Anatomy and Physiology Made Incredibly Visual! by
Anatomy & Physiology Made Incredibly Visual is an innovative new reference that brings clinical subjects to life using a vivid, graphic presentation. Like the Incredibly Easy series, the Incredibly Visual series takes difficult clinical topics and presents them in a clear, concise, easy-to-understand manner. The highly visual nature of this book makes anatomy and physiology fundamentals accessible to the reader in a unique and interesting way that enables quick review and comprehension as well as practical application. For each body system, the book logically first presents anatomic fundamentals necessary to understand the complex physiology of the body. Then physiologic processes are presented more visually than ever before. This new approach to clinical content maximizes the power of visual thinking by getting readers as close to the clinical content as they can get without actually being in the room with a patient. Complex ideas are broken down into their component parts, with each component made unmistakably simple in appealingly colorful and graphic ways. Readers will read less, understand more, and see things more clearly than ever before.
Encyclopedia of Human Body Systems by
This encyclopedia is a concise yet comprehensive guide to the systems of the human body that is accessible to the lay reader.• Features over 150 pictures, anatomical drawings, tables, and diagrams• Provides entertaining sidebars and interesting facts throughout the encyclopedia• Contains a bibliography and index to aid in study• The comprehensive glossary contains more than 600 terms used in the text
Medical Terminology by
Feeling overwhelmed by medical terminology? Grab a lifeline: the newly updated Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy!®, 4th Editionoffers clear and simple explanations of vital terms and their everyday use in nursing practice. Backed by humor and chock full of illustrations, this enjoyable text is the perfect backup to class materials and the ideal on-the-job refresher for experienced nurses and all healthcare professionals. Learn how to decipher complex terms from the roots up—and take your confidence to a whole new level. Be expertly guided through the choppy waters of medical terminology … NEW and updated content clarifies medical terminology concepts with clear definitions and illustrations Explains the meanings, roots, and pronunciation of terms as used in everyday practice, including: Names for all major body systems: skeletal, muscular, integumentary, cardiovascular, respiratory, gastrointestinal, urinary, reproductive, neurologic, endocrine, blood and lymphatic, and sensory systems Terms and phrases used in maternal health, pharmacology, and mental health Breaks down complex medical terms into recognizable components—common prefixes, roots, and suffixes—to help you identify the meaning of any term Offers a strong anatomy and physiology overview backed by numerous images, including a large image of each organ system Chapter features provide learning aids and on-the-unit support: Just the facts—quick summary of chapter content Vocabulary builders—end-of-chapter games such as crossword puzzles, matching roots and prefixes to their correct meanings, and fill-in-the-blank sentences to help you retain learning Pump up your pronunciation—phonetic spellings make it easy to pronounce complex terms Anatomically speaking—anatomy illustrations, with pronunciations of key terms Memory jogger—stories and tools that support retention “Nurse Joy” and “Jake” —explain key concepts and offer friendly problem-solving tips Beyond the dictionary—learn the origins of words, to help you remember word roots and dissect meanings The real world—explains informal terms used in daily practice
A History of Human Anatomy by
Many advances in medicine and surgery can be directly linked to improvements in understanding the structure and function of the human body. During the sixteenth century, the study of human anatomy became an objective discipline, based on direct observation and scientific principles. Not surprisingly, the study of human anatomy has progressed to its universal acceptance and recognition as a scientific discipline, essential for the practice of modern medicine. This revised and expanded edition presents anatomy from antiquity to the modern times. In this book, the authors present many scholars and teachers; the time periods, places, and impact of their work; controversies in anatomy; and advances in the discipline. These topics run the gamut from early pioneers in the art to the development of techniques that have propelled the study of anatomy to its current state. The authors have attempted to present the “big picture” regarding the historic anatomists and movements that have shaped our current understanding of what we now call “medical anatomy.” This beautifully illustrated edition spans nearly four centuries of medical history. It was a period of spectacular achievements during which many great medical personalities lived, made important anatomical discoveries, and produced impressive treatises. With the sheer volume of historical anatomy literature available, the authors followed a somewhat eclectic and selective course in presenting the most significant material in this work. As even now man continues to learn about the structure of his body with new and noninvasive technologies such as MRI, uncovering parts of the human anatomy never seen before, the study of the history of anatomy therefore continues alongside the study of anatomy as a scientific discipline without obvious end.
Investigating the Human Body by
Readers will learn about the way our body works to keep us moving and healthy in this stimulating book that features a variety of colorful, vivid images, easy-to-read text, a helpful glossary and index, and fascinating facts. This book will have readers captivated as they learn about the various systems in our bodies, including the digestive system, skeletal system, circulatory system, muscular system, endocrine system, and immune system. An engaging lab activity is featured to aid in further understanding of how our bodies help us in everyday activities!
Nurses! Test Yourself in Anatomy and Physiology by
This book is designed as a study aid and revision guide for student nurses undertaking their anatomy and physiology module. It will test students learning and help identify their knowledge gaps.
Paramedics! by
This self-test book of self-assessment questions and quizzes that is designed to both test paramedic students learning and help them understand their knowledge gaps by explaining the answers to the questions included.
Adventures in Human Being by
Summary: "We all have plenty of long-held ideas about our bodies, but for many of us our bodies remain uncharted territory. In Adventures in Human Being, physician and award-winning author Gavin Francis leads readers on a journey into the hidden pathways of the human body, from the brain's pea-sized pineal gland--the so-called "seat of the soul"--To the delicate machinery of the hand, and from the cranium to the calcaneum, the largest bone in the foot. Drawing on his work as a General Practitioner in Scotland, as well as his experiences traveling and practicing medicine in Africa, Asia, Antarctica, and the Arctic, Francis blends case studies, first-hand accounts, and episodes from medical history, philosophy, and literature to reveal not only what can go wrong with our bodies, but also how our ideas about our anatomy have evolved. Mirroring the structure of classic anatomy books, Adventures in Human Being proceeds from the brain down to the feet, stopping along the way to reflect on how seizures occur, what vertigo really means, and why kidney transplants work. At its heart, Adventures in Human Being is a reflection on what it means to be human: for behind each disease, degeneration, or miraculous recovery lies a story of suffering and survival, lucky and unlucky, fragile and resilient. Poetic, eloquent and profoundly perceptive, Adventures in Human Being will transform the way you view your body"-- Provided by publisher.
The Earthen Vessel by
Summary: Let the Earthen Vessel guide your momentous journey through God's magnificent masterpiece, your body. It is a journey from the inside of the body to the outside, from your head to your toes! This informative and easy-to-read book will take you through the marvelous and miraculous workings of your body. You will learn what an amazing pump our beating hearts are, what our digestive system does with the food we eat, and how the kidneys are our body's clean-up crew. Read about the bones and the muscles and how we are able to stand up, move at will, and not fall into a heap! Find out how incredibly precise our brain and nervous system work together for our well-being and survival every moment of our lives. You will also learn about DNA and how we humans have always been humans by God's own Hand of creation. We are indeed "fearfully and wonderfully made"--created in the image of God. Now, walk with me as we travel through the beautiful Earthen Vessel, a journey you will be happy you took.
Human Body Composition by
The new edition of Human Body Composition is the most complete text in the burgeoning field of body composition research. The book covers the full range of methods to assess body composition, including dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry, electrical impedance, and imaging techniques. Maintaining the focus of the first edition as a definitive research guide, this resource incorporates updated information on methods and topics of biological importance.
Physics of the Human Body by
Review: "Richard P. McCall's fascinating book explains how basic concepts of physics apply to the fundamental activities and responses of the human body, a veritable physics laboratory" "Blood pumping through our veins is a vital example of Poiseuille flow; the act of running requires friction to propel the runner forward; and the quality of our eyesight demonstrates how properties of light enable us to correct near- and far-sightedness." "Each chapter discusses a fundamental physics concept and relates it to the anatomy and physiology of applicable parts of the body. Topics include motion, fluids and pressure, temperature and heat, speech and hearing, electrical behaviors, optics, biological effects of radiation, and drug concentrations. Clear and compelling, with a limited amount of math, McCall's descriptions allow readers of all levels to appreciate the physics of the human physique." "Physics of the Human Body will help curious high school students, undergraduates with medical aspirations, and practicing medical professionals understand more about the underlying physics principles of the human body."--BOOK JACKET.
