LibGuides: Humanity and Culture (SOC 203): Databases

Databases

Databases are additional library resources that organize collections of information, providing access to scholarly articles, research studies, e-books, newspapers, and other reliable resources. These databases are often subscription-based and curated for academic, professional, or general research purposes, offering credible, up-to-date information that isn’t freely available online.

Below are some suggested databases related to Sociology; these are a small selection to get you started.

Explore the complete list of databases here:
A-Z Databases: Social Sciences

Multi-Discipline Databases

Global Issues in Context
Designed to support global awareness, Global Issues In Context ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.

Updated daily with more than 660 geographically diverse full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals for a truly global view
Academic OneFile
Provides access to peer reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects as well as full-text coverage of the New York Times going back to 1995. Millions of articles are available in PDF and HTML full-text format.
Academic Search Ultimate
A multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals, the database offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: biblical studies, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-XV
JSTOR's archival journal collections include more than two thousand journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It ontains the entire runs, from the first volume up to the volumes published only a few years ago. Currently published titles have a "moving wall" of 3-5 years after which the current issues are added to JSTOR.
Sage Premier
Sage Premier provides access to more than 1,200 online journals published by Sage. Find top research on a wide variety of subjects including Biblical/theological studies, business, counseling & psychology, criminal justice, education, social work, and many others. Now available: Cairn has access to the complete run of 769 Sage titles.

Subject Specific Databases

Annual Review: Sociology
The Annual Review of Sociology covers the significant developments in the field of Sociology.
Criminal Justice Collection
Access to over 700 journals on criminal justice topics, including law, law enforcement, homeland security, forensic science and more.
Diversity Studies Collection
This collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes 150 full-text journals. Coverage begins in 1980. Full text available.
Gender Studies Collection
Gender Studies Collection provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Oxford Scholarship Online Sociology
Oxford University Press has a fast-growing and leading list in Sociology. We publish a range of titles to match the diverse nature of the field and focus on research that addresses questions, trends, key issues in the world today, and social problems with implications for social policy. The titles also represent a range of methodologies and approaches, from empirical and theoretical to quantitative and qualitative.
PsycARTICLES
PsycARTICLES contains articles from highly-cited and landmark journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group.
Psychology Collection
Psychology Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. The database offers content of interest to both researchers and general users.
Sociology Source Ultimate (includes SocINDEX with FT)
A step up from SocINDEX with FT, Sociology Source Ultimate provides the must-have materials for students studying social behavior and interaction.
Statista
Statistics portal integrating over 60,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. Categorized into 20+ market sectors, Statista provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.