Developing a Winning Grant Proposal by
"In a world of tightening budgets and increased competition for grant money, Developing a Winning Grant Proposal provides the guidelines, strategies, plans, and techniques to craft a fundable grant proposal. A user-friendly, engaging, and up-to-date guide, this book covers the entire process from the inception of a good idea, to the formulation of a strong proposal, to the next steps once a proposal is funded. Providing a basic overview and helpful tools for busy faculty and researchers, this is a must-have guide for anyone interested in the mechanisms that successful grant writers employ. Special Features Include:Appendices with a "Model of a Funded Proposal" and a "Basic Toolbox for Grant Seekers"Checklists for self-evaluating the efficacy of each portion of the grant proposal Coverage of complex issues in a concise and clear manner, perfect for grant writers facing tight time constraints"-- Provided by publisher.
Find Grant Funding Now! by
"This book is built around the Five-Step Prosperity Process Aubrey uses for her clients every day. Other features will include sample forms, such as Letters of Intent, grant searching checklists, budgets, narrative formation, sample merit review, checklist for the top five feasibility points, 30 and 60 day grant project management plans, and very importantly, the customized Grant Readiness Assessment Tool. The book will have sidebars with quotes and resources and a custom illustrated schematic of the Five Step Prosperity Process that is highlighted in each chapter to show where at in the process as they progress through the book. It will also include snap tags in each chapter that link to videos and excerpts of additional content. There are books on grant writing and there are books on business, there are even books that tell you how to start a grant writing business. This book is about how and when you could use grants to get cash to start or expand your business. This is the book the small business financial market has been missing!"-- Provided by publisher.
A Government Guide to Grants by
This book provides an overview of the six grant types, provides criteria for defining a block grant and uses that criteria to provide a list of current block grants, examines competing perspectives concerning the use of block grants versus other grant mechanisms to achieve national goals, provides a brief historical overview of the role of block grants in American federalism, and examines recent changes to existing block grants and proposals to create new ones. The authors also describe key sources of information on government and private funding, and outlines eligibility for federal grants. Moreover, how to develop and write a grant proposal is also discussed in this book. In preparation for writing a proposal, the report first examines preliminary information gathering and preparation, developing ideas for the proposal, gathering community support, identifying funding resources, and seeking preliminary review of the proposal and support of relevant administrative officials. The second section covers the actual writing of the proposal, from outlining the project goals, to finally developing the proposal budget. This book consists of public documents which have been located, gathered, combined, reformatted, and enhanced with a subject index, selectively edited and bound to provide easy access.
Grant Seeking in Higher Education by
Written for anyone in higher education who is responsible for submitting and running a grant-funded project, Grant Seeking in Higher Education offers a hands-on resource for developing and managing the grant process from start to finish. Step by step, the authors will help you to identify and sort through potential sponsors, tap into campus support that is already in place, and prepare to write a targeted grant proposal that can generate results. Once you have completed the research, the book outlines the keys to writing a winning proposal, including an effective proposal narrative, thorough budget, and readable proposal package. To give grant seekers an extra edge, the book contains a toolkit of tested materials. These proven tools--templates, examples, and cheat sheets--are designed to help you approach your project as a grants professional would. Grant Seeking in Higher Education also spotlights the need for academic leaders to create a campuswide culture that fosters efficient and effective grant seeking. Praise for Grant Seeking in Higher Education "This book realistically provides great advice on proposal development and grants management. Additionally, readers receive a bonus as the authors have included some very helpful tools and templates that have assisted them in their grant endeavors." --Gail Vertz, chief executive officer, Grant Professionals Association "This book is well researched, especially with regard to issues of collaboration, helpfully organized, and chock-full of practical advice--a must-have for any research development professional's bookcase!" --Holly Falk-Krzesinski, founding president, National Organization of Research Development Professionals (NORDP)
Grant Writing by
When an important project's budget is hanging in the balance, you need to be prepared for anything, so don't let a poorly written grant application stop your project from moving forward. Whether you or your organization is applying for a grant or you are a grant writer looking for tips to improve your trade, look no further than the Grant Writing QuickStudy(R) guide, a concise, point-to-point overview of the entire grant-writing process that will help you make sure your organization's needs are both realistic and achievable.
Grant Writing for Dummies® by
Provides information on grant writing, covering such topics as identifying key grant makers worldwide, playing and winning the grant games, writing a competitive application, and increasing the funding success rates.
How the NIH Can Help You Get Funded by
How the NIH Can Help You Get Funded takes a novel, non-formulaic approach in teaching readers how to "write a grant" -- and much more. The authors draw on their decades of experience working with both investigators and NIH personnel to anticipate their questions and concerns and help establish a comfortable, productive partnership between them.With this book's focus on applying this knowledge to their personal grant strategy, readers will learn:· how the NIH operates at the corporate level, as well as the culture and policies of individual institutes and centers· how the NIH budget evolves over the course of a fiscal year and why the timing is important· how to customize NIH Web site searches and use the data to increase chances of success· how to identify appropriate program officers, study sections, and funding opportunitiesThe authors advise readers on developing each component of the grant application in order of the components' influence on the final impact score. Individual funding mechanisms are reviewed along with grantsmanship tips specific to each. Readers learn the importance of reviewer-friendly formatting and organization of the text.The final chapters cover next steps after the application has been submitted-before, during, and after the review and funding decision. Strategies for resubmitting or repurposing applications are provided for those readers whose applications do not receive awards. The authors likewise anticipate the needs of readers who do receive funding but have questions on managing and maintaining their award.Amid ever-increasing competition for government research grants, How the NIH Can Help You Get Funded is an invaluable manual for how to pursue -- and sustain -- NIH funding.
How to Write a Grant Proposal by
Effective grant proposals are not so much written as they are extensively researched, developed, and positioned. The actual writing, obviously an essential component, is nevertheless only the tip of the iceberg. Grant seekers must possess the necessary skills to correctly identify potential funders, craft a proposal that meets a specific funder's needs, and follow that funder's directions to the letter. Cheryl New and James Quick take grant seekers step-by-step through the entire development and drafting process in How to Write a Grant Proposal. The authors concentrate on all the behind-the-scenes, pre-writing work that makes the difference between successful grant proposals and those that potential funders discard as 'nonresponsive.' New and Quick concentrate on crafting specific proposals that prove a perfect match between a funder and a solicitor's needs. Funders and the nonprofit organizations they support are both in the business of solving problems; the key is creating a project that addresses a problem that both parties are interested in solving. How to Write a Grant Proposal provides targeted guidance for a variety of kinds of organizations, including: K-12 private and public educational organizations Government agencies For-profit businesses Health care organizations Traditional nonprofits Higher education universities and centers A companion CD-ROM contains guidesheets and templates that can be easily downloaded, customized, and printed. The authors provide examples of completed proposals and numerous case studies to demonstrate how the grant-seeking process typically works. How to Write a Grant Proposal proves a one-stop resource on how to interpret a funder's guidelines to create a successful grant proposal.
How to Write a Research Grant Proposal - and Succeed by
The Grant Writer's Handbook: How to Write a Research Proposal and Succeed provides useful and practical advice on all aspects of proposal writing, including developing proposal ideas, drafting the proposal, dealing with referees, and budgeting. The authors base their advice on many years of experience writing and reviewing proposals in many different countries at various levels of scientific maturity. The book describes the numerous kinds of awards available from funding agencies, in particular large collaborative grants involving a number of investigators, and addresses the practical impact of a grant, which is often required of proposals. In addition, information is provided about selection of reviewers and the mechanics of organizing a research grant competition to give the proposal writer the necessary background information. The book includes key comments from a number of experts and is essential reading for anyone writing a research grant proposal.The Grant Writer's Handbook's companion website, featuring regularly updated resources and helpful links, can be found at www.ifm.eng.cam.ac.uk/research/grant-writers-handbook/.
Successful Grant Writing by
"This book is easy to read and understand. It is a great resource for individuals wishing to write grants. I have not seen another book that is this comprehensive and user-friendly." Score: 92, 4 Stars.--Michalene A. King, PhD, RN, CNE in Doody's Medical Reviews This fully updated and revised edition of a classic guide to grant writing for health and human service professionals reflects the two major changes in the field: new NIH application processes and an increased emphasis on interprofessional and team approaches to science. New case examples reflect grant writing strategies for a great variety of health and human service professions, and the text includes an enhanced focus on online methods for organizing grant submissions. A new section on special considerations for submitting grants addresses specific types of research including mixed methods, behavioral intervention research, secondary analyses, translational research, and comparative effectiveness studies. The new chapter on common writing challenges and solutions provides examples of strong and weak statements and highlights the importance of writing with precision. Additionally, this new edition provides an expanded section on post-award requirements and links to NIH videos about grant writing. Written for individuals in both academic and practice settings, the guide addresses, step-by-step, the fundamental principles for effectively securing funding. It is the only book to provide grant-writing information that encompasses many disciplines and to focus on building a research career with grant writing as a step-wise process. It provides detailed, time-tested strategies for building an investigative team, highlights the challenges of collaboration, and describes how to determine the expertise needed for a team and the roles of co-investigators. The book addresses the needs of both novice and more experienced researchers. New to the Fourth Edition: Reflects recent changes to the field including an emphasis on interprofessional approaches to science and new NIH application processes Offers additional case examples relevant to social work, nursing, psychology, rehabilitation, and occupational, physical, and speech therapies Provides links to NIH websites containing videos on grant writing Includes chapter opener objectives Expands section on post-award requirements Focuses on electronic mechanisms for organizing grant submissions including software such as RefWorks and google alerts Enlarges appendices to include charts, graphics, grant application samples and Aims page samples full of errors with answers provided
Winning Grants Step by Step by
Previous Praise for Winning Grants Step by Step "Warning: this book works. It provokes you to ask the right questions, hand-holds you through practical exercises, and offers a map that includes paths to develop strategic relationships with funders." --E. Eduardo Romero, Nonprofit Roundtable "Winning Grants Step by Step is a very practical A-to-Z resource that speaks to the importance of staying focused on your mission every step of the way. The third edition is artfully updated with words of wisdom from grantmakers themselves, as well as updates on the latest processes and buzzwords all grantseekers need to know." --Heather Iliff, Maryland Association of Nonprofit Organizations "With solid advice and clear examples, nonprofit leaders will find it a page turner!" --Clarence Hauer, senior director, strategy and organizational development, St. Louis Nonprofit Services Consortium "Winning Grants Step by Step is a gift to nonprofit organizations. The valuable insights and hands-on tools will instantly make any proposal more competitive." --Alex Carter, Your Nonprofit Coach "Developing great grant proposals is essential for nonprofit leaders. Winning Grants Step by Step provides important guidance to those who are new to fundraising as well as to anyone who needs a refresher. This new edition of Winning Grants brings updated tips and vivid examples. As an experienced fundraising consultant, I believe it will help my clients and colleagues alike." --Maria Gitin, CFRE, Maria Gitin & Associates "As an executive director, fundraising is on my mind every day. It's great to have a resource like Winning Grants Step by Step to use and share with my board, staff, and peers." --Deborah Menkart, executive director, Teaching for Change
Writing Successful Grant Proposals by
Writing Successful Grant Proposals highlights key things savvy proposal writers do to attract and secure prospective funders. With clear, concise instructions, this book demystifies grant proposal writing, from the initial development phase, to the writing and submissions phase, to the grant award phase, to the final delivery of project results phase.
Get Your Business Funded by
Summary: "Explore the many options available to get the money you need for your business Whether your business is a new start-up, an established company attempting to grow, or somewhere in between, Get Your Business Funded gives you the full range of options for raising capital in today's challenging economy.Covering everything from bank loans to angel investors to equity financing to more unorthodox methods, this complete guide uses clear, easy-to-understand language to explain each approach. Divided into two sections: "Sources and Funding" and "What You Need to Know" Explains such unorthodox financing sources as peer-to-peer lending, online grants, business plan competitions, and the "friends and family plan" Reveals untapped funding streams available through the government Follows on the success of the author's previous work The Small Business Bible Pick up this reader-friendly guide and discover the many ways you can Get Your Business Funded right now."-- Provided by publisher.
The Nuts and Bolts of Grant Writing by
In this practical, accessible guide for students, faculty, and other university personnel, author Cynthia E. Carr shares her best practices for planning, writing, and winning research grants based on her own experience submitting more than 300 grant proposals and securing millions of dollars in awards. Insightful, innovative, and informative, the book goes beyond coverage of standard grant writing to specifically address the issues faced by the higher education community, including the university bureaucracy and how to navigate it. The Nuts and Bolts of Grant Writing covers everything from budgets to submissions and federal to foundation competitions, giving novices the opportunity to leapfrog over some of the hard lessons that most college and university grant seekers must learn from trial and error and allowing those with more experience to sharpen their skills.
