LibGuides: Apologetics: Databases

Multi-Discipline Databases

Multi-Discipline Databases

Multi-discipline databases provide access to scholarly articles, research papers, and other resources across a wide range of academic fields. These databases are useful when exploring topics spanning multiple disciplines or starting broad research before narrowing your focus. Below is a short list of starting points.

For the full list of databases, click here: A-Z Databases.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals, the database offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: biblical studies, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.
Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
Sage Premier provides access to more than 1,200 online journals published by Sage. Find top research on a wide variety of subjects including Biblical/theological studies, business, counseling & psychology, criminal justice, education, social work, and many others. Now available: Cairn has access to the complete run of 769 Sage titles.
Oxford Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Spanning 25 different subject areas, Oxford Reference brings together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.

Subject Specific Databases

Starting Points

Below are some databases to start with. Feel free to explore:

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) , coverage in this database begins in 1908, with indexing for some journal titles extending back into the nineteenth century. Full text is provided for articles and reviews from more than 500 journals selected by leading religion scholars. Includes research in Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.
Bloomsbury Religion in North America This link opens in a new window
A mix of ebooks and peer-reviewed articles, Bloomsbury Religion in North America covers the region's diverse religious traditions, this resource provides reliable and peer-reviewed information for students and instructors of religious studies, anthropology of religion, sociology of religion, and history.
Theology & Religion Online This link opens in a new window
Theology & Religion Online is the digital home to a growing range of resources designed for students and scholars of Theology, Biblical Studies, Religious Studies and related fields, from which libraries can create a rich, bespoke product package to best serve their users. Collections available to the Cairn University Community: Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries & Dictionary; Bloomsbury Religion in North America; Library of Catholic Thought; and, T&T Clark Theology & Jesus Libraries.
T&T Clark Theology Library This link opens in a new window
The T&T Clark Theology Library offers students and scholars of theology core theological content via primary texts and supporting articles.
Oxford Scholarship Online Religion This link opens in a new window
Oxford University Press publishes original scholarship in all areas of religion and theology. Outstanding contributions by young academics are included alongside books by eminent scholars from all over the world.

Locating Subject Specific Databases

Subject Specific Databases

Subject-specific databases provide access to focused scholarly articles, research papers, and other resources across a particular topic. Selecting databases that fit the category of research will help focus the results.

To Filter databases by subject, type, or vendor, follow the steps below (Figure 1).

Select the filter, for example, "ALL Subjects"
Select a subject that fits your topic or subject, for example, "Biblical Studies"

Click here for the full A-Z Databases list.

Figure 1: Filter databases based on a subject.