Evangelical Dictionary of Theology by
This thoroughly updated and substantially revised edition of a standard reference tool offers today's students cutting-edge overviews of key theological topics.
New Dictionary of Theology by
This classic one-volume reference work has been appreciated for decades. It is now substantially expanded and revised to focus on a variety of theological themes, thinkers and movements. From African Christian Theology to Zionism, this volume of historical and systematic theology offers a wealth of information and insight for students, pastors and all thoughtful Christians.Over half of the more than eight hundred articles are new or rewritten with hundreds more thoroughly revised. Fully one-third larger than its predecessor, this volume focusing on systematic and historical theology has added entries and material on theological writers and themes in North America and around the world. Helpful bibliographies have also been updated throughout.Over three hundred contributors form an international team of renowned scholars including Marcella Altaus-Reid, Richard Bauckham, David Bebbington, Kwame Bediako, Todd Billings, Oliver Crisp, Samuel Escobar, John Goldingay, Tremper Longman III, John McGuckin, Jennifer McNutt, Michael J. Nasir-Ali, Bradley Nassif, Mark Noll, Anthony Thiselton, John Webster and N. T. Wright.This new edition combines excellence in scholarship with a high standard of clarity and profound insight into current theological issues. Yet it avoids being unduly technical. Now an even more indispensable reference, this volume is a valuable primer and introduction to the grand spectrum of theology.
Global Dictionary of Theology by
Global Dictionary of Theology, a theological dictionary that presumes the contribution of the Western tradition but moves beyond it to embrace and explore a full range of global expressions of theology.
The Oxford Handbook of Systematic Theology by
The Oxford Handbook of Systematic Theology brings together a set of original and authoritative accounts of all the major areas of current research in Christian systematic theology, offering a thorough survey of the state of the discipline and its prospects. Drawn from Europe, the UK, and North America, the authors are all leading practitioners of the discipline. The book engages in a comprehensive examination of themes and approaches, guiding the reader through current debates and literatures in the context of the historical development of systematic theological reflection. Organized thematically, it treats in detail the full array of topics in systematic theology, as well as questions of its sources and norms, its relation to other theological and non-theological fields of enquiry, and some major trends in current work. Each article provides an analysis of research and debate on its topic, identifying and interpreting options and laying out the basis for the reader to explore the territory, asking: What are the critical issues? How have these issues developed and been expounded? What are the current prospects? The focus is on doctrinal (rather than historical) questions, and on major (rather than ephemeral) debates. The aim is to stimulate readers to reach theological judgements on the basis of consideration of the range of opinion.
The Baker Compact Dictionary of Theological Terms by
Summary: Christianity is a faith built upon the Word and understood through words, both written and spoken, handed down for centuries. But many of the terms used in both the Scriptures and theological writings are unfamiliar or misunderstood. For the Christian desiring a more clear and robust understanding of these terms, this book offers concise definitions of six hundred of the most significant words at the heart of the Christian faith, including terms related to: doctrine; biblical concepts; church practices; philosophical concepts; people; councils; movements; documents; and more. Students of the Bible, college and seminary students, and anyone who desires to deepen their understanding of the Christian faith will find this an indispensable resource. --from book description, Amazon.com.
Crazy Talk by
Summary: Captivating, entertaining, and highly informative, Crazy Talk helps readers navigate their way through theology that is often confusing and intimidating. This delightful book offers a vocabulary that dares (and equips!) its readers to embrace their own faith in a new, well-informed way. This is a dictionary of theological terms, but with a twist of humor! Each entry includes the name of the theological term, an ironic definition, and a short humorous essay offering a fuller explanation. This revised and expanded edition includes new and expanded entries and all new images.
Evangelical Dictionary of Theology by
This bestselling reference tool has been a trusted resource for more than 25 years with over 165,000 copies sold. Now thoroughly updated and substantially revised to meet the needs of today's students and classrooms, it offers cutting-edge overviews of key theological topics. Readable and reliable, this work features new articles on topics of contemporary relevance to world Christianity and freshened articles on enduring theological subjects, providing comprehensive A-Z coverage for today's theology students. The author base reflects the increasing diversity of evangelical scholars. Advisory editors include D. Jeffrey Bingham, Cheryl Bridges Johns, John G. Stackhouse Jr., Tite Tiénou, and Kevin J. Vanhoozer.
New Dictionary of Theology by
This classic one-volume reference work has been appreciated for decades. It is now substantially expanded and revised to focus on a variety of theological themes, thinkers and movements. From African Christian Theology to Zionism, this volume of historical and systematic theology offers a wealth of information and insight for students, pastors and all thoughtful Christians. Over half of the more than eight hundred articles are new or rewritten with hundreds more thoroughly revised. Fully one-third larger than its predecessor, this volume focusing on systematic and historical theology has added entries and material on theological writers and themes in North America and around the world. Helpful bibliographies have also been updated throughout. Over three hundred contributors form an international team of renowned scholars including Marcella Altaus-Reid, Richard Bauckham, David Bebbington, Kwame Bediako, Todd Billings, Oliver Crisp, Samuel Escobar, John Goldingay, Tremper Longman III, John McGuckin, Jennifer McNutt, Michael J. Nasir-Ali, Bradley Nassif, Mark Noll, Anthony Thiselton, John Webster and N. T. Wright. This new edition combines excellence in scholarship with a high standard of clarity and profound insight into current theological issues. Yet it avoids being unduly technical. Now an even more indispensable reference, this volume is a valuable primer and introduction to the grand spectrum of theology.
New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology and Exegesis Set by
A standard and widely-used reference work for nearly 40 years, the New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology and Exegesis has been thoroughly revised and updated to aid today’s pastors, students, scholars, and teachers in their study of the New Testament.
The Oxford Handbook of Evangelical Theology by
Summary: This volume surveys the state of the discipline on topics of greatest importance to evangelical theology. The authors critically assess the state of the question, from both classical and evangelical traditions, and propose a future direction for evangelical thinking on the subject. --from publisher description.
The Thiselton Companion to Christian Theology by
Summary: This book is a splendid, one-of-a-kind reference work on a gamut of theological topics and thinkers. Covering everything from "Abba" to "Zwingli," The Thiselton Companion to Christian Theology offers a comprehensive account of a wide sweep of topics and thinkers in Christian theology. Written entirely by eminent scholar Anthony Thiselton, the book features a coherence lacking in most multiauthored volumes. Drawing on his encyclopedic knowledge, gained from fifty-plus years of study and teaching, Thiselton provides some six hundred articles on various aspects of theology throughout the centuries. The entries comprise both short descriptive surveys and longer essays of original assessment on central theological topics -- such as atonement, Christology, God, and Holy Spirit -- and on such theologians as Aquinas, Augustine, Barth, Calvin, Küng, Luther, Moltmann, and Pannenberg. The book also includes a helpful time chart dating all of the theologians discussed and highlighting key events in Christian history; select reading suggestions conclude each of the longer entries. Equally valuable for research and teaching, The Thiselton Companion to Christian Theology will be a go-to reference for pastors, students, teachers, and theologians everywhere. - Publisher.
The Westminster Dictionary of Theological Terms, Second Edition by
Summary: "This second edition of the Westminster Dictionary of Theological Terms provides a comprehensive guide to nearly 7,000 theological terms, 1,000 more terms than the first edition. McKim's succinct definitions cover a broad range of theological studies and related disciplines: contemporary theologies, biblical studies, church history, ethics, feminist theology, global theologies, hermeneutics, liberation theology, liturgy, ministry, philosophy, philosophy of religion, postcolonial theology, social sciences, spiritually, worship, and Protestant, Reformed, and Roman Catholic theologies. This new edition also includes cross-references that link readers to other related terms, commonly used scholarly abbreviations and abbreviations for canonical and deuterocanonical texts, an annotated bibliography, and a new introductory section that groups together terms and concepts, showing where they fit within particular theological categories. No other single volume provides the busy student, and the theologically experienced reader, with such easy access to so many theological definitions. "-- Provided by publisher.
Biblical Theology by
Dr. Jeon's Biblical Theology is a timely must-read for church leaders, seminarians, pastors, and missionaries in the Global Mission Field. It examines God's redemptive history in creation, fall, redemption, and consummation as revealed in the Old and New Testaments. Dr. Jeon delves into the grand redemptive drama, progressively demonstrated through the divine covenants, as well as the manifestation of the eschatological Kingdom of God.
Biblical Theology by
This book offers two things in particular: first, these are papers that have been commented on and re-worked in the context of a set of lively sessions from (International) SBL conferences from 2012 to 2014 (Amsterdam, St. Andrews, Vienna). Second, they offer an insight into the origins of the discipline as one which became conscious of itself in the early modern era and the turn to history and the analysis of texts, to offer something exegetical and synthetic. The fresh wind that the enterprise received in the latter part of the twentieth century is the focus of the second part of the volume, which describes the recent activity up to the present "state of the question." The third part takes a step further to anticipate the way forward for the discipline in an era where "canon"--but also "Scripture" and "theology"--seem to be alien terms, and where other ideologies are advanced in the name of neutrality. Biblical Theology will aim to be true to the evidence of the text: it will not always see clearly, but it will rely on the best of biblical criticism and theological discernment to help it. That is the spirit with which this present volume is imbued.
Biblical Theology by
Imagine someone who has spent a lifetime listening deeply and attentively to the full range of Scripture's testimony. Stepping back, they now describe what they have seen and heard. What emerges is a theological cathedral, laid out on the great vectors of Scripture and fitted with biblically sourced materials. This is what John Goldingay has done. Well known for his three-volume Old Testament Theology, he has now risen to the challenge of a biblical theology. While taking the New Testament as a portal into the biblical canon, he seeks to preserve the distinct voices of Israel's Scriptures, accepting even its irregular and sinewed pieces as features rather than problems. Goldingay does not search out a thematic core or overarching unity, but allows Scripture's diversity and tensions to remain as manifold witnesses to the ways of God. While many interpreters interrogate Scripture under the harsh lights of late-modern questions, Goldingay engages in a dialogue keen on letting Scripture speak to us in its own voice. Throughout he asks,'What understanding of God and the world and life emerges from these two testaments?'Goldingay's Biblical Theology is a landmark achievement—hermeneutically dexterous, biblically expansive, and nourishing to mind, soul and proclamation.
The Christian Theology Reader by
Regarded as the leading text in Christian theology for the last 25 years, Alister E. McGrath's The Christian Theology Reader is now available in a new 5th edition featuring completely revised and updated content. Brings together more than 350 readings from over 200 sources that chart 2,000 years of Christian history Situates each reading within the appropriate historical and theological context with its own introduction, commentary, and study questions Includes new readings on world Christianity and feminist, liberation, and postcolonial theologies, as well as more selections by female theologians and theologians from the developing world Contains additional pedagogical features, such as new discussion questions and case studies, and a robust website with new videos by the author to aid student learning Designed to function as a stand-alone volume, or as a companion to Christian Theology: An Introduction, 6th edition, for a complete overview of the subject
Discovering Our Christian Faith by
Theology is the knowledge of God; but unlike other types of information, which simply provide a broader understanding of a topic, theology is intimately connected to how we exist and conduct ourselves in the world. With this in mind, it's important that we, as Christians, understand our beliefs in order to value their impact and practice them effectively. Discovering Our Christian Faith is an introduction to Christian theology. It explores the Bible's amazing story, beginning with creation and ending with the return of Christ. Dr. Samuel Powell presents the leading doctrines of Christianity and explores how they have been shaped throughout the centuries. With thorough examination and academic scholarship, he outlines the creedal statements of Wesleyan-holiness churches and explores the importance of eschatology in every doctrine, seeking to maintain the coherence and systematic character of Christian belief. In addition to a section on ethical dimensions of the doctrines discussed, each chapter includes a hymn by John and/or Charles Wesley that expresses the theme of the chapter. Discovering Our Christian Faith offers students, scholars, pastors, and teachers the opportunity to engage and unite their faith and intellect in an act of worship. With challenging insight and enriching evidence, it brings readers face to face with the beginning and end of our being by seeking to understand and encounter the knowledge of God.
Systematic Theology by
In this concise, one-volume systematic theology, celebrated scholar Anthony Thiselton comprehensively covers the spectrum of Christian doctrine with an eye to practical application for Christian discipleship. Written with students and busy ministers in mind, this book is readable and accessible, comprising fifteen chapters of relatively equal length, with each chapter containing five evenly balanced subsections for teaching and learning convenience. Rather than setting out an abstract system, Thiselton explores theology as a living, organic whole. The book thus includes biblical foundations, historical thought, contemporary writers, and practical implications. Expertly incorporating biblical exegesis, philosophy, conceptual grammar, and hermeneutics, this work is the most succinct multidisciplinary systematic theology available.
Theology by
This fourth edition of the international bestseller is the ideal introduction for those who are new to Christian theology. In this revised and expanded edition, the author introduces readers to the central ideas and beliefs, the key debates and the leading thinkers of Christianity. Throughout, the aim is to bring clarity and brevity to the central ideas of theology, both traditional and contemporary. The text comprehensively covers the individual doctrines that form the Christian belief system, weaving together these doctrines, their history, and the intellectual nuance behind them into an inter-connected web. All major Christian denominations are explored, as are their differences and shared customs and beliefs. This rich tapestry results in a clear view of Christianity, providing a coherent vision of the religion in its main forms.
Biblical Theology by
Summary: Imagine someone who has spent a lifetime listening deeply and attentively to the full range of Scripture's testimony. Stepping back, they now describe what they have seen and heard. What emerges is a theological cathedral, laid out on the great vectors of Scripture and fitted with biblically sourced materials. This is what John Goldingay has done. Well known for his three-volume Old Testament Theology, he has now risen to the challenge of a biblical theology. While taking the New Testament as a portal into the biblical canon, he seeks to preserve the distinct voices of Israel's Scriptures, accepting even its irregular and sinewed pieces as features rather than problems. Goldingay does not search out a thematic core or overarching unity, but allows Scripture's diversity and tensions to remain as manifold witnesses to the ways of God. While many interpreters interrogate Scripture under the harsh lights of late-modern questions, Goldingay engages in a dialogue keen on letting Scripture speak to us in its own voice. Throughout he asks, "What understanding of God and the world and life emerges from these two testaments?" Goldingay's Biblical Theology is a landmark achievement--hermeneutically dexterous, biblically expansive, and nourishing to mind, soul and proclamation.
Biblical Theology by
This book offers two things in particular: first, these are papers that have been commented on and re-worked in the context of a set of lively sessions from (International) SBL conferences from 2012 to 2014 (Amsterdam, St. Andrews, Vienna). Second, they offer an insight into the origins of the discipline as one which became conscious of itself in the early modern era and the turn to history and the analysis of texts, to offer something exegetical and synthetic. The fresh wind that the enterprise received in the latter part of the twentieth century is the focus of the second part of the volume, which describes the recent activity up to the present ""state of the question."" The third part takes a step further to anticipate the way forward for the discipline in an era where ""canon""--but also ""Scripture"" and ""theology""--seem to be alien terms, and where other ideologies are advanced in the name of neutrality. Biblical Theology will aim to be true to the evidence of the text: it will not always see clearly, but it will rely on the best of biblical criticism and theological discernment to help it. That is the spirit with which this present volume is imbued. ""Questions of biblical theology are, at heart, questions about the understanding of the Bible in contemporary Christian thought and life. This collection of essays is a good guide to many of the key issues in contemporary debate about these questions."" --Walter Moberly (University of Durham) ""We are in the debt of editors Walsh and Elliott for a volume that is historically informed (from Gabler on), engaged with all the relevant secondary literature of the past century, and thoughtfully undertaken. I have wondered if a contribution of B. S. Childs was simply his ability to keep an eye on biblical theology and interpretation at widest possible scholarly range, and to evaluate it on those comprehensive terms--the danger being that the discipline would otherwise break up into tribes of special interest or self-reference. The editors and contributors to this volume have kept that same goal in mind and have done so with fine scholarship and focused attention. The uncluttered title, Biblical Theology, is just right."" --Christopher Seitz, Senior Research Professor of Biblical Interpretation, Wycliffe College, University of Toronto; Author, Joel: The International Theological Commentary ""This outstanding book will introduce the reader into the questions that currently animate the field of Biblical Theology. One cannot say enough good things about the comprehensive character of the essays as whole, the consistent brilliance of their execution and even energy which bubbles underneath the various contributions. Highly recommended!"" -- Gary A. Anderson, Hesburgh Professor of Catholic Theology, University of Notre Dame Mark Elliott is Professor of Divinity (Historical and Biblical Theology) at the University of St. Andrews. He is author of Engaging Leviticus (2012) and Providence Perceived (2015). Dr. Carey Walsh is Professor of Old Testament at Villanova University. She is the author of The Fruit of the Vine (2000), Exquisite Desire (2000) and, most recently, Chasing Mystery: A Catholic Biblical Theology (2013).
Biblical Theology by
Summary: Volume 1 explores the two common grace covenants: the Adamic and Noahic. The second volume will examine the special grace covenants: the Abrahamic, Mosaic, Davidic, and New covenants. The volumes present covenant as an expression of the nature of God, and show a paradigm of activity by which God works in covenantal relations first to create the world and then, through a redemptive program after the fall, to redeem what was lost. --from publisher description.
Christ-Centered Biblical Theology by
Summary: For fifty years Graeme Goldsworthy has been refining his understanding of biblical theology through his experiences as a student, pastor and teacher. In this valuable complement to his Gospel-Centered Hermeneutics, Goldsworthy defends and refines the rationale for his approach, drawing especially on the work of Australian biblical scholar Donald Robinson. --from publisher description.
Manual of Christian Doctrine by
This concise introduction to the systematized body of Christian doctrine is presented in clear and simple language, which makes it suitable for high school and college students as well as adult study groups. Includes review questions for further study at the end of each chapter.
A New Testament Biblical Theology by
Summary: Beale examines how the New Testament storyline relates to and develops the Old Testament storyline. Beale argues that every major concept of the New Testament is a development of a concept from the Old and is to be understood as a facet of the inauguration of the latter-day new creation and kingdom. --from publisher description.
The Story of Scripture by
Although the Bible contains sixty-six books, written by forty authors, it is one book written by one author, the Holy Spirit, with one subject: Jesus Christ. How do these books, from Genesis to Revelation, fit together? The Story of Scripture guides the reader through the four major themes of the Bible—Creation, Fall, Redemption, New Creation—showing how each individual book of the Bible tells a cohesive story centered on Jesus.
Theology: The Basics by
This fourth edition of the international bestseller is the ideal introduction for those who are new to Christian theology. In this revised and expanded edition, the author introduces readers to the central ideas and beliefs, the key debates and the leading thinkers of Christianity. Throughout, the aim is to bring clarity and brevity to the central ideas of theology, both traditional and contemporary. The text comprehensively covers the individual doctrines that form the Christian belief system, weaving together these doctrines, their history, and the intellectual nuance behind them into an inter-connected web. All major Christian denominations are explored, as are their differences and shared customs and beliefs. This rich tapestry results in a clear view of Christianity, providing a coherent vision of the religion in its main forms.
To Know and Love God by
It is the job of all believers, not just theologians, to serve God by discerning what is true about the crucial issues of life. Our task is to learn more about God. Our privilege is to love God passionately with our minds. Clearly then, spiritual life must have theology as one of its ingredients, but this, by itself, will not guarantee a vibrant spiritual life. Rather, evangelicals must link a theological experience and an experiential theology. Knowing and loving God are both necessary.
Understanding Biblical Theology by
Understanding Biblical Theology clarifies the catch-all term “biblical theology,” a movement that tries to remove the often-held dichotomy between biblical studies for the Church and as an academic pursuit. This book examines the five major schools of thought regarding biblical theology and handles each in turn, defining and giving a brief developmental history for each one, and exploring each method through the lens of one contemporary scholar who champions it.
What Is Biblical Theology? by
Summary: How do you read the Bible? The Bible recounts a single story -- one that began at creation, encompasses our lives today, and will continue till Christ's return and beyond. In What Is Biblical Theology?, Jim Hamilton introduces us to this narrative, helping us understand the worldview of the biblical writers so that we can read the Old and New Testaments as those authors intended. Tracing the key patterns, symbols, and themes that bind the Bible together, this book will help you understand Scripture's unified message and find your place in the great story of redemption. - Publisher.