Where should I start my research?
Start your research with Reference Sources to get the background and build context. Next, explore some General Sources or work through Area/Regional sources to help answer any contextual questions you have.
Where can I find books in the library?
Print material can be found at the library by browsing the shelves for books related to Literature using the call number ranges below:
What are reference sources?
Reference sources include dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, handbooks, and other materials providing general information about various subjects. When you need background information on a topic, reference sources are the optimal source for who, what, when, where, and why questions.
Where can I find reference sources?
Search the library catalog or the reference section located on the ground floor of the library.
What if I'm off campus or not in the library?
Below are a selection of resources available through the Masland Library:
Dictionary Plus: Literature
This dictionary comprises authoritative, highly accessible entries on writers, works, and literary movements. These entries are supplementary to other literature titles in the Quick Reference collection, and are written by specialist authors. The dictionary is an ongoing project, and more entries will be added over time.
A Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory by
With new entries and sensitive edits, this fifth edition places J.A. Cuddon's indispensable dictionary firmly in the 21st Century. Written in a clear and highly readable style Comprehensive historical coverage extending from ancient times to the present day Broad intellectual and cultural range Expands on the previous edition to incorporate the most recent literary terminology New material is particularly focused in areas such as gender studies and queer theory, post-colonial theory, post-structuralism, post-modernism, narrative theory, and cultural studies. Existing entries have been edited to ensure that topics receive balanced treatment
Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature by
Describes authors, works, and literary terms from all eras and all parts of the world.
The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms by
The best-selling Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms (formerly the Concise dictionary) provides clear, concise, and often witty definitions of the most troublesome literary terms from abjection to zeugma. Now available in a new, fully updated and expanded edition, it offers readers increased coverage of new terms from modern critical and theoretical movements, such as feminism, and schools of American poetry, Spanish verse forms, life writing, and crime fiction.
General Material About Literature
General material relating to literature can be found on the homepage of the Masland Library website.
Searching a couple of keywords will help guide you in the right direction. Below are some sources we have available online.
Try searching for the Genre, Author, or Period to see our holdings for more results.
An Introduction to Literary Studies by
In this classic beginner's guide to English literature, Mario Klarer offers a concise and accessible discussion of central issues in the study of literary texts, looking at: definitions of key terms such as literature and text the genres of fiction, poetry, drama, and film periods and classifications of literature theoretical approaches to texts the use of secondary resources guidelines for writing research essays The new and expanded edition is fully updated to include: a wider range of textual examples from world literature additional references to contemporary cinema, a section on comparative literature an extended survey of literary periods and genres recent changes in MLA guidelines information on state-of-the-art citation management software the use and abuse of online resources. The book also features suggestions for further reading as well as an extensive glossary of key terms.
Literature: an Introduction to Theory and Analysis by 
The Routledge Companion to World Literature by
In the age of globalization, the category of "World Literature" is increasingly important to academic teaching and research. The Routledge Companion to World Literature offers a comprehensive pathway into this burgeoning and popular field. Separated into four key sections, the volume covers:the history of World Literature through significant writers and theorists from Goethe to Said, Casanova and Morettithe disciplinary relationship of World Literature to areas such as philology, translation, globalization and diaspora studiestheoretical issues in World Literature including gender, politics and ethicsa global perspective on thepolitics of World Literature.Theforty-eightoutstanding contributors to this companion offer an ideal introduction to those approaching the field for the first time, or looking to further their knowledge of this extensive field.
How Do I Locate Regional or Era Specific Resources?
Literature for specific regions or eras can be searched for on the homepage of the Masland Library. Searching a couple of keywords will help guide you in the right direction. Below are a few searches that may provide valuable results. Play around with your terms to see what is available.
Regional/Era Searches