The Handbook of Bilingual and Multilingual Education by
"Represents the first comprehensive reference work that covers bilingual, multilingual, and multicultural educational policies and practices around the world"-- Provided by publisher.
An Introduction to Multicultural Education by
An Introduction to Multicultural Education provides a balance between the principles and practice of multicultural education in the K-12 classroom, presenting multicultural education as a learner-centered pedagogy. DomNwachukwu's book projects foundational principles and practices that make multicultural education relevant and appealing, while eliminating ideas and practices that produce negative reactions and outcomes. An Introduction to Multicultural Education utilizes historical data to make the case for equity pedagogy, going further than other books on this topic to provide practical steps and approaches to implementing multicultural education. The person and cultural identity of the teacher is addressed in-depth. The person and nature of the learner and the learning process are addressed as foundational ideas behind equity pedagogy. Such multicultural education topics as gender equity, universal access, religious pluralism, and bilingualism (or multilingualism) are all addressed with much detail. This book provides pre-service and in-service teachers with the theoretical and practical support they need to provide equal and meaningful education to all the students in their classrooms.
Multicultural Education from Theory to Practice by
Multicultural education is a set of strategies and materials in education, developed to assist teachers in promoting democracy while responding to the many issues created by the rapidly changing demographics of their students. Multicultural education means to ensure the highest levels of academic achievement for all students: it helps students develop a positive self-concept by providing knowledge about the histories, cultures, and contributions of diversity groups. Multicultural Education: From Theory to Practice – which includes the contributions of academics and researchers from two continents and 14 culturally-challenged countries – aims to provide a platform for multicultural education researchers to present new research and developments in the area. The contributors to the book approach the foundations of multicultural education, the political context of multicultural education, classroom practices in multicultural education, and language education in a multicultural context.This volume will appeal to a wide range of academic readership, including educators, researchers, social students, teacher trainers, and teachers of all subjects and of all levels, who wish to develop personally and professionally. It will also be useful to all those who interact, one way or another, with both students and teachers in a multicultural context.
Multicultural Education by
There is a wide and growing ethnic, cultural, social-class, and linguistic gap between many of the nations teachers and their students. Multicultural Education: Issues and Perspectives, 9th edition, is designed to help current and future educators acquire the concepts, paradigms, and explanations needed to become effective practitioners in culturally, racially, linguistically, and social-class diverse classrooms and schools. An important goal of the 9th edition is to help educators attain a sophisticated understanding of the concept of culture and to view race, class, gender, social class, and exceptionality as interacting concepts rather than as separate and distinct.
An Educational Psychology of Methods in Multicultural Education by
Review: "The United States of America is a multilingual and multicultural nation made up of people of culturally, economically, religiously, and linguistically diverse backgrounds. Designed to appeal to all educators, this book was written to help prospective educators address socio-cultural questions, ideas, issues, and curiosities they encounter in multicultural education. Differences in race, ethnicity, culture, religion, social class, and socio-economic status call for comprehensive multicultural education - not only for students, but also for teachers." "Today's pre-service and in-service educators - teachers, administrators, parents, and teacher candidates - need to understand how students of various cultures feel, learn, understand, and behave in elementary and secondary schools as well as how these students adjust and adapt to the mainstream society in the communities where they live. The information in this book will guide educators in exploring the socio-cultural issues of cultural diversity and multiculturalism."--BOOK JACKET.
The (Im)Possible Multicultural Teacher by
The (Im)possible Multicultural Teacher: A Critical Approach to Understanding White Teachers'Multicultural Work provides a nuanced examination of what committed and critical-minded White teachers can do to transform educational inequities in their racially and linguistically diverse classrooms. Drawing from an ethnographic research study with three White teachers working at elementary, middle, and high school levels, this book provides a theoretical frame for understanding teachers'multicultural practices as well as three detailed case study chapters that document the teachers'attempts at implementing multicultural practices. Within each case study chapter, the author defines the sociopolitical context in which the teachers work and that ultimately shapes the (im)possibilities of their multicultural practices. The ethnographic research data show that the teachers'processes of implementing multicultural education are characterized by not only transformative pedagogies, but also pedagogical practices that take up and (re)produce the racial ideologies that make their multicultural endeavors difficult, if not impossible, to actualize. As the title of this book suggests, the author seeks to examine both the possibilities and impossibilities—the (im)possibilities—of White teachers implementing multicultural education
Challenges of Multicultural Education by
The voices of college students and teachers vividly enlighten readers about the real-world challenges of multicultural education. Courses on diversity abound in American universities today. But open classroom discussion of racial and gender differences can evoke discomfort as much as new understandings. Negotiating these courses takes a toll on both faculty and students as classrooms become filled with emotion. Based on student and teacher experience in a range of American colleges and universities, this book shows how to meet these challenges and create a truly open and beneficial environment. The authors demonstrate pedagogical strategies and new approaches. A vital resource for teachers, students, college administrators, and university libraries.
Deconstructing Privilege: Teaching and Learning as Allies in the Classroom by
Although scholarly examinations of privilege have increased in recent decades, an emphasis on privilege studies pedagogy remains lacking within institutions. This edited collection explores best practices for effective teaching and learning about various forms of systemic group privilege such as that based on race, gender, sexuality, religion, and class. Formatted in three easy-to-follow sections, Deconstructing Privilege charts the history of privilege studies and provides intersectional approaches to the topic. Drawing on a wealth of research and real-life accounts, this book gives educators both the theoretical foundations they need to address issues of privilege in the classroom and practical ways to forge new paths for critical dialogues in educational settings. Combining interdisciplinary contributions from leading experts in the field-- such as Tim Wise and Abby Ferber-- with pedagogical strategies and tips for teaching about privilege, Deconstructing Privilege is an essential book for any educator who wants to address what privilege really means in the classroom.
Diversity, Intercultural Encounters, and Education by
This book concerns the challenges and tensions rising from mass migration flows, unbalanced north-south and east-west relations and the increasing multicultural nature of society. The scope of the book's theme is global, addressing diversity and identity, intercultural encounters and conflict, and the interrogations of a new socio-political order or paradigm. Thus, it highlights some of the most poignant and challenging outcomes of cultural diversity faced more or less palpably by everyone everywhere in today's societies. The book's theme of multi- and pluriculturality is of particular current interest in the academic, socio-political, economic and entrepreneurial spheres. It covers Western and non-Western perspectives, representing a valuable resource in terms of international dialogue and experimentation. The chapters are complimentary, completing a rigorous theoretical framework offering detailed presentation and analysis of the phenomenon of diversity as encountered in society and the educational setting and at large viewed in a multidisciplinary multiperspective fashion. Among the theories and concepts represented are those intrinsic to sociology, psychology, political science, economics, history, literature, pedagogy, communication and linguistics.
Doing Multicultural Education for Achievement and Equity by
"Doing Multicultural Education for Achievement and Equity a hands-on, reader-friendly multicultural education textbook, actively engages education students in critical reflection and self-examination as they prepare to teach in increasingly diverse classrooms. In this engaging text, Carl A. Grant and Christine E. Sleeter, two of the most eminent scholars of multicultural teacher education, help pre-service teachers develop the tools they will need to learn about their students and their students communities and contexts, about themselves, and about the social relations in which schools are embedded. Doing Multicultural Education for Achievement and Equity challenges readers to take a truly active and ongoing role in promoting equity within education and helps to guide them in becoming highly qualified and fantastic teachers. Features and updates to this much-anticipated second edition include: Reflection boxes that encourage students to actively engage with the text and concepts, along with downloadable templates available on Routledge.com "Putting It into Practice" activities that offer concrete suggestions for really "doing" multicultural work in the classroom Fictional vignettes that illustrate the real issues teacher education students face and the ways their own cultural attitudes can impact their response New coverage of issues pertaining to student achievement, federal and state policy, and socioeconomic connections between the current economy and educational funding. A more comprehensive discussion about the different social movements that have affected education in the past and present"-- Provided by publisher.
Education and Minorities by
The contributors explore the experience of learners from minority groups and the education policy response of authorities, drawing on the international research in the USA, Finland, Rwanda, India, South Africa, Hungary, China and the UK. They explore the purpose of education for minority groups and in particular the place of human, social and identity capital in policy and practice. Each chapter contains a summary of the key points and issues within each chapter to enable easy navigation, key contemporary questions to encourage active engagement with the material and an annotated list of suggested reading to support further exploration.
Mapping the Broad Field of Multicultural and Intercultural Education Worldwide: Towards the Development of a New Citizen by
The issues which are discussed in the 29 chapters of this volume address core matters with respect to modern diverse societies. The most important relate to the following: the societal needs of migrant populations and the educational needs of their children; the exclusivist policies which usually impact upon migrant groups; the need to enrich school texts and curricula with new intercultural and citizenship dimensions; the importance of integrating the notion of Paideia within the school ethos and educational programmes.This volume has a dual aim. The first aim is to envisage the field of Multicultural and Intercultural Education from different disciplines at the international level, describing the new educational and social conditions that have been created by recent migration and identifying new trends in the field.The second aim is to highlight the importance of Multicultural and Intercultural Education in the development of a new citizen, who moves around the world, interacting with different people, and has a dynamic and flexible identity with polymorphic personal, social and cultural characteristics – a new intercultural persona.To sum up, this volume highlights that authors coming from different continents share some common ideas and tend to believe in the notion of Intercultural/Multicultural Education as a useful new dimension within the dynamics of many disciplines, as a new inter-disciplinary approach that is embedded within them and which characterizes modern societies.
Diversity and Education by
In his new book, Michael Vavrus helps readers better understand why issues of diversity and difference are so highly contested in the United States and across the globe. Vavrus incorporates specific education examples throughout the text to examine six contested areas: race and ethnicity; socioeconomic class and culture; multicultural and ethnic studies; language; religion; and sexuality and gender. In each of these areas, the author explores how contrasting worldviews found in social conservatism, liberal multiculturalism, and critical multiculturalism influence our understandings about difference and diversity and the educational policies we develop as a result. Diversity and Education is designed to help educators move beyond the “how can they believe that?” knee-jerk reaction toward a more informed, strategic understanding of belief systems and political affiliations.
Diversity Matters by
Today, no institution can ignore the need for deep conversations about race and ethnicity. But colleges and universities face a unique set of challenges as they explore these topics. Diversity Matters offers leaders a roadmap as they think through how their campuses can be hospitable environments for diversity.
The Flat World and Education by
In this bestseller and Grawemeyer Award winner, Linda Darling-Hammond offers an eye-opening wake-up call concerning America’s future and vividly illustrates what the United States needs to do in order to build a system of high-achieving and equitable schools that ensures every child the right to learn.
Multiculturalism by
About the Contributor(s): Chinaka Samuel DomNwachukwu is Professor of Multicultural Education and Associate Dean for Accreditation at the Azusa Pacific University School of Education. He is also Senior Pastor of The Potter's Wheel Assembly of Chino Hills, California. Among his many other works are Incessant Warfare: A Critical History of Spiritual Warfare Through the Ages (2011), An Introduction to Multicultural Education: From Theory to Practice (2010), and The American Mosaic: Ministry in a Culturally Diverse Society (2006). HeeKap Lee is Professor of Teacher Education at the Azusa Pacific University School of Education. He has been invited to speak at national and international settings, lecturing on Christian education, multicultural education, curriculum development, training evaluation and assessment, and school change. Among his other works are Faith-Based Education that Constructs (2010) and Why Does a Well-Planned Innovation Fail? The Importance of Concern Analysis (2010).
Multicultural Perspectives in Music Education by
Summary: "Keeping beat with our increasingly diverse population and the explosion of Internet content, this greatly expanded third edition of Multicultural Perspectives in Music Education covers more cultures; contains more standards-based, hands-on lesson plans; and offers more resources than ever.... This book is a flavorful melting pot of exciting musical and cultural nourishment that will inspire students of all demographic and social groups. This must-have resource represents must-learn concepts for young people in every community and learning environment."--Willie L. Hill Jr., past president, MENC: The National Association for Music Education. Summary: "As multicultural music education has expanded and deepened in the past two decades, so has the scope of this book. This three-volume third edition has new chapters on jazz and rock and world beat, additional contributions from noted scholars and teachers, and a foreword by renowned ethnomusicologist Anthony Seeger. It combines excellent cultural information and perspectives, comprehensive annotated sources, and creative lesson plans to engage students in rich, multicultural music experiences. William M. Anderson and Patricia Shehan Campbell are to be congratulated on the twenty-first-anniversary edition of this invaluable, time-honored source for music educators."--Marie McCarthy, chair of music education, School of Music, Theatre, and Dance, University of Michigan. Summary: "The new edition of Multicultural Perspectives in Music Education is bursting with information and practical, hands-on strategies for your general, choral, and instrumental classes. Who could ask for more distinguished authors? From the editors on down, you have the best knowledge/classroom-based writers in our field. Here's the help you need to face that challenging new cultural mix in your school. It won't collect dust on your shelf."--Will Schmid, past president, MENC: The National Association for Music Education. Summary: "These ambitious volumes are made by and for practical-minded educators. Rooted in on-the-ground classroom experience, chapter after chapter covers a unique cultural territory, introducing values, aesthetic principles, and structures that generate and shape musical expression. In each case, a treasure trove of get-it-done lessons is our reward. Editors Anderson and Campbell empower us to eliminate barriers and blind spots that hinder cross-cultural learning and to open our minds to different ways of comprehending and teaching musical knowledge."--Dan Sheehy, curator and director, Smithsonian Folkways --Book Jacket.
Reclaiming the Multicultural Roots of U. S. Curriculum by
Within curriculum studies, a “master narrative” has developed into a canon that is predominantly White, male, and associated with institutions of higher education. This canon has systematically neglected communities of color, all of which were engaged in their own critical conversations about the type of education that would best benefit their children. Building upon earlier work that reviewed curriculum texts, this book serves as a much-needed correction to the glaring gaps in U.S. curriculum history. Chapters focus on the curriculum discourses of African Americans, Native Americans, Asian Americans, and Latinos during what has been construed as the “founding” period of curriculum studies, reclaiming their historical legacy and recovering the multicultural history of educational foundations in the United States.
Surpassing Shanghai by
Review: "This book answers a simple question: How would one redesign the American education system if the aim was to take advantage of everything that has been learned by countries with the world's best education systems? With a growing number of countries outperforming the United States on the most respected comparisons of student achievement--and spending less on education per student--this question is critical. With a growing number of countries outperforming the United States on the most respected comparisons of student achievement--and spending less on education per student--this question is critical. Surpassing Shanghai looks in depth at the education systems that are leading the world in student performance to find out what strategies are working and how they might apply to the United States. Developed from the work of the National Center on Education and the Economy, which has been researching the education systems of countries with the highest student performance for more than twenty years, this book provides a series of answers to the question of how the United States can compete with the world's best."--Publisher's description.
Understanding Conflict and Change in a Multicultural World by
Summary: "Students from different cultural backgrounds are being thrown together as mass transportation and telecommunications shrink our world. Inclusive classrooms with respectful learning environments can be achieved when we identify the sources of tension that separate and divide us. Students are more alike than different. Knowing about our common origin and challenges will help teachers become more effective."--Back cover.
Connecting Teachers, Students, and Standards by
Creating and sustaining a classroom where every learner succeeds is a challenge for any teacher--especially when the elements of diversity and inclusion are added to the mix. How can teachers differentiate instruction in ways that help all students meet standards and develop lifelong learning skills?The authors of Connecting Teachers, Students, and Standards provide a comprehensive framework for reaching and teaching English language learners, students from culturally diverse backgrounds, and students with disabilities. In this book, you'll learn how to • Select the best instructional methods and materials for diverse learners• Create classrooms that are welcoming, practical, and conducive to learning • Develop classroom content that allows every student to achieve standards while meeting the individual needs of diverse learners• Collaborate effectively with fellow teachers and education specialists• Administer assessments that challenge and accommodate diverse learnersThe book includes helpful, real-world scenarios that provide tips for connecting with diverse students in the classroom, communicating with their families, and coordinating efforts with colleagues. Packed with practical strategies for handling difficult issues, this is a go-to guide for any teacher facing the complexities of helping diverse learners flourish at school and beyond.
The Global School: Connecting Classrooms and Students Around the World by
Prepare students for an increasingly flat world—a place where diverse people from divergent cultures learn and work together rather than in isolation. Learn specific steps to globalize your classroom, and move beyond the call for students to memorize material to instead encourage higher-order thinking. These ideas, assignments, projects, and assessments are all wrapped in a 21st century skills framework.
Power, Privilege and Education by
This new book provides meaningful perspectives on the dynamics of power and privilege in education. The authors offer recommendations and policy considerations that are aimed at increasing social justice in education and improving student performance and student outcomes.
Striving for the "Perfect" Classroom by
This is a unique book that assists teachers in achieving that perfect classroom environment where students want to learn and teachers want to teach. Each chapter begins with a real-life teaching scenario, poses a question for reflection, identifies several key concepts, explores the research on the topic, provides a vast array of practical teaching and/or assessment strategies that can be used with diverse learners, includes a technology component, and ends with questions for self-reflection or group discussion. The authors provide a plethora of information that can be used across grade levels and within many academic disciplines.
White Teachers, Diverse Classrooms by
The point of departure for this new edition, as it was for the first, is the unacceptable reality that, for students of color, school is often not a place to learn but a place of low expectations and failure. In urban schools with concentrations of poverty, often fewer than half the ninth graders leave with a high school diploma. This second edition has been considerably expanded with chapters that illuminate the Asian American, Native American, and Latina/o experience, including that of undocumented students, in our schools. These chapters offer insights into the concerns and issues students bring to the classroom. They also convey the importance for teachers, as they accept difference and develop cultural sensitivity, to see their students as individuals, and avoid generalizations. This need to go beneath the surface is reinforced by a chapter on adopted children, children of mixed race, and “hidden minorities”. White and Black teachers, and teachers of different racial and ethnic origin, here provide the essential theoretical background, and share their experiences, and the approaches they have developed, to create the conditions – in both urban and suburban settings – that enable minority students to succeed. This book encourages reflection and self-examination, and calls for recognizing and reinforcing students'ability to achieve. It also calls for high expectations for both teachers and students. It demonstrates what it means to recognize often unconscious biases, confront institutional racism where it occurs, surmount stereotyping, adopt culturally relevant teaching, connect with parents and the community, and integrate diversity in all activities.
Connecting Teachers, Students, and Standards by
Creating and sustaining a classroom where every learner succeeds is a challenge for any teacher—especially when the elements of diversity and inclusion are added to the mix. How can teachers differentiate instruction in ways that help all students meet standards and develop lifelong learning skills? The authors of Connecting Teachers, Students, and Standards provide a comprehensive framework for reaching and teaching English language learners, students from culturally diverse backgrounds, and students with disabilities. In this book, you'll learn how to * Select the best instructional methods and materials for diverse learners * Create classrooms that are welcoming, practical, and conducive to learning * Develop classroom content that allows every student to achieve standards while meeting the individual needs of diverse learners * Collaborate effectively with fellow teachers and education specialists * Administer assessments that challenge and accommodate diverse learners. The book includes helpful, real-world scenarios that provide tips for connecting with diverse students in the classroom, communicating with their families, and coordinating efforts with colleagues. Packed with practical strategies for handling difficult issues, this is a go-to guide for any teacher facing the complexities of helping diverse learners flourish at school and beyond.
Crossing Cultures in the Language Classroom, Second Edition by
Review: "Crossing Cultures in the Language Classroom attempts to balance theory and practice for pre-service and in-service teachers in general education programs or in ESL/EFL, bilingual, and foreign language teacher training programs, as well as cross-cultural awareness workshops. This book is unique in that it combines theory with a wide range of experiential activities and projects designed to activity engage users in the process of understanding different aspects of cross-cultural awareness"--Back cover.
Diversities in Education by
Diversities in Education is a challenging text that will help educators, teacher educators and trainee teachers to be more effective in teaching a range of diverse learners. It covers five major categories of difference: sex and gender; social class and socio-economic status; race, ethnicity and culture; beliefs and religion; and different abilities and asks the urgent questions all policy-makers, educators and students should consider: *Why should we value diversity and human rights? *How can inclusive education accommodate diversity? *How do society’s aspirations for cohesion and harmony impact on people who are different? *What meanings are given to differences, culturally and historically? *Should educators seek to accentuate, eliminate, reduce or ignore differences? By drawing attention to the latest research into the most effective educational policies and practices, this insightful book suggests strategies for meeting the challenges being posed in an era of superdiversity. It’s a crucial read for any training or practising educator who wants to address the issue of diversity, learn effective ways to reach all learners and create more inclusive and harmonious societies.
A Good Fit for All Kids by
Summary: A Good Fit For All Kids supports teachers in constructing research-based, collaborative approaches to teaching writing, in print and technology-mediated forms, for diverse, inclusive classrooms.-- Provided by publisher.
The Great Diversity Debate by
Based on research from multiple disciplines, The Great Diversity Debate describes the presence and growth of diversity in the United States from the country’s earliest years to the present. The author describes how the concept of pluralism evolved from a philosophical term to a concept used in many disciplines and with global significance. Rather than assuming that diversity is an unequivocal benefit, Koppelman investigates the ways in which diversity is actually experienced and debated across critical sectors of social experience, including immigration, affirmative action, education, and national identity. Koppelman takes the sometimes complicated arguments for and against diversity in school and society and lays out the benefits with great clarity and simplicity, making this book accessible to a large audience.
Not for ESOL Teachers by
This accessible and practical text offers mainstream classroom teachers a comprehensive resource on educating English language learners (ELLs) successfully. The Second Edition of Not for ESOL Teachers identifies key issues and challenges concerning the teaching of language and content to English language learners. It also offers teachers a variety of research-proven strategies in order to address those students’ multiple learning needs.
One Size Does Not Fit All by
First hand stories by teachers for teachers on one of the most difficult topics to teach: diversityAccording to recent surveys, almost half of all students belong to a minority group, and that number is increasing yearly. Coping with the challenges associated with diversity and dealing with others in a sensitive and appropriate manner can be one of the more difficult aspects of teaching. Although much has changed in the landscape of diversity, there is still a long way to go both in and out of the classroom. Educating students on how to be culturally aware is invariably a challenge and a sensitive process in its own right. One Size Does Not Fit All addresses many of the challenges of diversity education by offering sage advice from teachers. With a wonderful mixture of voices and points of view, from big cities to small towns, these stories of how teachers have dealt with this very sensitive topic will provide a reassuring guide to fellow educators. Stories range from those about students with strong cultural identities, to stories of how teachers handle issues of sexual orientation, religion, and world conflicts.
Teaching Globally by
In today’s globally connected world, it is essential for students to have an understanding of multiple cultures and perspectives. In this edited collection, Kathy Short, Deanna Day, and Jean Schroeder bring together fourteen educators who use global children’s literature to help students explore their own cultural identities. The book lays out why this kind of global curriculum is important and how to make space for it within district and state mandates. Built around a curriculum framework developed by Kathy, the ideas and strategies in Teaching Globally will help teachers integrate a global focus into existing literacy and social studies curricula, evaluate global resources, guide students as they investigate cross-cultural issues, and create classroom activities with an intercultural perspective. Teaching Globally is filled with vignettes from K–8 urban and rural schools that describe successes and struggles, as well as real examples of students responding to global literature. Extensive lists of book recommendations, websites, and professional books, as well as an appendix of global text sets mentioned by the authors, complete this must-have resource.
Teaching Matters by
As public schools become increasingly embattled by budget shortfalls, crowded buildings, and ever-more-rigid curricula, the burden of these restrictions has drastically changed the way children are expected to learn. Nowhere is this more obvious or more devastating than classrooms in high-need urban areas. Drawing upon teachers’ firsthand experiences in some of today’s most demanding schools, leading education experts Beverly Falk and Megan Blumenreich provide an enlightening account of what our students really need—and how teachers are stepping up to provide what state standards and political posturing cannot. Teaching Matters takes us into a variety of classrooms to witness the art of teaching at its most creative and effective, with a focus on early childhood and elementary school. We follow educators as they strive to change systems that fail to address the needs of their students, from efforts to break the silence about homophobia in schools and multipronged strategies to build stronger relationships with immigrant families to the modification of ineffective curriculum to foster the growth of the “whole child.” By confronting many misconceptions about urban education and school reform, Falk and Blumenreich provide a crucial insider’s look at some of the most challenging and relevant questions in education today.
Using Understanding by Design in the Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Classroom by
Summary: "Authors Amy Heineke and Jay McTighe provide the answers by adding a "lens on language" to the widely used Understanding by Design® framework for curriculum design, which emphasizes teaching for understanding, not rote memorization"-- Provided by publisher.