LibGuides: English Composition (ENG 101): Resources

Fahrenheit 451

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
Call Number: PS3503.R167 F3 2013

ISBN: 9781451673265

Publication Date: 2012

In a future totalitarian state where books are banned and destroyed by the government, Guy Montag, a fireman in charge of burning books, meets a revolutionary schoolteacher who dares to read and a girl who tells him of a past when people did not live in fear.

Below is a sampling of the articles available through the Masland Library relating to Fahrenheit 451.

"Fahrenheit 451" and the debate on the limits to freedom of expression
"Of course i'm happy": an analysis of Animal farm (Orwell, 1945) and Fahrenheit 451 (Bradbury, 1953) dystopian modernity.
The Omnipresence of Television and the Ascendancy of Surveillance/Sousveillance in Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451
Ray Bradbury
Slusser, George Edgar. "Ray Bradbury." American Novelists Since World War II: First Series, edited by Jeffrey Helterman and Richard Layman, vol. 2, Gale, 1978, pp. 60-65. Dictionary of Literary Biography Vol. 2. Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography.
Ray Bradbury
Wolfe, Gary K. "Ray Bradbury (22 August 1920)." Twentieth-Century American Science-Fiction Writers, edited by David Cowart and Thomas L. Wymer, vol. 8, Gale, 1981, pp. 61-76. Dictionary of Literary Biography Vol. 8. Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography.
What 'Carried the Trick'? Mass exploitation and the decline of thought in Ray Bradbury's 'Fahrenheit 451.'

Research Starter: Fahrenheit 451
Ray Bradbury
Paradowski, Robert J., and Stefan Dziemianowicz. “Ray Bradbury.” Salem Press Biographical Encyclopedia, 2021. EBSCOhost.

All the Pretty Horses

All the Pretty Horses by Cormac McCarthy
ISBN: 9780679744399

Publication Date: 1993

All the Pretty Horses-Analysis of Major Characters

The Kite Runner

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
Call Number: PS3608.O832 K58 2003

ISBN: 9781573222457

Publication Date: 2003

Traces the unlikely friendship of a wealthy Afghan youth and a servant's son in a tale that spans the final days of Afghanistan's monarchy through the atrocities of the present day.

Below is a sampling of the articles available through the Masland Library relating to The Kite Runner.

Research Starter: The Kite Runner

How Green Was My Valley

How Green Was My Valley by Llewellyn, Richard
Call Number: PR6023.L47 H6 2001

ISBN: 0141185856

Publication Date: 2001

Growing up in a mining community in rural South Wales, Huw Morgan is taught many harsh lessons. Looking back, where difficult days are faced with courage and the valleys swell with the sound of Welsh voices, it becomes clear that there is nowhere so green as the landscape of his own memory.

How false was my story.
“How False Was My Story.” Literary Cavalcade, vol. 52, no. 6, Mar. 2000, p. 38. EBSCOhost.
How Green Was My Valley
Benson, Chris. “How Green Was My Valley.” Masterplots, Fourth Edition, Nov. 2010, pp. 1–3. EBSCOhost.
How Green Was My Valley
Meyers, Michael R. “How Green Was My Valley.” Cyclopedia of Literary Places, Feb. 2003, p. 1. EBSCOhost.
How Green Was My Valley
“How Green Was My Valley.” Cyclopedia of Literary Characters, Revised Third Edition, Feb. 1998, p. 1. EBSCOhost.
Llewellyn, Richard
LLEWELLYN, Richard.” Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature, Jan. 2003, p. 607. EBSCOhost.
Richard Llewellyn
Barratt, David. “Richard Llewellyn.” Cyclopedia of World Authors, Fourth Revised Edition, Jan. 2003, p. 1. EBSCOhost.
Richard Llewellyn
Felton, Mick. "Richard Llewellyn (10 December 1906-)." British Novelists, 1930-1959, edited by Bernard Stanley Oldsey, vol. 15, Gale, 1983, pp. 322-335. Dictionary of Literary Biography Vol. 15. Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography.
Richard Llewellyn.
“Richard Llewellyn.” Columbia Electronic Encyclopedia, 6th Edition, Mar. 2021, p. 1. EBSCOhost.
Why is the Welsh language dying? Because the land of my fathers is obsessed with purity.
Cosslett, Rhiannon Lucy. “Why Is the Welsh Language Dying? Because the Land of My Fathers Is Obsessed with Purity.” New Statesman, vol. 142, no. 5170, Aug. 2013, p. 20. EBSCOhost.

How Green Was My Valley: Analysis of Setting
Meyers, Michael R. “How Green Was My Valley: Analysis of Setting.” Salem Press Encyclopedia of Literature, 2021. EBSCOhost.
Richard Llewellyn
Barratt, David. “Richard Llewellyn.” Salem Press Biographical Encyclopedia, 2020. EBSCOhost.

How Green Was My Valley (DVD) by Ford, John (director)
Call Number: DVD PN1997 .H69 2007

Publication Date: 2007

A man looks back on his life as a boy in a small Welsh mining town. His reminiscences reveal the disintegration of his closely knit family, while capturing the sentiments and issues of their time.

The Book Thief

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
Call Number: JUV PZ7.Z837 Boo 2006

ISBN: 9780375831003

Publication Date: 2006

Trying to make sense of the horrors of World War II, Death relates the story of Liesel--a young German girl whose book-stealing and story-telling talents help sustain her family and the Jewish man they are hiding, as well as their neighbors.

Below is a sampling of the articles available through the Masland Library relating to The Book Thief.

Research Starter: The Book Thief

Life of Pi

Life of Pi by Yann Martel; Tomislav Torjanac (Illustrator)
Call Number: PR9199.3.M3855 L54 2007

ISBN: 0151013837

Publication Date: 2007

Pi Patel, having spent an idyllic childhood in Pondicherry, India, as the son of a zookeeper, sets off with his family at the age of sixteen to start anew in Canada, but his life takes a marvelous turn when their ship sinks in the Pacific, leaving him adrift on a raft with a 450-pound Bengal tiger for company.

Below is a sampling of the articles available through the Masland Library relating to The Life of Pi.

Research Starter: Life of Pi

The Underground Railroad

The Underground Railroad (Pulitzer Prize Winner) (National Book Award Winner) (Oprah's Book Club) by Colson Whitehead
Call Number: PS3573.H4768 U53 2016

ISBN: 9780385542364

Publication Date: 2016

Cora is a slave on a cotton plantation in Georgia. When Caesar, a recent arrival from Virginia, tells her about the Underground Railroad, they decide to take a terrifying risk and escape. Though they manage to find a station and head north, they are being hunted. Their first stop is South Carolina, in a city that initially seems like a haven. But the city's placid surface masks an insidious scheme designed for its black denizens. And even worse: Ridgeway, the relentless slave catcher, is close on their heels. Forced to flee again, Cora embarks on a harrowing flight, state by state, seeking true freedom.-- from publisher's description.

Colson Whitehead
Maus, Derek C. "Colson Whitehead (6 November 1969-)." Twenty-First-Century American Novelists, Third Series, edited by George Parker Anderson, vol. 382, Gale, 2018, pp. 321-335. Dictionary of Literary Biography Vol. 382. Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography.
Genre Trouble and History?s Miseries in Colson Whitehead?s The Underground Railroad
Li, Stephanie. “Genre Trouble and History?S Miseries in Colson Whitehead?S The Underground Railroad.” MELUS, vol. 44, no. 2, June 2019, p. 1. EBSCOhost.
Museumizing Slavery: Living History in Colson Whitehead's The Underground Railroad
Dubey, Madhu. “Museumizing Slavery: Living History in Colson Whitehead’s The Underground Railroad.” American Literary History, vol. 32, no. 1, June 2020, pp. 111–139. EBSCOhost.
Riding the underground railroad: Whitehead mixes history and myth in this reimagined vision of the Underground Railroad
Seaman, Donna. “Riding the Underground Railroad: Whitehead Mixes History and Myth in This Reimagined Vision of the Underground Railroad.” Booklist, vol. 112, no. 19–20, June 2016, p. 37. EBSCOhost.
States of Possibility in Colson Whitehead's The Underground Railroad
Matthew Dischinger, and Matthew Dischinger. “States of Possibility in Colson Whitehead’s The Underground Railroad.” Global South, vol. 11, no. 1, Apr. 2017, pp. 82–99. EBSCOhost.
Summary and Analysis of the Underground Railroad
Worth Books, Worth. Summary and Analysis of the Underground Railroad. [Electronic Resource]. Worth Books, 2017. EBSCOhost.

more... less...

So much to read, so little time? This brief overview of The Underground Railroad tells you what you need to know--before or after you read Colson Whitehead's book.Crafted and edited with care, Worth Books set the standard for quality and give you the tools you need to be a well-informed reader.This short summary and analysis of The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead includes:Historical contextChapter-by-chapter summariesAnalysis of the main charactersThemes and symbolsImportant quotesFascinating triviaGlossary of termsSupporting material to enhance your understanding of the original workAbout The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead:Colson Whitehead's National Book Award-winning The Underground Railroad is a bold, original, and unflinchingly brutal portrait of slavery during the darkest period in American history.On the cusp of womanhood, Cora is a runaway slave, pursued by her memories of abuse and abandonment, and by the implacable and notoriously cruel slave hunter known as Ridgeway. Her journey on the Underground Railroad--in Whitehead's conceit, a literal, subterranean railway--propels her journey across a dangerous landscape in search of freedom.The summary and analysis in this book are intended to complement your reading experience and bring you closer to a great work of fiction.

Colson Whitehead
Carter, Linda M. “Colson Whitehead.” Salem Press Biographical Encyclopedia, 2020. EBSCOhost.

Haroun and the Sea of Stories by Salman Rushdie
Call Number: PR6068.U757 H37 1990

ISBN: 0140157379

Publication Date: 1991

This is the story of Haroun, a 12-year-old boy whose father Rashid is the greatest storyteller in a city so sad that it has forgotten its name. When the gift of gab suddenly deserts Rashid, Haroun sets out on an adventure to rescue his print.

Below is a sampling of the articles available through the Masland Library relating to Haroun and the Sea of Stories.

The Old Man and the Sea

The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway
Call Number: PS3515.E37 O4 1961

ISBN: 1985223279

Publication Date: 2018

Santiago is a Cuban fisherman who encounters a giant marlin in the Gulf Stream and the battle for his catch becomes one of survival against a band of marauding sharks.

Below is a sampling of the articles available through the Masland Library relating to The Old Man and the Sea

Research Starter: The Old Man and the Sea