Artificial Chemistries by
An introduction to the fundamental concepts of the emerging field of Artificial Chemistries, covering both theory and practical applications. Includes a general overview of the field and its methodology, reviews important aspects of biology, including basic mechanisms of evolution, discusses examples of ACs drawn from the literature; considers fundamental questions of how order can emerge, emphasizing the concept of chemical organization (a closed and self-maintaining set of chemicals); and surveys a range of applications, which include computing, systems modeling in biology, and synthetic life.
Bioanalytical Chemistry by
A timely, accessible survey of the multidisciplinary fields of bioanalytical chemistry. Provides an all in one approach for both beginners and experts, from a broad range of backgrounds, covering introductions, theory, advanced concepts and diverse applications for each method.
Chemistry by
Most people remember chemistry from their schooldays as largely incomprehensible, a subject that was fact-rich but understanding-poor, smelly, and so far removed from the real world of events and pleasures that there seemed little point, except for the most introverted, in coming to terms with its grubby concepts, spells, recipes, and rules. Peter Atkins wants to change all that. In this Very Short Introduction to Chemistry, he encourages us to look at chemistry anew, through a chemist's eyes, in order to understand its central concepts and to see how it contributes not only towards our material comfort, but also to human culture. Atkins shows how chemistry provides the infrastructure of our world, through the chemical industry, the fuels of heating, power generation, and transport, as well as the fabrics of our clothing and furnishings. By considering the remarkable achievements that chemistry has made, and examining its place between both physics and biology, Atkins presents a fascinating, clear, and rigorous exploration of the world of chemistry - its structure, core concepts, and exciting contributions to new cutting-edge technologies. ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Chemistry in the Marketplace by
Provides fresh explanations, fascinating facts, and funny anecdotes about the serious science in the products we buy and the resources we use. With chapters on chemistry found in different parts of our home, in the backyard, and in the world around us. Explains how things work, where marketing can be deceptive, and what risks you should really be concerned about. Includes experiments to help apply the concepts in the text.
A Dictionary of Chemistry by
The ideal reference resource for students of chemistry. Covers all aspects of chemistry, from physical chemistry to biochemistry.
Introduction to Computational Chemistry by
Provides a comprehensive account of the fundamental principles underlying different computational methods.
Principles of Inorganic Chemistry by
Offers a principles-based approach to inorganic chemistry that, unlike other texts, uses chemical applications of group theory and molecular orbital theory throughout as an underlying framework.
The Chemistry Book by
The author explores 250 of the most significant and interesting chemistry milestones from c. 500,000 BCE to 2030. Chronologically organized, the entries each consist of a short summary and an image. The book presents an array of discoveries, theories, and technological applications as it traces the evolution of the "central science."-- From publisher's description.
The Lost Elements by
The Periodic Table of Elements hasn't always looked like it does now, a well-organized chart arranged by atomic number. In the mid-nineteenth century, chemists were of the belief that the elements should be sorted by atomic weight. However, the weights of many elements were calculated incorrectly, and over time it became clear that not only did the elements need rearranging, but that the periodic table contained many gaps and omissions: there were elements yet to be discovered, and the allure of finding one had scientists rushing to fill in the blanks. Supposed "discoveries" flooded laboratories, and the debate over what did and did not belong on the periodic table reached a fever pitch. With the discovery of radioactivity, the discourse only intensified. Throughout its formation, the Periodic Table of Elements has seen false entries, good-faith errors, retractions, and dead ends. In fact, there have been more falsely proclaimed elemental discoveries throughout history than there are elements on the table as we know it today.
Organic Chemistry by
Organic chemistry is the chemistry of compounds of carbon. The ability of carbon to link together to form long chain molecules and ring compounds as well as bonding with many other elements has led to a vast array of organic compounds. These compounds are central to life forming the basis for organic molecules such as nucleic acids, proteins, carbohydrates, and lipids.
Chemistry 2 by
Answers at your fingertips to the essentials of a subject that is challenging at best and that many students struggle with. This 6 page guide focuses on physical chemistry with the details and structure of the subject organized and designed to be a key to the answers that are further supported by your texts and lectures.
Organic Chemistry Reactions by
Quick Reference for the core essentials of a subject and class that is challenging at best and that many students struggle with. This 6 page guide created by an experienced chemistry author and professor, gathers key elements, and is organized and designed to use along with your texts and lectures.