LibGuides: Computer and Information Science: Find Articles

Open Access Databases

The databases listed below are not subscribed to by the Masland Library. They are available through the internet and may or may not be as well maintained as the databases subscribed to by the library. However, they still have valuable information and provide additional resources not available in the library databases. In addition, it is important to remember that not all of the articles listed in these databases are free.

arXiv.org Open access to 1,455,830 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics
CiteSeer A search engine for computer and information science literature. Also includes resources such as algorithms, data, metadata, services, techniques, and software.
Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies This is a collection of bibliographies of scientific literature in computer science from various sources, covering most aspects of computer science. The bibliographies are updated weekly from their original locations such that you'll always find the most recent versions here. More than 1 million of references contain URLs to an online version of the paper. Abstracts are available for more than 800 000 entries. There are more than 2000 links to other sites carrying bibliographic information.
Computer Science Technical Reports This collection provides an index to computer science technical reports that we have downloaded from selected sites on the Internet. The reports are mostly in English, but there are some in a variety of different languages. The collection contains many large documents such as PhD theses.
DBLP: Computer Science Bibliography Provides open bibliographic information on major computer science journals and proceedings.
Rexa A search engine covering the computer science literature.
Science.gov Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
SciTech Connect Science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy.

Databases are the best place to locate articles. Below are a sample of the databases available through the Masland Library.

Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete (Now PQ One Business) This link opens in a new window Contents include a broad array of business information, from scholarly journals and dissertations, to company, industry and market focused trade news. ABI/INFORM features the latest news from top sources like the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times and The Economist.
AccessScience This link opens in a new window AccessScience, the online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. Provides searchable access to the full text of the Encyclopedia and the annual yearbook, including recent research developments, biographies, data, tables, news references, illustrations and related links.
Associates Program Source Plus This link opens in a new window Do not let the name fool you, this resource contains full-text journals and books covering a diverse range of topics including accounting; biotechnology; computer & data processing; counseling; criminal justice; graphic design; and, more.
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window Business Source Ultimate's content supports covering all areas of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. In addition to accessing essential full-text journals, business students can delve into case studies, country economic reports and company profiles, as well as interviews with executives and analysts. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 included.
Only full-text provider of the following top-tiered academic journals: Academy of of Management Journal; Academy of Management Review; Strategic Management Journal; and, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR).
Computer Database This link opens in a new window Computer Database provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database includes computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology. Coverage: 1980-current
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
Information Science and Library Issues This link opens in a new window Information Science and Library Issues Collection provides access to scholarly journals and trade publications essential for information professionals and other knowledge workers. The database offers coverage of topics including information infrastructure, metadata architecture, publishing, and more.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Provides access to peer reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects as well as full-text coverage of the New York Times going back to 1995. Millions of articles are available in PDF and HTML full-text format.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals, the database offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: biblical studies, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
Project Gutenberg is a volunteer effort to digitize and archive cultural works, to "encourage the creation and distribution of eBooks". It was founded in 1971 by Michael S. Hart and is the oldest digital library.
Sage Premier This link opens in a new window Sage Premier provides access to more than 1,200 online journals published by Sage. Find top research on a wide variety of subjects including Biblical/theological studies, business, counseling & psychology, criminal justice, education, social work, and many others. Now available: Cairn has access to the complete run of 769 Sage titles.
Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Reference content from Gale and its publishing partners includes top titles such as: Computer Sciences, Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, Gale Encyclopedia of Science, World of Chemistry, and many more.

Financial Times (30 day embargo/delay) This link opens in a new window Unfortunately, the cost of a Financial Times (FT) subscription for a small pool of users + above industry average yearly increases FT has chosen to charge has resulted in the Cairn University Library needing to cancel this beloved resource. Please revisit this listing by early September for suggested resources to use instead of FT. The current link to FT is for articles from 1982 to 30 days ago. 
Flipster This link opens in a new window Flipster is a digital magazine platform making it possible to read a magazine from your computer, tablets, and phones. With an initial emphasis on children's magazines, Cairn also subscribes to Archaeology, Fast Company and Pennsylvania Magazine. An app is available for offline reading but all magazines can be read without the use of an app.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window General OneFile is a comprehensive general-interest resource providing periodical and news information. In addition, General OneFile also features more than 500 travel guides; a full collection of National Public Radio programs from 1990 to the present, including searchable transcripts; links to over 5,000 video files including shows like the Today Show, NBC Nightly News, NRO TV and Meet the Press; more than 3,000 full-text titles recommended by Bowker’s “Magazines for Libraries”.
InfoTrac Newsstand This link opens in a new window InfoTrac Newsstand (formerly National Newspaper Index) provides access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
Due to third party ownership of full text, EBSCO Information Services is dependent on publisher publication schedules (and in some cases embargo periods) in order to produce full text on its products.
New York Times This link opens in a new window Cairn University provides a yearly pass to all current students, faculty, and staff. The first time you login, sign up for the NYTimes with your cairn email address. Renew your account once a year at this link. Access NYT directly from nytimes.com or download the app (your email must be your @cairn.edu email account). The New York Times, published in New York City since 1851, is an important source of reporting, information, and opinion, covering politics, finance, health, science, culture, the arts, sports, and fashion in the U.S. and abroad. The online version of The Times is the most comprehensive existing aggregation of information and content created and published by The New York Times. The site includes all articles, features, interviews, obituaries, columns, and still image, audio, video, and data, text and multimedia published on the http://www.nytimes.com site since the site's launch in 1996.

ACM

ACM Articles
Link to Journals published by ACM.

Search Tips

Below are some tips to help you search in the library catalog and databases:

Keywords - also called search terms are words used to describe a resource. When choosing keywords look at your topic, research question or thesis statement and choose the most important words and use those words to search for information on your topic. Avoid common words, which will give you to many results.

Boolean Operators - are used to combine search terms together to retrieve more relevant results.

AND - use to combine search terms when you want all the terms to appear in the article
OR - use only with synonyms, use to retrieve results that have any of the terms you searched
NOT - use with words that have multiple meanings, eliminates a meaning of the word

Limiters - databases have many different ways that you can limit your search, some of the most common limits are listed below

Full Text - retrieves results that include the full text of the article as it was originally published
Scholarly/Peer Reviewed - retrieves results for articles that have been reviewed by experts in the field before they are published
Date Range - allows you to limit the publication date or the articles, find articles with in a specific range of dates, retrieve the most recent information quickly
Language - choose the language that you are most comfortable reading, this way you don't have to weed through articles you can't read.
There are many more limiters available and some databases have more than others. If you would like more information about limiters or assistance locating resources please schedule a Research Consultation.

Bibliographic Searching - Use the citations in the articles you have found that are relevant to your topic to find similar articles.

This is just some of the many search tips. For more information about locating and evaluating resources check out the Information Literacy Module or schedule a Research Consultation