LibGuides: Alumni Library Services: General Information

Alumni Access to Library Resources

We invite all Cairn alumni to return to the Masland Library to take advantage of our rich collections, top-notch services and beautiful facility. As alumni, you can check out books, access our growing blbilcal reference section, find a quiet place to study and and much more!

As an alumni of the university, you can access some of the library’s premier online databases from the comfort of your home or anywhere off campus.

Cairn alumni will need to have an active alumni library account to access these databases. Register for an alumni account now!

Please note, access is available to a small number of databases. If you are working on a graduate degree at another institution, it is recommended you reach out to your current institution for access and research assistance.

Search Alumni Library Portal

Search resources available to Alumni

Access is available to alumni registered with the library.

Library Benefits to Alumni of Cairn University

Check out materials within the general collection and CDs/DVDs (all you need is an active cairn.edu email address)
- General Collection (typically books): loan period is 28 days with one renewal of 14 days
- CDs/DVDs: 7 days with no renewal period
- See library fines/replacement policy for overdue and replacement charges
Access the library building during regular semester hours to:
- Study
- Use print and electronic collections
Access a growing number of electronic resources from off-campus
Alumni are not permitted to use the Computer Lab or the Study/Meeting Rooms (these spaces are reserved for current Cairn University students)

All patrons are expected to abide by all of the Masland Library Policies. For the full policies click here

Alumnni Access to Electronic Resources

Alumni can access all of the Library's resources, including licensed electronic materials, from within the Library. There are a growing number of electronic resources available to degree-holding alumni/ae of the University anywhere in the world. Request access to the databases listed below by completing this online form. Instructions for access will be sent once alumni/ae status has been confirmed. Already registered but forgot your password? Send the library an email at library@cairn.edu.

For a an up-to-date listing of resources available see: http://libguides.cairn.edu/az.php?t=5387

Please note, except for the databases listed, current licensing agreements prevent the Library from providing off-site access to users who are not current Cairn students, faculty or staff.

Gale Research Databases for Alumni/ae
Access nearly 50 online databases from Cengage Gale. Databases contain materials from current events to scholarly articles and everything in between. Read ejournal articles, stream audio and video, access ebooks, and look through newspapers.

ATLAS for Alum This link opens in a new window
Cairn University's Masland Library provides its graduates access to ATLAS for Alum, an online collection of major religion and theology journals selected by leading religion scholars and theologians. This is a subset of the full ATLASerials database avalable to current faculty, students and staff of Cairn. Alumni/ae interested in access can fill out the form located at: http://tinyurl.com/mhdg3xf
Complete Prose of T.S. Eliot This link opens in a new window
The Complete Prose of T. S. Eliot gathers for the first time in one place the collected, uncollected, and unpublished prose of one of the most prolific writers of the twentieth century. When complete, this eight-volume critical edition will dramatically expand access to material that has been restricted or inaccessible in private and institutional collections for almost fifty years.
The result of a multi-year collaboration among Eliot's Estate, Faber and Faber Ltd., Johns Hopkins University Press, the Beck Digital Center of Emory University, and the Institute of English Studies, University of London.

Project Muse - Premium Collection (Alumni Access)
Project MUSE offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
more...less...
This link is for alumni access only. See Database listing for full access to current faculty, student and staff.
Sage Premier
This is for alumni use only. Sage Premier provides access to all, of the nearly 1,100, journals published by Sage. Find top research on a wide variety of subjects including Biblical/theological studies, business, counseling & psychology, criminal justice, education, social work, and many others. Cairn access includes all articles published since 1999.
Complete Prose of T.S. Eliot
The Complete Prose of T. S. Eliot gathers, for the first time, in one place the collected, uncollected, and unpublished prose of one of the most prolific writers of the twentieth century. When complete, this eight-volume critical edition will dramatically expand access to material that has been restricted or inaccessible in private and institutional collections for almost fifty years.