Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About Historical Societies
For those scholars who are serious in their pursuit of primary source data, a historical society is one of the best resources the scholar can access. Historical societies typically house a wide range of primary source material related to a particular state or region. Some are found attached to libraries, while others have their own buildings. The scholar can generally find out basic material about the historical society from their websites, but here is a brief list of items you should have with you when you visit.
- school idenification/state I.D.
- pens and pencils
- digital camera (you can study the text via your computer later)
- money for copies
- gloves/tissue (sometime supplied at society)
Students should also check out the societies website prior to the visit to check on specific policies, what time the society is open to the public, whether cameras are allowed, and eating/drinking rules before proceeding. If you are really diligent you can check to see what resources might be in closed or open stacks.
Avalon Project- Yale
The Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. We do not intend to mount only static text but rather to add value to the text by linking to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text.
Internet History Sourcebook Project – Fordham University
The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use.
Internet Text Archive
Download free books and texts. The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.
RLG Archival Resources
This database provides detailed finding aids for archival collections from North America and Europe. RLG Archival Resources supports full-text searching and display, and some finding aids serve as links to digital images of actual archival material.