisher.
Oedipus Against Freud: myth and the end(s) of humanism in twentieth-century British literature by
In the alternatives to the Freudian version of Oedipus offered by twentieth-century authors, Buchanan finds a complex examination of the limits of human understanding. Following the analyses of philosophers such as G.W.F. Hegel and Frederick Nietzsche and anticipating critiques by writers such as Jacques Derrida and Gilles Deleuze, British Modernists saw Oedipus as representative of the embattled humanist project. Closing with the concept of posthumanism as explored by authors such as Zadie Smith, Oedipus Against Freud demonstrates the lasting significance of the Oedipus story."--BOOK JACKET.
Postwar British Literature and Postcolonial Studies by 
Teaching Later British Literature by
Designed for both first-time teachers of survey courses in later British literature and more experienced instructors seeking a new way to approach familiar material,''Teaching Later British Literature'seeks to recapture the interconnectedness within and among Romantic, Victorian and Modern literature. Focusing on some of the defining historical, intellectual and artistic preoccupations that individual works explore in common with their literary peers, the book also invites teachers to help their students to rethink the criteria by which periods are defined and to reconceive the relationship between texts written within these periods.'Teaching Later British Literature'is suitable for reading alongside any of the anthologies used in courses that survey the second half of British literature—from the advanced high school classroom to the lower-division university lecture hall—and seeks to complement their already robust content by offering teachers a synthetic and highly adaptable framework for guiding students through British literary history from the 1780s through the 1940s.
The Mythology of Imperialism: a revolutionary critique of British literature and society in the modern age : Rudyard Kipling, Joseph Conrad, E.M. Forster, D.H. Lawrence, and Joyce Cary by 
Tolkien and the Modernists: literary responses to the dark new days of the 20th century by
"The Lord of the Rings rarely makes an appearance in college courses that aim to examine British and American literature. This volume aims to situate Tolkien and The Lord of the Rings within the literary period whose sensibility grew out of the 19th-century rise of secularism and industrialism and culminated in the cataclysm of world war"-- Provided by publisher.
The Norton Anthology of English Literature by